Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketStor 5122B Dual-Dedicated 5Gb/s USB 3.0 2.5"/3.5" Smart Backup Storage Dock

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Update to previous review
Pros: This is an update to my first review.

Windows 7 x64 Professional
Intel i7-4930K CPU
ASUS Rampage mobo
Samsung 850Pro SSD
Multiple HDDs externally for storage, backup and archiving

Really good while it worked
Cons: I've had this drive dock for a little over two years and it worked pretty well. However, the front dock now doesn't work for some reason. Checked cables, checked drivers, checked power cord, everything. For some reason it the front dock doesn't recognize a drive completely. It actually shows the drive name but it can't recognize the contents of the drive. I'm forced to remove the power connection and restart the computer.

I've had other USB3 docks before and they still work. And I use them for jobs where I have to carry them site to site, so even with the wear-and-tear, those docks still work fine. This one sits on a desk and it dies. Maybe it's the fact that there's no power button and there was a surge while pulling the plug on the power (it is connected to a surge protector but pulling the plug means there's always a chance for a surge).

A funny idiosyncrasy:
For some reason, I could never get full transfer speed unless I opened a browser (didn't matter which one). This occurred on multiple desktops and laptops, as I noticed this when I first bought this dock, and I wanted to make sure it wasn't just to my main desktop.
Other Thoughts: I wonder if computer manufacturers are making devices that will die within a couple of years so consumers are forced to buy a new one? Anyway, I won't be buying a HighPoint again in the near future.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 11:35:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS4UM+B JBOD (Hard drives are accessed individually) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 4-Bay eSATA Port Multiplier and USB 3.0 JBOD Tower (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Storage Device
Pros: Small enough to not be seen tucked beside my media center computer in the den under my TV.

Cheap

Very quiet - (unless all other major appliances are turned off in the house you can't hear this thing and even then it's like a soft whisper)

Extremely fast - (I only watch BluRay movie files, hence, I need a lot of storage and lots of fast Read throughput and this thing has it all)

4 beautiful bays for a lot of storage (which is what I need for a Home Theater PC)

Going on 4 years and not one problem. SOLID performance and I have not done a firmware upgrades and don't plan to. Worked perfectly straight out of the box.
Cons: No Cons
Other Thoughts: I keep seeing so many people give bad reviews on hardware because they just don't understand the technology and it's requirements.

Please read the manufacturers manual BEFORE you purchase and make sure that you understand all the technology and have no questions about it's capabilities or limitations. You will save yourself from waiting weeks for replacements and huge massive headaches from the frustration of support personnel trying to put it delicately that you did something undesirable which is causing all your problems.

Suggestion to all hardware manufacturers. Please give the option to turn off the LEDs. I know it defeats their purpose, but the everyday Joe only need those LEDs for troubleshooting.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 2:52:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BEWARE! Do NOT Buy!
Pros: It can be used to destroy drives.
Cons: This junk destroyed 3 of my SSD's and 1 3.5" HDD. I believe it supplied too much voltage. As 3 drives cannot be recognized by Windows. 1 will not initialize. One of my SSDs got so hot while in this device, I could not touch it to remove it.
Reviewed By:Angry Customer,7/23/2015 11:46:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProBox HDR-SU3 2.5' SATA HDD / SSD Hot-Swappble Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible!
Pros: Fast when it works, light weight with metal case
Cons: Design is below average, tools required for swapping HDDs/SSDs.

Now it is broken on 35th day after purchase. I sent the rebate a bit as late as I can just in case such thing happen, but I never expect it to be non functional this soon after 30 days.

Never had such experience, ever!
Other Thoughts: I will contact the manufacturer. But for $5 product, I will hesitate if it will cost me a lot time to get it fixed or replaced. Definitely don't recommend this product to any one I know.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer

thank you for your support with our product, if you have any questions or in need of technical assisstance, please contact our support at support@mediasonic.ca or call us 888-231-7899 to obtain a replacement product or visit our forum at
http://forum.mediasonic.ca/

Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 4:45:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just works!!
Pros: Nice Storage NAS
price
usb3 and Sata connection
shipped with both Usb3 and sata Cables
Cons: none really.
Reviewed By:Dez Reeves,7/20/2015 7:03:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6G RAID 0, 1, 10, 5, 5+spare, Spanning and JBOD (via Bundled RR642 RAID Controller Card) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA (via 6G Port Multiplier) 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Happy with my purchase
Pros: Easy to setup, clear led indicator lights, works as expected
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I've had this unit attached to my media server and it has been running fine 24/7 for the last 8 months. I haven't had any problems with it. I'm using the controller card that came with it and an eSATA cable. I followed the instructions for setup and used the drivers from the vendor's website.

So far I'm very happy with my purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2015 4:39:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProBox HDR-SU3 2.5' SATA HDD / SSD Hot-Swappble Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 IT's a USB3.0 SATA 3 BOX !!!
Pros: Lang USB 3 Detachable cable 2 feet. Cable it self will worth $10
Metal case - light weight.
Green/red LED light.
Will feet 7mm and 9mm drives.
Cons: Detachable cable feels weak.
Screwdriver needed to open the case.
Only black color.
Other Thoughts: Strong contraction. Durable. Good quality.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2015 9:45:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProBox HDR-SU3 2.5' SATA HDD / SSD Hot-Swappble Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good item
Pros: cheap, easy to work, i use it with out the case just the connector it works pretty well, haven't try on 3.5 in hd yet but i doubt it have sufficient power for it.
Cons: if u want put the hard drive in the case, it moves little inside the case, it came with a sticky foam to help make it move less but only have 1 hd, so if u want swap it the other one u better put some thing to hold it, i got a similar foam tape it with double side type, to hold it.
Other Thoughts: for the price it is a good case, but the case have some design issue wish it have a holder around the connector so it can secure slide in instead of need use foam.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2015 6:51:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H212 RAID 0/1/JBOD/Normal USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" Bay Silent Hand Held RAID Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Portable RAID-1 (but know your amps!)
Pros: - Build in JBOD, Spanning, RAID-0 and RAID-1 (only RAID-1 tested)
- RAID-1 tested as "one drive" (internal redundancy), no issues
- OS agnostic, personally tested with both Fedora and Ubuntu x86-64 Linux
- Two (2) USB connectors, 2nd for additional power
- Powers typical 5400rpm platter drives at +5V@0.5A/each just fine using both power
Cons: - No management software
- Power limited due to USB-based power, even with 2nd connection
- Have tested putting the 2nd power connector on a +5V@2.4A, not but sure it's receiving all amps
- This means you're taking a risk 7200rpm+ platter drives that require >>0.5A
- Will most definitely have issues high capacity NAND SSD (high DRAM capacity) will most likely *NOT* work
Other Thoughts: I have two (2) of these, one in my luggage, one at home. I use it to backup my desktop and portable, so I always have a copy on me. I use Linux almost exclusively, and it works flawlessly in both Fedora and Ubuntu. I just use dump, tar and rsync. It partitions like any other drive, and the RAID-1 results in the same capacity as a single drive.

I did not test JBOD mode, but that should show 2 drives. Spanning or RAID-0 will, of course, give you one big disk. I have only been using RAID-1 since purchasing.

Regarding the 2nd USB power connector and NAND SSD devices ...

There's not a day that goes by when I have to educate people that modern, high capacity NAND SSD drives with lots of DRAM are now using *FAR MORE* power than 2.5" platter drives. USB connections are only good for 0.5A to maybe 1A max. This enclosure offers 2 connections, so if you use both, you should get a minimum of 1A (2x0.5A) and possibly closer to 2A.

You *MUST* use *BOTH* connectors if you populate it with two (2) platter drives.

But this also means it should work flawlessly for 2.5" 5400rpm platter drives that typically draw 0.5A. For 2.5" 7200rpm platter drives which typically draw 0.7A, things might get tighter, and one might want to invest in an external charger that can provide +5V@2-2.4A for the 2nd connector.

If you are going to look to NAND SSD, really understand these devices are now drawing >2A (EACH!) because of the sheer DRAM buffer being put in them. They are drawing far, far more than a typical 2.5" drive platter these days.

Yes, the common assumption that NAND SSD drives use less power than platter drives is *WRONG* when it comes to 2.5". That's because of the massive amounts of DRAM in typical NAND SSD drives today for buffer (because NAND writes are significantly slower than reads, long story).
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 5:52:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProBox HDR-SU3 2.5' SATA HDD / SSD Hot-Swappble Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine
Pros: Inexpensive, USB3, ascetic.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I bought one about 3 weeks ago and liked it so I bought another. They're both working fine. I tested with a hard drive which reported 60 GB/sec xfer rate, and with an SSD that was between 150 and 200 GB/sec.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 7:27:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.