Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-0217 Dell SonicWALL SOHO Gen 6 Firewall appliance (hardware only)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 be warned
Pros: this is a great product, except: (see cons)
Cons: I bought 2 and when I tried to register them, it said they were grey market and I had to contact Dell/Soniwall for a resolution.
Reviewed By:f n.,4/11/2016 6:20:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > Netgear ProSafe FVS336G-300 Network Security/Firewall Appliance

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Real 1 gbps router
Pros: The WAN port(s) speed is exceptional. My previous router (TP-LINK) even though it had 1 gpbs WAN port was only capable of ~200 mbps. This one gives me what I am paying for - 350 mbps. Another good thing is that it has no fans.
Cons: IPSEC VPN setup is very cryptic. I was not able to setup a tunnel to a Cisco 880 router. And I do IPSEC VPN setups pretty often. I am probably missing something as Cisco debug info tells that ISAKMP phase cannot negotiate parameters. Will try again later. But this is not a reason for subtracting 1 egg.
Reviewed By:Dmitriy D.,4/7/2016 2:58:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-0217 Dell SonicWALL SOHO Gen 6 Firewall appliance (hardware only)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 WARNING Grey Market Product
Pros: none
Cons: Per Dell the SonicWALL SOHO was sold under special terms to a foreign entity that was not authorized to sell into the USA. It is a grey market product and Dell does not support, warrant, update, or maintain grey market products or their associated subscription services. Further, should this vendor offer to register the device into their account and transfer it to you, please note that the End-User License Agreement for Dell SonicWALL products prohibits that practice.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend purchasing any SonicWALL device through Newegg.com just wish I would have know this or been warned before I made the purchase.
Reviewed By:John H.,4/4/2016 11:47:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > Netgear ProSafe FVS336G-300 Network Security/Firewall Appliance

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Typical NetGear Experience
Pros: Metal box and not cheap plastic.
Two WAN ports when your ISP's are flakey enough that you need a second ISP as backup
A DMZ port should you need one.
Power adapter is pretty svelte and easy to deal with.
Silent, no fans.
NetGear GUI interface is at least consistent across Business Firewall product lines
Newegg RMA service fast, easy and hassle-free.
Faster than specs say on the WAN link.
Cons: First shipped unit bricked upon the initial Firmware update to latest, had to RMA it for another one which cost me a week of time.
NetGear GUI interface is horrendous if you have any experience with any other vendor gear.
Other Thoughts: Bought this to replace an FVS318G-100NAS that was becoming a bottleneck to the ever increasing WAN speeds by TWC Business Class Cable Internet, and also because the FVS318Gv1 was now randomly locking up/rebooting/dropping WAN and LAN connections. (Not sure if the first was causing the second.) First FVS336Gv3 that showed up I tried to flash to the latest firmware right out of the box and for some unknown reason it bricked the unit (even the reset button didn't help). RMA'd for a second unit, which successfully flashed to latest firmware. As I had screenshot all the settings from the FVS318G, I re-entered all the configs into the FVS336v3 which took a bit of time but was 100% successful when I swapped the FVS336v3 into production.

I was considering the NetGear SRX for the WAN link speeds unit up until I figured out it had a fan, I didn't want something noisy as this unit was on a desk near the Cable Modem. Also, the SRX was pretty old hardware wise and hadn't been refreshed recently whereas the FVS336v3 is pretty recent so I figured the FVS336v3 would have longer lifespan.

So far happy with this purchase, it has been stable and all the features we use it for works (1 WAN connection, couple soft client VPNs, a site to site VPN, general firewalling). Wish NetGear wasn't bailing on their UTM line or I would have considered that. This day and age the general SPI Firewall isn't cutting it with the current threat environment but I didn't want to change to another vendor for a UTM, and can compensate for some software at the client level.

For the uninitiated, this NetGear firewall has the same GUI interface as the FVS318G, the FVS338 and a couple other models, so unless you have prior experience with NetGear, this GUI is not always the most intuitive or easy to use. Hope this helps others make an informed decision. I'd recommend this for other NetGear fans.
Reviewed By:Mr. J.,3/7/2016 9:01:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Dell SonicWALL 01-SSC-0213 VPN Wired TZ400 Gen 6 Firewall appliance (hardware only)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 All around great 6th generation security appliance, put in many Sonicwalls and this one is fast enough to handle Google Fiber
Pros: Boat load of features, very secure, lots of flexibility if you know what you're doing.
Cons: This is not the first Sonicwall I've gotten from Newegg, but this one won't register and the mysonicwall.com site says that we must contact greymarketprevention@sonicwall.com to resolve. So I need to contact them and figure out if I need to return this thing or what. But this will probably be my last Sonicwall purchase from Newegg.com as I don't have time to mess around with this kind of stuff, and I don't like shady things to save a few bucks. This is the only reason I don't give 5 eggs.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend only if you know what you're doing and have prior Sonicwall experience. Also, beware of this grey market thing, you may want to buy direct from dell or another supplier.
Reviewed By:Ronald S.,3/4/2016 6:49:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS318 ProSafe VPN Firewall Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A moderate Switch for Today's technology
Pros: First, it has plenty of security features and can do quite a few things. the 8 ports are definitely helpful. However, this is where the pros end.
Cons: This unit is already a few years old and I used it for several years before realizing that it wasn't my internet that was slow, it was the unit that was cutting my bandwidth in half and literally costing me $30 each and every month for two years.

It's WAN to LAN is NOT 12.5 Mbps. That's counting BOTH ways, i believe 'full-duplex'. It's 'half duplex' is only 7.5 at MOST. I have 10 Mbps from comcast. I hooked up my desktop and laptop directly to the modem and got 12 Mbps. I added this VPN and it dropped to 4.5 Mbps.

It's a pain to setup. And I mean a pain. Took me 30 minutes the first time. the FVS 338 is a little smarter.

I highly recommend looking for the VPN FVS 338 Model. Up to 90 Mbps WAN to LAN and 60 for the 3DES service.
Other Thoughts: It's 'switching fabric' is 250 Mbps (up + down stream data x 8)

the FVS 338 is a superior model. Faster CPU, more RAM, higher switching fabric, faster throughput.

10/100 Mbps Wired Speed - 50/50.
12.5 Mbps LAN to WAN throughput - WRONG. Try 7.5. I'd know, I tested and suffered for two years with this speed with a 10 Mbps service. Switched to FVS 338 and got full speed instantly.
Reviewed By:Matthew D.,3/3/2016 6:06:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Dell SonicWALL 01-SSC-3863 Network Security Appliance 2600 TotalSecure 1 Yr

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent. Works as expected.
Pros: Great unit. Compare the specs yourself. The pricing is pretty universal.
Cons: Since this is a grey market device, its a little annoying to setup the licenses with sonicwall. I knew this was going to happen from the get-go so I won't hold it to them. But beware and ready to have a few phone calls.
Reviewed By:Luca S.,2/18/2016 6:48:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Dell SonicWALL TZ300 01-SSC-0215 VPN Wired Gen 6 Firewall appliance (hardware only)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK firewall
Pros: simple to configure
Cons: We are just using for NATTing only.
I do not trust this to protect me from hackers.
WAN speed is only 100 mbps. I need more than that because my data center gives me close to 500 mbps.
All other services like anti virus, anti spyware , IPS etc.. are expensive and not that great
Other Thoughts: use this if you need NAT
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/14/2016 7:04:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZYWALL110 High Performance 1GbE SPI/300Mbps VPN Firewall with 100 IPSec and 25 SSL VPN, 7 GbE Ports and High Availability

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice price, sub-par product.
Pros: Inexpensive compared to similar items.
Cons: Had lots of intermittent routing issues. Things would seem to work every now and again. A new firewall router resulted in all problems going away.
Other Thoughts: Yes, it was configured correctly.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/13/2016 12:32:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG40 Security Firewall w/13 Months UTM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Half the Advertised Throughput
Pros: This is a full featured, albeit a bit complex, firewall/security device. It's extremely flexible and full featured. It has met all of my needs except one.
Cons: The advertised throughput of 400mbps cannot be realized. I've got all UTM services disabled and I'm only using basic firewall functions yet my internet speed is being cut in half. I've contacted Zyxel support and they really haven't provided any solutions, just some basic troubleshooting steps that failed to deliver any improvement.

Below are the consistent results I've observed in my testing. The actual throughput seems to be about 50% of the advertised. Instead of 400mbps through the firewall, it's maxing just below 200mbps.

Speeds before installing Zyxel USG40: Down-387mbps; Up-322mbps
Speeds after installing Zyxel USG40: Down-198mbps; Up-193mbps
Other Thoughts: If I would have known that the advertised speeds weren't accurate, I would have bought the USG60 or the USG110. Now, it looks like I'm buying one of those anyway and I've got a very expensive paper weight (USG40).
Reviewed By:Brian H.,1/27/2016 4:42:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.