Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815+ RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 More need for mounting...
Pros: I have only had this unit for a couple of days.
Other than I found it easy to set up and it appears to provide access to NAS space on two Western Digital Red hard drives to Windows clients, I don't have much to say about it's function.
Cons: This note is more along the line of education about how Synology views their rack mounted units.

Buyer-beware: If you purchase just the unit, you have NO way to mount it in a 19" rack. There is NO mounting hardware included in the box. Although it comes with rack mount ears, they are only there to stop the unit from sliding out of the rack once mounted. The only Synology approved means of mounting their rack mount units in a rack is with their RKS1314 Sliding Rail Kit; a not cheap solution.
Now you might ask why the only approved means of mounting the unit is on sliding rails, since there is nothing accessible on the top of the unit; but you would have to ask Synology since I don't have a single idea. The only clue, if you can call it that, to the requirement for RKS1314 is that it is listed as an accessory! Synology thinks that means you will know that there is no mounting hardware included; I think an assumptive stretch. Warning: the unit is too deep and heavy to be mounted solely with the included rack mount ears.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 2:33:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815RP+ RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good
Pros: Great performance (i'm using 2TB WD Red Pros), solid OS, CLI, 4x Gigabit Ethernet, feature packed with all the different software packages available. The user experience is very well polished.
Cons: Cloud Station software is buggy and support doesn't seem to be willing to assist unless you allow them remote access to the system.

Which I cannot.

Therefore I am stuck living with this problem until I am able to figure it out myself.
Other Thoughts: Everything about the unit for the most part has been great. The performance, construction, robustness, etc.

I purchased it with the intention of using Cloud Station to handle file syncing on each workstation in my domain. The synced files are then uploaded to AWS S3 every evening.

Cloud Station is quite buggy (in my case, it keeps replicating temporary files and will not delete them. Cloud Station is consuming approx 1.2TB for only ~120GB of data in my shared folders).

Synology should have a better support channel for customers purchasing top-tier solutions.

I would have given this unit a solid 5 star review if I didn't have to deal with these growing pains.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2015 8:19:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-869U-RP-US Diskless System High-performance 8-bay NAS Server for SMBs

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not worth the money
Pros: It stores your data...yup
Cons: -Slower than molasses
-Not upgradable, no additional NIC, no additional RAM
-Make sure you buy the additional warranty. Std is two years
Other Thoughts: -Spend the extra money and buy the x79 series with maximum ram and additional NICs (if VMware iSCSI is the planned use)
-Qnap support is only available 8:00AM - 5:00PM PST, no 24x7
-This unit failed after 2.5 years with no indication of failure imminent
-I do have the 859 still in use after 5 years (869 replaced the 859) in a very small office.
-I have the 879 & 1279 in use as well, but both required maximum RAM in a 20 user office.
Reviewed By:Caffeinated,3/29/2015 12:09:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-421U Diskless System Rackmount Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 QNAP TS-421U
Pros: Easy to setup and works as advertised. Plenty of apps available and the support clients, including mobile is excellent. The core NAS itself is solid with all standard RAID options and then some. Used compatible drives and the setup took minutes. All for an extremely competitive price.
Cons: The only complaint I have to date is that the device only came with two dogears for the rackmount. when it really needs 4. The instructions and help on some features could be a little more detailed, but overall everything you need is there and it seems like the the missing pieces are new features.
Other Thoughts: I'm extremely happy with the product so far. It's great for a SOHO NAS.Couldn't be more pleased.
Reviewed By:STH,2/15/2015 1:33:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RackStation RS3614xs+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great software but hardware can fail and support lacks..
Pros: Tons of drive space, especially with expansion units. The DSM UI is the best on the market (I've also used QNAP). Works well with other Synology products such as Diskstation, which we have plenty of around the office.
Cons: The hardware can fail occasionally, as it did in our case. Support is there, but if you have a serious problem they will pass it on to 'higher levels' who in our case determine it is the cables (provided by Synology) for connecting expansion units that causes file system errors and volumes to crash. Happened twice in a month.
Other Thoughts: We have lots of Synology products. They are great for Diskstations but so far I'm learning the Rackstation products are not up to snuff and the support becomes inattentive and robotic trying to solve a very difficult problem. In the past they've been great.
Reviewed By:JESSE C.,2/10/2015 3:04:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414RP+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for General Stuff
Pros: Its good for file servers and other general type of servers like DC, DHCP, DNS .
Has great UI and its really easy to install.
Performance is great.
Great for Price
Cons: Does not have 10gb support.
Needs SSD cache drives to run something more powerful like heavly loaded SQL server etc.
Reviewed By:ZivaTiva,11/15/2014 9:36:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dissapointment
Pros: Low Initial cost
Cons: Unreliable hardware and POOR Warranty Service. This unit is only 5 months old and I've spent most of today trying to get a warranty unit shipped that they agreed to replace yesterday. They just told me it wouldn't ship until tomorrow and that it would be 5 business days before it arrives. I have never been treated so badly on a warranty in my over 20 years in the IT field.
Other Thoughts: Look elsewhere for reliability and TCO.
Reviewed By:Charliefred,10/30/2014 2:01:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Colossal pain
Pros: Lots of space for storage
Cons: Does not play nice with Active Directory
Other Thoughts: I have spent a lot of time fighting with this thing. For the price I would have been ahead in time and money had I purchased a new server and configured it. Connecting to Active Directory should not require jumping through this many hoops.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 12:54:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good
Pros: Good, fast and stable
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/14/2014 3:51:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RackStation RS3614xs+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Synology RackStation 3614
Pros: Synology makes great NAS products. This one is no exception. Fast throughput and friendly software.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 1:35:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.