Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR5M+B (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 3 years and still going strong
Pros: After 3 years of 24/7 run-time, the unit is still chugging away.
Cons: -The fans made bad noises 4-6 months after buying, but they either stopped working or the noise went away. Has not affected the units up-time.
-not the fastest or quietest
Other Thoughts: Only now starting to think about replacing with USB 3, since the server it is plugging into is getting long in the tooth.
I think if you use enterprise HDs in the unit it will treat you right.
Reviewed By:Aaron W.,7/25/2014 10:17:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketStor 5422 Dual-Dedicated 5Gb/s USB 3.0 Storage Dock W/ UAS Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: DOA. Never detects any drive. Just places 2 blank drives in my computer and when you plug in a drive makes disk management unavailable because it keeps trying to detect the drive. Test with a known good drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2014 7:20:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sketchy Rebate Process
Pros: Mostly reviewing the rebate, but I will list some pros.

Hardware does what it says, plug and play with my system (JMicron JMB36X Controller on Abit IP35 Pro). Bought the item on super-special with a sizable rebate offer. LED lights indicate per drive power and activity. Easy to slide drives in, decent airflow.
Cons: After a few months, device began to lock-up and soft restart during disk activity making it very hard to manage outside of a hard power down on the unit.

Power plug is loose / flimsy. Feels like if I push the power cable in too hard it will break inside of the unit.

I gave this 2 eggs because I did, actually, get my rebate. The folks were very nice once I called to ask about it. The only problem was, I called 6 months after I submitted my rebate form. They "found" my application within seconds while I was on the phone, and it arrived within 2 weeks after that request. So in my experience, in order to get your rebate, you may very well have to call them. And since they're so nice, you may as well call them and ask them to fill the rebate out for you, then request they send you the check. Saves you an extra step!

Seriously Sans Digital, I'm not the first to complain about your rebates. Please give people their money. No need to respond to me, I likely won't be buying from you, at least for the next six months, and then you can call me and ask nicely. :-o
Reviewed By:Zach,7/21/2014 8:19:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 USB 3.0 DUAL docking station
Pros: Good data transfer rates on my Seagate hard drive. On Sata3 I get 216 MB/s. With the drive plugged into this dock I also get 216MB/s. It does handle two drives at once, but you will take a performance hit if you do.
Cons: Will take a performance hit of about 1/2 when two drives are used in the dock. I was using two Seagate HD units as once and throughput went down to ~80MB/S for both.

Also tried one of my SSD drives in the unit. Normally it gets about 359MB/S on SATA3. It got 166MB/S on this dock.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it is a great unit. I also have another brands Esata and it also has reduced throughput if more than one hard drive. I will likely buy another for my other media PC. Beware that USB3 cable is not very long, it only reaches a few inches past the top of my PC tower unit, but then that is all I need for it to reach.
Reviewed By:DarkMoon,7/21/2014 8:14:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2FW Raid 0 (Spanning) JBOD Raid 0 (Stripping) Raid 1 (Mirroring) Raid 3 (Stripped set with dedicated parity) Raid 5 (Striped set with distributed parity) Raid 10 (Mirroring + Striping) 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Ships with Defective USB 3.0 Cable
Pros: Works with good cable with Esata, Firewire and USB 3.0
Cons: Shipped with a defective USB 3.0 cable that causes the device to drop connection. Had to purchase a new cable to make it work.
Reviewed By:JKL,7/21/2014 2:09:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H458 Hardware RAID 0, 1, 10, 3 and RAID 5, support 4 x 3.5" Hot Swappable Drive Bays USB 3.0 eSATA RAID SubSystem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Using for 1.5 yrs
Pros: I have been using these for more then 1.5 yrs now. Set up 2 1TB drives in RAID 1 mode. I occasionally take full backup of my machine onto CineRaid. Overall I am quite happy with the purchase as these are well built, 4 bays are more than enough, USB 3 support.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2014 8:04:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR5UT+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 TR5UT+B firmware needs some redesign for reliability
Pros: Really nice package. "Nominally" it works fine. Took awhile to set up. NOT plug and play! But if you read the setup directions, it is easy enough. For over 2 years, it kept my data secure.
Cons: Simple failures can become catastrophic. Twice, (once when I was playing at first and then now, about 2 years later.) I have had the failure of a hard drive in my RAID 5 array of 3TB drives. The first time, the array came back up and rebuilt fine. The last time, a 3TB drive failed and the array was still functional on 4 drives. Then I shut down, removed the bad drive, replaced the bad drive and powered back up. The new drive was "green" but did not rebuild. Worse, then the rest of the array became inaccessable except by the SansDigital Raid Monitor program. The program indicated that 4 drives were OK, and the new one was unassociated with the array. This was not the kind of "recovery" I was looking for. I am retiring the SansDigital and giving a Drobo B800fs a try. The most important thing about a RAID array is RELIABILITY. With unexpected problems like this, data reliability simply does not exist.
Other Thoughts: I think the Sans Digital TR5UT+B could be a good unit, but it would have to be fixed so that changing a defective drive COULD NOT destroy the array.
Reviewed By:JoeM,7/17/2014 3:54:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 CR-H232 Not SATAIII?
Pros: Price and current USB 3 PCIe card as bonus.
Dual Bay
Independent cloning with out use of computer? This also means that there is no control on cloning process, it is strictly 1 to 1 clone.
Cons: According to user manual this unit only achieves SATA2 (3GB/s) speeds. "Supports All 2.5/3.5 SATA1/II/III drives up to 1 TB/4TB (SATAIII is running at SATAII speed)" If this is correct then this is really a SATAII dock. SATAIII has speeds of twice SATAII 660MB/s vs 300MB/s. Modern ssd drives can reach over 550GB/s so this drive will bottleneck your system. Nor does it meet USB3 specs therefore I think this is false advertising. It is not SATA3 nor USB3 if it cannot meet the specifications of the standards.
Other Thoughts: Spoke with Wade in Tech support for Cineraid who says they do not state it is SATAIII dock only compatible with SATAIII drives, all SATA drives use the same connector and are backwards compatible, so you still cannot advertise as SATAIII/USB3 if you don't meet specs. Wade also said that NO USB3 docks/drives meet USB3 speeds, this is not true. I think people should look for another company.
Reviewed By:Greg,7/17/2014 12:21:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR8M6G 8-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe x4 Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay FAR away from HighPoint RAID controller with this unit
Pros: Easy to use hot swap-able modules for HDD's. Nice design.
Cons: I bought this unit back in December and have had nothing but problems with the HIghPoint controller. I have had constant BSOD's with this on WHS 2011 64bit and have tried working with HighPoint on the problem. After initially working with me and giving me various drivers to try then just recently came back with this response.

<<
Dear customer in our compatibility list for the RocketRAID 6xxL series controller we note that Enterprise HDD are needed for RAID arrays.

http://highpoint-tech.com/PDF/Compatibility_List/RocketRAID_64xL_Compa...

The time out error in Windows Event log originates from using desktop HDD in a RAID 5 application.

All RAID 5, 6 application on the RocketRAID series controller require using RAID Edition or enterprise classified HDD's. Any problems that occur when using desktop HDD's in a RAID application HighPoint is not responsible for nor can we provide a suggestion or any fixes.

Unfortunately there is nothing we can do for you in this case.

Regards

HighPoint Support Team
>>
Now the URL they provided has no mention of RAID 5 or Enterprise HDD drives being a requirement to use RAID 5 nor is there any documentation on their site (or on NewEgg or on SansDigital) that states you will get BSOD's on a regular basis unless you fork out >2X more $ for an enterprise class HDD.

This is unacceptable after purchasing 8 3TB HDD's on NewEgg to have a HighPoint come back later to say that BSOD's should be expected with their card when using RAID 5 and not having enterprise class HDD's.

Stay AWAY from HighPoint. SansDigital should find a different card to bundle.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2014 12:57:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed after 2 years
Pros: Easy access to 4 SATA drives. Fast with eSATA interface. Worked as multiport JBOD with 2 TB WD Green drives.
Cons: Bought as bundle with an inexpensive esata card. Started to have drive issues and non-readable drive problems after about 2 years of VERY light use (maybe 500 GB total written across 4 drives). After trying this with 3 different esata cards (2 motherboard and one PCI-e card), I can clearly say the enclosure is broken. Powers up the disks but Windows 7 will not recognize the drives (3 different machines). Fortunately, I was able to put the drives into another enclosure since it is a JBOD device and my data was safe.
Other Thoughts: Since this was a destination for scheduled backup jobs on my workstation, I was very worried when Windows said the drives were corrupted. My data is safe and I am now steering clear of SansDigital as a backup device.
Reviewed By:EH,7/10/2014 3:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau