Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Computers & Tablets > 
All Laptop Accessories > 
Internal SSDs > 
G.SKILL > 
Item#: N82E16820231378

G.SKILL Phoenix Pro Series FM-25S2S-120GBP2 2.5" 120GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

neweggOUT OF STOCK.

  • 2.5"
  • 120GB
  • SATA II
ICON Loading...

Learn more about the G.SKILL FM-25S2S-120GBP2

General

Brand
G.SKILL
Series
Phoenix Pro Series
Model
FM-25S2S-120GBP2
Device Type
Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Used For
Consumer

Physical

Form Factor
2.5"
Capacity
120GB
Memory Components
MLC
Interface
SATA II
Controller
SandForce

Performance

Sustained Sequential Read
Up to 285MBps
Sustained Sequential Write
Up to 275MBps
MTBF
2,000,000 hours

Features

Features
SandForce SF-1200 Series Controller

IOPS: Up to 50000 (disk aligned; 4KB random write)

Access Time: <0.2ms

Built-in EDC/ECC function

RoHS FCC and CE Compliant

Environmental

Max Shock Resistance
1500G
Max Vibration Resistance
15G

Manufacturer Warranty

Parts
3 years limited
Labor
3 years limited

Quick Info

Warranty

  • Limited Warranty period (parts): 3 years
  • Limited Warranty period (labor): 3 years


Customer Reviews of the G.SKILL FM-25S2S-120GBP2

Do you own this product? Write a Review

ICON Loading...

Filter Results

Go
  • nmope
  • 9/3/2014 10:11:16 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggspoor reliability

Pros: ok price and performance at the time.

Cons: terrible reliability. drive just failed without any warning
of course it's past the warranty. if i had any kind of advance notice or SMART errors i would have backed up my data and tossed the drive

Other Thoughts: I ran a HDD health check 2 weeks ago and this drive had like 95%..last night there was 2 random crashes and the drive now won't boot. im not sure if there is even a way to get all my data off the drive

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Glad to hear you got a good price on the drive and it performed well in your system. The G.Skill Phoenix II series SSDs was one of the fastest of it's time. It is strange the drive has failed, but if you are within 3 years of purchase, it is backed by a manufactrer warranty. A new replacement can be shipped to you shortly. To retrieve existing data, you may need data recovery software to access the files. For any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • N/A
  • 6/11/2014 10:39:44 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsWorst SSD

Pros: I don't even know why.

Cons: This SSD card work ok for the first 6 months. Then started to get errors which need to restart then worked fine for a bit. I didn't care cause I hardly used it and thought with new firmware it be ok. Time passes and now its just constantly restarting and I had to get a new one and of course due to my lazyness its out of it's warranty. I wouldn't reccomend this for anyone.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We are sorry to hear you had such issues. Use a program like Parted Magic to secure erase the drive and see if it works better. Also, make sure SATA mode is set to AHCI in BIOS. If the drive is not set up properly, it can have issues like you are experiencing. Also, make sure you have the latest firmware and Intel RST drivers for optimal performance. Should you have any questions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • N/A
  • 12/31/2013 6:07:55 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsUnreliable

Pros: While it was under warranty product ran great.

Cons: Product failed unrecoverable about a month after the warranty expired

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Glad to hear the SSD ran great in your system. The G.Skill Phoenix series drives are one of the best in the industry. The performance and pricing is unmatched, making it a great value. We are sorry to hear it has failed after so many years, but it is something that can happen after so many read/writes over the years. We hope a replacement SSD will work just as well and last even longer. For any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • SSD-less in Seattle
  • 11/12/2013 11:17:09 PM
  • Tech Level: High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

2 out of 5 eggsDied just outside of warranty

Pros: Worked great while it worked
Easy to install, no hassle
Was a huge upgrade from my HDD

Cons: Huge con...died after 3 years and 2 months....so no warranty coverage. I hold grudges with companies when they pull this. Building product that's meant to last _just_ long enough to exceed the warranty timeframe gets under my skin. I'm reading various comments on here about Phoenix SSDs dying right before the warranty period ending (lucky them!). With the warranty period now ending for many of the customers of this device, I foresee a lot of jaded Phoenix customers.

Well, I will cross my fingers and ask for an RMA, but if I am refused, I will be blacklisting Phoenix products in our house. Sony did this to us too, and we don't buy Sony anymore.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Glad to hear the SSD was easy to install and worked well in your system. The G.Skill Phoenix series is definitely a great upgrade over any traditional HDD. The access time and overall speed is unmatched. It is odd and pure coincidental that the SSD died right after warranty coverage. It is impossible for us to control that. For any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • kbnguy
  • 10/25/2013 2:01:12 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsTrash!

Pros: SSD
Fast.

Cons: Rebrand/re-badge Samsung drive or at least that's what raid controller recognized it as...
Crapped out after 2.5 yrs.

Other Thoughts: Filed a RMA w/ G Skill and still waiting for respond

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Glad to hear the SSD was working fast in your computer. It is strange the drive died abruptly after almost 3 years, but don't worry, all G.Skill Phoenix series SSDs are backed by a 3 year manufacturer warranty. Simply complete the RMA procedure online, send the drive to us, and we can have a new one out to you shortly. The G.Skill RMA process is quick and hassle free, so your computer will be back up to full speed in no time. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • MarkJohnson
  • 8/25/2013 12:16:51 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsFAILED

Pros: Worked great while it lasted

Cons: After 2.5 years it failed and now G.Skill doesn't seem to want to replace it. Keep saying it's not in stock when they still make SSDs. If they don't have this exact model they're suppose to send an equivalent or better immediately.

Other Thoughts: Been over a month and still no word from them. I used to really love this company, but after this fiasco, I'm not sure I would recommend them if they aren't going to honor their warranties.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

Your patience is greatly appreciated. If the SSD is still under warranty, we will be more than glad to replace it. In the case that an item is out of stock, there may be a slight delay, but rest assured we will send you a new one as soon as it is in stock. Feel free to contact the G.Skill support team for a status update. We will do our best to get your system back up and running at full speed. For any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • BasarasV
  • 4/17/2013 10:39:20 PM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

5 out of 5 eggsStill going

Pros: Still going strong after 2.5 yrs. Not a single issues since the day i bought it.

Cons: None

Other Thoughts: I have always started from a fresh install when using a SSD as an OS drive, in order to make sure it sets everything windows needs to set to use a SSD as the windows disk drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

  • N/A
  • 1/27/2013 12:37:03 PM
  • Tech Level: Average
  • Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsFailed after ~2months

Pros: *

Cons: I have had to replace the drive once already for a similar reason. The drive worked great for about ~2months then would constantly crash. Very poor product. Also the RMA process was very long and I didn't receive a new drive for replacement for nearly a month.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We are sorry to hear you are not satsifed with the solid state drive. This is a very high speed performing SATA II SSD so you should be pleased with the result. It is strange the drive randomly failed, please send it in for RMA and a replacement should work better. All G.Skill Phoenix II series SSDs are backed by a 3 year warranty. At any time the drive is not working as it should, you can send it in for RMA to receive a new one. A new SSD should perform better and last much longer. Please visit the Official G.Skill website for complete RMA procedure. For any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • N/A
  • 10/26/2012 9:59:16 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year
  • Verified Owner

1 out of 5 eggsThe ssd failed after 1.5 years

Pros: *

Cons: I find it interesting how G.Skill throws statements like this on here "Especially for a critical piece of hardware such as your main drive, we understand a quick turn around time is necessary to get your system back up to speed." and then FORCE some of us to wait over 5 weeks for a replacement ssd. Thank you for the prolonged down time of my business computer.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Your patience is greatly appreciated during the RMA processing time. The SSD should arrive shortly so your system will be back up to speed. It is strange the drive became defective, but with the latest firmware and drivers, the replacement should work very well. Whether for gaming, business, or basic use, the G.Skill solid state drive can greatly enhance performance. Should you have any further questions or concerns, feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

  • N/A
  • 10/25/2012 5:43:58 AM
  • Tech Level: Somewhat High
  • Ownership: more than 1 year

1 out of 5 eggsPOOR G.SKILL SERVICE

Pros: .

Cons: The ssd failed after 1.5 years

Other Thoughts: The ssd failed after 1.5 years, ok it happens BUT.... Its been over 5 weeks since G.Skill received my broken ssd and STILL no replacement because the part is on back order. Here is a crazy idea G.Skill, come up with a backup plan to send your customers working replacement ssd (equal or better specs) instead of forcing us into a month long computer down time. All I got so far from them is empty apologies, unfortunately I can't install Windows on apologies. Nice way to treat loyal customers.

Manufacturer Response:

.
Dear Customer

We apologize for any delay. Please contact the G.Skill RMA department directly for a status update. It should not take long for a replacement. If an item is not available, it can be replaced with another product with identical or similar specifications. Once you receive the new SSD, your computer should be fast and stable. For any further questions or concerns, feel free to let us know.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskillusa.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskillusa.com
G.Skill Forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

ICON Loading...
Out of Stock
  • This item is currently out of stock and it may or may not be restocked.
  • $9.99 Shipping
Out of Stock
Are you an E-Blast Insider?
Enter your email address to agree to receive promo codes from Newegg. You can unsubscribe at any time.
Subscribe Newegg e-Blast
Home
Home > 
Computers & Tablets > 
All Laptop Accessories > 
Internal SSDs > 
G.SKILL > 
Item#: N82E16820231378
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau