Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0080HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great hard drive
Pros: Good storage at a reasonable price.
Makes little noise.
Fast retrieval of content (hey it's a hard drive).
3yr warranty.
Cons: No power light or activity indicator.
Other Thoughts: I recently switched away from Seagate hard drives after yet another unit has failed on my systems. Western Digital just seems to last longer than Seagate (at least for me). The drive does a great job of keeping my data safe. The price / reliability can't be beat for an 8tb drive.
Reviewed By:Alonzo E.,5/25/2017 9:13:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 6tb for $140? Why not!
Pros: Can someone explain to me why I can buy a 6tb drive like this for less then a stand alone 6tb drive? Especially when I can crack this open and get the same 6tb drive? It really doesn't make much sense but whatever!
Cons: You get a 6tb device for $40 less then a 6tb drive.. so none I can think of..
Other Thoughts: I don't understand how they set up the pricing points for these..
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2017 7:32:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0080HBK-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Doesn't do everything a top-end router should do
Pros: Setup was simple, lots of great features. Eight RJ-45 ports instead of the standard four or five. Going strong after 18 months in a very highly connected house. However...
Cons: Does not support large HDDs via USB. I purchased a WD MyBook 8TB USB3 drive to act as a media repository/ backup via the USB plug on the Asus router. When the drive wouldn't mount I called Asus, who promptly informed me that the RT-AC88U did not support drives larger than 2TB. That was after I had owned the router about 9 months. They are up to 4TB at the 18-month mark, but considering there are single drives at the 10TB level now I'm not waiting for WD to get around to adding something to a top-end router (with matching price point) that they should have had at the beginning.
Other Thoughts: I have not had the dropout issues that others are reporting; the counterpoint to that is I'm not silly and trying to wirelessly connect fifteen devices at the same time all trying to stream full 1080p content. Many of my devices are wired in to get the full bandwidth, which is going to make losing the extra RJ-45 ports a bit tough. But it's easier to buy another switch than it is to get Asus to add features to their router firmware.
Synology has a new router that will do most of what the Asus will do and does support large USB HDDs. That's the direction I think I'm heading.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Vincent,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience by providing this feedback; it’s regrettable hearing your router does not support hard drives larger than 2TB. We placed a useful article that might help you in the future and will clarify some information regarding the correct file format when connecting an external drive to a router.

"My Book not detected by NAS, Router, DVR or My Cloud": https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=15164

We’ll be happy to assist you further or answer any other concerns you may have, contact us and mention the case number below.

Support Case Number: 052417-12050952

Need Help? Please contact us at 1 (800) 275-4932

Reviewed By:Vincent F.,5/23/2017 2:35:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Recommend
Pros: Quick, reliable, and very reasonably priced. I've had this hard drive for 5 years now and it's still rockin as well as when I first opened and used it.
Cons: N/A
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/23/2017 9:22:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 4TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Big Drive!
Pros: - 4TB!
-Decent transfer speeds
-$100
Cons: - Non unless there is a 4TB SSD for $100 out there
Other Thoughts: Recommend this drive to anyone who knows what a terabyte is and uses their computer for more than just Word. I am a photographer and 3D artist so when shooting raw you need space to keep all the images. This drive is great. Using Windows 10 and everything works great! Very happy
Reviewed By:Kerry B.,5/21/2017 7:45:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible (short) warranty for such a large storage device
Pros: Has a ton of capacity.
Cons: The warranty is way too short for a device that you are going to entrust with tons of your data. The only reason a manufacturer puts such a short warranty on a storage device like this is if they are having way too many failures, because they don't want to service them for longer. If the device is reliable, they don't have to service many either and can still give a decent warranty. No wonder there are so many negative comments about the reliability, the super short warranty is a big tipoff!
Other Thoughts: If the company doesn't trust their own device enough to give a decent warranty (for a huge device like this that will hopefully last a long time, I'd expect at least 3 years, not 1!), then I can't trust it to keep my data safe. I used to love Seagate and buy tons of their drives, but they have gone down hill fast the past several years.
Reviewed By:EVAN H.,5/20/2017 12:00:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0080HBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WD Quality
Pros: It is a Western Digital
Cons: A few things seem to bother me about this design
Lack of venting, no power/activity LED, and the out of box formatting of exFAT
I have always purchased WD drives, but I will try to find last years model
News flash to engineers, people like power/activity lights, I wish the laptop industry would understand that also
It is inexpensive to add and moronic not to have
Reviewed By:Ronald R.,5/19/2017 5:34:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Kind of a let down
Pros: - Decent physical size
- Quiet & cool (so far)
Cons: - No on/off switch (Gah, I want an external with a switch!)
- My biggest complaint is that it's advertised as "8TB" but there's only 7.27TB available. I've owned 4 other externals in the past so I realize it's not uncommon for there to be a discrepancy. But c'mon...nearly 3/4 of a TB!? I feel cheated. That much space missing warrants advertising this as 7TB & not 8.
Reviewed By:Damon O.,5/15/2017 4:48:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB3000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good External Drive
Pros: see other
Cons: see other
Other Thoughts: I received this product yesterday, and it arrived pretty fast. It was well-packaged. My OS is Windows 7. It was literally plug-and-play to get it up and running.

I ran Crystal Disk Mark to test the speed. Here are the results.
SeqQ31T1
Read: 196.5 MB/s, Write: 196.6
4kQ32T1
Read: 0.620, Write: 1.356
Seq
Read: 196.3, Write 196.5
4K
Read: 0.584, Write: 1.254

I copied 372 GB of data from this external hard drive to an internal SATA III hard drive, and it finished in 39 minutes. So, real-world testing yields about 158 MB/s to write.

As long as this hard drive doesn't break anytime soon, this review remains 5 eggs.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/11/2017 11:11:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive so far
Pros: Easy to set up and install, good price for the size.
Reasonably fast read/write times for USB 3.
Hasn't shown any signs of failure after two weeks.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/9/2017 6:07:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.