Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-18-2G16GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 1.8GHz, 2G Ram, 16GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Phone
Pros: Highest value based phone on the market = 10/10

Audio jack is LOUD and CLEAR. = 9/10.

Camera is Average
Cons: Bloat-ware (can be removed if you root the phone and use App Master)

No headset.

Low Speakerphone = 7/10.
Other Thoughts: This phone is the best bargain phone on the market right now. It is great if your looking for a non- contract phone to work across most if not all major carriers in Canada. The Speakers are not too low but could be much louder. The headphone sound quality is simply amazing and loud. The screen brightness is a bit low but is not terrible. The brightness does not affect watching videos in 1080(pretty good video playback). The phone comes with a tone of bloatware but there are a couple of useful apps. The battery life is decent and I think replacing the built-in battery wouldnt be that hard if you had a small screw driver.

Dont Hesitate to buy this phone.
Reviewed By:Chadd,7/6/2015 11:48:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GREAT PHONE!
Pros: Fantastic Price,
Fantastic Performance.
Unbelievable support, they have been updating the firmware ever 2 weeks!!!
Good XDA Community.
The phone has good speed and the apps included are equal to the Samsung apps included on the Galaxy products.
ATT 4gLTE works well. (Must have an ATT LTE Sim card not just a 4g sim)
Build quality is on par with my Galaxy S5.
Cons: Others have complained about battery life but I can confirm it is just like my S5 was.
Other Thoughts: I am actually using this with Straight Talk on ATT LTE and have not had a single issue.
Lots of people have tried to compare this phone to a OnePlus One and this is actually better. (better screen, better support, better specs)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/6/2015 7:03:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-18-2G16GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 1.8GHz, 2G Ram, 16GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best phone for the price. No question.
Pros: I was a little hesitant picking a phone with an Intel processor (new to phone market) but the specs and price were so attractive I bought two of these (one for each parent). I'm simply blown away at the quality and speed of this phone. I own a Samsung Galaxy Note 4 and these ZenPhones are actually feel faster when multitasking and browsing.

Screen is gorgeous, never expected it to look this good for IPS.
Camera takes amazing photos quickly.
Fastest Android smartphone I've ever used.
Build quality is excellent, more on par with LG G3, not quite as good as the latest Samsung phones.
Not a ton of Asus bloat to sift through or delete, close to stock Android which is nice.
Unlocked boot loader (if Cyanogen ever release a version for this phone it'll be awesome, it's an X86 phone so who knows what will get released).
Battery life is as good as my Note 4 (which is pretty great).
Dual SIM cards great for travel.
Works on 1700/2100 Mhz bands (for WIND mobile) important for Canadians.
Internal Micro SSD, expandable to another 64GB for under $30.
After using this 2GB version I don't see any advantage of buying the 4GB version with slightly faster processor.
Cons: Included accessories are limited, not a lot of choice for after market cases or glass screen protectors (the official Asus TPU is really nice though). Build quality is excellent but not quite up to top tier Samsung or Apple phones. More in the LG / Motorola camp.
Other Thoughts: I believe this phone should cost another $100.00 easily. The price is really due to Intel likely offering Asus a sweetheart deal, the fruits of their gorilla marketing. Intel I believe has released a system on chip as a loss leader to take market-share from Qualcomm / Samsung. If more phones like this come out it'll work.
Reviewed By:Madpacket,7/5/2015 6:28:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Gold (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-GD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 fast phone 4 the price
Pros: I have a Note2, upgrade to zenfone.2. I love it. The only thing I don't like is unable text photo with the Wi-Fi on. I hope Asus fix the problem. At home I have to turn off wifi to able send photo.
Cons: I hope Asus fix the problem
Reviewed By:N/A,7/4/2015 3:58:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Black (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-BK), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I am very impressed with the Zenfone 2
Pros: I am usually a tightwad (self-titled) when it comes to buying smartphones and I have owned a lot of budget phones. The best budget smartphone I owned was the Moto E but even that had it's limitations of storage, speed, camera functions, and longevity. I thought it was time to move up from the budget to mid-range bracket when the last phone met an early death (fell 14" and the ear speaker stopped working - even with a rugged shock absorbing case).

I always research before I buy anything and the Zenfone 2 was no exception. The professional and customer reviews of the Zenfone 2 were some of the best for this bracket and Newegg had the best price. On with the Pros...

Can you say, "Unlocked"? This is one of the best options ever in my opinion and is a deal breaker otherwise.

The processor (2.3GHz Intel Z3580) is impressive to me for this price range. The benchmarks for it are up there with the Snapdragon 800 series (Galaxy S5) although it isn't as powerful as the Exynos 7420 processor (Galaxy S6) but hey, that requires forking out another $380.00 or more, so I am beyond satisfied.

64GB storage is more than I have ever needed but just in case that gets filled up there is always the memory card option.

4GB RAM is great for multitasking - I can play a resource hog of a game, pause to answer the phone and while still on the phone check my email, go to the web plus have the awesome feature of going back to the game when I am done and it doesn't have to be relaunched due to insufficient RAM.

The screen is 5.5" and that is larger than I am typically used to so watching a video or reading a lot of text is easier on my eyes. Most typical video formats are supported but not Xvid or DivX. Although, I haven't tried MKV yet.

The rear-facing camera is 13MP, HDR mode, low-light mode, and with the reliable focus, every picture I have taken came out looking great! (I do use a non-stock camera app - Camera ZOOM FX).

The light for the camera flash or flashlight app is bright.

Decent battery life with apps that help manage better longevity (see Cons below).
Cons: The front-facing camera is only 5MP if you're a selfie fanatic. **shrug**

The phone is heavy and oddly shaped in comparison to other phones I have owned.

The volume buttons are located in the back, under the camera so I constantly smudge the lens while fumbling around for the volume buttons.

The major Con with this phone, isn't actually the phone, but the bloatware that comes with it... Besides the annoying multitude of Google apps that are not needed, ASUS decided to add a LOT of their own. The worst, in my opinion, is the Zen UI with all of the "smart options" and slow animations so I replaced it with Nova Launcher. There are also 3rd party apps included (some are poorly rated and/or unknown to me) and of course the ASUS version of the already included and running Google apps. (Why bother on the latter?) Fortunately, most can be uninstalled or simply disabled.

With the recent system update v.2.19... you can unlock the bootloader and remove all of the bloatware but it WILL void your warranty. Don't get me wrong, the extra bloatware doesn't slow down your phone (I did remove them and it didn't make much of a difference) but it does drain the battery much faster. Get good battery and cleaning management apps to remedy that problem.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I am very happy with the Zenfone 2 and will recommend to anyone that they should buy one without second thought.

~~ I will update this review after more time has passed if anything comes up.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 11:12:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Black (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-BK), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No complaints
Pros: Love this phone!!! I have net10 service (ATT). I can download all the apps I have downloaded (10gig so far) I use the phone like a mini computer. I need all the apps. Finally, a phone with enough memory for me.
Voice service is excellent. Wi-Fi stay ON and wont quit. excellent Wi-Fi strength. Wait until you see how fast download and install an app is - you will freak out.
I purchased net10 micro sim card and purchased air time. You tube and news videos play flawlessly.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect phone for me. I am an app freak. I want all the apps on my phone. I am constantly running out of memory with other phones - forcing my to chose apps to uninstall
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 9:54:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Gold (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-GD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very useful and quick.
Pros: Really fast phone and keeps battery for me for almost 2 days. Screen is beautiful and very responsive, multitasking is a breeze, has super fast 4G,LTE service, works great on straight talk and other GSM carriers. my favorite thing about his phone is the double tap to wake and a lot of the asus features are pretty nifty and very useful, The GPS is really quick to pick up and very precise compared to my last 2 phones. So far it doesn't have a lot of bloat ware that i don't find useful the clean up tool that is included works pretty well (though it is ad supported) asus is keeping it up to date as well I've had it for about a month and have had 2 updates so far not for the android direct software but the asus zen ui with no changes to the functionality of the phone the sound quality is really good but not the best.
Cons: Non removable battery why it doesn't get a full 5 eggs Getting a case takes about 2 weeks from econobay is tough try not to scratch or drop the phone while you wait for one. The ones that asus offers should be included with the phone when you buy it makes no sense to offer something like that for a no contract phone and not just charge a bit extra for including it with the phone or at least include a screen protector.
Other Thoughts: For the price and what you get its pretty unbeatable a 3 dollar screen protector should still be included with it tho. I would recommend a kickstand/fly grip for this phone it helps in keeping it more firmly in your hand since the back is curved it slides a bit more easily.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 8:00:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Black (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-BK), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good phone for a good price
Pros: Excellent phone in the most of the aspects; Fast, stylish, nice specs, price.
Cons: The battery (just a little, but charge fast) and the camera is disappointing, it shoots fast but photo quality is quite poor, but OK if you're someone who does not care too much for photos.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 2:08:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Upgrade
Pros: Performance
Price
Display
Battery Life
Cons: Compatibility
Only 5.0
Other Thoughts: Generally an amazing phone with no real downside as far as my use is concerned. Only one small downside: compatibility and older OS. Starbucks app can't display the reward page and TimePlay doesn't work at all. Perhaps this is a side effect of the Atom processor? All other apps work amazing.
Reviewed By:Tim,6/28/2015 1:36:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 BEWARE DOES NOT WORK ON AT&T 4G LTE
Pros: Great Device SUPER FAST but ATT does not allow it on their 4g lte network.
Cons: Great Device but ATT does not allow it on their 4g lte network. After over a week and 15+ calls they said there is nothing they can do about it. All IMEM for zenfone2 do not register as 4g in their system so you only het h+ and 3g speeds and they are REALLY SLOW.
Other Thoughts: Great Device but ATT does not allow it on their 4g lte network. After over a week and 15+ calls they said there is nothing they can do about it. All IMEM for zenfone2 do not register as 4g in their system so you only het h+ and 3g speeds and they are REALLY SLOW.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Anthony D.,

Thank you for choosing ASUS products. We apologize for this inconvenience and would like to assist. In regards to AT&T 4G/LTE issue, we recommend to set up a SIM card on a locked AT&T IMEI device then swap the SIM cards to your ZenFone 2 to get the 4G icon/speeds.

If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me directly at cl-frank@asus.com with case # N150680723 in the subject line.


Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,6/26/2015 10:46:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.