Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Support replies seriously lacking.
Pros: Ridiculously high grade metal. ie like the old school 2001 Alienware case type. Very well built. Maybe too Well. So it's a con as well. It does find all 4 drives but again a Con. Very fast when it works.
Cons: Face Palm on myself. Port multiplier. Okay Newegg has one for eSata to USB 3.0 but no rating so I bought one else where. Not sure if it's that stick though (5/5 star) or Sans Digital. Neither of them replies to emails. But it has a bad tendency to go into standby and in Windows 7 that causes some hell. Mac has an option to keep the discs spinning but WIndows doesn't :( Also yeah it is plug and play but can cause issues eventually if you switch a disk. Also has issues if you stick the computer in hibernate. The drives don't come back so I have to reboot. And my Dell XPS L702X BIOS doesn't seem to like whatever system the 3.0 converter uses so I have to unplug it while the Dell boot screen is on then quickly insert it after that screen goes out. NewEggFlash didn't make a mention of needing a port multiplier. not sure if the 3.0 version needs one. The con on being well built? uh do you have nails? are they short? It's not coming off then. If they are a bit longer you might break them off. This thing is so tight basically required a professional flat head screwdriver to slowly remove the cover. (so you can put the thumb screws on. Other oddities. The power isn't true Sata. It's powered by Molex power. (4 wires each) Sata is 5 wires. (orange wire is missing) Now not looking inside my old white Vantec (taking it apart) I can't say much about this either but there are many molex to sata converters that convert with 4 wires. My tech knowledge into this design I have no idea what the orange wire does. (blush) And yes seriously what is it with BLUE. I don't mind it. Red, blue and green are good on the eyes in the dark but, ... to look professional one should put in a normal fan. Made of normal plastic. The clear plastic has a bad tendency to crack. Another Con. 4 drives?? uh well if you want to get the drives out don't the other it doesn't seem to like 4 drives in. And won't let me run much if my main drive is in the Disk 1 slot. Now if you don't want to run this as a JBOD but as a good single disk housing thru esata. putting it in Disk 1 seems okay but my Disk errors went from 1 to 9 in that amount of time. and S.M.A.R.T. hates this box. Both GsmartControl (it crashes) and HDD Guardian (it doesn't see the device thus the drives) Hates it. Only Speedfan seems to find most of them. Also a 300gb WD (Blue label) won't work in this thing.
Other Thoughts: Standby is my main issue with this. When it shuts the discs off it takes forever for windows to find the drives again. I got my converter thru datoptic, it's white. Seems well rated but some have reported issues in Windows 7. Without this $32 item I would have returned this unit. With it. I think I can live with the issues but still Molex power? It's powered by 2 Molex connectors so maybe running 4 drives on 2 not a good thing..Depending on if they are high powered drives or Green drives. Also gotta fix that BIOS issue. Might ask Dell about it but the warranty Died on Aug 3rd and I didn't renew because they can't seem to communicate. Always make sure you keep one of the techs emails . I see some of this as a BIOS issue. if Sans Digital has a forum board I'd love to know about it.
Reviewed By:PatrynXX,8/29/2014 9:17:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 & eSATA PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 simple
Pros: Compact design and attractive. i was a bit afraid to do this on my own but it was simple to put together and get working. Have not had it for long but so far no problems.
Cons: the power plug being on the side is not the best design. It would be better if it was from the rear. Not really a hinderance just an annoyance if putting flush to a wall on that side.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to no longer losing data. i got this after having several external hard drives fail....
Reviewed By:Skicop,8/29/2014 8:06:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN
Pros: I have been running a pair of Western Digital Red 1TB drives in RAID 1 with this enclosure 24/7 for close to two years now with zero problems. It's not doing anything too intensive though, just media storage and file backups for a desktop machine.

The enclosure itself is very solidly built with thick metal panels and an attractive exterior finish.

Hardware RAID is great. No messing around with add-on RAID cards.

I have used both the eSATA and USB connections with no issues.
Cons: The fan is only 80mm and makes a bit of noise; I have the enclosure on my desk only ~2 feet away though so it's easy to hear.
Other Thoughts: When connected over eSATA the drives inside would get power cycled when the computer was shut down. This seems normal but I didn't like it, so I switched to USB and haven't had any problems.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2014 11:09:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Yeah get that Port Multiplier.
Pros: Figured out after seeing the Neweggflash letter that this needs a port multiplier figured this out a day later. :( And thats not possible on a Laptop/notebook. However might have found a way around this. There is a port multiplier adapter for changing the eSata to a USB 3.0. Not cheap. found one for $33 though. And NewEgg didn't have one that was rated so had to go elsewhere. Kinda hoping a mini extension cord will ease the torque one the port though. (weight). But only way this would work. Hope it ships fast though or I'll have to return this.
Cons: Not very well thought out on plug in play. These drives aren't coming out without some muscle and the case must be taken off. If you can take the case/cover off without breaking an already short nail be my guest. Otherwise I had to jimmy it off with a flat screwdriver. Not all that thrilled about the thought of putting it back on. Rather just cover it with non conductive plastic. And who thought up putting in a BRIGHT blue LED fan in the back. It's not that powerful.
Other Thoughts: You need that Port Multiplier !! NewEggFlash didn't exactly put it up in big print. Sneaky. :( But it's hard for me to say no to a challenge. I have 3.0 ports lets see if that works. Does run a we bit warm on the hard drives. so not entirely sure what the fan is for. If this is an 80mm fan probably have ones that fit.. The drives slide in rather easy but they are a major scare to remove. Do like the LED lights for activity. Seem more accurate than the White Vantec I have which still puts off less blue light than this thing.
Reviewed By:PatrynXX,8/22/2014 12:26:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > AMS (American Media Systems) > AMS VENUS T5C mini DS-2250C RAID levels: JBOD, Clone, 0, 1, 3, 5 and 10 eSATA + USB 3.0 5-Bay SATA RAID Sub-System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great, Convenient
Pros: Has USB 3.0, ESata, 5-2.5 hdd, working RAID.
Using this as a small backup hard drive:
1. Docs on one hard drive
2. Family pics on second hard drive
3. Program installers on another
etc, etc.
It's quiet and looks good.
Pretty Lights!!! Make them Ripple make them Dance. Make them Flash on the Dance Floor!
Cons: No real cons, wish it had a fuse so you can reset it. First one shorted even on a surge protector. On\Off button too close to reset button. Watch what you're pushing or else you'll reset your settings if it's on RAID
Other Thoughts: Beware Of Shipping:
Mine was shipped using the retail box only. When I received it, the box was bent and clunked inside. There wasn't even tape over the flap from keeping it closed or know if somebody else already opened it. Found the cardboard bumpers inside were ripped to shreds with nothing holding the case inside the box except for the Styrofoam on top. Bad shipping experience. Wish there was a standard in shipping where the package is secured.
Newegg still rocks and still loyal to them. Taking out one egg just because of shipping.
Reviewed By:tekageek,8/20/2014 5:21:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR8M6G 8-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe x4 Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice concept, good price but too flakey
Pros: Great idea at a great price. When it works it works incredibly well
Cons: RR642L Card seems to reset on the primary channel intermittently during access or predictably during drive optimization.

I have this setup connected to a Windows Server 2012 box with 8 4TB drives as one large Raid 5 Array. As stated above when it works it works great as I use it for Media serving. Then sometimes the RR642L Card seems to have an issue and will reset the primary channel taking the array offline briefly and for a unknown and not logged(in the OS) reason.

All Drives are fine so this isn't a hard disk issue per say and it will run flawlessly for months with no changes then act up.

This seems to me to be an issue with the driver from Highpoint but from what I have seen they don't seem motivated to update their driver software or Bios.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2014 6:35:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: -Easy to Setup
-Flexible Raid Options
Cons: -Software package to administrator not very robust
-Cheap Power Supply
Other Thoughts: I had the unit for 2 years during which time I had 1 HDD failure after about a year. I replaced the failed unit and the raid array did it job to start working at full capacity again. The latest thing to go wrong was that the power supply failed after the device was powered off when I was cleaning up my home theather area. It wouldnt power back on. I had to use a spare ATX power supply to get it up and working again to recover my data.

The other reviews that stated they had trouble with the OEM power supply and the expense pushed me to replace the tower raid with a server box instead.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/15/2014 6:44:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid H8R2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 / 50 8 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 / eSATA 8-Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Warning: Does not actually support 8 Drive RAID-5
Pros: We use the 4-disk Proraid units. And they are great. This one might work well too with the given limitations, but had to return it because it didn't do what we wanted.
Cons: We purchased this hoping to build a RAID-5 out of 8 disks. But the maximum number of disks you can assign to a RAID-5 is 4 with this unit. Although you can have two such arrays (2x4=8 disks total), this sacrifices two disks to parity, one disk in each array. That is a waste of space (better redundancy though). For our purposes we might as well use the 4-bay units, which can be independently-managed.
Other Thoughts: We never powered it on because we discovered from the instructions that it didn't do what we expected. We returned it.
Reviewed By:Brian V.,8/12/2014 11:33:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS4UT+B 0, 1, 10, 3, 5, and Spanning 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 4-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I thought it wasn't going to work but...
Pros: Took an existing 3T RAID+5 array I have used for over 5 years in an older Sans Digital model, positioned the drives per the documentation and tried to operate it standalone and got the same problem reported where it appeared to shutoff. The older unit booted up and stayed on and I expected the same.

Stepped back a bit ,rechecked everything and got a hunch to operate it while connected to the system and
Lo and Behold it worked as I would have expected.

Best thing thing was my original array was interpreted correctly and the transition (knock on wood) was seamless. A weekend burn in will confirm the unit's operational status but at this writing it is holding up well.
Cons: The documentation should be more emphatic about the power-on-if connected-conserve-power-if-not concept. It is not really underscored much which is a bit odd since I personally like that feature. Now I can have the unit hibernate at system shutdown which was not the case in the older unit, that required turning off separately..
Other Thoughts: I have not looked for any raid management utility software for the new unit and if I can't find any that would be a disappointment but since my old unit's power supply was failing I can't really complain.
Reviewed By:ATL-DISK-HEAD,8/8/2014 5:52:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works-excellent customer service
Pros: Working well since 2012.
Customer service responded promptly and professionally to questions e-mailed in 214.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I had four 2 TB WD disks, arranged as two Raid 1 arrays in the lower four bays of this unit since 2012. I have had no problems. A month ago I decide to add two 4TB WD disks as yet one more Raid 1 array, and a 1.5 TB refurbished SeaGate drive as a trash file holder. The eSATA controller on my MoBO did not detect the additional disks. I asked for advice from the SansDigital Customer Support and was able to get a workaround promptly. These folks do stand behind thir product and help their customers.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2014 6:44:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau