Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does the job
Pros: Simple to use and setup, nice GUI, no need for CLI
Cons: Not a big fan of active cooling on a firewall, a firewall is a "set it and forget it" device for me, I have no way of knowing if the fan is still running. I would much prefer passive cooling on a device like this.

You have to buy another model or 2 up if you wan't Antivirus at the Firewall.
Other Thoughts: All in all not bad for the money, does offer options for free VPN clients as well.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2014 9:57:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS318N-100NAS ProSafe Wireless-N 8-port Gigabit VPN Firewall 6000 Simultaneous Sessions 95 Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wow this thing is terrible!
Pros: It turns on and works....sometimes. Easy to use interface - typical Netgear fare.
Cons: Everything else about this thing is terrible! I read the reviews here before I bought it and thought maybe there were configuration errors, lack of firmware updates, or even just isolated instances, but everything everyone said here is true! I almost lost a customer because of this thing, as I sold them on getting a 50 meg connection instead of their old T1 line, and in so doing required a new router to handle the higher WAN throughput. Well I was having DNS resolution issues, connection timeouts, sporatic loading messages on web pages, etc. It was a disaster! Thankfully I had a Zyxel Zywall USG20 firewall handy to replace the Netgear with and all of their problems disappeared! I then brought this back to my office to install as my main router just to see if it was an issue with their network, and it does the same thing to me! I'm about to switch it out now, and as I type this, I have 2 tabs with whirling loading circles because the web page won't load. I updated firmware, wiped to factory defaults, and anything else I could think of that normally gets these things to work, and nothing would fix it! I'm with everyone else here and looking at using just Cisco or ZyXel for my firewalls from now on. I can't trust Netgear anymore, and can't risk losing customers over their buggy products.
Other Thoughts: Just save yourself the trouble and buy something else....anything else!
Reviewed By:IT Advantage,4/9/2014 3:25:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle 10000 Simultaneous Sessions < 250Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for the small office
Pros: For a small office you can't go wrong. The GUI can be hard to understand for the beginner, but command line is also available. With a little knowledge of IOS you can have it running in no time. You can get it working out the box by reading the instructions.
Cons: Licenses can be hard to understand for the novice. There are different licenses so that you don't buy more than you need. Load balancing, 3DES, AES, AnyConnect Essentials, AnyConnect Premium. Who would know how to sort it out without some pretty good research.

The warranty is short, but a service contract is available for a small amount. This gives you software updates, support and device replacement.

Only supports 10/100 and not gig. Cisco needs to update this.
Other Thoughts: This device will do most of the things that it's bigger brothers will do, only on a smaller scale. If you want a nice little office firewall with site to site and remote access capabilities you can't go wrong.
Reviewed By:m4nyp33rs,3/27/2014 12:09:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS336G-200NAS ProSafe Dual WAN Gigabit Firewall with SSL & IPsec VPN 10000 Simultaneous Sessions 60 Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sustained Incompetence
Pros: Decent feature set
Build Quality
Cons: Netgear support takes forever to fix simple firmware bugs
PPTP server broken on final 3.xx firmware
WAN throughput limit ~40Mb on 3.xx firmware
WAN throughput limit ~30Mb on 4.xx firmware
External power brick
Other Thoughts: For a supposedly current generation ~$300 business product, the processor in this router is either inadequate or Netgear's ability to code efficient firmware is suspect. I purchased this product to do simple PPTP VPN's, which crash within seconds of sustained data transfer with no tunnel disconnection. After laughably slow progress with Netgear's supposedly business level support on a simple tunnel cfg that could be created in their labs in 15 minutes, they finally produced a beta firmware after months which fixed the PPTP tunnel but capped the WAN at ~30Mb. The latest 3.xx firmware bottlenecked at 42Mb on my > 50Mb connection, and now 6 months later a 4.xx firmware has finally been released which again has the 30Mb WAN performance bottleneck but the PPTP server no longer supports the same type of configuration (PPTP IP range cannot be within the same subnet as the LAN) despite it functioning fine in the previous release. It also errors out constantly attempting to add machines from its DHCP table into a reserved list.

My conclusion is becoming that this router's hardware platform needs to be replaced with a competent v3 one, and Netgear's inability to write efficient or competent release firmware is probably going to move me to another manufacturer's VPN products. A seriously sad showing by Netgear.
Reviewed By:Lsi,3/25/2014 12:06:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well, fast but licensing $$$
Pros: Lots of options, it is a true firewall
Fast, utilizes the full bandwidth of my provider
Fast, with multiple users playing online video games, no drops
Cons: The content filter and email filters cost more then the firewall!. I am not falling for that, sorry. If it was like $50 a year total for both, I would probably pay for it.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/18/2014 4:28:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 outstanding!
Pros: for the money, this is one extremely capable product!
Cons: configuration of this unit is more confusing that it ought to be.
Other Thoughts: if you already know what you're doing, then you'll enjoy using cheap/powerful little firewall. if not, then you're in for an experience. ;-)
Reviewed By:cy,3/13/2014 5:41:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS318N-100NAS ProSafe Wireless-N 8-port Gigabit VPN Firewall 6000 Simultaneous Sessions 95 Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No SSL
Pros: Good connectivity on wired network
Cons: This router does not support SSL VPN in a Microsoft Internet Explorer ver. 11 environment. Netgear admits this and will not commit any resources to find a solution. As stated in other reviews this router is extremely difficult to set up in an IPSEC environment also.
Wireless connectivity is also lost periodically, it is not stable at all. I have now wasted over a month with online email support. Technicians will not read entire emails and communicate appropriately. I have to continually re-ask the question. It has become not worth the effort, what a waste of my clients money and my time. Reconsider Netgear products before you buy.
Other Thoughts: It is amazing to me that Netgear continues selling this router. In my opinion it should be shelved and/or used for a paper weight as state in another review. This router has certainly blemished my opinion of Netgear products so onto Cisco!
Reviewed By:Tahoe1840,3/13/2014 10:14:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice if you don't care what your traffic is up to.
Pros: Works almost as described. No issues setting any of the features up. The admin is a bit ehh but who really see's that. Don't bother trying to configure without google.
Cons: Trying to find out whats happening with your traffic isn't very good. You can get an overall throughput of each physical port, and interface but there's no way to get live traffic throughput per ip address. If you have one user on your system sucking up all the bandwidth good luck finding them! There's also an overall traffic view in the admin but it doesn't show throughput, only how much traffic was sent/received per ip if the user is in the middle of downloading a huge file it will not show up here until the whole file is downloaded. This was a huge negative for me and I'm surprised a device like this doesn't have those options. (not even through snmp)
Other Thoughts: Overall I'm disappointed. Knowing what traffic is happening per IP I think is pretty important. I figured at the very least I would be able to snmp to get the information. I also thought of transferring the traffic statistics over to a server and grepping through them to get a live view of whats going on, but the same problem exists thats in the admin is you won't get a current view of whats going on, but a view of whats already happened.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/5/2014 1:32:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What Protection?
Pros: It powered on..
Nice user interface..
Cons: This happened twice.. I upgraded firmware and fully locked down the firewall. As soon as I connected it to the modem I saw that my network was being attacked. I have one Linux machine on my network thats it.. I use this for home protection, Instantly I had multiple admin sessions on the GUI, I used Wireshark to watch my egress packets leaving with probably all of my personal data to multiple ip addresses that shouldn't have been on my network (confirmed with scanning via mmap). I immediately contacted tech support, they guy replied in broken slang english saying "cause it's shipped fully locked down by default", O' okay, now I feel better. THE FIREWALL IS NOT FULLY LOCKED DOWN BY DEFAULT! I invite you to check the Vulnerability section inside the GUI. This firewall is a joke, I noticed multiple PTPP tunnels in my system both times within minutes of turning on the network.. Spent hours setting and re-setting this useless paper-weight up, wish I could return it.. I have lost ALL confidence in the ability of this device.
Other Thoughts: I wish I would have saved the log files to show everyone what a joke your product is.. I only hope i can sell this on an auction site to recover my investment..
Reviewed By:D33PZ3R0,2/28/2014 8:05:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good product; Excellent Support
Pros: Device is very powerful as far as configuration and capabilities go. I'm only subscribing to Intrusion/Anomaly Detection and Antivirus but they seem to work well. IDP has blocked a few intrusions attempts (we've been under attack and a Linksys SOHO router/SPI firewall didn't stop it; but this has).
Documentation is fairly complex (especially if you are new at networking) but more detailed than most I've scene.

Zyxel phone support is AWESOME!!! I've called them 3 times in the last week for assistance setting up the USG50. Wait time was <5 min and I got an english speaking 1st tier tech who knew the product. Each time the tech got right to the problem without wasting my time with scripts and stupid questions. They use remote sessions (join.me and remote login to the device) to good effect. On my last call they even help me troubleshoot non-Zyxel VPN software! He walked me through configuring Windows IPSec/L2TP and troubleshot it to find an IKE service that had been disabled. He also downloaded the free TheGreenbow VPN client (not the Zyxel one) to his computer to help me get it working. Their tech support is WAY better than Linksys (which wasn't bad).

Excellent price for the features (see below for performance comments).

Unit outputs to Syslog and SNMP as well as email alerts. Syslog has quite a few configuration options to get the detail you need.

You can run the device without the IDP/AV/Content subscriptions. You get 30 day trials on each subscription.
Cons: This device seems to straddle SOHO and enterprise gear as far as features go. It's powerful but has a decent learning curve. Not really a con since adding capability also increases complexity; just be sure to leave time to play with the device and learn before dropping into production on a deadline. Again it's not really a con; it is what it is. And Zyxel phone support certain makes up for the added complexity.

The tradeoff on this device is its performance. LAN-WAN throughput is around 200 Mbps and NAT/SPI drops it to around 90 Mbps. Adding Intrusion/Antivirus scanning reduces it to around 30 Mbps. It wasn't a problem for me (30 down/2.5 up) but it might be a bottleneck for some folks. Again, at this price point it's not a con. For $210 it's great for most small businesses.
Other Thoughts: Great value, outstanding phone support, decent learning curve you're new to enterprise grade networking and especially if you're new to networking in general.
Reviewed By:FireMedic,2/28/2014 7:25:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau