Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Black (ZE551ML-18-2G16GN-BK), 5.5", Intel 1.8GHz, 2G Ram, 16GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best Deal
Pros: This phone has a great build quality for what you pay, making the overall price worth it. The software is pretty fantastic in the customization department and it is snappier then most phones i have own and that's a lot. the screen and camera are super as well as the lack of buttons. The battery is phenomenal.
Cons: The spaces between the sides and front and back collect fuzz and cat hair and if closely inspected, they look unrefined. The software take a bit to get set up. the camera at it''s highest settings need a lot of light.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a great deal and Asus does a wonderful job taking all of my favourite parts of previous phones and stacking them into this. I will buy the Zenfone 3, the higher model(bigger storage and speed)
Reviewed By:Denenatse,5/28/2015 11:27:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What a mess
Pros: Don't know if there are any Pros, since the phone arrived a complete mess.
Cons: Phone was an electronic hot mess. Restarting itself CONTINUALLY. FREEZING when it finally worked for a few minutes until it restarted. The charger that came with the phone sent it into electronic grand mal seizures. Asus QA department must be on permanent mental vacation to send out an electronic device with this many failures
Other Thoughts: I'm going to try another phone to see if this was a fluke but so things are not looking good for this "In Search of Incredible"
Manufacturer Response:Dear Joseph B.,

Thank you for choosing ASUS products. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. Can you please confirm if the unit was fully charged? Its recommended to charge for at least 8 hours for the first time prior to use. Also if you haven't already returned this device, did you try performing a hardware reset? http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1011956
Hardware reset is something we would normally recommended for frequent freezing and rebooting issue however if the charger was defective we recommend returning for exchange. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me direct at cl-frank@asus.com with case # N150572454 in the subject line.

Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,5/27/2015 5:30:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not there yet.
Pros: Looks good
Cons: First, the battery. Can't even last for one day for my regular use which iPhone 6 plus can hold 1.5 days. Second, graphic performance on games. Well.... pretty much all my line games are lagging. To a point i am willing to pay for re-stocking fee for returning this phone.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for this inconveience. Have you tried updating firmware to latest version? This may help improve the issues described. http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1009748/

Please also see pre-installed ASUS app called 'ASUS Support.' There are some helpful tips with basic troubleshooting techniques for your device's software and hardware issues. http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1011526/

Please also see ASUS ZenFone Quick Service and FAQ:
http://www.asus.com/us/support/self-service/11/
http://www.asus.com/us/Phones/ZenFon...esk_knowledge/

Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Halaking,5/26/2015 11:03:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 excellent
Pros: 1
Cons: 1
Reviewed By:wiss,5/26/2015 5:45:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Flagship specs for budget phone price!
Pros: Flagship specs: 2.3Ghz quadcore Atom CPU, 4GB of RAM & 64GB of storage PLUS SD cardslot!

Only $299! seriously... Only $299?

Fast & smooth, well thought out UI

Good battery life

Useful ASUS apps Included

Good camera

AWESOME screen!

Rapid charging is no joke. (the phone charges to 100% in like an hour)

Did I mention the UI is amazing?
Cons: Power button.... Why is it on top of a 5.5" phone?

thats all I got.
Other Thoughts: Just to get this out of the way, At $299 off contract this is a total game changer in the US. most flagship phones cost this much with a 2yr agreement! And with the direction the Nexus line is taking, this is the only saving grace to make smartphones affordable. Basically what we are seeing here is ASUS is doing with the Smartphone market with what they have been doing with the PC market for some time. Making a cutting edge computers at bare minimum profit margins. The PC space has been so competitive in the last 10 yrs that Manufactures make sometimes next to nothing on a product just so that their competitor moves less units. So this is why I say "Game changer" if this phone becomes successful, you will see other manufacturers follow suit and lower profit margins to stay competitive. which is awesome for the consumer!

OK so now for the Phone its self!

Obviously at this price point this phone is a crazy Value and with reviews I always like to take price point & value into context of how I rate a product.... but to be completely honest. The "value" aspect does not affect any other part of owning this phone! Well other than making your wallet happy. So even though this is technically a budget phone, you still get a top tier flagship phone. You're getting one of the fastest SOC on the market right now, combined with 4GB of RAM. which is the highest amount of ANY phone out right now, 64GB of storage with SD card expansion (some phones still don't even have a 64GB option!).

The screen really nice quality (no odd ghosting or under saturation, etc) and a sweet spot of 1080P resolution for 5.5". It has good enough brightness to be easily seen outside on a sunny day and goes dim enough to not blow your eyes out of their sockets while reading in bed at night.

The camera is about on par with anything out now. not mindblowingly awesome but above average for sure. taking pictures outside on a sunny day, shots are nicely saturated, clear and sharp. even when uploading them to a PC and viewing them on a bigger monitor the images remain clear and crisp. The camera settings allow you to use several helpful pre-defined presets and also a pretty useful "manual mode" for people with a little more know how in the camera dept. I wasnt impressed with the low light performance however, but the Dual LED flash makes up for most of it.

Battery life was really good. I got just over 5 hours of onscreen time over the 1st two days with the phone (42 hrs up time). This was with all the updates, benchmarks, etc. I hit the phone pretty hard when I was actually using it.

The UI is Simply amazing. Fast & Smooth! I MEAN SMOOTH! there is ZERO lag. ever! startup manager, Custom home screen transition and window animation settings. Fonts, themes, icons... yes you can customize EVERYTHING. Even the grid in the app drawer can be "pinched" to set the amount of icons you want shown on each page. the UI and Launcher are simply the best i've ever used, period.
Reviewed By:some guy,5/26/2015 9:05:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 You Get More Than You Paid For
Pros: - Double Tap to Sleep/Wake the phone
- Great build quality - doesn't feel cheap at all
- Curved back - comfortable to hold, has grip, doesn't collect fingerprints
- Vivid screen - 1080p is certainly impressive given the budget-friendly nature of this device
- Fast charging technology
- Customizable UI
- Fantastic performance - multi-tasking is a breeze, even after having a ton of apps and games open, there was no stutter at all
- MicroSD expansion - this should seriously be mandatory on every phone!!!
- Affordable - better/cheaper than the OnePlus One
4 GB of RAM - 1st smarth phone to have this much RAM!!!
Cons: - Mediocre battery - wished it was removable
- Average camera
- Weak speaker - it's on the rear instead of at bottom or front like other phones
- Low screen brightness - still viewable though
- AT&T connectivity - bought the USA version but seems like there's a problem with the LTE.
- Ton of ASUS bloatware that's uninstallable
Other Thoughts: some people hate that the power button is on the top, but I've actually never even used the power button. I've been using the built in double tap to put the phone to sleep and double tap to wake the phone.

there's a big battery drain but it might be an os issue because of android 5.0. Might be better with a 5.1 android update

for $300, you can't go wrong with this phone. pretty awesome phone with the best bang for the buck
Reviewed By:AznRaven,5/25/2015 10:57:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Phone
Pros: This phone has the power to topple samsung and apple. The price is great for an unlocked phone that has this much computing power, and storage space. ASUS products have always been stable and a cut above the rest with computer components, and now proving it with there phone. This phone is a powerhouse when it comes to gaming and surfing the net. The 64gb of space is enough to store whatever you want. The screen size is definitely what I needed to see everything. My S5 screen compared to this screen is a vast improvement. Picture quality to me is great. Wifi and cell single is also up there. I myself have struggled to get great reception, and this phone might be the one you've been looking for as well for this same issue. 4 and 5 bars constantly.
Cons: The bloatware that automatically starts dowonloading as soon as your hooked up to the internet. One of those free aps I used and it wiped out the phone had to factory reset it. Battery life isn't as good as my S5. The battery just seemed to drain fast. Need to carry a charge station with you. The heat that this phone produces is a little bit insane.
Reviewed By:LAW,5/25/2015 7:44:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I'm blown away
Pros: So many things to list, super crisp screen, amazing for multitasking, perfect size.

Paperwork says only supports 64GB microsd, But my Samsung Evo 128GB MicroSD (from newegg) works flawlessly! Love all the storage! :D
Cons: Can't really think of much since i've only had phone for a month..

Maybe wish they didn't put capacitive buttons on front?
Other Thoughts: The fact that you can get such a phone for such an amazing price... i'm astonished!
Reviewed By:N/A,5/25/2015 7:06:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Phone
Pros: Great phone. Its quick, feels durable, screen is fairly big. Mine came with an external battery for on the go charge. The charging is pretty quick as well.
Cons: Speakers aren't the greatest but they work. Lots of bloatware but you can always uninstall them.
Other Thoughts: Noticed when I would be watching Netflix or Youtube the video would lag and be out of sync. The actual video and audio would be out of sync by give or take 5 seconds. However I updated the phone and it seems to have fixed it. Also people complain about the lock button but to me it seems completely fine. Not to mention you dont really need it since you can just double tap the screen to wake it up or lock it.
Reviewed By:kol,5/24/2015 12:08:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: none
Cons: did not work out of the box. would not register touches or swipes correctly so I was not even able to set it up. out next day shipping cost and price to ship it back. irritating.
Other Thoughts: Luckily neweggs return procedure is relatively painless. just wish i could get reimbursed for the extra shipping expense considering it was a defective product. will update review if/when i receive a working phone
Manufacturer Response:Dear Gary,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing ASUS products. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. Before returning this device, did you try performing a factory data reset? http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1011956/

Its also possible TalkBack was enabled. This is located in Settings/Accessibility. If this setting was enabled, the touch screen may behave differently and appear to be defective. Instead one tap it may require double tap to open an item or when swiping it may require using two fingers instead of one. For more information regarding TalkBack please see https://support.google.com/accessibility/android/?hl=en#topic=6007234.

Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,5/23/2015 12:10:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.