Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > Sony Mobile > Sony Xperia Z Ultra LTE C6806 Black 3G 4G LTE Quad-Core 2.2GHz Unlocked Cell Phone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Below expectation
Pros: None.
Cons: Did not meet my expectation. Very low speaker sound, yellowish screen and very small fonts compared to the screen size. Worst smart phone I ever had and I had many.
Really surprised by the good reviews about this phone.
Reviewed By:me,10/26/2014 9:20:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > Sony Mobile > Sony Xperia Z Ultra LTE C6806 Black 3G 4G LTE Quad-Core 2.2GHz Unlocked Cell Phone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Glass cannon
Pros: This phone is awesome!

I can't stress enough how great it's big ol' 6.4" screen is. It's massive, and I wouldn't want it any other way. It's basically a tablet with phone capabilities.

The layout of the phone is great, and it feels solid, but also light in the hand.

The microphone picks up all sounds very well, and the speaker phone doesn't sound like garbage.

Video recordings are nice, and the ability to take pictures while recording video is cool.

Android 4.2, and the option to upgrade to Android 4.4 out of the box is nice (5.0 is coming soon).

The phone is very responsive, and has yet to show anything it lags with. Netflix playback is flawless over Wifi and LTE. Emulating PS1, N64, etc. works great.

Rooting it was very easy. The hardest steps were trying to understand the poorly written guides by XDA members.

The price was right at 1/2 the price of a Samsung Galaxy Note 4 or LG G3.
Cons: No Gorilla glass - not a big deal, but I prefer it over screen protectors and cases.
Other Thoughts: Some people said that their phone shattered "randomly" in their pockets. I think they are just putting their phone in their back pockets and forgetting that their rear end acts as a fulcrum on a nearly 8" long phone. Glass can break, but if you're not being stupid it wont.

For anyone trying to root this phone, this is the regular C6806 model, and is NOT the Google Play Edition (GPe) C6806. I spent a good amount of time trying to confirm this before rooting — as the GPe version's rooting steps can brick the standard C6806, and vice-versa.

Also, I recommend upgrading to Android 4.4 before attempting to root the device. I rooted on 4.2, and it prevented my upgrade through the official Sony update tool.

Another important note is to back up TA before unlocking your bootloader.
Reviewed By:Hideo Kuze,10/19/2014 8:39:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > BLACKBERRY > BlackBerry SQN100-1 Q10 Black 3G 4G LTE Dual-Core 1.5GHz 16GB Unlocked Cell Phone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Nice
Pros: Love the keyboard, love using Straight Talk on an unlocked Blackberry, quality of the hardware is very nice and substantial (not cheap or plasticy). Q10 software is great, apps load quickly. Phone is responsive.
Cons: The touch screen is very responsive and coming from a non- touch Blackberry, it is taking a period of adjustment. I really wish I had the "band" back - the track pad, call and end keys. I particularly miss the end call key.
Other Thoughts: I love the phone and have no regrets. It is unlocked but has AT&T branding on mine. Calls and data work well on Straight Talk. Texting works through google voice and I don't use MMS, so I know there is a way to set that up but I haven't needed it.
Reviewed By:BBQ10,10/14/2014 1:10:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy S Glide SGH-I927 Black 3G Unlocked Cell Phone w/ QWERTY Keyboard / 4.0" Super AMOLED Touchscreen

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst Phone I've Ever Owned
Pros: Good screen display, keyboard, widgets
Cons: terrible battery life, terrible connectivity, crashes often, instagram and google maps barely work, low quality camera
Other Thoughts: It's true-this is the worst phone I've had the misfortune of owning. I got it for free with an upgrade, and I would NEVER pay ANYTHING to own this. No one makes cases or screen protectors for it, so it's super vulnerable to breaking. Most of my apps barely run on it, standard ones like Instagram and Google maps, even facebook crashes all the time. I would rather have my 2007 nokia flip phone than this useless hunk of junk. It crashes all the time for no reason at all, and the battery doesn't register as having the correct battery percentage. It freezes up whenever I finish a call, and the screen goes blank. Even the TIME was wrong today, so I can't even use it as a clock. This phone is actually making my life miserable right now, please DON'T BUY IT.
Reviewed By:Kat,9/30/2014 11:00:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > BLACKBERRY > BlackBerry Z10 / RFG81UW White 3G Dual-Core 1.5GHz 16GB Unlocked Cell Phone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BlackBerry Z10 / RFG81UW White 3G Dual-Core 1.5GHz 16GB Unlocked Cell Phone
Pros: BBZ10 Came in what appears to be new condition. Package included original components - I.e. earphone, charger, BB manual, Screen protector, etc.. Couldn't be more happy with a purchase that was refurbished. The reduced price of the phone of course is the primary Pro.
Cons: BB apps are limited compared to the thousands of useless droid/apple apps. BB still covers the essentials :)
Other Thoughts: Net10 data wont work on AT&T Sim (AT&T Locked out APN settings). Voice/Msg works Net10 AT&T Sim Card BYOP. Net10 Support informed me that T-Mobile Sim BYOP has Data.
Reviewed By:Jim,9/22/2014 8:44:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > Nokia > Nokia Lumia 1520.3 Black 3G 4G LTE Quad-Core 2.2GHz Unlocked Cell Phone (US LTE Bands)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 lumia 1520.3
Pros: high quality product,large screen real estate worked nice and smooth I love everything on the unit Remember this model 1520.3 do not have wi fi calling preload from factory.
Cons: No wi fi calling preload from factory.very few selected phone that does something to remember.
Reviewed By:Bruce,9/22/2014 12:15:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > Nokia > Nokia Lumia 1520.3 Black 3G 4G LTE Quad-Core 2.2GHz Unlocked Cell Phone (US LTE Bands)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: It's a great phone, I'm very impressed on how easy it is to use. It's more user friendly than the Android systems or the IPhone. Windows 8 is more user friendly on a phone than a tablet or a PC. To top it all Cortana is amazing and most of the phones features tie in together. So you can link all of your email accounts, Face Book and etc. to your phone. I'll let you figure out the rest.
Cons: A little tricky to use at first and not enough Apps.
Reviewed By:weaponx555666,9/11/2014 7:04:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > Nokia > Nokia Lumia 1520.3 Black 3G 4G LTE Quad-Core 2.2GHz Unlocked Cell Phone (US LTE Bands)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Great screen size and resolution, and the Windows OS 8.1 is very smooth.
Cons: Two of these phones have had the bright spot phenomenon. There is something wrong with these LCDs. Some people think it is the vibrator motor, others think it may be pressure sensitivity. This is a very real issue on the support boards.
Other Thoughts: This phone would be great if not for the bright spot issue. I have had two of these produce this problem. I have to assume it is the phone itself, as I have treated the second one like it was made of the finest crystal.
Reviewed By:PCHC,8/25/2014 3:13:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > Nokia > Nokia Lumia 1320 Black 4G LTE Dual-Core 1.7GHz Unlocked Cell Phone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Beautiful Phablet for the budget conscious.
Pros: Large, beautiful 6" 720p gorilla glass display. Excellent build quality. Nice upgrade from 4" Nokia Lumia 521. RM-995 version works on US T-Mobile 4G LTE. Upgraded to Windows 8.1 (Cortana not available yet).
Cons: 30 day warranty
Other Thoughts: This is basically a 1520 with a lesser quality camera.
Reviewed By:Will,8/24/2014 11:30:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Unlocked Cell Phones > Nokia > Nokia Lumia 1520.3 Black 3G 4G LTE Quad-Core 2.2GHz Unlocked Cell Phone (US LTE Bands)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Phone
Pros: Windows Phone 8.1
Great sound quality for calls and for media playback
Fast and responsive
Great Camera, picture quality and resolution are very good
1080p Display and large size
Qi Wireless charging
Battery life has been very good
Cons: Needs a higher amp output charger to charge at normal rate. A regular 1.5amp charger will charge it slower than the one included with the phone. However the battery life is really good so that has not given me any issues yet.
Other Thoughts: This is the best phone I have ever had, and I do have a Nexus 5 for my second line. However make sure you are aware of the size of the phone before buying. This is a fairly large phone, and I generally use it as a tablet for internet surfing, reading and editing documents, email, etc. If you are thinking of going jogging with a phone in your pocket, just get the Lumia 930 or other smaller phone. This is not a phone you want to put in your pants pockets.

I have had some trouble finding screen protector and case for it via regular retail outlets since the phone is still new in North America (or so it seems) but my Chinese friends helped me get my hands on a nice case and screen protector. I'm still waiting for my leather flip-cover case from China.

In my opinion 1080p screen resolution is good, but can't help but to wonder what it would be like with even a higher resolution display. Games and video look very nice on this screen.

The camera is also very impressive. It does not let you to take a 20mp photo (or I haven't figured out how yet). It saves a 5mp and a 16mp image (you can change in options which ones to save). However the focus and clarity of the pictures are so good that you can use it as a microscope when taking closeups.

When you get the phone first be prepared to do a bunch of updates and upgrade it to Windows Phone 8.1. It will take some time, but you won't regret it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2014 2:31:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.