Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP RAIL-C01 Rail Kit for 1U Rackmount Models

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works Well
Pros: Fairly robust rails for a good price.
Cons: Directions are sub-par, and the rails aren't marked well for orientation. These rails don't mate well with the tabs so the unit sits out about a half inch (it doesn't slide back flush). Sound picky? well it's annoying and I'm in the business of picky.
Reviewed By:Jnarowe,6/29/2014 9:37:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414RP+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unacceptable "support"
Pros: Quiet, supports 4TB drives.
Cons: One LED on one backplane was defective. Minor nuisance, but status LED's are essential in any production environment. Synology would not ship out a replacement backplane. They require the entire unit be boxed up and shipped back. Apparently, they don't understand that NAS hardware in a production environment typically cannot simply be returned on a whim because of something as minor as a defective backplane LED.
Their response;
"We do not have any just back plane parts to send you and we do not support users opening up their machines to replace parts other than very simple pieces such as fans/memory/replaceable power supplies. While I do not doubt your capability to replace the parts, as a company it is also not something we support. We are of course still happy to replace your unit. "
They also never answered my RAID rebuild performance questions. Several tweaks that should have been standard in their firmware were never implemented, resulting in 4 DAY rebuild times. Even with 4TB drives in a RAID 6 + 1 hot spare, I was able to get it down to about 32 hours. It would have been nice if they would have replied to my questions, instead of the boilerplate "return the unit" responses, such as "Since the parity check is a high IO intensive process then performing other operations during this time can cause the rebuilding process to take longer than normal". You don't say! Besides, I guess they never looked at the I/O, themselves, as the load was not high by any stretch of the imagination.
Other Thoughts: I'm very thankful I had the opportunity to test this device in a non-production environment before deploying.
I would NOT recommend this product for a production environment. Certainly not in a remotely managed site or for hosted services.
Reviewed By:Very disappointed,6/23/2014 8:17:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-870U-RP-US Rackmount Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good NAS
Pros: Cost effective NAS, iSCSI, IP-SAN storage solution
Scale up Storage Over 400TB Raw Capacities
High performance, secure, reliable, and simple
VMware Ready, Citrix Ready and Hyper-V compliant
10 GbE ready reaching over 1,000 MB/s and 100,000 IOPS
SSD cache acceleration
Multi-core processor, DDR3, SATA 6Gb/s, and USB 3.0

QNAP still provides tech support help even after the expired warranty date.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a fantasy NAS! Able to perform multiple task with high performance! with the usb 3.0 back, the speed is amazingly fast!
Reviewed By:John C,2/21/2014 1:38:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible support
Pros: Please.
Cons: Good grief their support is the worst I've ever experienced. The only response you get is the automated ones.
Other Thoughts: Going to try Synology next time. May not be better, but can't be worse. If they aren't better, I'm just going to build it myself. What a pain.
Reviewed By:whatnot,1/24/2014 1:48:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 38 days
Pros: None
Cons: One of the disks failed after 30 some odd days.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/10/2014 1:17:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS812+ Diskless System High-performance & Scalable 4-bay Rackmounted NAS Server for SMB Users

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exceeds all expectations
Pros: Great little Linux box. Assisted RAID-10 setup worked flawlessly; stability has been incredible. Mine is running CrashPlan and other Java services, as well as BIND9, HTTPD, and syslogd. Used two 3rd party (G-Skill) RAM modules purchased from Newegg to increase to 4GB.
Cons: No redundant power supply and RP model costs ~$600 more. Web management interface is quick but only moderately intuitive until you get used to it.
Reviewed By:vlaadisch,8/30/2013 11:10:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP RAIL-B01 Rail Kit for TS-869U/1269U

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice and fast
Pros: These were easy to drop into my square holed rack. This is a very nice set of rails for the QNAP NAS if you need some.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Mike,8/9/2013 7:24:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS812+ Diskless System High-performance & Scalable 4-bay Rackmounted NAS Server for SMB Users

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 customer support is terrible
Pros: It has yet to break and I learned a lot about how to debug their own product
Cons: The tech support is terrible. They do not know the basics of s.m.a.r.t. or iscsi. Both of which I found bugs with in their system. There is no way to send them an email for support so calling is required. The calling hours are small and the overall attitude they give you is awful. You spend more time verifying serial numbers then getting actual help. I deal with vendors all the time and this is the worst product support I have seen in years.

Lord help you if you dont use a hard drive on their preferred list. I bought a hard drive that they said was compatible except it had about 10GB more memory and that was their justification for not viewing the logs or helping.

They point blank on the phone told me that s.m.a.r.t testing wouldnt work because it had 10GB more, and yet I (who doesnt work for them) figured out how to make it work. If any of my staff were even half as rude as they were I would fire them.

They also managed to break mutual CHAP with isci quite nicely.
Other Thoughts: Dont buy it unless you want to spend a lot of time fixing their broken software.

I can put up with a bad product if the support is great and we get it to eventually work, but dealing with their bad attitude was enough to make me say "I will never buy a synology product ever again"
Reviewed By:sad customer,8/9/2013 11:46:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS812RP+ Diskless System High-performance & Scalable 4-bay Rackmounted NAS Server for SMB Users

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: iSCSI works great with vSphere 4.1
Easy to use web interface.
Several optional add-on apps for functionality. I like that they're not just all automatically installed like bloatware.
Cons: Installation didn't go so well. I popped in all my 4 TB drives and went through the install. It choked and told me to open up port 23 (telnet) on my router and call support. I didn't like that option, so I google'd it. It turns out, you should do the initial install with one hard drive in the system. Once you go through installation and have it up and running. Add the other drives and build your raid.
Other Thoughts: This box is working great for our needs and I'd highly recommend it to anyone.
Reviewed By:rodneyaz,6/1/2013 11:24:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-870U-RP-US Rackmount Network Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fantastic NAS Device
Pros: - Capacity
- Form Factor
- Expandability
- Price / Value
- Flexibility
- Stability
Cons: - No SFTP support in client mode
Other Thoughts: This is a great NAS appliance. It can do so many things on your network and has such a fantastic, intuitive web interface. We love it and keep finding uses for it. The only drawback, and it is a BIG one (minus one egg from an otherwise 5 egg product) is the lack of support for SFTP in Real Time Remote Replication (RTRR). RTRR let's you pick "FTP" as the transport method for replication, but SFTP is not one of the choices. This is a very common protocol and there is no solution for it at this time.
BUY IT NOW if you need anything in this ballpark, UNLESS you have SFTP on your must-have list.

Still waiting for an update to support SFTP, QNAP developers! Let's get that rolling, please.
Reviewed By:Chris,5/16/2013 1:19:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau