Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR5UT+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ** EXTREMELY UNRELIABLE **
Pros: Low cost eSATA + USB 3.0 Hardware RAID 5 solution
Good way to optimize storage
Cons: EXTREMELY PRONE TO CATASTROPHIC FAILURES

It literally took me years to realize that this awful enclosure is responsible for several catastrophic volume failures I have had.

Even though I've never had a physical drive fail in the enclosure, I've lost complete RAID volumes due to faulty firmware.

The problem seems to be cause by a dropped connection to the computer.

This happens both over eSata and USB 3.0

I own several enclosures, and this happened on two of them.

As a result, the RAID volumes become corrupt and unrecoverable.

I've had several volumes become unrepairable and read-only.

1 5x2TB hardware RAID 5
2 2x2TB software RAID 1 (Apple RAID via disk utility)
1 2x3TB software RAID 1 (Apple RAID via disk utility)
Other Thoughts: If you earn even just minimum wage, the hours you will spend in repair and recovery will cost more than a proper enclosure.
Reviewed By:Sans Data,7/28/2014 2:31:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Promise Tech. > PROMISE Pegasus2 R6 P2R6HD18US RAID 0, 1, 5,6,10,50 6 x 3.5" Drive Bays 2 x Thunderbolt 2 18TB RAID System - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pegasus2 R6 RAID Thunderbolt
Pros: Extremely reliable, extremely fast - I also have a Drobo which is a little spotty - also even with Thunderbolt the Drobo lags way behind on speed -
Cons: Like most RAIDs it is fairly pricey, but offers the security of knowing my videos and files are safe. I have had a drive go out on my older R6, and had to get help on the phone. They answered right away! Bought the new drive and was up and running in no time.
Other Thoughts: Very satisfied with my Promise R6 RAIDs.

I have 2 of them and would definitely buy more in the future.
Reviewed By:Phinizy Percy,7/27/2014 12:02:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect solution for home storage
Pros: Compact, Hardware RAID (no port replicator card necessary), quiet, cost effective. Easy setup and straightforward instructions make setup a breeze.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: There are a lot of people claiming drives drop out on these enclosures. YOU CAN NOT USE DESKTOP HARD DRIVES WITH A RAID CONTROLLER. Desktop drives have a data recovery algorithm that takes too long to satisfy the controller. Data is not provided in the set time frame, and the controller marks the drive as offline. I HIGHLY recommend WD RED hard drives. I'm running the 1 TB WD RED drives in RAID5, not a single glitch in operation, powered up 24/7 since the day I received it.

I have an additional recommendation, besides the use of RAID/NAS/Enterprise drives: Put the enclosure in "JBOD" mode and download the drive supplier's drive scanning/health utility when you first put it together and do a complete "Exhaustive" hardware test on each individual drive. This takes a day or two per drive, but helps insure you don't have a defective drive going in. Once complete, switch to the operating mode of your choice, reset the enclosure, and enjoy!
Reviewed By:TonyMac,7/26/2014 11:03:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No Complaints, except for PSU
Pros: This unit is honestly the most solid enclosure I've used so far for it's price range. I've not experienced any of the catastrophic failures others have mentioned in the ~2 years I've been running this. I did swap out all the hard disks in it a few months back and it was incredibly painless to swap each out one at a time and have them automagically rebuild. The process felt like it went extremely quick (about 6 to 10 hours per disk).
Cons: I just had to purchase an open box replacement for it's PSU. After a power failure incident where it's UPS failed to protect the unit, it no longer would power up. To speed up the downtime, I just went ahead and purchased an open box item from Newegg and swapped it out. I'll be ordering a replacement power supply for the extra box here and using it as a spare or backup unit, despite knowing about the flaw.
Reviewed By:HPL,7/26/2014 8:11:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR5M+B (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 3 years and still going strong
Pros: After 3 years of 24/7 run-time, the unit is still chugging away.
Cons: -The fans made bad noises 4-6 months after buying, but they either stopped working or the noise went away. Has not affected the units up-time.
-not the fastest or quietest
Other Thoughts: Only now starting to think about replacing with USB 3, since the server it is plugging into is getting long in the tooth.
I think if you use enterprise HDs in the unit it will treat you right.
Reviewed By:Aaron W.,7/25/2014 10:17:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketStor 5422 Dual-Dedicated 5Gb/s USB 3.0 Storage Dock W/ UAS Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: DOA. Never detects any drive. Just places 2 blank drives in my computer and when you plug in a drive makes disk management unavailable because it keeps trying to detect the drive. Test with a known good drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2014 7:20:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sketchy Rebate Process
Pros: Mostly reviewing the rebate, but I will list some pros.

Hardware does what it says, plug and play with my system (JMicron JMB36X Controller on Abit IP35 Pro). Bought the item on super-special with a sizable rebate offer. LED lights indicate per drive power and activity. Easy to slide drives in, decent airflow.
Cons: After a few months, device began to lock-up and soft restart during disk activity making it very hard to manage outside of a hard power down on the unit.

Power plug is loose / flimsy. Feels like if I push the power cable in too hard it will break inside of the unit.

I gave this 2 eggs because I did, actually, get my rebate. The folks were very nice once I called to ask about it. The only problem was, I called 6 months after I submitted my rebate form. They "found" my application within seconds while I was on the phone, and it arrived within 2 weeks after that request. So in my experience, in order to get your rebate, you may very well have to call them. And since they're so nice, you may as well call them and ask them to fill the rebate out for you, then request they send you the check. Saves you an extra step!

Seriously Sans Digital, I'm not the first to complain about your rebates. Please give people their money. No need to respond to me, I likely won't be buying from you, at least for the next six months, and then you can call me and ask nicely. :-o
Reviewed By:Zach,7/21/2014 8:19:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 USB 3.0 DUAL docking station
Pros: Good data transfer rates on my Seagate hard drive. On Sata3 I get 216 MB/s. With the drive plugged into this dock I also get 216MB/s. It does handle two drives at once, but you will take a performance hit if you do.
Cons: Will take a performance hit of about 1/2 when two drives are used in the dock. I was using two Seagate HD units as once and throughput went down to ~80MB/S for both.

Also tried one of my SSD drives in the unit. Normally it gets about 359MB/S on SATA3. It got 166MB/S on this dock.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it is a great unit. I also have another brands Esata and it also has reduced throughput if more than one hard drive. I will likely buy another for my other media PC. Beware that USB3 cable is not very long, it only reaches a few inches past the top of my PC tower unit, but then that is all I need for it to reach.
Reviewed By:DarkMoon,7/21/2014 8:14:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2FW Raid 0 (Spanning) JBOD Raid 0 (Stripping) Raid 1 (Mirroring) Raid 3 (Stripped set with dedicated parity) Raid 5 (Striped set with distributed parity) Raid 10 (Mirroring + Striping) 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Ships with Defective USB 3.0 Cable
Pros: Works with good cable with Esata, Firewire and USB 3.0
Cons: Shipped with a defective USB 3.0 cable that causes the device to drop connection. Had to purchase a new cable to make it work.
Reviewed By:JKL,7/21/2014 2:09:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H458 Hardware RAID 0, 1, 10, 3 and RAID 5, support 4 x 3.5" Hot Swappable Drive Bays USB 3.0 eSATA RAID SubSystem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Using for 1.5 yrs
Pros: I have been using these for more then 1.5 yrs now. Set up 2 1TB drives in RAID 1 mode. I occasionally take full backup of my machine onto CineRaid. Overall I am quite happy with the purchase as these are well built, 4 bays are more than enough, USB 3 support.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2014 8:04:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau