Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic NSO1-SU3 USB 3.0 2.5" / 3.5" Hot-Swappble SATA HDD UASP Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good while it lasted
Pros: Nice product, good transfer rate Convenient in use. Has on/off switch and blue indicating light.
Cons: Lasted a dozen uses over 7 month period then died. Smell of burnt electronics inside docking station. Messed up the 2.5" drive that was plugged in at the time. Stayed unplugged, except when in use.
Other Thoughts: Pays your money and takes your chances. Use at your own risk. Submitted warranty replacement - will post results here.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/26/2016 12:23:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-S5 - 5-Bay 2.5" & 3.5" Hot-Swap Storage Encl. System - RAID 0 / 1 / 5 / 10 / 5 + Spare / Spanning / JBOD - 120mm Fan, Port Multiplier, Tray Design - Controller Card Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never Worked!
Pros: I would have to lie..... About the enclosure to provide any good remarks. I would feel bad donating it to anyone.... takes up space in my garbage can
Cons: Everything. Tested this enclosure with Windows 10 (drives never appear). Also tested with Debian (latest stable version) the Drives would appear under fdisk -l and was able to create solid partitions with parted. However, I have been unable to perform ANY read and write operations to the drives in the enclosures. mkdir would hang for a very long (TIME). the drives are all brand new and have passed several SMART tests. Also the latest drivers are installed for this enclosure (for both Windows 10 and Debian). It is worst product I've every received from Roeswill.
Other Thoughts: It makes a wonderful paper weight. I Was forced to give it a single egg as a rating. I feel it is 5 eggs - 5 eggs = 0 over all rating!
Reviewed By:Jakob W.,6/25/2016 3:40:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I received mine Defective !
Pros: Seems to be a great box and the hard disks are easy to installed.
Cons: RAID is not supported with this box. On the web site it says Linux Software RAID supported. The instruction manual doesn't include any information about this. I had to send an email to Mediasonic Support. I am still waiting for an answer.
Other Thoughts: I received mine defective. It wouldn't stay on for more then 5 sec. I had to return for a replacement.
Reviewed By:Jean-Guy P.,6/13/2016 1:17:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HARD DRIVE DUPLICATOR STATION
Pros: THIS ITEM IS STAND ALONE, AND WILL DUPLICATE SSD HARD DRIVES. COPIED MY C: DRIVE TO A LARGER BLANK HARD DRIVE AND HAD ZERO PROBLEMS. ONLY HAD TO ENLARGE THE PARTITION FOR THE NEW DRIVE. NO PROPLEMS.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: DEFINATELY WOULD RECCOMEND THIS ITEM TO ANYONE WHO WANTS TO BACKUP OR CLONE A DRIVE. DO NOT EVEN HAVE TO ATTACH TO A COMPUTER.
IF YOU HAVE A LAPTOP WITH A SMALL SSD DRIVE LIKE I DO, THIS IS THE ITEM TO CLONE YOUR DRIVE TO A LARGER DRIVE. NO PROBLEMS AND YOU STILL HAVE THE ORIGINAL DRIVE TO USE AS A BACKUP.
Reviewed By:DAVID C.,6/13/2016 12:12:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid HUR5-SU3 2 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did not work well, kept disconnecting from OS
Pros: Looks good, easy to assemble. Quiet fan.
Cons: OS kept disconnecting and reconnecting when copying files.
I am returning to Newegg(RMA issued)
Other Thoughts: I tried many hard drives in different configurations and had same problems.
Hard drives worked well when Not using Mediasonic ProRaid HUR5-SU3 2 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your support on our product, we are sorry that you are having trouble with this unit, please contact our support for further assisstance, support@mlglobal.net or call our support @ 888-231-7899.
If you like to visit our forum please follow this link: http://forum.mediasonic.ca/

Mediasonic

Reviewed By:James S.,6/13/2016 6:50:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Easy to setup and use
Pros: simple to setup and use, works as described except for cloning.
Cons: In clone mode, the indicator never moved from 25%. It is always blinking as a result I was never able to tell when the cloning was complete or not. Since there no proper indication whether the cloning completed or not, there is a high risk of removing the harddrive before the cloning completes. I have tried cloning hard drive more than 5 times and I have failed every time. Also it took too long (more than few hours) for 250GB harddrive.

-Update 06/10/2016 9.30AM: Tried to clone a 250GB hard disk. Left it in clone mode overnight. checked in morning and 25% light is still blinking and destination hard disk is empty!! I am not sure if clone mode ever worked for me. Unfortunately can't return because it is past 30 days since I bought it.
Other Thoughts: If you are planning to buy for cloning purpose then I would not recommend this product. Instead add few more dollars and buy Acronis or something similar.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your support on our product, we are sorry that you are having trouble with this unit, please contact our support for further assisstance, support@mlglobal.net or call our support @ 888-231-7899.
If you like to visit our forum please follow this link: http://forum.mediasonic.ca/

Mediasonic

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/10/2016 6:28:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works as jbod
Pros: unbox,put 4 drives in.plug it in and done.Already had a card and the Rosewill version of this.Using both for movies and tv shows
Cons: on/off switch is on the back
Other Thoughts: Ordered on Monday night(memorial day) got it wed. morning.Thanks newegg
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/1/2016 3:45:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent eternal dock for the right price.
Pros: inexpensive, fast, easy to use, convenient lights to know what port is being used and if the HDD is online.
Cons: ports behind the drive mount, works for other external drives, but not so well for flash drives, etc. Wish at least one of them was on the front.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend product. One thing to realize is that you have to have a USB 3.0 port to get the full speed. It's tracking at over 150MBps(bytes, not bits) of throughput, so I'm happy. Works well in both 7 Ult and 10 the same.
Reviewed By:John C.,6/1/2016 10:36:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic NSO1-SU3 USB 3.0 2.5" / 3.5" Hot-Swappble SATA HDD UASP Docking Station

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Mediocre USB 3.0 docking station
Pros: Comes with sturdy USB 3.0 cable.
Cons: I could only get this docking station to connect to a USB 3.0 port on my computer once. After that, my computer would not recognize any hard drives inserted into the docking station unless it was connected via a USB 2.0 port. Even when connected via USB 2.0, the transfer speeds with this docking station are inferior to my older Rosewill RX-DU101 USB 2.0 docking station. Quite disappointing.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your support on our product, we are sorry that you are having trouble with this unit, please contact our support for further assisstance, support@mlglobal.net or call our support @ 888-231-7899.
If you like to visit our forum please follow this link: http://forum.mediasonic.ca/

Mediasonic

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/29/2016 3:57:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE & WORKS FLAWLESS
Pros: This docking station saved the day. I ordered it and used Newegg’s local delivery and it arrived the next day just in time which I needed for a large project. It clones at a good speed and has worked flawless. I took a chance and ordered this drive despite some of the reviews & because Newegg was able to deliver it next day for a reasonable price in time for my project. There is another one (different brand) that was ordered that arrived a couple of days later as a backup just in case. But I’m keeping this one and returning the other one. This one actually looks nicer than other competitors out there. The USB 3.0 makes a huge difference when copying to larger hard drives. Good speed & price. It’s nice that it has one touch back up and extra USB ports where I can charge extra devices. Nice touch.
Cons: No problems arose. Item worked flawless for me
Other Thoughts: Bottom line is this device got the job done for me and then some and would recommend this to anyone. Not sure what happened with some of the other reviewers but this device came through for me and continues to work great after what I’ve put it through so far and have recommended it to a few people.
Reviewed By:Eric L.,5/26/2016 6:40:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.