Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks USG Enterprise Gateway Router with Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great addition to a Ubiquiti Home network
Pros: This will give you the rest of the green bubbles in the unifi controller if you already have an Access Point (AP). You now get the general deep packet inspection (DPI) you need. It's easy to setup... If you don't make the Sam mistake I did and try to adopt it through the AP you have connected to it lol. Once I plugged the laptop into the LAN port it adopted and provisioned just fine.

If you're setting up a Unifi home network and want to setup VLANs and see the DPI data this is a great addition on! I have this USG and the UAP Pro access point. I have the Unifi Controller running on a laptop that is connected to the AP and everything works awesome! I'd recommend the Unifi product line to anyone. I may get it for my parents so I can start managing their network as a site in my Unifi Controller.

Lots of great videos on YouTube on how to set up and use.
Cons: While this is no Cisco router it's got enough features a casual user may get lost in the setting. But that's ok because the internet will work right out of the box.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/14/2017 3:16:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > SonicWall > SonicWall TZ300 01-SSC-0215 VPN Wired Gen 6 Firewall appliance (hardware only)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Poster incorrect about 100Mbps WAN limit
Pros: Good solid protection for your network. Easy to configure (once you get used to them).
Cons: Not for folks who don't have some serious I.T. experience. Software is expensive, but IMHO worth it.
Other Thoughts: The other reviewer of this item states the WAN port is limited to 100Mbps. That is ABSOLUTELY incorrect. He must have something misconfigured or is accidentally using a Cat 5 cable instead of a Cat 5e or Cat 6 for the WAN connection. Our shop is behind one of these units and on Speedtest.net I'm pulling a test showing 478.13Mbps / 38.82 Mbps on a 500/50 connection. We have extremely heavy traffic between our server and several hundred computers we manage, and we are still getting good results. I've worked I.T. for 27 years, so I do know something about the subject.
Reviewed By:Paul F.,10/3/2017 2:17:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG40 Security Firewall w/13 Months UTM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Slow WAN
Pros: New GUI looks like setup made easy (still have old GUI if you click on advanced)
Had to RMA the first one and support is quite good with quick turnaround.
I have deployed a bunch of 20's, 50's and 110's and they always work (this was my first RMA)
Cons: Really slow. I agree with the other post regarding WAN speeds. Running 250 down and 12 up into the building. Test speeds with out devices give me that number fairly consistently. This unit drops to 160 down. If I disable Security Policy control I get up to 200 down. This is with no VPN usage and limited devices on the network.
Other Thoughts: As WAN speeds get faster for all this is going to become more glaring.
Reviewed By:Michael J.,9/17/2017 9:44:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZYWALL110 High Performance 1GbE SPI/300Mbps VPN Firewall with 100 IPSec and 25 SSL VPN, 7 GbE Ports and High Availability

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 IPSec VPN PSK limit of 32 characters
Pros: Lots of features. Can be a bit of chore to configure.
Cons: IPSec VPN PSK is limited to 32 characters. So totally useless when trying to establish a site to site VPN with a Cisco that has a PSK longer than 32 characters.
Reviewed By:R K.,9/7/2017 6:40:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks USG Enterprise Gateway Router with Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, eeezy setup.
Pros: Works great, eeezy setup. Can't beat it for the $. I can see why these are out of stock in some places.
Cons: nada
Reviewed By:Mark B.,8/24/2017 7:19:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > SonicWall > SonicWall 01-SSC-0439 TZ500 High Availability - Security Appliance

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 powerful and reliable but overpriced.
Pros: tons of features .
Cons: many features need extra pay.
overall overpriced.
buggy firmware.
you have to pay for buggy firmware update which is most ridiculous policy.
Other Thoughts: due to slow update of buggy firmware, vendor should offer unlimited free update firmware.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/1/2017 11:43:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > SonicWall > SonicWall 01-SSC-0581 VPN Wired TZ300 Gen 6 Firewall Appliance with 1 Yr TotalSecure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good small office, home office firewall
Pros: This part number comes with totalsecure. The features set includes IPS,• gateway anti-virus and anti-spyware , application Control, content filtering service, 24x7 support, firmware updates, capture advanced threat protection service. Web interface works well. Has the ability to give you very fine control over each system on the firewall. Tech support is very helpful. Upgraded to this with all the new ransomware that is out there.
Cons: The only con is when you set this up. Any IP address or dns name has to be made a address object. You have to do this for making firewall rules of VPN setups etc, etc. Other than that it is a good system
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to any one who is getting started with network security. there web site has lots of info and the admin guide is well written. Have used their products before and will do so again.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/20/2017 3:58:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks USG-PRO-4 Enterprise Gateway Router with Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Unfi makes network deployment easy!
Pros: Easy setup, dual WAN, support for multiple vlans.
Cons: Failover settings could be better. The option to limit failover to certain VLANs or IPs would be appreciated without using command line.
Other Thoughts: I use this with a cloud key, unifi 24 port POE switch, and 10 of the AP AC Pros.
Reviewed By:Daniel W.,7/5/2017 5:55:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks USG-PRO-4 Enterprise Gateway Router with Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good firewall with a couple of minor flaws (see cons).
Pros: Easy to set up.
Utilizes my 200/25 speed.
GUI is the way to go with networking.
Cons: The VPN client setup could be easier. Requires a RADIUS server.
A little on the noisy side.
Other Thoughts: For what you get, I recommend this unit. They need to put different fans in it to be quieter for home use. If in server room, would not be a big deal.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/4/2017 8:01:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks USG Enterprise Gateway Router with Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 This thing has potential
Pros: - Rate of updates to bring it in line with their Edge line is reassuring - this is the future.
- Fantastic centralized Interface
Cons: - Not yet on par with most commercial level routers of same caliber
- Missing certain VPN options
- Still being developed
Other Thoughts: - This is great for small businesses, advanced home setups for remote employees, although an edgerouter would still be better, for the most part until they get some more of the features working that are in the works.
Reviewed By:Matthew L.,6/9/2017 8:38:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.