Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-6945 TZ 205 Network Security Appliance

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not again
Pros: I guess it worked as a firewall for the year and a half until the unit started failing. (Lost packets, inability to handle data, SUPER slow throughput when one outside VPN active.)
Cons: We installed a TZ 205 to act as a firewall over two small LANs and to allow one VPN user to each network. (Two small businesses sharing building space, separate networks behind a shared firewall.)

Because my VPN expertise is limited, we hired a SONICWall certified tech to complete the install. The unit never worked properly for the second VPN user and now, after a year and a half, it is failing. Over a thousand bucks into purchasing and installing this little unit, buying the second license and the subscription (crazy expensive) and now its dying. Might as well have just burned the cash.

I will never again buy a Sonicwall product.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/29/2015 7:29:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZWUSG100PLUS 600Mbps Firewall with 50 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, 6 Gigabit Ports (2 x WAN, 4 x LAN/DMZ) with 1 Year AV, IDP, Content Filtering and AntiSpam Included

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid this item unless you are a Network Admin
Pros: Fast.
Cons: Incredibly difficult to configure. Would not allow remote desktop connections to machine on the SAME network/subnet. (Never got around to attempting RDP connection from outside the network.) Configured the trial version of the content filtering service. The test facility indicated it would block a specific prohibited site, but the computers which were begin served by the device could still access the prohibited sites.

Included documentation is useless. You can get a pdf from the Zxyel ftp site, but it assumes you have a rather high level of network configuration knowledge. (i.e. you need to know what all the three letter acronyms stand for or you will be lost). There are no configuration guides that help you accomplish a specific task (like configuring internal remote desktop access).
Other Thoughts: A previous reviewer indicated it was easy to configure if you were familiar with other Zyxel products. That could be true, but I am not familiar with this company's products and I spent three days trying to configure it and ended up giving up and purchasing a different product.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/20/2015 8:52:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Highly configurable once you understand the object oriented method of configuration.
The cpu has a fan, but see cons.
It provides local DNS. (faster browser resolves)
It can provide multiple lans. This saves me having 2 routers.
Cons: The cpu fan is a little cheap and I would rather it ran 24/7 and kept the unit cool vs. saving that tiny amount of power. Seriously, you need to shut that dinky fan off why??? I list this as a con because I like my equipment to last a long time.
I removed mine from its case and mounted it vertically on posts so it breathes. It stays cool.
Other Thoughts: they try to sell you features. meh, don't need them. most people probably don't.
There are easy to follow guides for setting up things like port forwarding on this so don't be afraid of the methodology of the configuration as this is a solid router.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/10/2015 3:48:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Probably the best firewall router for small businesses
Pros: Lots of settings means lots of customization. If you need two subnets, need them to be separated from each other, and need different restrictions to each subnet, this is the device for you. Third party router firmware, like DD-WRT, just can't compare for all those features.
Cons: Lots of settings means lots of complication. Be prepared to study, research, and test. And each test requires a restart which requires 4 minutes of wait until it reboots. Also, sometimes the device just stops working. You'll have to unplug it for a long time, as in several hours, before it will start working again. Keep a backup router handy for such down times.
Other Thoughts: If you don't want a separate wireless access point and need a firewall router, this is your best choice.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/31/2015 10:19:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS318N-100NAS ProSafe Wireless-N 8-port Gigabit VPN Firewall

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A different experience
Pros: LAN speed, simple interface, RS-232 for command line, compact, runs cool
Cons: WAN speed
Other Thoughts: Despite the dismal reviews on this and just about every other website, I had a client buy this for a small office of 7 wired and 8 wireless stations. Using the lastest firmware as of this writing, I was surprised how different my experience was with this router. The web interface is a tad slow but not painfully so. Changes are made without reboots so that issue is a wash. Since this office is a design center heavily reliant on local database operations, internet access is incidental and only necessary for mostly personal use so the hit it took across the WAN wasn't noticeable (they have basic service anyway). Transferring very large files between 3 pairs of stations simultaneously was very close to 1 Gbps (jumbo frames off!). I haven't tested the wifi speeds under a worst case scenario but so far I haven't had any complaints. Take this all with a grain of salt as it has only been in use for a week, with all static IP's and no extra services turned on but if you need an 8 gigabit port LAN router, this seems to work well. As I add services or the router fails, I may amend this review.
Reviewed By:Brad,5/24/2015 11:09:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Dell SonicWALL 01-SSC-3860 Network Security Appliance 2600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Firewall
Pros: Great device!!! Have been using Soincwall for 2 years now and they get the job done for midsize business.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:glmike,5/11/2015 3:18:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I had high hopes...
Pros: multiple VLANS, a DMZ... a real networking device priced for the home and SMB poweruser! High throughput so I wasn't bottlenecking my TimeWarner cable internet service.
Cons: Difficult to configure for complex services (like XBOX Live), but it is a fully featured router, so YMMV. The bigger issue for me is the WAN port died after just 2 1/2 years... a few months after the two year warranty expired. Of course, that's my luck. If any of the other ports had died, I could have just mapped another port to that logical network, but the WAN port is what makes the thing a functional firewall. Now it's useless: I paid $180 for a device that only lived 30 months or less.
Other Thoughts: My thoughts were to create my own VPN service for my mobile devices, but I never got around to using the VPN software. Basically, I had this device configured such that my home WiFi network and 1000 Mbit ethernet networks were kept separated from each other (I'm paranoid).
Reviewed By:Jeremiah,4/14/2015 2:34:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG40-NB Security Firewall (Hardware only)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice product
Pros: This is a higher end firewall than what you'd find for the typical consumer. I am using it to set up an incoming VPN so that I can remote into my network from all my devices from anywhere. I am also using it as a home lab tester to learn IPv6 and firewalls in general. The fireall is silent and powerful for its cost and size. This is my second Zyxel and I highly recommend this product for small businesses and geeky home users.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,4/12/2015 11:47:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Security but quirky interface
Pros: The ASA 5505 is the successor to the PIX 500 series Cisco security appliances with additional features. The ASA 5505 offers a lot of security for a moderate price. Cisco equipment is designed for professionals and as such Cisco assumes a lot and is anything but consumer friendly. This is not a useful operating philosophy for small to medium business looking for IT security.

Setting up the unit via Cisco software can be a real PITA as noted by many other reviewers. If you're not an IT pro you may be forced to hire a pro to install this appliance properly. Cisco support will cost you as much as the unit.
Cons: It's amazing Cisco insists on being so difficult to work with as they are always looking to charge for support and licenses, etc. in addition to premium prices for all of their hardware. This ASA 5505 states wired speeds of 10/100/1000 Mbps. It is NOT 1000 Mbps speed contrary to the misleading product overview.
Other Thoughts: This Newegg offered ASA 5505 appliance specifications show 256 MB of RAM and 64 MB flash. According to Cisco they discontinued shipping this model with those sizes of RAM/Flash in 2010. So it's possible these are really old units if this is true. The cost to upgrade the RAM/Flash to the current 512 MB and 128 MB, costs almost as much as the entire ASA 5505 appliance. The 512/128 MB RAM/Flash are required to upgrade to the latest requirements.
Reviewed By:TechMeister,4/9/2015 7:47:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Be ready to read the knowledge base
Pros: A host of possible configurations to handle many different consumer and small business situations. Bought two for two different locations and established VPN to join networks from both locations.
Cons: Extremely difficult to configure and hours reading Zyxel knowledge base articles, u-tube self help and email help desk. The manual that comes with the device is next to useless and is more like a dictionary that covers every radio button in the gui. Initial setup was easy and could get internet within a few minutes. Connect the LAN and wireless networks is through a bridge function and not described in the manual anyway as a use scenario. It easily took several days to work out the details of a VPN configuration. The device itself had a very long reset period and setting were slow to talk effect. I had to reset to factory conditions twice.
Other Thoughts: Maybe all VPN routers are difficult to configure, but this one seem to take it to another level.

Get the TheGreenBow IPSec client VPN software to help debug.
Reviewed By:dyamited,3/29/2015 11:43:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.