Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA5505-50-BUN-K9 ASA 5505 50-User Bundle includes 8-port Fast Ethernet switch, 10 IPsec VPN peers, 2 Premium VPN peers, 3DES/AES license

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: I'm sure it worked great, but I sold it because I wanted a 55xx-X series firewall instead.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/6/2016 12:34:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RV320-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great features but still has few issues
Pros: Lots of features
Easy to configure
Easy to use
Cons: DHCP for some reason is very slow. It takes more than a minute to acquire an IP address on some devices.
Unable to manually force ports to 1Gb. Max it allows is 100Mb Full duplex.
Hopefully Cisco can fix these issues asap in new firmware updates.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/24/2016 10:42:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of money
Pros: - Quick and easy first setup;
- Nice look.
Cons: There are few things that made this product a big disappointment for me:
- This product is coming to EOL! (end-of-life). Zyxel announced that support for signatures will be stopped in 2019. Now they don't sell 2-years licenses anymore.
- After activation of trial 30-days licenses the appliance failed to update the signature database. It was not able to communicate to the Zyxel portal. Ridiculous.
- It is unstable! My home network has view segments are connected via few switches and one of the segments have been disconnecting from the router (cannot ping, no Internet access) on regular basis. I put back the old router (DLInk DIR-655) - the problem has gone.
- Zyxel support is responsive but they did not fix the issue.
Other Thoughts: - Because of the issues are described above I was not able to test how VPN access works - the main reason why I bough this appliance.
Reviewed By:Alexander M.,11/3/2016 6:11:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RV325-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cisco Small Business RV325 Rocks
Pros: - Cost Effective
- Gigabit LAN
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: I have a number of the Cisco / Linksys RVXXX routers and they are excellent.
Reviewed By:Pete G.,10/10/2016 7:56:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RV325-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use, setup, and network is much faster now
Pros: Easy setup. Can have 2 WAN connections.
Cons: A little expensive but it's not bad at all.
Other Thoughts: I'd purchase this again.. I was very satisfied. I installed two in one location. 14 ports are for your network + 2 more for WAN.
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER M.,10/7/2016 3:56:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > Netgear FVS318G ProSafe 8-Port Gigabit VPN Firewall, 9 Port - 10/100/1000Base-T Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good home office firewall VPN
Pros: Easy to setup, has a internet light beside the WAN port to let you know it is connected. Boot up time is improved of the v1 of the product. Has good throughput on the VPN.
Cons: Sometimes the device stops working when you first turn it on. I give it a few minutes to finish loading then I log in and use the reboot icon under the diagnostics page. Since then it has worked fine. That was a few weeks ago.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully they will fix the boot up problem, other than that it is a good device.
Reviewed By:Carolyn J.,10/6/2016 10:52:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Biggest Pain and Inefficient
Pros: There are no pros after dealing with this unit for hours
No firmware updates, the support is slow and repetivive
Cons: Doesn't even block simple https:// sites so end users can easily get to Facebook. You have to put in a thousand Facebook IP addresses nor does it block streaming music, Absolutely RIDICULOUS
Reviewed By:Mark O.,8/23/2016 4:24:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERPro-8 EdgeMAX 8-Port Gigabit Router fiber-enabled, rackmount

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good firewall for the price but poor tech support
Pros: - Good and flexible firewall.
- If you are used to the old Vyatta or newer VyOS open source, this is the router for you. Can do most things with the GUI interface but the command line interface is more powerful.
-Allowed bridged ports with VLAN
-Aggregate throughput throttling seems to work as stated
Cons: - single non redundant hardware and power supply (but what do you want for $300?)
- mine died after a month of use. It stopped responding to pings and would not allow me to remote connect in. It was dead even after multiple reboots but I still had a white power light but could not get any network interface link lights. I brought it home and plugged it in and it started working again. Some weird intermittent or heat related issue idk. I RMA'ed it to Ubiquiti on the west cost and it has been over 2 weeks and they still have not shipped me a repaired/replaced unit.
Other Thoughts: Ubiquiti tech support turnaround time is inadequate. I should have just returned to newegg for a replacement.
Reviewed By:Andrew B.,7/11/2016 7:33:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > SonicWall > SonicWall 01-SSC-0217 Dell SonicWALL SOHO Gen 6 Firewall appliance (hardware only)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No Grey Market Issues for me
Pros: Wanted to check in and say that my purchase in June 2016 had no issues registering my firewall.
Cons: None. This firewall worked great!
Other Thoughts: Buy this firewall. Perhaps newegg had a batch of scetchy firewalls. If you run into an issue, take it up with newegg.
Reviewed By:ZAC M.,7/1/2016 3:30:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG40W-NB Security Firewall (Hardware Only)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Performing Security Appliance Firewall with Outstanding UTM Services and Excellent WiFi Range
Pros: This security appliance firewall is packed with features. This is now my third ZyXEL firewall, and every upgrade has been leaps and bounds better than the previous. Setup was mostly straight forward. A firewall with this many features starts to get into the realm of needing general understanding of firewalls to setup all of the main features. But nothing is overly complicated or requires an extreme level of knowledge to set up the core features. The more advanced of a setup you go, the more advanced level of knowledge needed, but that goes for all firewalls. All the ZyXEL units I have owned have a similar menu feel and setup, which makes it easy to jump in and get started.

Aside from all the great features this unit has, the big standout is the UTM (Unified Threat Management) Services. These are licensed services, and there are four UTM services available. They are: Kaspersky Anti-Virus, Application Intelligence & IDP (Intrusion Detection Prevention), Content Filtering, and Anti-Spam. The unit comes with a 30-day trial. After seeing what the IDP and Content Filter were catching and reporting, I didn't hesitate to buy a subscription to the services. I'm using their bundled services UTM that has all four UTMs in it. It was a huge eye-opener to see all of the shady content and exploits that were being brought in through mainstream webpages and the type of content that was being sent out by smart devices. Some of the things the Content Filter and IDP caught were: Buffer-Overflows, Web-Attacks, Access-Controls, DoS, Known Security Threat Webpages, and more. These were all things that never showed up with Norton Internet Security. And catching these things in the ZyXEL firewall, means they are stopped before touching any connected devices. The UTMs even notified me and stopped the sending of personal usage date from my Samsung smart TVs back to Samsung, which I had no idea my TV was doing.

The WiFi range I would rate as being excellent. And the antennas are removable, should you choose to upgrade them.

The case is a combination of metal and plastic, and has some good weight to it. The processor heat sink is large and passive, so no fans or noise. This is a big plus for me, since I have this unit on my desk.

As always, the ZyXEL USA based tech support is outstanding.

The on/off power button is also another big plus. My prior firewalls didn't have one, and it's a pain holding multiple cords when you need to do a power cycle.

I would recommend this unit for anything from personal use all the way up to a medium sized office or larger, depending on needed throughput. But all the features are definitely here for any type of setup.
Cons: I really don't have anything negative to say about this unit. There are only a few things I would improve upon. Setting up the inbound VPN was a difficult, complex, and tedious process. With VPN being mainstream, they really should have come up with an easier way to set up the VPN.

The UTM licenses are pricey, although pricey is a relative term. I use this for my personal firewall, so it's expensive for individual use. But for an office it would be very inexpensive. The subscription price is the same, regardless of usage. I would have loved to have seen a personal usage license at a lower price point.

This last part is just an annoyance. They need to do a firmware update to fix the USB indicator light on the front of the unit. The light doesn't come back on if you restart or power cycle (or if a power outage occurs) the unit. This does not affect the functionality at all. The attached USB storage device still shows up in the menu and is still recording the data logs.

Speaking of USB storage, it would be great if there was a feature to see the log data that is recorded to the USB in the ZyXEL menu. Or better yet, be able to see it in the log menu. As it stands, the log menu only shows the last 512 logged events. And depending on the usage, 512 events can be as much as several hours or as little as the last second of events.
Other Thoughts: I used to own the ZyXEL VFG6005N for over a year. I then upgraded to the USG20W, which I had for a little over two years. I mostly upgraded to the USG20W because I wanted a stronger WiFi range, which the USG20W definitely provided. I also wanted to step up to the next level of security features, which the USG20W also provided. Now I upgraded to the USG40W, which I have been using for a bit over half a year. I've been very happy with each ZyXEL purchase and their USA based tech support.

I want to give some additional information about the four UTM services I talked about above. As I mentioned, I use all four of them. I only purchased the bundle, because there was a discount for the bundle. The only two that have been beneficial for me have been the IDP and Content Filtering UTMs. They are the ones blocking the harmful websites and exploits. The Anti-Spam UTM is only useful if you are hosting your own e-mail server behind your firewall. The Kaspersky Anti-Virus UTM scans downloaded files for viruses. That is all the Anti-Virus UTM does. It has no function beyond that, so it's not like it's scanning webpages for malware content or anything like that. I have not downloaded anything that has had a virus in it yet, so the stat shows zero viruses in both the Kaspersky Anti-Virus UTM and my Norton Internet Security. I have had on occasion, namely smart phone OS updates that could not be downloaded, because the Anti-Virus UTM took the cautious approach on compressed files it could not scan for viruses. Other than that and the cost of buying the the UTM, there is no downside to having the added security of the Anti-Virus UTM.

I always recommend using a firewall, whether it's in a home or office setting. With so much personal and financial information on your computer and transferred online, it's worth the extra security. You should also always use a full Internet security suite, not just an anti-virus. And yes, you can use software firewalls, like those included with Internet security suites, and a hardware firewall together. It's just another layer of security.

As I upgraded to this USG40W and used its UTM services, I discovered that my Samsung smart TVs have been "spying" on me. They have been sending back all my usage data to Samsung. After researching this, I came across some interesting articles from news outlets and Consumer Reports that talked about companies selling this data for huge profits. Ultimately all this data winds up in data banks that can put together your name, phone number, address, age, IP address, and usage habits. This data is then sold to and used by telemarketers, online advertisements, junk mailers, and unfortunately also shady individuals/companies. It was definitely some interesting reading to say the least. I suppose this is part of the downside to the Internet-of-things.

System Information:
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero Alpha Z170
Intel i7-6700K
Zalman CNPS9900MAX
Arctic Silver 5
EVGA GeForce GTX 670 SC 4GB
2 x 16GB G.Skill Aegis DDR4 2400
2 x Seagate Constellation ES.3 2TB SATA3 HDD in RAID 1
2 x ASUS BD-RE Burner
Corsair AX1200i 1200W PSU
Cooler Master HAF X Full Tower Case
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
4 x ASUS VS247H-P 23.6" LED Backlight Monitor
Reviewed By:Steven K.,6/12/2016 6:09:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.