Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 GAMING-ITX/AC LGA 1151 Intel Z270 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Motherboards - Intel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fully-featured ITX mobo
Pros: - Onboard Intel 7265-AC WiFi/BT with external antenna performs very well
- 8 phase VRM for solid power delivery
- TB 3/USB 3.1 Type-C port with USB-PD 2.0 (it can rapid-charge my Pixel!)
- Lots of SATA ports
- DisplayPort & 2x HDMI for integrated graphics
- All three fan headers are 4-pin PWM
- UEFI interface is well-designed and has a ton of features for overclocking and fan settings
- Isolated ALC1220 audio
Cons: - M.2 slot is on the back where there is less/no airflow, so M.2 drives will run hotter than the rest of the case. The Asus Z270i has a front M.2 slot and it would've been nice to see it on this board too
- The two audio capacitors next to the PCIe slot are susceptible to damage when installing a graphics card if you're not careful
- The I/O shield is kinda ugly. I would've preferred a solid black shield.
Other Thoughts: This is the only Z270 ITX board with a Thunderbolt3/USB Type-C port, which is really nice for forward compatibility. I already have some Type-C devices so it was a nice perk. I love that you can create custom fan curves for all 3 fan headers, which is something I haven't seen before. Overall an excellent choice and worth its (relatively) hefty price tag.
Reviewed By:Nicholas N.,5/26/2017 4:06:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming K6 LGA 1151 Intel Z270 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Motherboards - Intel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gaming, this is a no brainer!
Pros: - Effectively uses 1080Ti
-Manages 32GB perfectly
-Brain-dead easy BIOS management and OC features
- Anything and everything else!
Cons: -Never been to prison =)
Other Thoughts: - If your looking to get a Mobo thats going to last a bit, supports an absurd amount of ram and has a built in sound card that beats most standard PCI stand alones? Yea, you might want this. My 1080Ti and this were as if they were one. Putting in the i7 7700 KL, this thing absolutely screams on games. Ultra, 4k, it dont matter.. you want the best graphics... this will support it. Simply a gamers MUST HAVE!
Reviewed By:Nathan H.,5/26/2017 2:45:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-X99-Ultra Gaming (rev. 1.0) LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 GIGABYTE GA-X99_ULTRA Gaming. Problem with Newegg on Chrome when ordered, or would show up as Verified Owner!
Pros: Supports my XEON E5-12 Core CPU; The 40 Mbps Intel® USB 3.1 controller (Alpine Ridge) THUNDERBOLT 3 Controller, able to Days Chain 6 items, including 4k Display - utilizes 4 PCIe Gen2 lanes, offering up to 20 Gb/s total bandwidth, for uncompromising transfer speeds! Also, up to 10 Gb/s per USB 3.1. With twice the bandwidth compared to its previous generation, and backwards compatibility with USB 2.0 and 3.0, the much improved USB 3.1 protocol is available over the new reversible USB Type-C™ and has a traditional USB Standard-A connector for better compatibility over a wider range of devices. Also compatible with new Retail for $59.00 Gigabyte GC-Alpine Ridge Thunderbolt 3 PCIe Card (NEWEGG, still does not carry as Premier item, yet? ) adding TWO more Thunderbolt 3 Ports able to daisy chain 12 more items! It has GIGABYTE UEFI DualBIOS™ with Q-Flash Plus USB ports; Cool LED Lighting; NVMe PCIe Gen3 x4 U.2 Onboard. A really good GIGABYTE REATEK Audio Manager and APP Center Including EasyTune™ Utilities... What more could you want in a Motherboard? Oh, I picked up on sale for sixty five dollars less than it costs now, lol...
Cons: Problem with Newegg on Chrome when ordered? Oh, the first board had a problem with USB ports passed 30 day Newegg warranty... Had to return for replacement and still Highly recommend it over ASUS motherboards with to me inferior ASMEDIA ASM1142 controller (It is $3.00 or so cheaper than INTEL Alpine Ridge chip-set with Thunderbolt 3 built in)?
Other Thoughts: I still highly Recommend: GIGABYTE GA-X99_ULTRA Gaming LGA2011 Motherboard with my XEON 12 Core 2.0 GHz CPU...
Reviewed By:Martin B.,5/26/2017 1:37:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X Z170A Krait Gaming 3X

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I wish i can find something to not like about this mobo
Pros: i'll be honest i used this with my first build and its honestly one of the nicest that I've seen out of the lineup i chose, and overclocking my old 6600k was a breeze. I paired this up with my old gtx 1070 msi 8g OC that matches the white aesthetics and it couldn't have been any better. Now i did upgrade from that to a gaming X 8G and a 7700k, all i can do is recommend MSI parts
Cons: for how long i've had this motherboard. Nothing!
Other Thoughts: i'd like people to keep in mind that this mobo was used for my first build that was built on January 4th 2017 so i've have some experience with this mobo.
Reviewed By:justin d.,5/26/2017 10:48:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170A GAMING M5 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing board, 2 years with zero issues.
Pros: -Amazingly simple overclocking
-Great heat dispersion
-Honestly I've never worked with an easier board for the price
-If an idiot like me can overclock with this board anyone can
-Looks great!
Cons: -Doesn't do my dishes.
Other Thoughts: People need to read before they buy something, Z170 boards need to be updated to work with kaby Lake, just buy a z270 board and stop complaining, it's not the boards fault you cant read.
Reviewed By:Ryan C.,5/26/2017 7:50:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX Z270G GAMING LGA1151 DDR4 DP HDMI M.2 mATX Motherboard with onboard AC Wifi and USB 3.1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice Board - Easy to set up.
Pros: Great instructions and helpful setup utilities
Cons: NO Customer Support.
Bluetooth stopped working and I opened a ticket with ASUS technical support. Days go by and no reply, after a while I received some information and link to re-set the bluetooth device. Did not correct the problem. The bluetooth device does not even show up in device manager.

I received a message here on my post from Eric, Customer Loyalty at ASUS, stating that he would look into my problem.
I sent Eric two e-mail at cc-eric@asus.com with the information and the open ticket number. No reply from him or anything back from the support on the open ticket. Nothing.

I see that I am not alone with bluetooth problems on this board.
I can only assume that there is not a software diagnostic that can correct this problem.
I'm sorry that I did not research the bluetooth issues before I purchased this board.

I have a long history of building systems with ASUS motherboards and am very disappointed with the level of support.

I was hopeful that once Eric was involved perhaps this issue could be resolved.

So the take away is do research, and if you see a post reply here from the company, don't assume they are really doing anything to fix the problem.

I will be returning this board and getting a replacement, hope on that board the bluetooth interface runs longer that several weeks.
Other Thoughts: Yes, if you don't plan to use the bluetooth .
I'm not the only person to have this fail.
Manufacturer Response:Hi David,

I received one message from you yesterday that I have replied to with some troubleshooting steps to try before having to send in for RMA. If that doesn't work, please e-mail me directly and i'll set you up with an RMA to take care of the issue you are experiencing.


Regards,

Eric
Customer Loyalty
ASUS Computers
https://www.asus.com/us/support/

Reviewed By:David K.,5/26/2017 7:29:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z270X-DESIGNARE (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z270 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 Motherboards - Intel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 All Silver EVERYTHING!!! *...Almost*
Pros: - Aesthetics, this board is one of the few that prioritizes a "white" *silver* PCB. Really sharp looking if that's what you're after!
- High-Speed XMP RAM Support! *Missed this coming from RyZen*
- Ease of use with everything within the UEFI working as you would expect.
- Very affordable given the feature set packed in.
- Pretty good support from Gigabyte with regular bios/software updates.
- Very nice RGB lighting options.
- Metal reinforced PCI-E slots!!! *Still get GPU sag though with most premium 2-3 slot cards*
- USB3.1 gen2 header!!!
- Thunderbolt support.
- Smart Fan 5. *REALLY useful for tuning fans.*
- Both SLi & Crossfire Support.
- G-Connector *Think ASUS Q Connector. Same thing.*
- 3 Year limited warranty.
Cons: - No dual ethernet support. :-(
- Gigabyte's EasyTune software isn't as good as ASUS or MSI tuning variants. *But TBH, all these in-OS suites are lacking*
- Wish it had 4 more USB ports on the I/O.
- Not the most robust on-board audio solution out there.
- Could maybe be ~$30 cheaper. *Wait for a sale.*
Other Thoughts: This board will get a i7 7700k to 5.0Ghz with 32gb of ram and dual 1080 Tis' in SLi, no problem!

***This board also pairs nicely with the Phanteks P400s in white.***
Reviewed By:Mark E.,5/26/2017 5:19:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX Z270E GAMING LGA1151 DDR4 DP HDMI DVI M.2 ATX Motherboard with Onboard AC Wi-Fi and USB 3.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Affordable High Performance
Pros: - Easy to work with
- Has all essential components and less unnecessary belts and whistles (lower price)
- Great overclocking potential (pushes my 7700K to 5GHz at 1.328v with ease, 24/7 stable ==> pure bliss)
- Black color theme (good for certain build ideas, I guess)
- Has a built-in 2X2 MU-MIMO WiFi & Bluetooth module from Qualcomm (decent internet speed and stability, Windows 10 installation naturally recognized the module, make sure to use Windows to automatically search the internet for the module's true latest driver, ASUS' latest driver is actually old and occasionally drops the connection)
- ASUS AURA is, in my opinion, 90% fixed. Applied loads of RGB effects, no freezing, no crashing, stably syncs with my TridentZ RGB RAM sticks, and applies the desired RGB effects correctly. Also, there are two additional RGB headers, so it's good for party-lighting effects.
- Quite sturdy and feels very good in the hands when holding the board.
- Built-in audio solution is excellently implemented and being among the best in the built-in class. If compare this solution with a high-end dedicated sound card, then the comparison becomes an apple versus an orange.
Cons: - It would be very nice and competitive if the MSRP is $174.99 instead of $199.99. After all, this is no Maximus series by any means.
- Could use more RGB lighting on the board, especially around the chipset areas.
- Only USB 3.0 & 3.1 ports, so make sure you do a little bit of research of what keyboard and mouse you would like to pair with this board. Most of the keyboards are still happy with being powered from USB 2.0 ports, not USB 3.0 ports yet. The later USB version provides more power current into the peripherals, which can cause instability or even freezing. Please take note of this.
- More fan headers, please. This is a gaming and overclocking board, and it does not matter if it is mid-tier. Helps with the cable management, too, if external fan hubs/controllers are absent.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this board to anyone who is looking to build a solid and high-performance Kaby Lake build with great overclocking potential.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2017 4:05:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H270M Pro4 LGA 1151 Intel H270 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Motherboards - Intel

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The cheapest and worst board I ever bought/used
Pros: Small
Cons: Pci16 slots do not lock in gpu's and shear with the slightest amount of pressure.
Other Thoughts: Overall it looked like a promising mobo. I have always loved AsRock products so when I saw this one on sale, I didn't give it a second though. The issue are the 2 PCI 16 slots. The locking mechanism is flimsy and does not lock in the cards. Also, the cards do not stay in the slot. There is absolutely no way to press down any further without breaking something. I really was gentle with this board as AsRock boards are always pretty thin. But both PCI 16 slots are ruined. The locks both broke and sheared off the slot itself. The slots also have split. I have a standard gpu (2xr9 390x). Sadly, this board is unusable for any decent crossfire set up. Also, the HD audio slot sits right where the card would be. You can not use HD audio if you plan on using a dual card setup. Very, very, very poorly designed product.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
The board's PCIE 16 x slots have sliding lock for fasten the cards.
Please slide the lock outward gently to unlock for the card to install and then slide the lock back to locking the card (please see attached screen shot).

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
Related File(s):
jpgh270m pro4 pcie lock

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2017 12:06:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z270 KILLER SLI/AC LGA 1151 Intel Z270 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Motherboards - Intel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good motherboard, so far...
Pros: 1) Allows Sky Lake *and* Kaby Lake CPUs out of the box, including the ability to overclock the K-type. 2) UEFI (BIOS) display is very good. 3) Built-in 802.11ac wireless performs flawlessly for me, giving me full throughput from the cable modem from across the house (75Mb/s on the 5GHz band with TP-Link Archer C7 wireless router and TP-Link 8dBi desktop antenna at my computer). 4) Has two steel-protected PCI-E slots for GPUs. 5) Very good quality audio.
Cons: Nothing major. Minor quibbles: 1) The dimensions are a bit odd for an ATX. The right edge is unsupported by the offsets, can flex a bit. 2) The memory slots on mine are very picky. I kept getting three beeps for improper memory installation. This may be my fault, though, for being too delicate (fear of breaking something). Finally got the two modules working fine, though. (They are G-Skill F4-2133C15D-16GNT modules, which are not listed, as I write this, on the Z270 Killer's website). 3) The RGB lighting is not my thing. I upgraded to BIOS v2.10 and used the ASR RGB LED utility to shut it off.
Other Thoughts: Have i5-6600K, Samsung 840 and 850 SSDs, EVGA 650 G3 PSU, EVGA GTX 1060 3GB GPU, Windows 10 Pro. Everything working flawlessly so far. I might follow up later. I previously had an ASRock Z170 Pro4 which seemed very nice but was never quite right: It had USB 3.0 port issues and power issues: It sometimes would not properly wake from sleep. It was probably defective and I should have returned it. It died a couple of weeks ago, after 14 months. It may have killed my Seasonic 650W PSU a while back, though I can't be certain of that. But I have heard a lot of positives about ASRock from people whose opinions I respect. I hope I was just unlucky last time.
Reviewed By:Hal R.,5/25/2017 7:49:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.