Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG MZVPV512HDGL-00000 Samsung SSD MZVPV512HDGL-00000 SM951 512GB M.2 PCIE 3.0 Bare

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blazing Fast
Pros: Installed on back side of AS Rock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac mother board without a hitch. Loaded Windows 10, Photoshop, Office Pro and a few other applications. Boots in 40 seconds.
Cons: Cost of the SSD will come down in the future.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you have a M.2 Ultra port capability on your MB and that this SSD is on it's comparability list.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/10/2017 3:33:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > LyCOM Technology > DT 120 - M.2 PCIe to PCIe 3.0 x4 Adapter (support M.2 PCIe 2280, 2260, 2242)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfectly good choice for using a 960 Pro/EVO M.2 in PCI-Express mode
Pros: There are several makes and models of these devices. I originally built my Skylake system without any deep planning for use of M.2 NVMe drives. When I finally got around to investigating the prospects after the system was up and running, I had two choices: Use my Sabertooth Z170 board's M.2 slot and lose SATA ports 1 and 2 to still take a performance hit; and use an M.2 NVMe in a PCI-E slot with full performance -- losing SATA ports 5 and 6 so that I can use my third "PCIE x16" slot in x4 mode. It would otherwise default to x2.

The BIOS was already configured properly for this. I just connected my Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 to the DT 120, moved some SATA connections around so as not to use ports 5 and 6, and put the rocket in the socket. Samsung Magician proves out the M.2 spec showing about 3,100+ MB/s sequential reads and 1,500 MB/s sequential writes.

I'll explain in "Other" how and why I'm using that small-capacity EVO.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: One reviewer noted something about disappointing performance. Maybe he used the right slot, but it was configured to offer only x2 speeds. But I have none of the frustrations he says he suffered.

We all want to integrate older tech with newer. HDD electro-mechanical storage still provides the highest capacity at the lowest price per gigabyte. With a 250GB EVO and this PCIE card as a caching SSD, I can cache SATA devices (both SSD and HDD) to the EVO and cache all of that to RAM. The benchmark results are insane, and you can feel the difference. Great idea, if you don't want to spend $600 on a 1TB M.2 NVMe. And if the price is right and you still chose to buy such a 1TB drive, you could simply move the small drive and DT 120 to another system, get another DT 120, add your OS volumes and a caching volume to the NVMe, and still come back with the same sort of integration and insane speed.
Reviewed By:John B.,1/6/2017 2:28:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > Bplus Technology Co., Ltd. > M2S4C-4 (Quad M.2 (NGFF) SSD to SATA RAID Adapter)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: very fast (runs in RAID 0) I bought the cheapest m2 128 gb each = 512 gb total
the m2's were on sale at $40 each.... the benchmarks speak for themselves about 3 or 4 times faster than a single m2... you can image your current hard drive to this SATA RAID Adapter also I bought a raid 4 port pcie card
Cons: runs hot I added a large silent fan to blow air directly at the SATA RAID Adapter
you will need a very tiny screw driver for the tiny screws... they do not give you extra screws so do not lose any
Other Thoughts: buy it you will like it
Reviewed By:Thomas D.,12/3/2016 4:50:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > Drevo > DREVO X1 Series 240GB SSD 2.5-inch Solid State Drive SATA3 Read 550MB/S Write 470MB/S

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great deal
Pros: Speed, speed & speed
Cons: wrong category
Reviewed By:yehoshua rubin,11/30/2016 9:30:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > Tandberg Data > TANDBERG DATA 432631 LTO Ultrium Cleaning Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow, works better than a dirty old tooth brush
Pros: Turns the tape cleaning indicator light off nicely, have never seen the tape drive so clean.
Cons: refuses to wash the dishes
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/18/2016 6:04:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > Drevo > DREVO X1 Series 240GB SSD 2.5-inch Solid State Drive SATA3 Read 550MB/S Write 470MB/S

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Using on Macbook Pro (mid-2010 model).
Pros: Recognized by Macbook Pro right away.
Runs smoothly and was easy to install Linux Mint on.
Cons: Haven't noticed a huge improvement in speed.
Other Thoughts: My old 2010 Macbook Pro had been "dead" for over 2 years before this brought it back to life. This is actually the first SSD I've had the pleasure of using, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I've heard that they're supposed to be extremely faster than regular hard drives. So, I was expecting a huge difference in speed. Unfortunately, after two months of use, I just haven't seen this incredible speed boost...... So, is it just hype or is it just this drive?

Don't get me wrong, my Macbook Pro is definitely faster than it was but nothing spectacular or jaw-dropping. However, at least it does work now and I don't have all these unreadable sectors (like I did before); everything runs smoothly. I haven't had any issues with the functionality of the drive. My Macbook recognized it right away - no problems! I did a clean install of Linux Mint on it (instead of putting Mac OS X back on it - mainly because my backup drive is gone so I have no way of doing that, right now).

Overall, I am really enjoying this drive. It's not a huge amount of space but I know that most SSDs aren't. It's perfect for me since my Macbook Pro isn't my main computer. It can handle everything I need it to - mainly just saving images, MP3s, and documents. The performance of the drive (minus just an average speed boost) is great.
Reviewed By:Charnita F.,10/10/2016 11:38:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > Drevo > Drevo X1 Series 60GB MLC SSD 2.5-inch Solid State Drive SATA3 Read 500MB/S Write 90MB/S

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good quality with the cheapest price! Highly recommend it!!
Pros: Everything is good so far
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/10/2016 8:42:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > LyCOM Technology > DT 120 - M.2 PCIe to PCIe 3.0 x4 Adapter (support M.2 PCIe 2280, 2260, 2242)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome throughput
Pros: enabled my m.2 drive to get max throughput.
Cons: can't think of anything.
Reviewed By:Ronald M.,9/2/2016 3:47:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > Five Star Inc > Metal 2.5''SSD HDD To 3.5'' Mounting Holder Bracket Adapter Dock Atx Case Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 These do NOT work with hot-swap trays
Pros: Cheap way to mount a 2.5 in a 3.5 bay
Cons: connector will not match up with backplane if you intended to use these for hotswap
Other Thoughts: If you need a cheap way to mount 2.5 drives in 3.5 bays and are using cables, these are fine... if you're using a backplane and swapable trays, it'll be about $15 each
Reviewed By:Jeff H.,7/17/2016 2:31:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Backup Media > LyCOM Technology > MF-178 (H/W RAID 2x mSATA SSD to 2.5” 7mm SATA III SSD)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works more or less.
Pros: - easy to set up
- has a place on the bottom to heat sink hot drives through the pcb
Cons: - everything seems to work for a while, but a raid 0 with two crucial M550 512GB drives is too much for the power supply; high speed for a few moments, and then the drive drops out. It does come back after the lights flash.
Other Thoughts: This thing might be ok for lower power drives; the M550 is one of the more power hungry for sure.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/7/2016 3:33:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.