Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414RP+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for General Stuff
Pros: Its good for file servers and other general type of servers like DC, DHCP, DNS .
Has great UI and its really easy to install.
Performance is great.
Great for Price
Cons: Does not have 10gb support.
Needs SSD cache drives to run something more powerful like heavly loaded SQL server etc.
Reviewed By:ZivaTiva,11/15/2014 9:36:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dissapointment
Pros: Low Initial cost
Cons: Unreliable hardware and POOR Warranty Service. This unit is only 5 months old and I've spent most of today trying to get a warranty unit shipped that they agreed to replace yesterday. They just told me it wouldn't ship until tomorrow and that it would be 5 business days before it arrives. I have never been treated so badly on a warranty in my over 20 years in the IT field.
Other Thoughts: Look elsewhere for reliability and TCO.
Reviewed By:Charliefred,10/30/2014 2:01:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RKS1314 Rail Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: They work, are sturdy, and they are quick rails. Most models are toolless, and they include the screws for those that aren't.
Cons: The clips are a bit fiddly, and the slides feel a bit cheap. They don't slide quite as smooth as they ought to, and they don't have clips to retain the unit in the rack, unlike most OEM server rails. Not terrible, but for the price I expect better.
Other Thoughts: Overpriced! Oh well, if you need them, you need them. Still, there's no reason that Synology shouldn't include these - it stands to reason that if you have a rackmount NAS, you're going to be needing the rails.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/28/2014 10:31:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Colossal pain
Pros: Lots of space for storage
Cons: Does not play nice with Active Directory
Other Thoughts: I have spent a lot of time fighting with this thing. For the price I would have been ahead in time and money had I purchased a new server and configured it. Connecting to Active Directory should not require jumping through this many hoops.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 12:54:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RKS1314 Rail Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: None
Cons: Too long, Will not work with some racks.
Other Thoughts: Wasted money.
Reviewed By:Joe,9/14/2014 3:55:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good
Pros: Good, fast and stable
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/14/2014 3:51:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RackStation RS3614xs+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Synology RackStation 3614
Pros: Synology makes great NAS products. This one is no exception. Fast throughput and friendly software.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 1:35:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP RAIL-C01 Rail Kit for 1U Rackmount Models

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works Well
Pros: Fairly robust rails for a good price.
Cons: Directions are sub-par, and the rails aren't marked well for orientation. These rails don't mate well with the tabs so the unit sits out about a half inch (it doesn't slide back flush). Sound picky? well it's annoying and I'm in the business of picky.
Reviewed By:Jnarowe,6/29/2014 9:37:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414RP+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unacceptable "support"
Pros: Quiet, supports 4TB drives.
Cons: One LED on one backplane was defective. Minor nuisance, but status LED's are essential in any production environment. Synology would not ship out a replacement backplane. They require the entire unit be boxed up and shipped back. Apparently, they don't understand that NAS hardware in a production environment typically cannot simply be returned on a whim because of something as minor as a defective backplane LED.
Their response;
"We do not have any just back plane parts to send you and we do not support users opening up their machines to replace parts other than very simple pieces such as fans/memory/replaceable power supplies. While I do not doubt your capability to replace the parts, as a company it is also not something we support. We are of course still happy to replace your unit. "
They also never answered my RAID rebuild performance questions. Several tweaks that should have been standard in their firmware were never implemented, resulting in 4 DAY rebuild times. Even with 4TB drives in a RAID 6 + 1 hot spare, I was able to get it down to about 32 hours. It would have been nice if they would have replied to my questions, instead of the boilerplate "return the unit" responses, such as "Since the parity check is a high IO intensive process then performing other operations during this time can cause the rebuilding process to take longer than normal". You don't say! Besides, I guess they never looked at the I/O, themselves, as the load was not high by any stretch of the imagination.
Other Thoughts: I'm very thankful I had the opportunity to test this device in a non-production environment before deploying.
I would NOT recommend this product for a production environment. Certainly not in a remotely managed site or for hosted services.
Reviewed By:Very disappointed,6/23/2014 8:17:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-870U-RP-US Rackmount Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good NAS
Pros: Cost effective NAS, iSCSI, IP-SAN storage solution
Scale up Storage Over 400TB Raw Capacities
High performance, secure, reliable, and simple
VMware Ready, Citrix Ready and Hyper-V compliant
10 GbE ready reaching over 1,000 MB/s and 100,000 IOPS
SSD cache acceleration
Multi-core processor, DDR3, SATA 6Gb/s, and USB 3.0

QNAP still provides tech support help even after the expired warranty date.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a fantasy NAS! Able to perform multiple task with high performance! with the usb 3.0 back, the speed is amazingly fast!
Reviewed By:John C,2/21/2014 1:38:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.