Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - Newegg shopping upgraded ™

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition E-ATX Stackable Black Cube Chassis CA-1E8-00M1WN-02

Ships from Hong Kong. Fees for brokerage and duty included in price. Most customers receive within 9-16 days.

Sold and Shipped by Corn Electronics.CAN a-seller

Purchases from these Sellers are generally covered under our Newegg Marketplace Guarantee.
Marketplace Seller
  • Optimized Dual Chamber Design
  • Interchangeable Side I/O Panel Locations (Right/Left)
  • Horizontal Motherboard Layout supporting up to E-ATX Form Factor
  • Tt LCS Certified

  • Overview
  • Specifications
  • Warranty & Returns
  • Reviews

Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition Cube Chassis

The new Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition cube chassis by Thermaltake features its unconventional structural design that offers endless stackable capacity and expandability for enthusiasts to create massive liquid cooling systems for a single system, file server, or even dual systems. Included two 4mm thick tempered glass windows that give you freedom to customize the chassis for the best viewing presentation. Build up an immensely powerful system and show off the beauty of your build with the Core X5 TG!

Thermaltake

Tt LCS Certified

Tt LCS Certified is a Thermaltake exclusive certification applied to only products that pass the design and hardcore enthusiasts standards that a true LCS chassis should be held to. The Tt LCS certification was created so that we at Thermaltake can designate to all power users which chassis have been tested to be best compatible with extreme liquid cooling configurations to ensure you get the best performance from the best features and fitment.

Thermaltake

Left and Right 4mm Thick Tempered Glass Window

The tempered glass features 4mm thickness that guarantees the durability of the window. Moreover, the panel design permits users to admire their system from either left side or right side. Show off your dedicated set in the subtlest manner!

Thermaltake

Stackable and Expandable for Enthusiasts

With its endless stacking design, the Core X5 TG is in a class above the rest. Virtually limitless utility is possible; it offers an expandable system allowing enthusiasts to incorporate externally modular upgrades. Stacked together, the chassis opens up space to expand the liquid cooling system, the storage solutions, or even to create dual systems, thereby enabling a dedicated top/bottom set-up for pure cooling.

Thermaltake

Superior Expandability

The Core X5 TG supports motherboards up to extend ATX, a tower CPU cooler with maximum height 230mm, and a dual expansion slot VGA of up to 480mm in length without HDD rack. Even after installing a PSU with 220mm in length, the Core X5 TG still leaves plenty of space for cable management. Moreover, users can mount up to four 3.5”/2.5” (with HDD cage) and three 5.25” storage devices into the build at the same time.

Thermaltake

Outstanding Ventilation

The Core X5 TG is designed for all types of builds, including DIY/AIO liquid-cooling systems and air-cooling units. The front side allows users to install up to three 120mm or two 180mm radiators. Besides, the maximum radiator length supported is 540mm on the front when stacked. Moreover, with various mounting points, the fan brackets can be adjusted for 120mm/140mm/200mm fans. A 120mm intake fan and a 120mm exhaust fan are also preinstalled on the case to optimize the airflow.

Thermaltake

Space-Optimized Dual Chamber Design

Optimized for space management, the Core X5 TG utilizes dual chamber design to offer a tidy looking system by separating the liquid-cooling loop, and PSU and HDD cages into a different chamber. The removable 3.5”/2.5” drive device racks give assemblers plenty of flexibility to gain the maximum interior space needed for advanced cooling performance.

Thermaltake

Fully Modular Concept

The fully modular drive cages minimize the hassles of installation and removal. Especially, the Core X5 TG utilizes a tool-less drive bay design that allows users to freely interchange the 3.5” and 2.5” hard-drives to suit their particular needs. The triple drive bay concept of “3+4+3” offers a good ratio for accessories and storage devices.

Thermaltake

Core X5 TG Radiator Supporting List

Thermaltake

Core X5 TG Fan Supporting List

Thermaltake

Specification



Model Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
P/N CA-1E8-00M1WN-02
Case Type ATX Cube Case
Dimension (H x W x D) 463 x 371 x 540 mm (18.2 x 14.6 x 21.3 inch)
Side Panel Tempered Glass
Net Weight 13.4 kg / 29.6 lb
Color Exterior & Interior : Black
Material SPCC
Cooling System Front (intake) :120 x 120 x 25 mm Turbo fan (1000rpm, 16dBA)
Rear (exhaust) :120 x 120 x 25 mm Turbo fan (1000rpm, 16dBA)
Drive Bays 3 x 5.25"
-Accessible
4 x 3.5" or 2.5" (HDD Cage)
-Hidden
3 x 2.5" (HDD Tray)
Expansion Slots 8
Motherboards 6.7" x 6.7" (Mini ITX), 9.6" x 9.6" (Micro ATX),
12" x 9.6" (ATX), 12" x 13" (Extend ATX)
I/O Port USB 3.0 x 2, USB 3.0 x 2,HD Audio x 1
LCS Upgradable Supports 1/2"?3/8"?1/4" water tube
PSU Standard PS2 PSU (optional)
Fan Support Front : 3 x 120mm, 2 x 140mm, 1 x 200mm
Top: 6 x 120mm, 4 x 140mm, 2 x 200mm
Rear: 1 x 120mm, 1 x 140mm
Bottom: 6 x 120mm
Left / Right: 3 x 120mm
Radiator Support Front:1 x 360mm , 1 x 280mm , 1 x 200mm
Top:2 x 360mm , 1 x 280mm , 1 x 400mm
Rear:1 x 120mm , 1 x 140mm
Bottom:2 x 360mm
Left / Right Side:1 x 360mm
Clearance CPU cooler height limitation: 230mm
VGA length limitation: 330mm(with ODD Cage) 480mm(without ODD Cage)
PSU length limitation: 220mm (With Bottom Fan)

Learn more about the Thermaltake CA-1E8-00M1WN-02

Warranty, Returns, And Additional Information
  • Warranty
  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 3 years
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 3 years
  • Read full details
Anonymous
Ownership: more than 1 year
Verified Owner
5/ 5
Big, cool, and beautiful 11/5/2019 5:32:11 PM

Pros: This beast of a case has so much room inside and allows for amazing airflow. I was able to fit an over-sized heat sync for the processor with no worries about crowding. Wire management has been thought out and looking through the window shows a clean and spacious set up (no more wires sticking out everywhere and touching components.

Cons: The case is a bit bigger than expected, but hardly a con. The case itself looks good enough that it's large size is more than compensated for.

Overall Review: Overall, I would recommend this product to anyone. I've got no overheating worries and there is plenty of room for expansion of components and fans if need be.

Did you find this review helpful?
Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
Verified Owner
2/ 5
Cube case that really doesn't deliver 7/3/2019 7:58:51 PM

Pros: The case is well made, and looks nice. It has all the bells and whistles a modern case should have.

Cons: The case doesn't open as much as I would like, specifically I thought from the diagrams the front could come off.
The hidden drive bays are very hard to access.

Overall Review: I wanted a large open case to put a server in. I knew the drive bays would be hidden, but they are very hard to access for some reason that I don't understand they slot in from front to back, the front doesn't come off so you have to deal with it at an angle.

The first case I got was damaged in transit due to how it's boxed, (New Egg Replaced it thank you.) the second one the box was damaged in the same way as the first but the case was okay.

The control panel on both of them (the buttons on the side) are not part of the front panel, but rather inset into a cutout. I though the first one due to the front being damaged it wasn't fitting tightly into the cutout. But the second one had the same issue, so it seems to be a design issue.

Did you find this review helpful?
Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
Verified Owner
4/ 5
Not the greatest, but OK 6/15/2019 2:51:43 PM

Pros: -Big
-black and white
-No RGB!
-F-panel I/O is actually on the side

Cons: -expensive for build quality.
-bend-gate
-noisy

Overall Review: This case is OK. The biggest drawback is the cheap feeling when you touch it - this case has the build quality of 1990's Chinese knock-off plastic product. You can feel the metal chassis bend from screwing the fan screws in! That being said - an E-ATX mobo support, space for custom water cooling loop, 200mm front fan support (no fan included) and so much top fan real estate, it made my day. It is quite big (as expected). Be prepared to get yourself a bunch of be quiet! or noctua fans, otherwise you will be listening to a jet engine. Bonus points for the dust meshes in the top and bottom, nice job there. the front panel can be moved from the pre-installed left side to the right (confirmed, did it for myself), the accessories box was securely mounted in one of the HDD bays. For the fans of the US Air Force, comes with two jet-engine grade fans for your next F-35 jet fighter themed build. I guess Thermaltake likes immersion haha
one more thing to mention, i have not cut myself on any sharp edges so far on it, so compared to all other cases i worked with so far( about 20 cases), this is the only one that i have not bled over...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
Verified Owner
5/ 5
Big and Spacious 5/5/2019 9:15:22 PM

Pros: Spacious, good flexibility for many builds. Can mount two PSUs (if needed). Build quality is good enough for me.

Cons: The vertical SSD mount holes are too high, requires a 90 degree connector for optimal use (knew this before purchasing, just re-iterating). The side panels sit on small plastic 90 degree L pieces; one of them came broken (likely during shipping). I fixed it with white gorilla glue. The top air filters are attached with adhesive to magnetic strips but this adhesive really isn't sufficient.

Overall Review: I'd recommend this case if you're looking for a cube case or a horizontal motherboard layout with plenty of space. An x9 was too big for me. I would have liked to find the original x5 (without tempered glass) as I don't care much for viewing my PC and could save the $$.

Did you find this review helpful?
Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
Verified Owner
5/ 5
I love this case 11/21/2018 9:25:19 PM

Pros: - Huge: if you have the space and want a big case, this is the one. Laying the mother board flat and installing PCIe cards vertically is so much nicer than the usual way.

- Amazing airflow: you could do a lot with just air cooling in this case, though of course it can also handle lots of different radiator configurations for liquid cooling (I have my radiator venting heat out of the top and most other fans as intakes - no need to hesitate about which way to point your radiator, since it will get plenty of cool air inside the case even with a GPU running hot)

- Lots of convenient modular pieces inside. Two hard drive cages with two trays each, which can be mounted in a few different places. A big 3x120mm fan rack to put on one side (won't serve as an intake or vent but can improve internal circulation) and nice little SSD mounting plates for the other. Up to three 5.25 bays in the front, with removable supports - can fit one front fan up to 200mm with all three in place; 2x120mm with just two bays, and 3x120mm or 2x up to 200mm fans with all bays removed.

- It's just darn beautiful, and a joy to build in

Cons: - As you can imagine looking at it, cable management is a challenge. My first build had a motherboard sprouting cables like a thicket. After a rethink and some careful routing along the support struts with cable ties, I got it to something much neater that I'm happy with - but obviously with a big open airy case like this, you're going to have some visible cables running through open space, there's no way to hide *everything*. Still looks great though, and I like having *some* visible wiring.

- The dust filters included on the case bottom are cheap sheets held on with clips, rather than the nice slide-out trays that most cases have these days. A mild disappointment, but not enough to even dock an egg from this excellent case. Top panel has a big dust filter that is slightly nicer (it at least has a frame) and which is easily removable if you are mounting radiators our outflow fans up there.

Overall Review: - If you want a big case, buy it. But check the measurements, make sure you really want it. It's BIG.

Did you find this review helpful?
Anonymous
Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
Verified Owner
5/ 5
Really happy with this one. 9/21/2018 7:54:25 PM

Pros: This case is sturdy and seems well put together. I like that the motherboard lies flat instead of being vertically installed as is more normal. It has plenty of room for additional fans or radiators, and is really easy to work with. Being as large as it is, I found it hard to move around though (I keep it under a desk so sometimes I need to move it to get to the back panel. This was easily solved by going to the hardware store and buying some casters. Once the factory feet were removed the casters bolted right into existing holes in each corner, making this “modification” super easy. This case is much more convenient for my needs with these wheels. I also like that the power and USB ports are on the side of the case (and switchable to either side) as opposed to on the top or front. That also works out well for me.

Cons: The case arrived in a beat up box with some damage, to some people the damage would have been a deal breaker. In my case only a small bend was in the rear corner, which didn’t interfere with and panel fitting, and was actually straightened out again when I bolted on the casters. The drive bay covers were also knocked out of the front of the case and floating free inside the chassis. One drive bay cover was damaged beyond repair, but the other two were fine. Since I was going to use one of the drive bats for an optical drive, I just tossed the damaged cover. All things considered, this damage was annoying, but luckily all other panels were fine/straight, so I did not attempt a return or exchange.

Overall Review: The packaging could be better, but I’m generally really happy with this case, it’s sturdy, feels and looks quality, and fits my needs and it’s space well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
Verified Owner
5/ 5
Core Cube Cases Are Great for Builders 7/22/2018 10:28:29 AM

Pros: - Room to work in.
- horizontal motherboard
- supports multiple long GPUs
- supports short or long P/S
- lots of places to put HD/SSDs
- still supports external drives/bay adapters
- tempered glass windows on both sides

Cons: - Instruction manual could have been clearer. Big manual but only one or two lines of English per page, rest is translations.
- Front supports 200mm fan but only comes with a 120mm. Second 120mm front fan position does not have screw holes for two screws so it can only be fastened with 2.
- white paint is prone to flaking around screw holes
- thumbscrews were hard to put in many of the screw holes
- screwless drive pins tend to fall out
- accessories box is hidden in the drive bay above the P/S

Overall Review: I got this during a 30% off clearance so it was less than $115 and I still have a rebate to send in.
This is my second Thermaltake Cube case. I have my build in a Core X9. Used this Core X5 for my youngest's new Ryzen 2 build. I like the smaller size of the X5 compared to the X9. Both are a big handful to move so plan carefully when building. I built this one directly in my son's bedroom on some TV trays rather than in the basement workshop so I wouldn't have to carry the works up the stairs. Since I had already done my build in the X9 I didn't spend enough time with the manual's case images. Be sure to move the bottom power supply rail to the right position to support the unit. I didn't do that initially so I had to take the drive bay out in order to get the P/S in and then the screw holes didn't align and the drive bay would not go back in. After looking over the diagram I removed the P/S and moved the support rail. I put the P/S back in and then realized that the drive bay could not be put back with the P/S already mounted. So out it went for the second time. Installing the HD and SSD was easy but the screwless pins tended to pop out of the rubber holders so I ended up using screws anyway. Motherboard mounted without a hitch as the tray supports just about any board. The front panel cables are more than long enough. Wasn't sure that I liked having USB 2 and USB 3 on the front but not all MBs have dual USB 3 connections. The Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi had two Gen1 and one Gen2 connections so that was covered. I adjusted the top rails to hold 120mm fans and radiators as they come from the factory spaced for 140mm. The slots in these rails are a bit wide so you may find that some fan screws fall through. I angled my fans slightly to prevent this.
Once you finish the build the glass side panels make a RGB motherboard a real showcase. I added two strings of RGB lights and the case glows like a mini Christmas tree. Beautiful.

Build - Core X5, AMD Ryzen 2700X, Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 WiFi AM4, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (8x4) DDR4 3000, Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1070 Ti, Eluktro Pro-X G2 500GB NVMe M.2 SSD, OCZ 480GB Trion 150 SSD, Seagate Barracuda 2TB HD, EVGA SuperNova 750 G2 Modular Power Supply, ASUS BW-16D1HT Blu-ray Burner, generic front panel USB 3/eSata/SD reader/fan controller.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Ownership: 1 day to 1 week
Verified Owner
4/ 5
Great value, little stingy on parts. 7/11/2018 11:02:31 AM

Pros: Tons of Space. The white color looks awesome against my all-black motherboard with RGB blue lighting.

Cons: - Only comes with 4!!!! motherboard standoffs pre-installed. I doubt anyone is buying this case to put a itx board in honestly. All of the motherboard standoffs should have been pre-installed with the option to remove unnecessary ones. Very stingy on Tt's part.

Overall Review: I got a really great deal on this case, there are some drawbacks that cost me extra money but overall it was a good experience. The only other thing I can say is: Make sure you have plenty of room - this thing is GIGANTIC.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
ICON Loading...
Selected Items
  • Add to Wish List
Are you an E-Blast Insider?
Enter your email address to agree to receive promo codes from Newegg. You can unsubscribe at any time.
Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
Price Available at Checkout
Why can’t we show you details of this product?

Some manufacturers place restrictions on how details of their products may be communicated.

If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.

Your Personal Data

Newegg’s website and online services use cookies and similar technology for a number of reasons: Some technologies allow the site to function. These functional cookies are required to use the site and complete purchases. Another set of technologies improve the browsing experience and personalize it. Here are all the details about Newegg’s Cookie and Privacy Policies. Please select and accept your settings before you continue. Thank you.

Your Personal Data

Newegg’s website and online services use cookies and similar technology for a number of reasons: Some technologies allow the site to function. These functional cookies are required to use the site and complete purchases. Another set of technologies improve the browsing experience and personalize it. Here are all the details about Newegg’s Cookie and Privacy Policies. Please select and accept your settings before you continue. Thank you.

Your Personal Data

To use this third-party content we need your approval to share your data with them. Here are all the details about Newegg’s Cookie and Privacy Policies. Please accept if you wish to continue with third-party features. Thank you.