Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-S4-6G - 4-Bay 3.5” Hot-Swap Spanning & JBOD Enclosure - RAID 0 / 1 / 10 / 5 / 5 + Spare - Controller Card Bundle - Up to 6 Gbps Transfer Rate

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It WORKS AS EXPECTED
Pros: Easy to setup and use.
Cons: I have had two power supply quit working. I got a replacement somewhere and now I need another and can't find where I got it. Doesn't make me happy.
Reviewed By:Terry S.,9/16/2017 6:00:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-S4-X - 4-Bay 3.5” Hot-Swappable SATA - eSATA Storage System - RAID 0 / 1 / 10 / 5 / 5 + Spare, Spanning & JBOD Enclosure - RAID Controller Card Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent if you actually know what your doing
Pros: Solid build. Reliable and fast as can be expected at this price level.
Cons: eSata RAID card is junk. Blue fan light extremely annoying. Not the quietest.
Other Thoughts: Toss provided RAID card in trash and use a cheap Highpoint RocketRAID. Has worked for me flawlessly for nearly 8 years. I don't know why so many others had all the issues. Worked on Win7 x64 Ultimate, WIn8 x64 Pro, and Win10 Pro with no issues except nasty alarm always defaulting to "On" in settings. Used RAID 0, 1, 10 and two RAIDs at once. All good.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey D.,9/16/2017 11:40:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 piece of garbage
Pros: does not take much space in a trash bin
Cons: chokes on files larger than ~ 200 mb, just hangs and needs to be powered off and on, but still does not complete the copy, extremely slow. much slower than my 10 years old USB 2.0 enclosure. I got it for $15 not worth the trouble to return. Will need to stick with a reputable brand next time.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/14/2017 7:07:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint SSD7101A-1 RAID Mode Support: 0, 1, 5, 10 & JBOD (RAID 5 does not support TRIM) 4x dedicated 32Gbps M.2 Ports to PCIe 3.0 x16 RAID Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast drive you can buy when combined with Samsung 960 Pro m.2 SSDs
Pros: I installed 2 Samsung 960 Pro 512MB m.2s in this unit and it is very fast. Easy to install m.2s. Uses single slot PCIe x16. It does what it says it does.
Cons: I can not be booted to so OS must be installed on different drive.
Other Thoughts: I tested it with AS SSD Benchmark v1.9.5986.35387 and here are the results: Seq: Read: 5169.65 MB/s, Write: 3655.32 MB/s 4K: Read: 47.80 MB/s,Write: 131.19 MB/s 4K-64Threads: Read: 706.56 MB/s,Write: 861.23 MB/s Access Times: Read: 0.029 ms,Write: 0.028 ms Score: Read: 1271,Write: 1358,Total: 3213. My 2 Samsung 850 Pro 512GB RAID0 Score: Read: 718,Write: 847,Total: 1939.
Reviewed By:James K.,9/11/2017 8:20:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked great while it worked
Pros: fast copying either disk to disk or over USB3, sturdy and stable on a desk. Easy to use.
Cons: Power switch was a push-click type which felt well made, but it quit working after 5 months.
Other Thoughts: This worked well for 5 months, then the power switch gave out. I used it to clone 10 or so hard drives at work, both desktop and laptop size, Macs and PCs, and it worked flawlessly each time. I used it on my computer at home as a shared drive for a few weeks while waiting on a replacement enclosure for my music files.
Reviewed By:James L.,9/9/2017 9:21:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 At $12.99 on 9/1/17 i couldnt pass it up
Pros: Great for the price if you can catch it on sale like i did.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: yes i would and it works on ps4 as well
Reviewed By:Troy H.,9/5/2017 6:26:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC25049 USB 3.0 2.5" USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive External Enclosure Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice for the Price!
Pros: Got if for next to nothing ($1)
The casing itself is really solid with a great slim design.
Cons: USB cable/plug is a bit twitchy. If you wiggle it just right (or wrong!) it will drop off.
Other Thoughts: I got this for a $1 after SlickDeal/Promo, so the USB drop off wasn't a big deal. Some will placed double sticky foam tape on the drive before I put it in the casing seemed to help the wiggle problem!
Reviewed By:Robert B.,9/2/2017 2:31:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC25049 USB 3.0 2.5" USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive External Enclosure Case

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Meh..
Pros: Does what its suppose to
Cons: Rattles
No padding inside so it scrapes as you're sliding the hdd into the case.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/29/2017 8:53:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Surprisingly Nice Docking Station for the Price!
Pros: *Supports up to 8TB Drives
*Solid Device compared to some others in the same price range
*Clone Feature works well. (Dont forget to unplug the USB cable before cloning)
*Have used over 100 drives on this device mainly to Partition and Format and it's still going
Cons: *Takes a little while before the computer will see the drives
*Sometimes the Hot Swap Feature does not work
Other Thoughts: Overall for the price this is a nice docking station. We are not experiencing some of the issues that others are but every system is different and there are so many variables to factor in. We have tried many Docking Stations including Syba, Nexstar, Mediasonic and etc. but for this price range the Mediasonic is the Best Buy.
Reviewed By:Robert R.,8/21/2017 4:41:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 rock solid
Pros: they work!
Cons: usb 3 cable too effort= LOL
Other Thoughts: no idea why people have issues with these??? I have 2 of the first generation of these that I keep pluged in 24-7 for over 3 years- YET to fail. These went on sale for a silly price , I bought 2 as back ups.
Tested they work exactly the same as the older versions.

I keep 2 ssds windows 7 x64 and windows 10- I keep 2 clones for each as I test alot of software- so I reclone my ssds about once a year- takes 15 minutes instead of 5 hour reformat- install a boat load of software.

these have saved me unheard of countless hours . I even cloned up my 3tb game HDD took over 9 hours- expected!

AGAIN I have no idea why some have issues - no idea how to use hardware or their pc's are FU-BAR!
Reviewed By:Rickie J.,8/6/2017 7:32:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.