Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M-B - 4 Bay SATA to eSATA (Port Multiplier) JBOD / RAID 0, 1, 1+0, 5 Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Scrap
Pros: For a moment a Raid 1 worked great between two pairs of drives until the eSATA cable was bumped. I started moving files by hand and that seemed to work well for a while until drives started disappearing. Never in the 5 years this computer has existed has there been an issue with an internal drive or single drives in enclosures. But this tower seems to be a mess.
Cons: This device has slowly corroded 4 of my drives. Hard drives in this tower repeatedly show up with errors upon start up of windows 7. Two of them can no longer be found and read as RAW. It is catastrophic.
Other Thoughts: The drives that have been showing issues are a little over a year old. 2 WD Red 2TB Drives and 2 Samsung 1TB Drives. Folders just evaporate into nothingness with a single click. I have since removed them from the tower and have started moving files via SATA. What a mess...
Reviewed By:N/A,11/21/2014 10:14:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SOLID UNIT
Pros: Solid Unit. Excellent build quality and value for the price. If you want a longer cable, buy one. The provided cable is more than long enough to seat the unit on top of the chassis without having excessive slack. Easy Plug and Play (Windows 7). Extremely quiet. Ran standard hard drives and SSDs, easy. Has a VERY useful manual power switch (toggle) on the back. Various color indicator LEDs clearly communicate status. Clone feature works well. For more control I ran Acronis between the two inserted drives. Fast.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Wait for sale. Get a rebate. Paid about $22 all toll.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/18/2014 8:13:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice enclosure
Pros: very good price! easy setup, very fast transfer speed on USB 3.0. working without any problem on MAC and PC. nice design, the fan is very quiet at high speed.
Cons: nothing so far!!
Reviewed By:N/A,11/13/2014 10:20:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Pretty poor
Pros: None really.
Cons: It is a USB/eSATA box...and a poor one at that.

Dropping connections, losing Data, NEVER has formatted Raid correctly.....I gave it to a friend instead of being told, again, that it is my cables-power supply-drives...

SO sick of companies not backing up their trash products. Avoid this brick at all costs!
Reviewed By:Smurf,11/13/2014 6:09:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome enclosure
Pros: Very Fast USB 3.0 Speeds, Works great with MAC and PC. Metal case feels nice and cool. The case itself spells out building quality. Looks and feels very high-end. I have not try using esata (I don't have the connection on my desk, but USB does wonders for me. Excellent design!!
Cons: None!
Reviewed By:N/A,11/12/2014 8:43:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty good raid enclosure
Pros: Works well with 2tb WD Red drives.
I have TWO of these suckers connected via USB3 to a linux box. All 8 WD Red 2tb is set up as a single software RAID6.

Its been working well for the last year.
Cons: Its not unusual to wait 10-30 seconds for the software raid6 to "spin up" when accessing a new directory, for example.
Once it has started to spin though, it definitely is fast enough to stream 1080P video to a PS3.

To be fair, its unknown whether this is a fault of the enclosure or a problem with the linux box or a problem with software raid6 in general
Reviewed By:nexmagik,11/12/2014 12:55:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-S4-X 4-Bay 3.5” Hot-Swappable SATA to eSATA RAID 0, 1, 10, 5, 5+spare, Spanning and JBOD Enclosure with eSATA RAID Controller Card Bundled

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Follow up concerning Windows 8.1
Pros: Simple setup, software and firmware easy to install and update on certain OSes. Long cable.
Cons: Unreliable in 3 installations and through various replacement parts. No support from manufacturer (or Silicon Image) regarding updates to drivers or software for future compatibility.
Other Thoughts: I have owned 3 of these and ordered a replacement PSU when needed to help in diagnosing where the problems with these lie. When they work, they work great. However, don't count on getting one of these to work, then upgrading your OS, or moving to another computer, without major problems. In the first instance, I was running W7x64, and reformatted and reinstalled Windows, plugged the box back in, and everything was detected as before (without the RAID manager program installed it still picks up the array). Later, repeating the same process (same OS), 2 out of 4 drives lit up and I was still able to access the data because I had set it up as RAID 1+0. Now, when one drive dropped from the array and switched to "offline", there was nothing I could do to bring the array back up and it had to be recreated. But guess what, since I'm now running W8.1x64, the software does not see the array or SI3132 controller (even though device manager does). I had to put the card in another computer running W7, install all software and configure the array, then move the hardware back to the W8.1 computer and install only drivers. Then the array I already set up works, but cannot be configured. Sans Digital and Rosewill blame SI because the card is not supported well (and they are right), and claims that they are using Marvell based cards in all current bundles. All in all, I have one still in service just to use the hard drives it contains, and the speed is amazing, same as if the drives were internal. I map all my user folders to the external box, as well as run VMs off of it instead of loading up my internal SSDs. It's not dependable enough to use as a backup destination, and not versatile enough like an NAS device to set it and forget it. However, at this price I still like the device and it fits a niche. If only the PSU were serviceable, I'd have all of them running right now.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback we will pass it along to our QA and Design teams.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:Todd V.,11/11/2014 5:58:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 sadly, not good enough
Pros: price, interfaces supported, concept
Cons: if only it stayed working for more than a few days
Other Thoughts: i was playing around with an ecs liva and doing a lot of hard resets. After one of those, the liva dumped into bios because it couldn't see the drives.

took the unit off and connected to a win 8.1 system via esata, usb3 and usb2. The drives were intermittently visible/accessible, but not reliably and the unit tended to power down to an orange power button state (sleeping, disconnected, union break, who knows...).
Reviewed By:N/A,11/10/2014 7:22:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Promise Tech. > PROMISE Pegasus2 R4 P2R4HD8US RAID 0, 1, 5,6,10 4 x 3.5" Drive Bays 2 x Thunderbolt 2 8TB RAID System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SUPER FAST
Pros: PROMISE Pegasus2 R4 P2R4HD8US RAID is used for storage for my new Mac Pro. It is superfast and remarkably easy to set up. I use it primarily for Apple's Final Cut Pro. It works seamlessly together with "thunderbolt" connections. I wouldn't think twice about buying it again.
Cons: My only complaint is it's a very expensive. You do however get what you pay for.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/9/2014 12:22:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gold Standard
Pros: These are really the best there is as far as functionality.
Very good software for a hardware raid, watch out for the spindown timers, I change the service startup to manual.
Cons: Power Supply quality isn't great, probably will not last more that 2 years
The 80mm fan isn't very quiet at 1800 RPM, I've replaced them with a Silenx thermistor controlled.
Other Thoughts: I have a few of these cabinets, this is my first of this model. I bought this item "Open Box" from NewEgg, glad I took the chance, all was well with it.
Reviewed By:brianjmh,11/8/2014 5:30:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.