Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very Nice
Pros: Works well, easy to setup. Have used this as a drive caddie for external drives I have. Duplication works well too
Cons: Would be terrific if there was a software interface that would allow you to specify cloning options, specifically when going from a larger drive down to a smaller drive, but for the price it works well.
Reviewed By:Noah C.,12/7/2016 9:47:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station
Pros: Works great, great Price, and gives me the ability to add drives and copy them for back up too.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is great and works just like it should.
Reviewed By:Tommy B.,12/6/2016 4:56:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Died
Pros: Worked good for duplicating
Cons: Died after 10 uses would no longer power up the hard drive just clicking {hd works fine in another dock) but it would still work for a ssd I guess because they dont have a motor.
Reviewed By:Tim L.,12/6/2016 7:07:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic N37-SU3 USB 3.0 ProBox N37-SU3 3.5' SATA HDD External Enclosure - USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product
Pros: - Good Product for the price
Cons: - Nothing
Reviewed By:Kiran L.,12/5/2016 12:36:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NOT VERY RELIABLE
Pros: When it was working, good as a NAS drive.
Cons: Stops working after 12 months. I bought 2 of them, and both died on me right after 12 months. I am not happy with this product. What is the chance of that happening twice in a row?
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product. If they fix the power issue on it, it would make their product more reliable, and usable in the long term.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/5/2016 8:33:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC25049 USB 3.0 2.5'' USB 3.0 to Sata Hard Drive External Enclosure Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 SATA I & SATA II Speeds Supported by Chipset -- NOT SATA III
Pros: Metal case feels more durable than the plastic cases on some external enclosures.
Cons: This enclosure uses the ASM1153 chipset, which is the ASMedia third generation single chip solution, bridging the USB 3.0 to Serial SATA host interface with highly integrated SuperSpeed USB 3.0, High Speed USDB 2.0 and SATA 1.5/3.0 Gbps ASMedia self -designed PHYs. The chipset doesn't support the SATA III interface speed of 6 Gbps. The maximum USB 3.0 speed is 5 Gbps, so this enclosure will not maximize the USB 3.0 transfer rate (only reach 60% of the maximum USB 3.0 transfer rate at best). While still faster than USB 2.0, it doesn't maximize USB 3.0 transfer rate capabilities.
Reviewed By:Jenna O.,12/2/2016 6:30:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NUC Linux Ubuntu review
Pros: This seems to be a slight upgrade from the HF2 version. The power cord has a right angle plug into the side leading to the back instead of coming straight out the side. The front has a very nice door that has a good magnet close point to keep the door closed. Using the USB3 port, the NUC5i3 was able to immediately see both drives. Turned the power option to amber and that worked perfect; it turns off/on with the NUC. APC 600Watt UPS shows almost no wattage required to power the unit (35 watts for the NUC and 6 watts for the enclosure with 2 WD RED 4TB drives even when writing to both drives at the same time.) The unit comes with a 60 watt switching power supply (Shanpu Power; PAS060123-H1). Build date on the enclosure was Aug-2016. Throughput performance was a surprise. Using nmon with 10-2GB files to copy, the results were
1 disk write: 145-155 MB/s
1 disk read: 120-150 MB/s
2 disk write: 230-300 MB/s
2 disk read: 230-285 MB/s
The surprise was the 2 disk read and writes we not dependent on the USB protocol or speed. This was tested using a m.2 SSD in the NUC so the max performance from the m.2 was not a limitation.
It handles the 2 low power WD RED (WD40EFRX) with no issues.
Finally, the price on this during black friday was insanely low (80). It is a steal for that price.
Comes with a esata-to-esata cable and a USB3 cable.
Cons: The bad part of the enclosure is the fan. Some say its loud and some do not. Lets just look at the spec. This is the same fan on all of the Mediasonic 4 bay units (RAID and JBOD). It is a
Young Lin DFC802012H
80x80x20; 2/3 pin with special connector to the motherboard
2.8 watts; 12VDC; 41.33bD[A]; 0.23Amps
3500RPM; 37.8CFM;
Held in place by 4-M2.5 27mm (actual length) screws.
Most average fans are around 25dB[A] and every 3dB, the noise doubles in loudness, so this fan is VERY loud. You can easily hear it 30 feet away in a noisy house. The only saving grace is Mediasonic has a low setting that reduces the voltage to the fan making is turn much slower; thereby, reducing the noise that can still be heard 20 feet away. I purchased a replacement fan for $9
Noctua NF-R8 redux 1800 80mm 1800 RPM 17.1 dBA 3-pin SSO 31CFM
The replacement fan it is a 80x80x25 instead of a 80x80x20. I plan to get the M2.5 30mm screws from Lowes and replace the fan. That should be simple. An interesting point ... the instructions actually say if the fan is too loud, try to re-seat the fan/cables or replace it with a quiter fan. The fan cable resides under the fan, so it is easy for the cable to get into the fan making a clicking noise. That is easily fixed by re-seating the cable.
The second bad thing about the enclosure is the air flow path. The only air holes are in the back of the enclosure, the heat from the drives in the front is not dissipated well. The nice door is the problem in that it does a good job of sealing the front of the unit. The HF2 has vents in the bottom of the unit that are not present here. So, if you want to really use this unit, you will probably need to do some custom work on the door to add vent holes. The door is about 1/8" thick so it should hold whatever you need for a vent.

Best info on mediasonic 4-bay fans is to search google with
yzrandome mediasonic fan replacement
Other Thoughts: For my Ubuntu OS 16.04, I was able to mount each disk using the following sequence of commands. I also have the USB set to not suspend (autosuspend=2).
sudo fdisk -l (showed all raw disks indicated enclosure is working)
sudo parted /dev/sdb (used to configure the partition when the disk is >2TB)
sudo mkfs -t ext4 /dev/sdb1 (used to format the disk)
sudo tune2fs -m 1 /dev/sdb1 (changes the amount of root reserved space from 5% to 1%)

Do that for each disk, and you have is all mounted and happy. I bought the WD RED 4TB disks that were rated at a max power of 20 watts and that concerned me since the unit can only support 60 watts total. Be careful in the drives you by; they assume you are buying low power disks such as the WD RED 4TB and not 7200rpm disks. Otherwise, you may fry your enclosure power supply. I have seen reviews that state they were unhappy that the P/S got extremely hot and fried itself.

It comes with an esata-to-esata cable, but I need a esata-to-sata that is arriving soon. With that cable, I will check the WD RED to see if the spin down time is set to 8 seconds, but that is another review. I hope you enjoyed this review. I will try to post the results of the fan upgrade and front door upgrade in a second review once all the parts arrive. Good Luck on your enclosure!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/2/2016 7:59:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SD-ENC25047 USB 3.1 Gen 2 Micro USB to SATA III enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid build quality, fast transfer speed
Pros: Solid build quality
fast transfer speed
i like that it uses gen 2 micro connector
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this product to someone looking for a solid USB enclosure. I took my 7200 rpm sata hard drive out of my old usb 2.0 enclosure and swapped into this one and I got quadruple the read spead. If I put SSD in this thing I bet it would fly.
Reviewed By:Matthew N.,12/1/2016 3:49:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Duplicator. Prepare for a Leap of Faith
Pros: Duplicates 1:1 clones like a charm.
Lightweight, quick, and can be used minus a PC.
Quick on duplication, if you have some time.
Power switch to stop extra power draw when not in use.
Decent docking station when paired with a PC.
Cons: Feels like the cheap plastic it is.
One or both doors will probably break (or maybe the hinge will) after a few inserts/pulls of drives.
The instruction manual was (poorly) translated using Google Translate.
Why doesn't this work with PC/Mac? Because of poor translation
Other Thoughts: Good for what it is, but I would recommend saving up for a better Duplicator or docking station.
Also, when cloning, be prepared for your drives to possibly be hotter than normal, because it spoils them up at full speed.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/1/2016 3:49:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H236 USB 3.0 Standalone Hard Drive Duplicator & USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Docking Station

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Product description VERY misleading
Pros: Capable of duplicating a dying HDD with one button push, often saving you from a LOT of work.
Cons: The actual Maximum HDD capacity is unknown, their own website has 3 different answers. http://www.cineraid.com/products/home_h236.htm says "Supports up to 8TB SATA HDDs" but it also says on the same page "Supports up to 6TB capacity drives on each drive bay" The actual product box which can also be seen on the same page says "Max. capacity per drive: 4TB." When it arrived I was extremely disappointed that I had purchased what I thought could handle 8tb drives but the box clearly says 4TB.

This does not have two independent power buttons for each HDD!!!!

I wish there was a way to browse the data on the drives. Sometimes they simply show up as a new drive with no Drive letter and a Drive Letter cannot be assigned, therefore your cannot take a peak at the data. If this came with software it was not in the box and I cannot find it anywhere on the internet.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product only if you never have to go with drives larger than 4tb
Reviewed By:Kevin S.,11/30/2016 8:52:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.