Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 After a frustrating start , a very good phone.
Pros: Very Fast , Lightweight , Good Picture , Decent Camera , More than ample storage ( 64gb model )
Cons: Mine was one of the few with the voice assist inadvertently
enabled. Makes it virtually impossible to run through the setup process since it partially disables the touchscreen. Had to do a factory reset ( hold power and volume up simultaneously to access menu ).
Rebooted with the app off and after that setup was a breeze.
Other Thoughts: Almost sent this back with the frustration of trying to go through setup while tapping each key/icon/etc. multiple times.

Should have been better quality control to keep these being shipped with the voice assist enabled as it was.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 4:56:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding!
Pros: Outstanding phone! Amazing battery life after firmware updates. Use all hours of the day and it still lasts me a day and a half! Bought a $4 case and have never been happier! Charges to full in under an hour, 64 internal plus 128gb microsd supported. Best phone i have ever had
Cons: Only downside is that i was receiving a few duplicate text messages. called csp said that zenfone 2 isn't support, they reset my account over the network, haven't had a single issue since
Other Thoughts: You won't find another phone cheaper, even used.
Reviewed By:AP,7/28/2015 5:45:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-18-2G16GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 1.8GHz, 2G Ram, 16GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good spec with desent price!
Pros: Fast processor, descent camera, good display, most mid range devices spec at low end range price!
Cons: Quick charger doesn't supply with the $199 version, had to buy seperatly. Battery drain pretty fast too. Too much blow apps.. Battery is not removable. System took up 5GB storage from usable storage!
Other Thoughts: Still waiting replacement to arrive...
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 1:59:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unbelievably bad customer service.
Pros: Cheap phone. Not much more. The red color is nice.
Cons: This will be my last review, as I cannot asnwer directly to the ASUS comments.

ASUS has the worst customer service I have ever seen. Mr. Cruz, as per the emails below, is from the "Customer Loyalty" department. He is doing the opposite of what his department says.

I have been emailing Mr. Curz for more than 1 month now - and still do not have a replacement phone.

First they wanted $25 for an "advanced replacement" because they could not guarantee that my phone would be replaced if I sent it to them.

So I paid the $25 to have a replacement phone "over nighted" to me. That was 5 days ago.

Mr Cruz emailed me today that the RMA number I submitted, that ASUS sent me, was not correct. Now they want me to fill out the forms again - basically to start from scratch.

It is plain and clear to me that ASUS is simply refusing to honor any warranty and will never replace this phone.

Buy a buggy phone at your own risk.
Other Thoughts: I have dealt with many different company customer service departments over the years. Some, like Newegg, are generallt better than most others.

Even with the other "bad" customer service departments once the case was escalated to the executive office or retention or loyalty department - the case was usually expedited and resolved quickly.

ASUS has obfuscated, asked the same questions over and over and refused to ship a phone when everything was supposedly complete.

5 weeks after I first contacted them my phone does not work right and ASUS has not done what they said - send me a replacement.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Mr. H.

We apologize for the miscommunication and sorry you feel this way however some of the information above is false. You and I have been in communication since 7/15 (less than one month). We have been more than willing to honor the warranty and provided all options available however you disagreed to our warranty terms and wanted to have this processed under your terms which has caused some of delay. The issue has now been resolved and once again we apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 2:57:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-18-2G16GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 1.8GHz, 2G Ram, 16GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, great price
Pros: Met my expectations of quality, speed, performance and price.
Cons: Wishing Asus had a better channel for purchasing accessories.
Reviewed By:houseofman,7/26/2015 7:45:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good phone untill the 4th week
Pros: It has 4 gb of ram.... Nice screen.. sleek design... Does it work and for long ...longer than 3 weeks ? The only reason it didnt receive a 1 egg is because when its powered up and charged it works great so i cant only give it a one but Man... please read cons.
Cons: Not too impressed by this phone. I was great.. actually fantastic out of the box. I use this phone as my daily driver and i can honestly say that my first phone the $60 lg banter is a better solution. I was using the Zenfone 2 for around 2 weeks when my phone wouldnt last me through the day. i found my self plugging the phone in at the end of the day, before the news came on. so it didnt last a ful day for me(9am-10pm), but it lasted a work day (9am-5pm) which i was fine with. then the third week came and i found myself charging my phone at work only a mere 6 hours off the charger from when i woke up. But i had my charger so all was fine. Fast forward to now (around 5 weeks and my phone actually wont even make it to %52 battery remain. It will just shut off. I have herd stories about hardware vs software and everyone is saying that it is a hardware issue. Which kinda annoys me because the phone is only 6-7 weeks old. So nowwww at week 6 the phone will only last 3-4 hours, i get to work and with in the first 2 hours i have to charge it. and if you arnt using the quick charge 2.0 it takes almost 5 hours for a full charge! It takes longer to charge the dang thing than it actually lasts. Now on week 7 my phone has "calibrated the battery" im guessing becuase now i find my self looking at the battery % and it goes from 100% down to 0% which is great.... except it only lasts a mere 2hours max... Personal life story folks!! I got up today at 8:46 am and by 9:30 it was dead. Not impressed.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see what asus will do for me because paying $400+ CAD for a phone and have it only last not even 2 months is bull. Keep in mind I DO NOT play games, have excessive screen brightness or abuse my device. It have never been dropped, i use a case on my phone everyday . i take great care of it and this is how the phone responds. I would like a replace tbh .
Manufacturer Response:Dear Steve B.,

Thank you for choosing ASUS products. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. We are here to assist should you have any issues with ASUS products.

To help improve battery life, we recommend updating the firmware to the latest version. After firmware is applied we recommend performing a hardware reset including wipe cache partition. For hardware reset/wipe cache partition instructions please see the following: http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1011956/

Please also see the following information showing 8 ways to extend the ZenFone 2 battery Life. http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1012981/

Please also see ZenUI app called ASUS Support/Assistance/Battery/Battery drains fast and follow steps provided.

If you have any questions or concerns with Zenfone 2 please feel free to contact me direct at cl-frank@asus.com.

Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 8:21:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > SAMSUNG > Samsung Focus SGH-I917 Black 3G Single-Core 1.0GHz 8GB Unlocked GSM WP7 Phone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 followup
Pros: seems to be bulletproof
Cons: price has dropped from $150
Other Thoughts: 2 1/2 years later and my tech challenged wife hasn't been able to break it...e-mail, facebooking, phoning...and picture taking. Fits in her purse better than a kindle...good buy for people who just want to impress themselves...
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 10:09:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Black (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-BK), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Meh
Pros: nice camera, display and overall performance
Cons: TERRIBLE location for the camera. It bulges out a bit so if you leave it camera-down then pick it up, the smallest spec of dirt scratches it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Rene B.,

Thank you for choosing ASUS products. We apologize for this inconvenience. We recommend using microfiber cloth to clean camera lens and screen to avoid any type of scratches. We also recommend obtaining a genuine ASUS bumper case or cover. Please see the following website for Zenfone 2 accessories:
http://store.asus.com/us/category/A26848

If you have any questions or concerns with Zenfone 2 please feel free to contact me direct at cl-frank@asus.com.

Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 7:55:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4G LTE!
Pros: Does work with Net10 4G LTE. It's very fast on that network confirmed
Cons: don't know about ATT directly
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 6:50:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best phone ever!
Pros: Fast, fast, fast and it's also FAST! WOW Quad core INTEL Processor? This is faster than most of my customer's PCs. Exquisite design inside and out. Great battery life too. ASUS reliability and Quality. ASUS update support. PRICE is fantastic! Have mine using a Net10 SIM and its' a very cost effective solution to ANYTHING out there. Best part is you OWN your phone outright. No contracts No $1,500 final price from ATT and so on. Also has Fast Storage, apps install in 1 second! It's Wireless 802.11ac! I also happen to have an ASUS RT-AC3200 router and boy they work fast together. Buy it!!
Cons: No cons for the phone itself...But: If only this came with Windows OS!! Windows Phone OS is the fastest, most reliable OS out there and WinP10 will make all other platforms look stupid. I'm no fan boy but i'm am an Insider Preview participant. The ability to run apps from google Play and Apple store makes WinP10 a no-brainer so why not make a Windows version ASUS?
Other Thoughts: The ASUS commercial seemed to be all hype, until I actually got the phone in my hand - Its' for real.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 6:46:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.