Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I had high hopes...
Pros: multiple VLANS, a DMZ... a real networking device priced for the home and SMB poweruser! High throughput so I wasn't bottlenecking my TimeWarner cable internet service.
Cons: Difficult to configure for complex services (like XBOX Live), but it is a fully featured router, so YMMV. The bigger issue for me is the WAN port died after just 2 1/2 years... a few months after the two year warranty expired. Of course, that's my luck. If any of the other ports had died, I could have just mapped another port to that logical network, but the WAN port is what makes the thing a functional firewall. Now it's useless: I paid $180 for a device that only lived 30 months or less.
Other Thoughts: My thoughts were to create my own VPN service for my mobile devices, but I never got around to using the VPN software. Basically, I had this device configured such that my home WiFi network and 1000 Mbit ethernet networks were kept separated from each other (I'm paranoid).
Reviewed By:Jeremiah,4/14/2015 2:34:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Security but quirky interface
Pros: The ASA 5505 is the successor to the PIX 500 series Cisco security appliances with additional features. The ASA 5505 offers a lot of security for a moderate price. Cisco equipment is designed for professionals and as such Cisco assumes a lot and is anything but consumer friendly. This is not a useful operating philosophy for small to medium business looking for IT security.

Setting up the unit via Cisco software can be a real PITA as noted by many other reviewers. If you're not an IT pro you may be forced to hire a pro to install this appliance properly. Cisco support will cost you as much as the unit.
Cons: It's amazing Cisco insists on being so difficult to work with as they are always looking to charge for support and licenses, etc. in addition to premium prices for all of their hardware. This ASA 5505 states wired speeds of 10/100/1000 Mbps. It is NOT 1000 Mbps speed contrary to the misleading product overview.
Other Thoughts: This Newegg offered ASA 5505 appliance specifications show 256 MB of RAM and 64 MB flash. According to Cisco they discontinued shipping this model with those sizes of RAM/Flash in 2010. So it's possible these are really old units if this is true. The cost to upgrade the RAM/Flash to the current 512 MB and 128 MB, costs almost as much as the entire ASA 5505 appliance. The 512/128 MB RAM/Flash are required to upgrade to the latest requirements.
Reviewed By:TechMeister,4/9/2015 7:47:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Be ready to read the knowledge base
Pros: A host of possible configurations to handle many different consumer and small business situations. Bought two for two different locations and established VPN to join networks from both locations.
Cons: Extremely difficult to configure and hours reading Zyxel knowledge base articles, u-tube self help and email help desk. The manual that comes with the device is next to useless and is more like a dictionary that covers every radio button in the gui. Initial setup was easy and could get internet within a few minutes. Connect the LAN and wireless networks is through a bridge function and not described in the manual anyway as a use scenario. It easily took several days to work out the details of a VPN configuration. The device itself had a very long reset period and setting were slow to talk effect. I had to reset to factory conditions twice.
Other Thoughts: Maybe all VPN routers are difficult to configure, but this one seem to take it to another level.

Get the TheGreenBow IPSec client VPN software to help debug.
Reviewed By:dyamited,3/29/2015 11:43:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > ProSAFE VPN Firewall 8 Gigabit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice features but...
Pros: The feature set is reasonably complete. 8 LAN ports, VLANs, VPNs, ...
Cons: The device locks up about once a day. A power cycle restores everything. The GUI is slow to the point of being painful. A parameter change may take up to a minute to refresh the screen.
Other Thoughts: Netgear used to be my goto company for network gear a decade ago. No longer is that the case.
Reviewed By:Mouse,3/27/2015 12:36:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-4906 TZ 105 TotalSecure 1-year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible experience with this product
Pros: Price in comparison to other equally spec'd products. The onboard OS is very easy to work with and offers allot of functionality only found on higher end units.
Cons: Slow performance, I mean slow. We couldn't get it to work efficiently on our network. Even working with tech support. we couldn't get it to work right. They blamed our ISP and DSL modem. I replace the DSL modem with no positive affect.
After installing this firewall, all 5 of our computers stopped updating their Kaspersky antivirus. It would simply time out. Browsing content rich websites wouldn't load, they simply time out. Most sites that would load, would take 30 to 90 seconds to load.
I understand UTM Firewalls do allot more scanning, but we did allot more configuration changes and tests that I'm not listing here, it was ridicules. Even tech support couldn't get this firewall tuned right to work fast enough to be usable.
I put my old Watchguard X15 back online and everything worked as expected.
Other Thoughts: This firewall seems to be either woefully underpowered or I got a defective unit. I returned it. Thanks to Newegg, I wasn't suck with a rotten egg.
Reviewed By:Disappointed,3/14/2015 12:51:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SonicWALL 01-SSC-4887 TZ 205 Wireless-N Secure Upgrade Plus Program Hardware with 3 Years of the Comprehensive Gateway Security Suite

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great but tedious
Pros: great security and reliability
Cons: very tedious to customize and complicated. comes preloaded to block most websites.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/11/2015 8:38:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG110 Next-Generation USG with 100 VPN Tunnels, SSL VPN, 2 GbE WAN, 1 OPT GbE, 4 GbE LAN/DMZ, with 1 Year UTM Services

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast VPN throughput with IDP enabled
Pros: -fairly easy to setup with 20 VPN users
-reasonable price
-great feature set
-runs quiet (unlike Cisco security appliances)
-fast VPN throughput even when IDP is enabled
*annual subscription is reasonably priced
Cons: -manual was not the easiest to navigate
-annual pay subscription required for security updates*
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this VPN security appliance from Zyxel for small business use. I found it to be FAR superior to "comparable" Cisco products I have used in the past.
Reviewed By:Kevin P,3/8/2015 8:58:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR SRX5308-100NAS ProSafe Quad WAN Gigabit SSL VPN Firewall

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NetGear SRX5308
Pros: Very Easy to setup. Good Value. U need ur ISP make sure set modem for Internet to bridge and pass-through mode and add static IP from ISP. This will make life much easier. Do not use Dead peer unless you really need it, cuts down speeds by constant ping checks. Enable Auto Initiate on remote sites only if u use more than one for IPsec tunnel leave the hub unit to just responder. Again saves on traffic and congestion issues.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: For this price I'm going to order a cold spare to have around for just in case, it's cheap enough even though they have good warranty we cannot afford the down time.
Make sure you read the instruction manual pdf carefully. The VPN client to device little tricky only because I read too fast then saw I had to reverse the local and remote ID on the client. Works great and fast.
Reviewed By:Happy Tech,2/25/2015 10:01:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very outdated software included
Pros: I've always liked Cisco, and this device does work for the most part for my intended purpose of linking a remote site via VPN to our primary corporate site.
Cons: The device comes with VERY outdated software. For a purchase made in November 2014, mine came with ASA version 8.2(5) which was released May 23, 2011. The included CD has 8.3(1) which was released March 8th, 2010 (yes, earlier, go figure. All that info is here on Cisco.com: http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/security/asa-5500-series-next-generation-firewalls/products-release-notes-list.html).

In my opinion, it should have come with 9.3(1) which was released in July 2014, 4 months prior to the purchase date. I understand if Cisco cannot put that CD in the box, because it is possible Newegg stocked prior to that date, but Cisco should allow buyers to download the latest software within the first 90 days of purchasing the device. I've scoured the Cisco website, and they clearly state that a valid support contract is required. Which brings me to my second beef.... No support other than "Community" support via the forums is supported. My particular ASA has an issue with not properly recognizing the local-host count. I have 4 physical hosts with 4 unique MAC IDs behind the ASA, but when you do a "sh local-host" it says there are 10 at some times, other times I check it says there are 7 or 8. I scoured the web and upgrading to a new ASA version should remedy this, but since that is not an option for me, I'm stuck with a heavy paper weight.
Other Thoughts: I actually have two ASA5505s that are identical. I have a 5540 at the primary site and a 5510 at the disaster recovery site. The 5540 and 5510 do not exhibit any of these issues. So I would advise staying away from the 5505.
Reviewed By:chuck,2/23/2015 12:18:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZWUSG100PLUS 600Mbps Firewall with 50 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, 6 Gigabit Ports (2 x WAN, 4 x LAN/DMZ) with 1 Year AV, IDP, Content Filtering and AntiSpam Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Easy to setup if you are used to the ZyEXL firewalls. Throughput is very fast, firmware upgrade was seamless, seems like unlimited rules and port forwards available (currently have over 50 rules/fwds).
A great piece of hardware for our small-medium sized business.
Cons: None yet
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 11:08:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.