Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Sonicwall 01-SSC-6942 TZ105 UTM Secure Firewall

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Sonic wall TZ
Pros: set up was OK
Cons: Now owned by DELL service contract that I paid extra for is worthless waste of money. No clear English spoken. Each month it go's down and after 3hrs and many changes were back up. But every month! Its crazy. I will be looking for another firewall when my extended contract is up. Its typical DELL sales are good service is horrid
Other Thoughts: Look at other options, a company who has true American speaking service techs
Reviewed By:Kevin in FLA,11/14/2014 2:10:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR SRX5308-100NAS ProSafe Quad WAN Gigabit SSL VPN Firewall 200000 Simultaneous Sessions 924 Mbps (LAN-to-WAN)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Beware!
Pros: Cheap, not very loud. Seems like plenty of routing and VPN options if you're running a supported OS (Windows). Supports RADIUS authentication.
Cons: We wanted a VPN solution that offered PPTP, L2TP, and SSL, but without any of the restrictions that are found with other devices, such as high price, limited speeds, or proprietary clients. This looked like it would work perfectly.

Boy, was I wrong.

Yeah, it supports L2TP, but not "L2TP/IPSec w/ PSK". So it doesn't work right with many of the operating systems that use that (such as OS X, Android, iOS, etc.).

And PPTP? It has limited options for that, and so far we've not been able to get any client to connect to it using PPTP.

The device apparently doesn't keep logs for anything other than IPSec and SSL, making it rather hard to diagnose connection issues.

And SSL VPN? It uses Netgear's proprietary SSL VPN that requires their own Neatgear client to be installed. And the client they provide is several years old. It is an *unsigned* Java applet. Are they serious? Java 7/8 by default blocks unsigned apps because of the security issues with allowing such a thing. While you can add the VPN device's IP to your Java whitelist to get it to run, you shouldn't have to. The SSL VPN client is filled with poor grammar and misleading error messages, as well. It sort of works. Unlike L2TP and PPTP, we did get the SSL VPN to connect. Unfortunately, the client requires root access to install certain files, and the Netgear forums have mini-guides that instruct users on how to enable the root account on OS X just to get the software to install (you must run a web browser as root, seriously). Once installed, users will still get bombarded with security errors (at least 3) any time they connect, simply because of it being an insecure/unsigned Java applet and the poor programming of the applet that will complain about lack of root access (because that is what every user needs, right?).

With an SSL client that looks like it was poorly slapped together several years ago and less L2TP and PPTP compatibility than a Windows Server installation from a decade ago, it's obvious that Netgear has no intention of supporting this device.
Other Thoughts: If you want to run a VPN server that allows actual clientless connections for PPTP and L2TP/IPSec w/ PSK, and the security and functionality of SSL VPN, I would suggest just setting up a Linux server w/ OpenVPN or even a Windows Server w/ OpenVPN.
Reviewed By:Xenomorph,11/14/2014 10:54:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-6945 TZ 205 Network Security Appliance 500 Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 OK....but
Pros: Small, Compact, seems to work well. Install wizard works good. I have owned previous sonic walls, so the configuration was not a mystery.
Cons: Claims to be 12000 connections, Only 10000. Subtract 1 egg for misrepresentation.
Other Thoughts: Dell customer service sucks. When trying to contact them to point out the error in the specification, the only reply was that your support agreement is expired. This is on the 6th day of owning the device.
Reviewed By:David,11/12/2014 2:41:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works well and fast.
Pros: Nearly plug and play with a decent GUI. I got my school network up and running in 30 minutes with VPN. Not using the trial-ware which will cut throughput in half. Running with FIOS at 100/100 with no issues.
Cons: Don't have any issues yet.
Reviewed By:OLGMarty,10/20/2014 5:08:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR UTM50EW-100NAS 40000 Simultaneous Sessions 400 Mbps ProSecure UTM50 Appliance with 1-year Subscription Bundle Web, Email, and Support & Maintenance Subscriptions – Unlimited Users

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good performance, POOR support
Pros: Good hardware, performance and price point.
Cons: Netgear doesn't seem to realize that their enterprise offerings can't afford to be treated like the home networking side of the their business. They are very slow to address known security issues in this product. Ex. Heartbleed. I called and NO ONE had a comment on the status of a fix and customers had to wait WEEKS to see the issue resolved. Additionally, they don't have any security announce mailing list or security website for the enterprise products like other enterprise security vendors.
Other Thoughts: Netgear needs to start treating the enterprise customer with a higher level of support than its $100 home network customer.
Reviewed By:J,10/12/2014 4:49:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-4906 TZ 105 TotalSecure 1-year 200 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Seller was great. Arrived fast. Device was easy to configure. Using it on home network so it has a lot more functionality than I actually need but very satisfied.
Cons: None. Only had it a month so we will see how it goes. So far so good.
Reviewed By:Zippync,10/10/2014 10:30:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-6945 TZ 205 Network Security Appliance 500 Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great reputation but poor quality
Pros: Good color - very clean looking and the unit is shipped in a gorgeous cardboard box. The plastic wrap surrounding the unit seemed to be high quality and very transparent. The adhesive tape securing the package appeared to be applied straight and with nary a wrinkle.
Cons: This unit was selected as a more high-throughput option to the 7 year-old Linksys RV082 router. Sadly, this router is a far cry slower that the old Linksys. In actual speed tests the SonicWall is faster than the Linksys, but the time required to load web pages, S/R email, or download a file is much slower with the SonicWall TZ-205. And if you'd like to talk to someone for support or maybe allow an experienced tech to look at configuration in a remote session, it ain't happening.
Other Thoughts: I had great success with other SonicWall routers and security appliances, but this one has found a home on the DNU (do not use) lit. It's a great router, it just doesn't do the job it was intended to.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/24/2014 7:41:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Small Business
Pros: Reliable, easy to work with, good tech support
Cons: None that I know of
Other Thoughts: I have used these for a few different clients and once I became familiar with them I have found them to be a great solution for small businesses
Reviewed By:N/A,9/9/2014 10:47:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS318N-100NAS ProSafe Wireless-N 8-port Gigabit VPN Firewall 6000 Simultaneous Sessions 95 Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Three Year (almost) Follow-Up
Pros: Sturdy metal construction
Port-based VLANs
IPSEC & SSL VPN
All Gig-E ports
Supports jumbo frames
Small size
Console serial port
Limited lifetime hardware warranty
Cons: Painfully slow Web GUI
Fundamentally unstable
Other Thoughts: At one time I had as many as eight of these units in the field, but now I've replaced them with competing products (at my own expense) because my clients deserve better.

Simply stated, Netgear's engineers have not been able to provide a firmware update that enables this firewall's full feature set without breaking something in the process. Fix the DHCP lease problems and the router intermittently drops RDP packets; fix the frequent lockups and the router starts dropping DNS traffic; fix the periodic loss of wireless connectivity and the LAN-WAN rules stop working. I pulled the last unit earlier this week (firmware 4.3.1-22) because it could only go a few days before clients began to experience timeouts, half-loaded webpages and loss of internet connectivity. Nearly three years and nine firmwares after I purchased my first FVS318N, Netgear added the only feature that makes sense for this flaky firewall: the ability to automatically reboot itself every 24 hours.

The FVS318N isn't the only recent Netgear product I've seen with reliability issues. Poor design, poor implementation and laughably poor support is a good reason to look elsewhere for SoHo/SMB kit.
Reviewed By:David R.,9/4/2014 8:13:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible Documents
Pros: It's fast, I bought it to replace my Sonicwall TZ190 at home. The TZ190 has very slow throughput and this unit used every bit of my download band width with qos on 7 for the wan port.
Cons: This is not my first firewall, I have worked with other brands including Sonicwall, Cisco andPalo Alto at work. This firewall has the worst documents of any I have ever seen. Creating rules and nat policies are pretty much the same as any other firewall but the settings for options and connectivity are sometimes hidden and the manuals are by far the worst I have ever seen. I had to use google to find procedures for simple things that I should not have. I never used tech support so I can't comment on the support side but I really shouldn't have to use google to find answers to some of the questions I had.
Other Thoughts: The CLI documentation seemed to be better than the manual but since it uses different commands you have to learn a whole new set of commands that are different from Cisco to make changes.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2014 3:02:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.