Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus ZenFone 2 Deluxe Special Edition, 5.5” Unlocked Smartphone, Intel 2.3GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB Storage (ZE551ML-23-4G128G-SE)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Keep away from Asus Phones!
Pros: If the phone stops working in 2 months then all pros are useless.
Cons: - Customer service is not on par with other companies.
- Do not send you any status update and you have to call them to find out what is going on with your repair,
Other Thoughts: After reading the reviews and seeing the specs, the phone for the price was pretty impressive. All the apps that I used worked fine and was mighty happy with the phone. However after 2 months of use the phone died i.e. the screen went dark. It look like it was video chip issue since the screen would come on for a few seconds and would then fade away. I would get the calls and message would come in but just could not see the screen making the phone useless
Have sent if for repair however it is more than 3 weeks and have not heard back from them despite saying that it takes 5-7 business days. On calling them they said they can send a replacement which is refurb. It is disappointing to see how Asus stands behinds its premium phone. I am only hoping that I get a decent replacement which can last me a year or so but probably keep away from any more Asus phones!

Will update once I get the replacement but for now the customer service is not anything to talk about.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2016 9:59:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > LG Mobile > LG G4 US991 32GB Smartphone (Unlocked, Black Leather)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great Phone with limitations
Pros: Great Screen
Great Camera most of the time. Pictures are mostly excellent quality with occasional bad apple.
Fast in all tasks
No google play app limitations found so far.
Cons: Video struggles with what to focus on sometimes causing quality issues.

This is not upgradeable to 6.0 at this time. It seems to be detected as US Cellular Hardware but with a different firmware with the latest being us9911a. LG claims it's on the latest version already and will not upgrade on it's own. Many of the issues claim to have been addressed in the 6.0 but I've not found a way to get it upgraded without flashing it. It looks like it's shipped with the tamper flag already tripped meaning I don't think it will ever accept the upgrade.

Battery life is horrible compared to my Windows Phone before it. Purchasing a quick charger to keep up with it is required.

Constantly overheating.

Although it feels good in the hand, the device actually rocks on the leather seam if placed on a flat surface.

Autop brightness tends to go pretty low and sometimes needs a manual boost to see things clearly.
Other Thoughts: The battery life seems to be an android issue more then hardware. If you're happy with always needing to have a charger nearby and okay with it being possibly stuck with 5.1 for the life of the device, then the phone is a good choice.
Reviewed By:Shawn L.,7/25/2016 5:20:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32GB Aluminium LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The sale price isn't really a sale price
Pros: Excellent phone, but....
Cons: This exact model is $399 standard from Google's Fi page. You don't need to use the phone with their service and it's unlocked. I love NewEgg and their deals, but I think in this scenario, the pricing is misleading.
Reviewed By:Sam K.,7/24/2016 3:16:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > ZTE AXON 7 64GB 4G LTE Ion Gold Unlocked Smartphone 5.5" 4GB RAM (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sprint Activation
Pros: Great Specs
Cons: No contract price break with sprint.
Other Thoughts: To clarify for sprint customers, I just called them, b/c I am considering purchasing this phone. And I was told they will activate any phone that is CDMA compatible. They seem to have loosened up about what phones they will or will not activate. But Since I spent 15 min on hold to get a simple answer, I figured I'd save everyone considering this the hassle of the phone call. Hope this helps some of you out.
Reviewed By:Leonid N.,7/24/2016 1:25:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 64GB Graphite LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Overall Excellent Phone
Pros: Runs stock Android... No OEM skins or carrier logos on boot / no bloatware. Nexus devices get updates faster & more frequently than others. Phone works with all major US carriers. Has two front-facing speakers. Competitively priced. Has USB type-C, which is reversable /easier to use. Charges fairly fast (0% to full in about 1.5 hours) Camera works surprisingly well in low light with HDR+ setting enabled.
Cons: Camera defaults to 12MP at 4:3 ratio only... Changing to 16:9 takes 8MP pictures. Changing ratio only crops the image. No expandable memory... Does not support MicroSD. Charge cable has Type-C on both ends (Google's idea of future proofing) but doesn't accommodate for people who have USB-A wall outlets. Includes type A to C sync cable but is very short. Screenshots require volume and power buttons but can be difficult to take with different cases... Even those purchased directly from Google.
Other Thoughts: Overall Great phone... The pros vastly outweigh the cons, but in this review I made sure to only cover pros that were specific to this phone and not review features all Android phones have.
Reviewed By:FlossBandit,7/24/2016 9:40:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy S7 Dual SIM Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.1" AMOLED Display, Black Color, 32GB Storage 4GB RAM International version - No US Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Phone!
Pros: I absolutely love this phone. It is lightning fast and I am happy that Samsung brought back expandable memory.
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:Jose A.,7/24/2016 5:25:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32GB Graphite LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Phone Battery Life so-so
Pros: Does everything my PC does. Run prescription histories thru state on it without using office pc. I do not have any social media on it so that may be a factor in its function as well as buying it thru the google Fi program. No Bloatware. Updates to latest Android version thru 2017. Photos and videos excellent. Fast charging with proper chargers.
Cons: Price has dropped. Battery life not as expected. Would have got the 64P at current pricing.
Other Thoughts: I've had this thru google Fi since February with a 2 GB plan. I usually use less than 200 mb but last month was 500 mb. google Fi credits unused data to the next month and with their $5 handset protection (which I used for a charger) the most Ive been charged by google has been $31. Unlimited Voice $20 + $10 per Gb data. In Canada my 4 day charge was $1.76 for data usage.
Reviewed By:Ronald L.,7/24/2016 5:09:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > LG Mobile > LG G5 RS988 32GB Smartphone (Unlocked, Titan)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast/great phone, should not hold the G# name.
Pros: -Super fast, one of the fastest phone around. I think it lands in the top three.
-Removable battery system is very cool.
-32gb built in is nice, SD slot is great.
-Metal body
-Camera(s) are all awesome. Wide shots are useful and fun.
-Fast charging is the most important feature on any phone now, this phone does it very well with USB C.
-Display is very nice too.
-Best Finger print scanner on the market.
-Always on display is cool.
-LG quick case is a great add on.
Cons: -They moved the Volume buttons!
This is why it cant be called a G# in my book.
The shape is not a G#.
Why not call it something else?
Some people call it ugly, but every phone gets a case... so get a case you like.
Other Thoughts: They made this phone a bit smaller than the last G series phones, 5.3 vs 5.5 and 5.7.
New LG launcher feels a bit IOSish to me, but after downloading a app drawer I was ok.
Reviewed By:Seth b.,7/23/2016 7:01:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > Axon Pro Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.5" Silver Color, 32GB Storage 4GB RAM, (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best phone i could find for $300
Pros: This is basically a 450-500 dollar phone that you can get for $300. Owned for about a week and only one fault i could find.
Cons: Wifi acts strange with certain routers, speeds can suddenly range from 85mbps to 1mbps, toggling bluetooth temporarily relieves the problem.
Reviewed By:Jack V.,7/22/2016 9:35:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > LG Mobile > LG Nexus 5X Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.2" White Color, 32GB Storage 2GB RAM, US Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Phone
Pros: - Battery lasts longer than any other phone I've had
- USB-C charges ridiculously fast
- Fingerprint scanner works perfectly
- All around spectacular phone, just like most of Google's products
Cons: - Literally none
Other Thoughts: To address concerns mentioned in other reviews:
- "The phone can appear to be a bit laggy at times if you're running a lot of apps with demanding background services."
If you're running a lot of background apps most phones, laptops, desktops, and tablets will start to be a little bit laggy. This doesn't appear to be an issue with the phone, but with the user's understanding of electronics.

- "It is advertised as unlocked and available service with many carriers. I can only find one provider of 10 that recognizes the IMEI number forcing me to switch carriers as phones are not returnable."
I took my Verizon SIM card out of my old phone, put it in this phone, and it was immediately working. You may need to contact your cell phone service provider if you have issues, but if you already have an active SIM it should work just by inserting the SIM into it.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,7/22/2016 8:14:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.