Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > ZTE AXON 7 64GB 4G LTE Quartz Gray Dual SIM Unlocked Smartphone 5.5" 4GB RAM (North America Warranty)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wait to buy this phone till Nougat 7.1 comes out
Pros: Great phone
Battery lasts for days
Cons: Long time to get the Nougat update
Nougat 7.0 does not work with iTunes
Other Thoughts: As it stands you can either use this phone for Daydream (which is why I bought it last summer) or you can use it as an iTunes remote (by not updating to Nougat 7.0) but not both.

Wait and see if they release Nougat 7.1 for this phone if I were you.
Reviewed By:Nicholas R.,2/17/2017 11:11:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Huawei Mate 9 Unlocked Smartphone with Dual Leica Camera (5.9" Silver, 64GB Storage 4GB RAM) US Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 better than any samsung and iphone.
Pros: so very fast! for the price of 599, it is worth it. i was quite hesitant since i wasn't familiar with the brand but after researching online and watching a lot of reviews on youtube i decided to buy it. it's been a month and a half now since i bought this at newegg and it's still going strong. one thing i'm very impressed is the battery life. my previous samsung galaxies and LG G4 only gets me half the day 'til the battery is drained. but this one gets me for 24 hours and then some. sometimes it gets through 2 days. there's an option of setting the phone on an ultra mode to make it so battery efficient. i always turn this mode on when i sleep at night. everything else is perfect.
Cons: nothing i can see until now. it is perfect my wife is always jealous. she got the iphone 6.
Other Thoughts: i highly recommend this product to everyone.
Reviewed By:Gerome G.,2/17/2017 7:03:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.5" Red, 64GB Storage 4GB RAM, US Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Over a year later, still performs like new
Pros: - Fast hardware
- Lots of storage already built-in, expandable as well
- Given the materials used, build quality is great, doesn't feel like a budget phone
- Quick-charge is nice, battery life has been generous. Lasts an entire day of snapping pictures of a newborn baby, messaging, and gaming in the evenings
- Rear (main) camera works perfectly fine for me, though I have seen better. Get a REAL camera if you want to take professional-quality pictures, phones weren't meant for that anyways
- Some people say this phone is large and/or heavy. I mean, it's got so.e heft, but it's a 5.5" phone. It feels light/average compared to phones of the same screen size, albeit just a bit longer.
Cons: - Lots of crapware, though easily uninstalled or disabled. Asus unlocks the bootloader on these phones from the factory now, so if you want a truly clean install of Android OS, there are a number of thoroughly-tested and stable ROMs out there.
- Gets very warm during quick charging and heavy usage over extended periods of time. To be expected, but it hasn't had any affect on the life of the battery, or how quickly it's able to charge (after a year of use).
- I purchased the Asus flip cover with this phone, so I never need to use the power button. I can see where some people (especially with small hands) will find its location a bit annoying. It's actually perfect if you use the flip cover.
Other Thoughts: For a $300 phone, this thing is incredible. Hangs in there with some of the top-performing phones right now (comparing with experience to the iPhone 6s), yet costs half the average price for a comparable offering from other brands. I'd like to note that I'm also a Samsung convert. I recommend purchasing the flip cover from Asus, as well as an extra memory card, simply because doubling this phone's memory won't cost you more than $30. It's very fast and responsive, and button presses and screen swipes feel near-instant and very smooth. HD video and graphically intense games look crisp and run very smoothly.

Overall, an excellent phone with an ever better price tag. Slid my AT&T gophone SIM into this phone, and had everything up and running within a couple minutes.

EDIT (02/16/2017): I've had this phone for over a year now, and I'm pleased to report that not only does it still look nearly brand new (I purchased the official ASUS folio-style cover at the same time I purchased the phone), it performs just as well as when I first bought it. I have actually recommended this phone to a number of people, with 2 of them purchasing it and having the same experience as I have. When the time comes for me to get a new phone, I wouldn't hesitate to buy another ASUS, whether it be the newer Zenfone model or another.
Reviewed By:Jonathan S.,2/16/2017 8:33:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > ZTE AXON 7 64GB 4G LTE Ion Gold Dual SIM Unlocked Smartphone 5.5" 4GB RAM (North America Warranty)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Dolby Atmos no longer works
Pros: Most of the features (mostly sound and screen)
Cons: Dolby Atmos no longer functions well since the most recent update.
Other Thoughts: Can zte fix this?
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/16/2017 8:27:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Nubia > Nubia Z11 Mini Dual SIM Unlocked Smartphone (5.0" FHD Black, 32GB Storage 3GB RAM) US Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Phone
Pros: Really great phone
-the gestures are seamless
-compact and sleek
-takes decent pictures
-multitasking is pretty good
Cons: -UI can be clunky at times
-fingerprint scanner can be a little bothersome sometimes
Other Thoughts: I've had this phone for about a month and I won't lie I can be pretty aggressive with the way I handle some of my technology and this thing is also pretty durable. I'm on a T-mobile network and call quality is pretty good. Getting all the qualities of a flagship phone without the flagship price.
Reviewed By:Edward A.,2/16/2017 7:26:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > ASUS Zenfone 2 Unlocked Smart phone, 5.5" Red, 32GB Storage 4GB RAM, US Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good move
Pros: Nice sized HD screen, Excellent UI(Asus UI is one of the most customizable interfaces I've used in a while outside of nova), Quck charge is just that ( literally sit it for 20 mins on the charger you'll have half your battery back maybe more) and the battery seems to last forever under slightly heavy usage. Unlocked, which means I won't be stuck with a Wi-Fi only phone should I switch carriers. Great Camera app/features (camera is decent, the app makes it better). Size and shape work for me one handed even with the amzer case I got for it. Fast! I mean my nexus 5 can go neck and neck when its ram isn't used up but this thing barely uses the 4gb of ram it has and even at 2.5-3gb it still functions optimally. Boot time is in seconds not minutes. At 32gb's I actually have space to do things as opposed to my 16gb nexus. A gang of fonts, ringtones, and useful tools like kids mode (for the parents out there). Dual SIM (gotta find another SIM I can use, lol) and you can label and adjust SIM preferences. Loud, especially when paired with my Bluetooth speaker. Overall a steal for $199 (got it on the last sale) that can do pretty much everything, except a few things listed in cons but at the price I really can't complain. The pc suite and the PC link app are epic, I used to use several PC remote apps that had to be paid for but those work the same way and to be able to access my phone on my pc or control my pc from my phone is always a plus.
Cons: no fingerprint scanner, no wireless charging and because I missed the sale before last, no free gifts, lol. But none of that is worth not giving this phone 5 eggs. I already knew it didn't have the scanner although I was slightly disappointed about the wireless charging since my Nexus has it and I bought a new wireless charger thinking this phone could use it as well. Not a deal breaker though, the NFC is still useful for transfers between phones and the quick charge makes up for it mostly. Not to mention I'm always on it now so it wouldn't have time to sit on a charge pad anyway. My nexus can use it so while its still alive ill dedicate the charge pad to it.
Other Thoughts: I can be hit or miss sometimes with my phone purchases but I nailed my needs with this one. It took me weeks to get up the nerve to make the purchase (hence why I missed the first sale with the goodies) I was comparing it with the honor 5x and a few others. This one just seemed to haunt my dreams and speak to me in more ways than the others, might have been partially due to advertising (Asus did will with their pictures and colors, lol) in comparison though this phone pretty much beat all the ones I was looking at mostly in regards to cost and features the others did not have. Its worth every penny, maybe more but then again I didn't want to pay more than 200 for a phone...$220 with the extended protection from newegg was as far as I needed to go.

All in all this is a perfect replacement for my Nexus 5, its screen is cracked and I'm having the power button issue. So I needed a nice alternative because I didn't want to do any repairs (lazy) even though I still use it for music and things. I actually love the ZF2 like I still love my Nexus 5 and if you know about xda devs then you know you can turn this monster into an even greater beast. I also got this to get away from the crappy coolpad I had been using from metro (my nexus was tmobile and they blacklisted it, so it was just used for Wi-Fi calling, music and so on) I'm thankful I don't have to use the coolpad anymore though. Oh yeah, and free QUALITY (that needs emphasis) earphones come in the box...the sound is so crisp, loud and pleasant with bass that may make your ears bleed and I love it. Oh and of course the expandable memory (oh how I missed thee) my nexus failed in that area so I had to juggle balancing apps, music and regular everyday data usage. The coolpad had expandable mem but apps couldn't be installed on it, it kept downloading to my phone instead of the sd and it just pissed me off royally at how sluggish it was.

If you're smart enough not to spend 100's of $$$ on crapple tech or Samsung phones (some Google/LG phones are worth the money...emphasis on some) and you want more for your money the ZF2 should meet all your needs. As Mike Z had stated before me this goes neck and neck with the more high-end phones out there without breaking the bank.
Reviewed By:Marcus Warfield,2/14/2017 12:14:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 64GB Graphite LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This review is for the Huawei 6P warranty
Pros: The parts of the phone that work, work great.
Cons: What was not great was finding dirt on the camera sensor inside the phone enclosure. Huawei refuses to do a warranty repair (wanted to charge me $200). They have now 'double-checked' and decided that my serial number is from the USA (never mind that the product is labelled as having a North American warranty) and so they also want me to find an American to ship my phone to, then they'll 'only' charge me $100USD and send it back to this mysterious third party who would then theoretically ship it back to me.

Clearly they don't stand behind their product which for $700, I was kind of expecting.
Other Thoughts: If I knew the customer service was so bad, I would have just gone with a OnePlus phone which is known for its lacklustre customer service. Basically, the warranty isn't worth the paper it's printed on. I will probably just have to get it repaired at a shop in town, thereby voiding my useless warranty.
Reviewed By:Michael T.,2/13/2017 4:16:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > LG Mobile > LG V20 US996 64GB Unlocked Smartphone (Unlocked, Titan) US Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing and unique phone
Pros: where to start

- dual screen serves as always on display and notification bar
great for shortcuts and quick settings toggle

- build quality is amazing

- removable batteries are rare to find but an amazing option and the phone still look stunning even tho it's not a "uni body" build

- I'm a HEAVY user and didn't expect that much life time from it
was very pleased to see the battery lasting me almost all day concedering im ALWAYS on it doing a lot of youtube and gaming

- UI is smooth as butter and in the 4 months I've had it I've yet to incounter any bugs or stutters of any kind

- USB type-C which is just amazing but a little harder to find than the regular one

- And lastly the headphone jack
as opposed to the newest iphone and a couple of other android devices, LG V20 decided to not only keep the headphone jack but improve on it
and my friends... the results are AMAZING
Cons: - you can see a little light bleed from de secondary screen but only in really dark places and really just a bit

- doesn't have stereo speakers but the one speaker is clear and doesn't sound cany when pushed to max
Other Thoughts: I've worked in cellphones for almost 7 years now and switched phone every 6 months or so. The V20 is by far my favorite one and I hihgly recommend it to anyone looking to get a large display phones. I don't have a case because I find the phone stunning and because of the military grade build I really dont have to worry about it.
Reviewed By:Ray Ayoub,2/13/2017 5:08:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.5" Silver, 64GB Storage 4GB RAM, US Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great phone/Great price
Pros: 4gb RAM,64gb ROM, great price for the specs, first phone to come with 4gb RAM. No lag when multitasking. preinstalled one tap phone booster. two tap wake up screen, double sim card and SD card slot to expand storage
Cons: power button on top, volume rocker on back instead of side. Volume could be better. No IR blaster to use as TV remote
Other Thoughts: Love this phone and Asus, have Asus ZenPad also. Looking to get another Asus phone.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/12/2017 11:57:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > ZTE AXON 7 64GB 4G LTE Quartz Gray Dual SIM Unlocked Smartphone 5.5" 4GB RAM (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Phone
Pros: This phone has all the features I want plus. Best phone I have ever had. I am writing this a couple of months after I got it (Feb 2017) and yesterday I got the update to Android 7.0!!! I really like the phone and ZTE is taking care of me as a customer... Unusual with cell phones. When the time comes I will definitely look at ZTE first.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend ZTE to anyone. Excellent phone for the money and probably beats the heck out of the big name expensive devices.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/10/2017 1:32:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.