Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.5" Red, 64GB Storage 4GB RAM, US Warranty

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 The phone of my headaches
Pros: -Great performance
-First 6 months works great
-Cheap
-Double tap to power on screen is awesome
-Charges fast
Cons: -Soon will go on the 2nd RMA?!
-Plugged it in to charge & it got bricked(sent to RMA got it fixed)
-RMA center sent it back with battery always showing 50%
-Battery life is terrible for a 3000 mAh
-Asus RMA center seem pretty terrible (they won't even bother to pay shipping for you although they gave you a troublesome product, I wish AMD made phones cause their support is amazing)
-The curved back can cause some issues(mostly fixed with the smart cover)
Other Thoughts: While this phone is great for it's value, it's making me rethink of Asus products and if I should still use them. Loosing my Asus fanboy status slowly but surely...
Was getting this phone knowing that battery life won't be amazing, and that it has a few drawbacks, but did not expect to have so many(and serious) issues in 6-7 months of owning this phone.

I would honestly return it back for my money if I could, as spending another week with a backup phone is not fun, and I don't know how many other times I will have to send it back. Especially since the RMA service sends products back without checking if they are fully operational...

If you are thinking of using this for a couple of months, buy it. If not spend a few extra hundreds and get something more reliable.

I'd give it 2 eggs really, but I still have hope for Asus to release better phones(for now)..
Manufacturer Response:Dear Nicu,

Thank you for sharing your experience with ASUS ZenFone 2. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this experience you've had thus far. ASUS Customer Loyalty is dedicated to bringing resolution to all issues related to ASUS products. If you haven't already done so I recommend performing a hardware reset including wipe cache partition to help resolve the battery symptom described, please see the following - http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1011956/. If this requires warranty service for the 2nd time, please send me an email and I will assist you to the best of my abilities. We take our customer service and support very seriously and would like to help resolve this issue.

I can be reached at cl-frank@asus.com. Please include a link to this review as a reference.


Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Nicu C.,6/30/2016 8:00:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32GB Aluminium LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor construction and even worse customer service
Pros: it is a great phone if you keep it out of your pocket and only in your hand
Cons: not suppose to place in pocket per manager at huawei
customer support just refers to the warranty screen which deal all imperfection in the screen to not be covered
had mine in my pocket with 41 cents chipped the screen at top corner and contacted them and was told you have to pay a ridiculous amount for a screen repair.
they dont care about the customer at all do not use their devices
Other Thoughts: it a shame a company like google would use such a company
Manufacturer Response:Apologies for the frustrating situation. While all Huawei devices do come with a 1 year US manufacturers warranty, unfortunately said warranty does not cover end user damage. We will forward your thoughts on to our team as we are always looking for new ways to improve our customers experience.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/28/2016 11:53:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.5" Silver, 64GB Storage 4GB RAM, US Warranty

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 All show and no go.
Pros: Its a great phone for processing Docs, Sheets and many other productive apps. The CPU can handle the games thrown at it without getting too hot. It has a great 1920x1080 screen which is optimal for watching movies and playing games. The RAM integrated in the phone is also a big plus; this allows you to run more apps at once and switching between apps has no lag. The phone is sleek and ergonomic with its brushed aluminum back plate and volume button placed on the back. Its great for daily use with its long lasting battery and dual sim capabilities.
Cons: I don't know if this is happening to anyone else but the on board mic 1 is malfunctioning and not recording properly which restricts me from making phone calls. In order to properly make a call I have to put the recipient of the call on speaker phone which is unprofessional and generally a nuisance to others around me. Another problem I have had is that the SIM card on startup isn't initiated properly. On first startup with my SIM card, it didn't want to use it, it recognized it was there but it could not send texts. The only way to fix this problem was to deactivate the SIM card, reboot then reactivate the SIM. This is also a nuisance as when im texting, its usually in a time sensitive fashion. I bought this phone for the basic uses of what a phone should do, not what a PSvita can do.

I have always loved ASUS, their Motherboards, Graphics Cards and Laptops. I decided to give their phone a try and was sadly disappointed. Case in Point I was not happy with this purchase.
Other Thoughts: It would be great if it acted as a phone.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Sulliven,

Thank you for your review of ASUS ZenFone 2 Laser. We value your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience. ASUS Customer Loyalty is available for warranty assistance or any technical related issues you may have. The symptoms described may be resolved by updating the firmware to version 1.17.40.1234 or later. Updating the firmware will also help optimize system and improve performance.

If you have any questions, concerns or would like further assistance please feel free to contact me at cl-frank@asus.com. Please include case # N160690666 as a reference.


Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Sulliven W.,6/28/2016 7:57:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32GB Matte Gold LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 The Phone Itself is decent but the company....
Pros: Nexus device has no bloatware, super fast, great camera
Cons: Started bending in my pocket. Huawei's customer service doesn't cover bending.
Manufacturer Response:Apologies for the frustrating situation. The Nexus 6P does come with a 1 year US manufacturers warranty but unfortunately said warranty does not cover any physical damage caused to the device. Thank you for your review, we will forward on your feedback to our team.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/27/2016 8:01:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > LG Mobile > LG G4 US991 32GB Smartphone (Unlocked, Black Leather)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Phone with limitations
Pros: Great Screen
Great Camera most of the time. Pictures are mostly excellent quality with occasional bad apple.
Fast in all tasks
No google play app limitations found so far.
Cons: Video struggles with what to focus on sometimes causing quality issues.

This is not upgradeable to 6.0 at this time. It seems to be detected as US Cellular Hardware but with a different firmware with the latest being us9911a. LG claims it's on the latest version already and will not upgrade on it's own. Many of the issues claim to have been addressed in the 6.0 but I've not found a way to get it upgraded without flashing it.

Battery life is horrible compared to my Windows Phone before it. One game I play could be ran for 8 hours straight with max brightness while my Windows Phone actually charged fully off a USB port. The same game pulls 28% battery per hour with no brightness enabled on the G4. The display is really hard on the battery and the Android services is always right next to it in battery usage. Actually using the phone requires some hefty charging requirements to make it through an office work day.

Although it feels good in the hand, the device actually rocks on the leather seam if placed on a flat surface.

Autop brightness tends to go pretty low and sometimes needs a manual boost to see things clearly.
Other Thoughts: The battery life seems to be an android issue more then hardware. If you're happy with always needing to have a charger nearby and okay with it being possibly stuck with 5.1 for the life of the device, then the phone is a good choice. The curving screen takes a bit to get used to but is nice to look at when playing games / watching movies.
Reviewed By:Shawn L.,6/26/2016 7:12:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.5" Silver, 64GB Storage 4GB RAM, US Warranty

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: Waiting 2 weeks to possibly get a working phone.
Other Thoughts: No refunds so you are stuck with what you got, even if you aint got it through no fault of your own.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Gregory,

Thank you for for your review of ASUS ZenFone 2. We value your feedback and apologize for this inconvenience. It's possible the battery may be completely drained and will require longer charge, please see the following support page for very important best practice guide for first time usage on our ASUS Android mobile devices - http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1014469/. When charging please ensure to use the genuine ASUS AC adapter and USB cable. If still unable to power up I recommend trying a hard reset. Please follow the steps below:
- Remove the power cord.
- Press and hold the power button for at least 45 - 60 seconds.
- Re-insert power cord and allow the unit to charge for about 3 hours without usage. Please ensure the orange LED indicator is on showing its charging. If no LED indicator please keep repeating this process several times until orange LED is on.

If you would like further assistance please feel free to contact me at cl-frank@asus.com with case # N160690427 in the subject line.

Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/25/2016 1:32:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Motorola > Motorola Moto Smartphone G 3rd Gen XT1540 16 GB 4G LTE Cell Phone 5" 2 GB RAM (Unlocked, Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 no no no no jip!
Pros: Great battery life
Cons: Half the RAM specified.
Half the ROM specified. (And I'm not talking about app and OS usage)
Reviewed By:wyndon e.,6/24/2016 6:41:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 64GB Graphite LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 6p is a good phone Huawei is a terrible company
Pros: Phone worked great when it worked
Cons: Where to start
-Phone is Fragile the bouncing in my suit coat pocket caused the LCD to have spots
-Huawei customer support is absolutely worthless
-You better pray that you do not have to use the manufacturers warranty because if so get ready to not have a phone for a month. I have still not received the free shipping label to get my phone sent in and considering it will take 14 business days for them to repair then send it back I am looking at 4-5 weeks without a phone if they can manage to send me the shipping label this week. Which considering how this has been going is not a stretch of the imagination.

Other Thoughts: NEVER buy a huawei product because if their is ever a time that you need customer support or to use the warranty you are going to be a long and painful experience. This company is garbage and google should be very. Nice product with inferior service makes the product inferior in the end. I had to buy a regular phone to use for the time being.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Raymond, apologies for frustrating situation. Please contact our support team at 1-888-548-2934 so that we can expedite your shipping labels to you. We are here to help. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Reviewed By:Raymond S.,6/22/2016 6:28:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 64GB Aluminium LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very unhappy with this product
Pros: Was happy initially
Cons: Broke after 2 months
Other Thoughts: I had this phone less than 3 months, then it started to reboot and went into a reboot loop. Tried to reset to factory default. Still had issues, finally had to send it back to Huawei, they do not cross ship you a new phone, no, you have to send it back and then wait until they either fix it or send you a refurbished phone. I am extremely unhappy with this experience. I spent over $500 to get a brand new phone that broke within 3 months, then had to be without a cell phone for 3 weeks while they decide to send me a replacement phone, which turns out in their warranty if they deem necessary, a refurbished phone. Totally unacceptable and very much a "rip off".
Manufacturer Response:Hello Kathlene, apologies for the frustrating situation. We understand your frustration and rest assured that we will forward your thoughts on to our team as we take customer feedback very seriously and strive to improve upon every customer experience.

Reviewed By:Kathlene R.,6/22/2016 12:18:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32GB Graphite LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great phone, pure Android
Pros: Overall this phone was a great upgrade from my LG Nexus 5
-Metal body feels great in the hand
-Fingerprint scanner is a great security device and extremely quick
-Front facing speakers are great
-Screen is great, sRGB mode also helps improve colours
-The phone is quick, great at multitasking
-USB C with fast charging makes phone easy to top off battery level
-Better battery life than my Nexus 5
Cons: There were few negatives of this phone, none that really ruined the experience of this phone other than the performance of the screen in direct sunlight
-SnapDragon 810 processor, haven't had any issues but thermal throttling could be a problem in the future
-The phone is large, difficult for me to use with one hand
-The metal body can be slippery
-The screen can be difficult to see in direct sunlight while on full brightness
Other Thoughts: This is a great phone, especially upgrading from the Nexus 5. This is my first Huawei phone and I'm very impressed with the device. A great successor for the Nexus devices, I won't stop experiencing pure Android. The phone works great, charges quickly, looks sharp, display is great in non-direct sunlight.
Manufacturer Response:Thanks for the detailed review, Stephen. It's great hearing about how much you are enjoying the Android experience and loving your 6P . (DM)

Reviewed By:Stephen B.,6/21/2016 11:40:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.