Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 64GB Aluminium LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 poor battery life really disappointed with Nexus 6p
Pros: - Updated Software
- Good performance
Cons: - Poor poor battery backup, with a minimal use , the battery is not even stand for 12 hours
- Camera does not have many option
- When there is no enough signal, it kills the battery like anything.
- Screen Quality is not good as compared to the competitors
Other Thoughts: I had my Nexus 5 and faced the similar issue after 6 months.. Battery is gone almost within 6 months.. But this phone is having poor battery life within just 2 weeks of purchase.
Reviewed By:Balaji J.,8/31/2016 1:49:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32GB Aluminium LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked for four months
Pros: Big clear display
Call sound quality was great
Fast processor
Cons: - Original set up was time consuming, because months of updates were required.
- Every case I tried affected the use of the buttons on the side, leading to never knowing where the volume was set. Off completey, or full volume? It was volume roulette.
- There were glitches that I had to google to find an answer to, like getting stuck in do not disturb mode.
- Less than four months into owning this phone, it started to fail. The camera stopped working. Then the speaker stopped working, which meant no calls. Sometimes when swiping, the screen would make a popping sound. After contacting customer service two weeks ago, I began an odyssey of frustration, and am currently waiting to see if the phone will get fixed.
Other Thoughts: Because of the great processor, I purchased this phone with the intent of keeping it for several years. At this point I would not recommend buying this phone, nor would I purchase it again.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for review on the Nexus 6P. We're sorry to hear that every case you tried effected the use of buttons on your phone. We advise that you browse the cases for the Nexus 6P on NewEgg, but please be weary of third party cases as we can't speak to how they'll fit on your 6P. We also apologize that you're having issues with Google and your camera. We advise closing down the app and opening it once more. This should refresh it. In regards to your camera, we advise shutting your phone off for 15-20 seconds and then turning it back on. This should refresh your phone. If these tips don't help, please give our Huawei Support Team a call at 1-888-548-2934 for further troubleshooting steps. (ED)

Reviewed By:Tammi S.,8/31/2016 8:23:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.5" Silver, 64GB Storage 4GB RAM, US Warranty

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Zenfone 2
Pros: I liked the phone very much had a few problems sending messages, support stated if the problem could not be resolved I could send my phone back and get a new one. By the way the instruction manual could be better. Support did help and worked it out. Then a few weeks ago phone would not turn on, emailed Asus support told them I wanted the new phone as they promised, NO they said we decided not to do that program. They sent me to the RMA website a week ago I emailed them and I am still waiting for a reply. GOOD LUCK if you buy this phone.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: No I would not recommend this phone
Reviewed By:Robert S.,8/30/2016 6:38:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > ZTE AXON 7 64GB 4G LTE Quartz Gray Unlocked Smartphone 5.5" 4GB RAM (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Maybe a 4.5 egg?
Pros: Excellent build quality. Screen looks great. Excellent performance. Decent battery life. These front facing speakers should be on every phone. SD card storage is awesome. You definitely get more than what you pay for.
Cons: Wish it got slightly better battery life but that's just being picky. Can't find a good screen protector. Couple random restarts but only with a certain app so it's probably not the phones fault. Fingerprint isn't 100% but it may just be my case. Usually registers on the second press. Wish the battery monitor was more in depth but Android has apps to replace it. The settings could be more robust but I'm just used to custom roms. I may root and unlock the bootloader eventually but it's solid for now. Wish the capacitive buttons were slightly farther apart and lit up but that's not a deal breaker.

None of these are bad issues but I figured I'd mention them in case someone else cared.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this phone.
Reviewed By:Douglas Y.,8/30/2016 6:38:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Honor > Huawei - Honor 8 Dual Camera Unlocked Smartphone 32GB Pearl White

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great phone for a lowish price
Pros: Fingerprint scanner works Everytime.
Everything in the phone runs fast and smooth. l
Appealing to the eye.
Sleek design.
Fast charging.
Loads games fast.
Quality feels good.
Not a ton of bloatware like carrier locked phones have.
Camera takes pictures fast.
Can turn on screen flash for selfies in low light settings.
Cons: I don't like the location of the speaker because I keep putting my finger over it while playing games and it muffles the music and sound effects. Can't change the message app bubble colors. Can't change battery (this goes for most new phones though). Vibration intensity is very weak and I'm unable to modify this in the settings.
Other Thoughts: overall a good phone.
Manufacturer Response:Hello There, we appreciate the review on your Huawei Honor 8 device. You can unlock your Honor 8 in only 0.4 seconds. The auto-learning skills of the fingerprint sensor improve the recognition of your fingerprint over time. The Honor 8 combines exclusive design and high-end craftsmanship. The premium, slick body of the Honor 8 is made with heavy 2.5D glass on front screen and back surface, finished aluminum alloy, and ultra-narrow bezel design for a much stronger body and a smooth, seamless feeling. The hybrid auto-focus enables laser focus for short range, precise depth focus for long range, and contrast focus — each working together to help you take better pictures in complex lighting conditions day and night. Thank you for choosing Huawei! (NS)

Reviewed By:kristalucy,8/27/2016 9:06:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > ZTE AXON 7 64GB 4G LTE Quartz Gray Unlocked Smartphone 5.5" 4GB RAM (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ZTE's Flagship Device
Pros: Very brilliant screen with a sharp picture and great response. The 20MP camera takes great pictures and is easy to use. The full metal body feels very durable and sleek. Smartlock helps keep the phone awake when your face is detected. The fingerprint reader unlocks the phone without a hitch and can store up to five prints.

Ultimately what is going to sell this phone on the grand scale is the sound. I have never experienced sound like this on a cell phone. I actually wake up startled to text messages when my volume is on. It sounds comparable to a home theater when you are immersed in a YouTube video or a Plex movie.

ZTE went all out with this device including earbuds in a cool case, a clear case for the phone, a screen protector, a nifty SIM door punch in a silicone case on a key chain, and a two-year warranty with accidental damage protection. I would certainly put this phone up against the newest Samsung or Apple products and for the value alone it would come out on top. It's easy to see that ZTE didn't cut any corners with this phone. I would call it my best purchase of the year.
Cons: Some of the software isn't completely up to my standards. For instance, the messaging app didn't have the option to schedule messages, but that's why you go with Android and have the option to change those things.
Other Thoughts: I pre-ordered the phone on the second round and wasn't expecting the phone and headphones to come until after 9/9/16, but they both shipped out together a day after I ordered them. One other cool thing is it doesn't come loaded with bloat ware like my previous Asus Zenfone 2 did. The standard lock screen randomizes some really cool pictures that are updated on a continuous basis. I use this phone with AT&T and haven't had any problems with it. I also had a problem with the screen not rotating so I looked up ZTE's community forums and it is easy to tell that they have great customer service just from how fast people were getting responses. All I had to do was power cycle the phone and it was all better.
Reviewed By:nrraab3523,8/27/2016 1:48:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > ZTE AXON Unlocked Smartphone, 32GB Storage 2GB RAM, 5.5" Gold Color (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wish I could give it 6 Eggs
Pros: Solid tech all-around for great price - even better with E-Blast discount (discount covered my cost for Micro SIM Cutter and 32GB micro SD card - see other)

2GB no issue for me - don't 'choke' your phone with a bunch of junk & open apps. Between system & apps I typically have 1GB+ memory free. Internal storage open roughly 24GB of 32GB total.

Unlocked. NFC and tethering if you are so inclined. VOIP access (SIP) via WiFi for using home Internet phoning (i.e., Magic Jack, etc). Easy sync and file transfers. Intuitive menus easy to set up, personalize and navigate. Fast once booted. A little bloat but take a short time to disable unused and unwanted apps. Set mine up for use with Square 'EMV' card reader. Gold tone 'classes-up' my act.

Two year Warranty -- great packaging - fast shipping
Cons: It's Google-ly centric but can largely be wiped. Gets a little warm from tine-to-time but I've seen much worse. No SD slot but OTG USB port works just dandy with micro USB dongle. Flip case not the greatest bit it's free (can't beat free). FM radio uses ear buds for antenna (not an issue for me).
Other Thoughts: nano SIM - not an issue if you don't 'roll your own' and use a carrier. I used a Micro SIM Cutter and diced a nano SIM out of a 32GB micro SD card. No muss - No fuss.

Combined with my USB dongle
Reviewed By:robert b.,8/26/2016 4:35:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Honor > Huawei - Honor 8 Dual Camera Unlocked Smartphone 32GB Midnight Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Honor 8 from Huawei
Pros: This phone comes with quite a few checked boxes on the features list.

3GB or 4GB of memory (On newegg the ones being sold are 4GB)

minimum of 32GB of storage

Kirin 950 Octa Core processor ( most tests show this out performs the Snapdragon 920 on multi core processing )

Dual 12mp cameras ( one sensor takes traditional RGB colour photos, the other snaps in monochrome. When combined, the two should therefore provide improved detail. Their are more advanced features in "Pro Mode" )
Cons: The 15 layers of glass for the back is sad nice gimmick. Sure it looks pretty, but I have mixed feelings about it. It says to American consumers, "Look! Shiny!, We know you like shiny things!" I prefer a brushed aluminum back of say the HTC 10 over this.
Expandable to 128GB by using an micro SD card. This will take away your duel sim functionality.
Emotion User Interface atop Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow offers alot of custom features, but really cheapens the experience for long time Vanilla Android users. I would like to see the Kirin Kernel open sourced to provide a path for power users to flash it will their own flavors of android.
Other Thoughts: I think its a great product from Huawei's Honor line for the US. Since this is considered a "flahship" phone from them, they are priced very competitively with the Oneplus3 and I would have to go with them.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for the review on the Huawei Honor 8! The Honor 8’s 5.2-inch FHD display with a 96% high color gamut (NTSC), color enhancement, and dynamic pixel-level contrast adjustment provides a better viewer experience, with vivid and crisp images. The CPU chipset contains an i5 co-processor, which controls the Honor 8’s sensors and other features. The i5 co-processor works together with the Kirin 950 SoC chipset to increase processing speed, response time, and battery life. The innovative bionic 12MP dual lenses of the Honor 8 are your eyes to the world. One lens allows for rich color and the other lens is monochrome to give your images more light and increased sharpness. Together they help you capture crisper, more detailed photos. The built-in dual ISP improves focus, speed, and process time when you take pictures. Wide aperture mode enables you to blur background from F0.95 to F16, and allows you to redefine the focus even after photo taking. Always look your best in selfies with the 8 MP front-facing camera and “Perfect Selfie” mode. It enables you to customize your beauty settings, while also remembering your preferred look. The 15-layer craftsmanship and light-catching glass finish makes the Honor 8 stand out from the crowd. We appreciate the review and thanks again for shopping Huawei! (NS)

Reviewed By:Kenneth B.,8/26/2016 8:11:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32GB Aluminium LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good phone, especially for price
Pros: - stock android with no bloat ware
- great fingerprint reader
- runs smoothly
- decent build quality
Cons: switched from Samsung Note 3 and wish this phone had some of the features I loved on my Note 3.
- No multi window mode without rooting phone, at least until android nougat comes out
- No calendar widget with monthly view on home screens that shows actual plans. only has monthly calendar with stupid dots like iPhone.
Overall though no major complaints for $400 premium performance phone
Other Thoughts: bought with $25 gift card deal with free case
Manufacturer Response:Hello, we are glad to hear you are enjoying your Nexus 6P device. Crafted from aeronautical-grade anodized aluminum, the new Nexus sports the curves and contours of a machine built for turning heads. Diamond chambers encircle its edges, and the new visor on the back of the device accents the low-light-loving, 12.3 MP, sapphire- crystal lens camera. With Nexus devices, you always get the freshest, fastest, most satisfying Android™ OS available. First in line for software updates and designed from the inside out with an Android-centric point of view, Nexus is the ultimate Android experience. We understand your concerns about some of the app features and will forward that information to our software development team. Thanks again for choosing Huawei! (NS)

Reviewed By:Bryan A.,8/26/2016 5:10:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32GB Matte Gold LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great phone!
Pros: -get updates directly from Google
-large vibrant screen + stereo front speakers = great youtube experience
-great camera, near top of its class at the time
Cons: -maybe too large for single hand use
Manufacturer Response:Hello Calvin L, Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your Nexus 6P! With Nexus devices, you always get the freshest, fastest, most satisfying Android™ OS available. First in line for software updates and designed from the inside out with an Android-centric point of view, Nexus is the ultimate Android experience. A 5.7-inch, high-resolution WQHD AMOLED display and front-facing stereo speakers — all housed in a contoured aluminum body. The 3450mAh battery keeps you talking, texting and apping into the night. Paired with a reversible USB Type-C port for fast charging, you’ve got a daily driver that actually lasts all day. With a faster Google Camera™ app, you never miss a moment, and with the smart Google Photos™ app, your memories are easy to relive and impossible to lose. Thanks again for shopping Huawei! (NS)

Reviewed By:Calvin L.,8/24/2016 3:04:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.