Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerSTOR ST-SAN-TS22UT6G RAID 0, 1, JBOD 2 Bay 2.5" SATA to USB 3.0 / eSATA RAID 0/1 Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad second tier SATA connector design . . . broken
Pros: n/a
Cons: Second drive connector should have been horizontal to the circuit board, but it was vertical. The smallest amount of force (tight fitting, not very flexible cable), broke it from the circuit board. If it was horizontal to the board (connector facing to the back of the device) with a clamping bracket, would have been fine.

Bad engineering . . . unfortunately, been happen with most of the other products form this company.

They needed a more experienced assembly engineer . . .

Shame, every thing else is nice, lots of room, nice air flow, et cetera.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/24/2017 5:03:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The worst company I have ever dealt with to get a RMA number'
Pros: None, would not recognize and/or keep a hard drive connected. The station would recognize a hard drive and then lose it. I could never on this station to back-up my data. Their technical support told me they were having problems with their power supply units for this docking station and too request a RMA. I have requested by email, faxing since December 2016 and have never received a reply.
Cons: RMA department will not respond at all. I have been trying since December 2016.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to my worst enemy. It has been a large paper weight and I am unable to get a response from the SYBA for a simple RMA. I will follow up if anything changes.
Reviewed By:Kevin C.,2/23/2017 10:32:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works half the time; not extremely reliable
Pros: - Two Docking Ports; Not limited by physical size of drives
- USB 3.0 speeds, been able to software clone two SSDs at near full read/write speed
- Black
- Nice I/0 power switch like a PSU for quick power off of drives.
- Powers off drives from active spinning state if the drive's firmware has that feature
Cons: - Provided USB 3.0 cable is short; even reaching my USB 3.0 hub was a challenge on my workstation
- Half the time the drive is not detected by the computer. I currently have the Dock connected to a USB 3.0 HUB which I have two separate cables that I'll switch. One goes to my PC and the other goes to my Macbook (which only has USB 2.0). In either system, regardless of using the hub or not, the drives won't be detected by the OS. No USB devices in Device Manager for PC or System Info USB devices under Mac. I'll have to either try power cycling the dock; disconnect/reconnect the USB cable on the dock; or reboot the system a few times.
- If a second drive is added while the first drive is already mounted the Dock sends the dock device info as one connection; so the drives will be unmounted and then remounted. Not explicitly stated anywhere. Thankfully I wasn't transferring important data when I found this out.
- Button-based cloning has only worked for me once. Small -> Big capacity. Never worked again
- Using software based cloning from one drive to another on the dock was half and half reliable. The size was about 500GB+ of total information from 3.5" 7200RPM to an SSD. Had to try a few times just to finally work.
- Glossy plastic edges. Why? Dust prone and scratch prone.

Biggest one: DRIVE SLOT B NO LONGER RECOGNIZES ANY TYPE OF DRIVE AND WILL ONLY POWER IT ON BRIEFLY. Drive slot A works fine; but now I can no longer use the dock for it's intended purpose. Only ONE drive at a time. Annoying

IN ALL CASES I TRIED DIRECT CONNECTION AND NOT USING MY USB 3.0 HUB; DIFFERENT POWER ADAPTERS; DIFFERENT USB 3.0 CABLE; DIFFERENT SYSTEMS WITH DIFFERENT OPERATING SYSTEMS. ISSUES STILL PRESENT
Other Thoughts: Would I recommend? If it kept chugging along sure. But already with this amount of problems and now the product half works? No way. I had high hopes for this product to provide me a solution I really needed and it let me down. I'm giving it 3/5 for it half working still.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are sorry that your HDD Dock has stopped working correctly. Have you tried connecting the device directly to either computer, instead of through the Hub? That may help with the recognition issue. You can contact our support at support@sybausa.com so that we could help resolve your issues.

We also value your comments on the aesthetics of the device and will take that into account for future products.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST EM 20170224

Reviewed By:Michael V.,2/18/2017 7:31:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic N37-SU3 USB 3.0 ProBox N37-SU3 3.5' SATA HDD External Enclosure - USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Happy
Pros: small
light
works
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Very happy with this enclosure. I was able to transfer just under 400GB from my PS4 to a Hitachi SATA3 drive in about 2 hours.
Reviewed By:Eric S.,2/15/2017 11:40:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic N37-SU3 USB 3.0 ProBox N37-SU3 3.5' SATA HDD External Enclosure - USB 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product, but not perfect
Pros: Works fine with USB3.0 ports
Cons: Did not work with the USB2.0 ports on my old PC
Other Thoughts: II could not get the N37-SU3 to work with my Lenovo K330 Ideacentre PC that has only USB 2.0 ports. The device would power up, hang the PC, and finally recognize it sometimes, but would not read/write or format the drive. (I think Bruce W.'s problem is the same). SOLUTION: I ordered (from another supplier, not Newegg) a Mediasonic HP1-SU3 Two port USB 3.0 PCI Express card for my PC. I connected N37-SU3 USB drive to one of the new USB3.0 ports, and it immediately worked. I like the N37-SU3 performance, small design, and the price was unbeatable. It took me 4 days elapsed time to fix the problem, and I got no response from Mediasonic's support. Nevertheless, the product is built so well, and the price is so attractive that I might even buy a NAS and ditch my old PC--based file server and GigE network. Hence, I am in a good mood and giving 4 stars.
Reviewed By:Patrick K.,2/12/2017 5:21:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic N37-SU3 USB 3.0 ProBox N37-SU3 3.5' SATA HDD External Enclosure - USB 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Price is VERY VERY good!! Works fine but concerned about heat for long duration use.
Pros: Recognized by W7 system quickly and is reasonable fast.
Cons: The disk keeps turning even if no R/W operations for 6+ hours. My Rosewill SATA HDD External Enclosure stops running after no R/W operations of a few minutes.
Other Thoughts: It has no fan so I intend to operate with the top cover removed with enclosure laying flat and not use it for unattended operations. This should work OK as the disk is secured with screws on sides. I would recommend to an experienced user.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/11/2017 1:23:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic N37-SU3 USB 3.0 ProBox N37-SU3 3.5' SATA HDD External Enclosure - USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The best 3.5 inch hard drive enclosure - deserve more than 5 stars
Pros: The design, small size, light weight and low price
Cons: Don't know yet
Other Thoughts: I really hesitated to buy this one because I have been hating the bulky and heavy 3.5 inch hard drive enclosure. When I received this package today, I had though they sent me the wrong product. After I opened it, it was slightly bigger than and hard drive itself. I put a 1TB 7200 rpm WD hard drive in it and it worked right away. This is the best enclosure I have ever seen.

I am willing to give it six stars if possible. Even though I haven't figured out if there is any overheat issue, I definitely will buy more.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/9/2017 5:51:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H236 USB 3.0 Standalone Hard Drive Duplicator & USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product. No drops. Big size HDD are supported
Pros: - supports big-size HDD (in my case, the biggest HDD I use is 6TB WD Red WD60EFRX and it works fine)
- fast USB 3.0 interface
- no data drops
Cons: - a little bit pricey
Other Thoughts: I have never used the Clone button, so I cannot provide comments on this functionality
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/9/2017 12:22:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic N37-SU3 USB 3.0 ProBox N37-SU3 3.5' SATA HDD External Enclosure - USB 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Easy setup - But NO POWER
Pros: Cheap
Cons: I was able to install hard drive and computer recognized the unit quickly. After about 15 seconds, the power light indicator went out, and after repeated attempts to unplug, and replug the power supply, the power light indicator goes out after about 10 seconds. Can't get the power to stay on to make transfer of files.
Other Thoughts: After initial (very brief) use, I wouldn't recommend this unit due to the power failure of BOTH units I purchased.
Reviewed By:Bruce W.,2/9/2017 11:15:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC25042 USB 3.0 USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" SATA Drive RAID Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very easy to set up and use
Pros: Vary easy to open the enclosure and install HDs
USB 3.0
Support multiple modes
Very cheap after rebate
Cons: No
Reviewed By:Tao J.,2/7/2017 4:50:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.