Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR SRX5308-100NAS ProSafe Quad WAN Gigabit SSL VPN Firewall

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NetGear SRX5308
Pros: Very Easy to setup. Good Value. U need ur ISP make sure set modem for Internet to bridge and pass-through mode and add static IP from ISP. This will make life much easier. Do not use Dead peer unless you really need it, cuts down speeds by constant ping checks. Enable Auto Initiate on remote sites only if u use more than one for IPsec tunnel leave the hub unit to just responder. Again saves on traffic and congestion issues.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: For this price I'm going to order a cold spare to have around for just in case, it's cheap enough even though they have good warranty we cannot afford the down time.
Make sure you read the instruction manual pdf carefully. The VPN client to device little tricky only because I read too fast then saw I had to reverse the local and remote ID on the client. Works great and fast.
Reviewed By:Happy Tech,2/25/2015 10:01:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very outdated software included
Pros: I've always liked Cisco, and this device does work for the most part for my intended purpose of linking a remote site via VPN to our primary corporate site.
Cons: The device comes with VERY outdated software. For a purchase made in November 2014, mine came with ASA version 8.2(5) which was released May 23, 2011. The included CD has 8.3(1) which was released March 8th, 2010 (yes, earlier, go figure. All that info is here on Cisco.com: http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/security/asa-5500-series-next-generation-firewalls/products-release-notes-list.html).

In my opinion, it should have come with 9.3(1) which was released in July 2014, 4 months prior to the purchase date. I understand if Cisco cannot put that CD in the box, because it is possible Newegg stocked prior to that date, but Cisco should allow buyers to download the latest software within the first 90 days of purchasing the device. I've scoured the Cisco website, and they clearly state that a valid support contract is required. Which brings me to my second beef.... No support other than "Community" support via the forums is supported. My particular ASA has an issue with not properly recognizing the local-host count. I have 4 physical hosts with 4 unique MAC IDs behind the ASA, but when you do a "sh local-host" it says there are 10 at some times, other times I check it says there are 7 or 8. I scoured the web and upgrading to a new ASA version should remedy this, but since that is not an option for me, I'm stuck with a heavy paper weight.
Other Thoughts: I actually have two ASA5505s that are identical. I have a 5540 at the primary site and a 5510 at the disaster recovery site. The 5540 and 5510 do not exhibit any of these issues. So I would advise staying away from the 5505.
Reviewed By:chuck,2/23/2015 12:18:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZWUSG100PLUS 600Mbps Firewall with 50 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, 6 Gigabit Ports (2 x WAN, 4 x LAN/DMZ) with 1 Year AV, IDP, Content Filtering and AntiSpam Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Easy to setup if you are used to the ZyEXL firewalls. Throughput is very fast, firmware upgrade was seamless, seems like unlimited rules and port forwards available (currently have over 50 rules/fwds).
A great piece of hardware for our small-medium sized business.
Cons: None yet
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 11:08:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do NOT Purchase
Pros: None
Cons: The worse IT purchase I have made in 30-years. Could not access the console with Putty or any other terminal software. Took days to get into the "archaic" ASDM. Finally achieved success by installing an outdated JAVA Development Package. It would not accept anything else. Contacted CISCO support during this process and they wanted to charge me $$ just to talk to tech support even though it was under warranty. That was the last straw -- it's boxed up and ready to ship back to Newegg. This will be the last CISCO purchase I make.
Other Thoughts: Newegg also has Netgear units that compete head to head with CISCO. Installed their product today; had a configuration issue; contacted support; got help within 15-minutes "NO HASSLES"
Reviewed By:Viper,2/10/2015 5:05:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value for small business firewall
Pros: This device has a ton of features at a very low price. It will do site-to-site VPN, as well as browser-based VPN. It is absurdly flexible and loaded with a ton of features. VLANs, granular routing, flexible management, all is here at a great price.
Cons: The interface is extremely complex. It takes a while to learn. But again, very flexible, and once you get over the learning curve, it is a great deal.
Other Thoughts: Don't hesitate to contact support for questions. They are based in southern California and I was really happy with contacting their support, asking questions, and seeing just how helpful they would/could be. I was pleasantly surprised that they were very knowledgeable and happy to explain the interface and work with me. Great service and great product.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 12:15:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Secure, fast, and relatively easy to manage
Pros: It is a nice secure unit and on a single line, it works great. The front patch panel is great for home or small business usage/racks. It can handle a whole lot of data throughput.
Cons: Extra fees required for many of the advanced features, including antivirus. Relatively slow boot time. Unit has extreme difficulty managing two incoming WANs and frequently locks up the DNS and gets confused with my Comcast business class WAN as WAN2.
Other Thoughts: It is an ok unit. It is constantly getting into fights with my Comcast backup provider. I have downloaded the upgraded software multiple times, but the problem remains. My next step is zyxel helpdesk.
Reviewed By:Doc,1/1/2015 8:14:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Device but Quirky
Pros: Inexpensive, seems high quality construction, fast, interface is well laid out
Cons: Difficult documentation to find things. Simple tasks are often difficult to perform. The interface is quirky in that if it does not like something it seems to freeze up. This may or may not cause a crash. For instance to change the IP address of the first LAN zone (lan1), if you are plugged into lan1, the interface will freeze. The same if you log in through the lan1 address. If you yous lan2 and sign in thru the wan address you can change the IP address without a freeze up. The first time I have had a device that is this touchy. This is a high quality device but it is not for the faint of heart or the newbie!
Other Thoughts: Tech support seems very busy. On hold for a long time and email questions often take two days for an answer.
Reviewed By:RRBill from WI,12/5/2014 5:04:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best For the Price
Pros: For the price you cant beat the control you have of the this, not to mention the option for a 32GB USB drive you can attach and use as a NAS.
The GUI interface is fantastic for any and all controls, words cannot describe how great of a product this is.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Nate,12/3/2014 9:02:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > Sonicwall 01-SSC-6942 TZ105 UTM Secure Firewall

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Sonic wall TZ
Pros: set up was OK
Cons: Now owned by DELL service contract that I paid extra for is worthless waste of money. No clear English spoken. Each month it go's down and after 3hrs and many changes were back up. But every month! Its crazy. I will be looking for another firewall when my extended contract is up. Its typical DELL sales are good service is horrid
Other Thoughts: Look at other options, a company who has true American speaking service techs
Reviewed By:Kevin in FLA,11/14/2014 2:10:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR SRX5308-100NAS ProSafe Quad WAN Gigabit SSL VPN Firewall

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Beware!
Pros: Cheap, not very loud. Seems like plenty of routing and VPN options if you're running a supported OS (Windows). Supports RADIUS authentication.
Cons: We wanted a VPN solution that offered PPTP, L2TP, and SSL, but without any of the restrictions that are found with other devices, such as high price, limited speeds, or proprietary clients. This looked like it would work perfectly.

Boy, was I wrong.

Yeah, it supports L2TP, but not "L2TP/IPSec w/ PSK". So it doesn't work right with many of the operating systems that use that (such as OS X, Android, iOS, etc.).

And PPTP? It has limited options for that, and so far we've not been able to get any client to connect to it using PPTP.

The device apparently doesn't keep logs for anything other than IPSec and SSL, making it rather hard to diagnose connection issues.

And SSL VPN? It uses Netgear's proprietary SSL VPN that requires their own Neatgear client to be installed. And the client they provide is several years old. It is an *unsigned* Java applet. Are they serious? Java 7/8 by default blocks unsigned apps because of the security issues with allowing such a thing. While you can add the VPN device's IP to your Java whitelist to get it to run, you shouldn't have to. The SSL VPN client is filled with poor grammar and misleading error messages, as well. It sort of works. Unlike L2TP and PPTP, we did get the SSL VPN to connect. Unfortunately, the client requires root access to install certain files, and the Netgear forums have mini-guides that instruct users on how to enable the root account on OS X just to get the software to install (you must run a web browser as root, seriously). Once installed, users will still get bombarded with security errors (at least 3) any time they connect, simply because of it being an insecure/unsigned Java applet and the poor programming of the applet that will complain about lack of root access (because that is what every user needs, right?).

With an SSL client that looks like it was poorly slapped together several years ago and less L2TP and PPTP compatibility than a Windows Server installation from a decade ago, it's obvious that Netgear has no intention of supporting this device.
Other Thoughts: If you want to run a VPN server that allows actual clientless connections for PPTP and L2TP/IPSec w/ PSK, and the security and functionality of SSL VPN, I would suggest just setting up a Linux server w/ OpenVPN or even a Windows Server w/ OpenVPN.
Reviewed By:Xenomorph,11/14/2014 10:54:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.