Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Cheap and Looks nice
Cons: Worst instruction manual I've ever seen.
Constantly goes to sleep (just shuts off) even when the computer is on.
Does not automatically install drivers and no instructions on how to actually get it working.
Other Thoughts: You might as well just toss the instruction manual and figure it out by pressing things and seeing what they do. They even have the power cord port labeled as a button in the instructions... How?!

The best thing you can do is just disable the "smart power sync switch" to prevent it from shutting down as soon as you power it on.

To get it to actually work, you can pretty much just anticipate contacting the company.

I've setup several NAS systems and have had no problems until I tried this one. Really wish I would have gone with another enclosure.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/1/2015 8:07:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H458 Hardware RAID 0, 1, 10, 3 and RAID 5, support 4 x 3.5" Hot Swappable Drive Bays USB 3.0 eSATA RAID SubSystem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product!
Pros: Affordable (low price)
Hardware RAID, not software RAID!
eSATA or USB 3.0
Supports SATA III (6Gbps)
Supports 3TB and some 4TB drives
Easy setup
Good tech support
Cons: Power cable can be shoddy

Honestly can't think of anything more that I would consider negative about this unit. Previous reviewers have talked about problems setting up the unit, and my response to them is that they probably just happened to get a lemon. It happens. RMA it and get another, because this unit is fantastic at its pricepoint.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see more options from this company. They're making quality hardware at a very affordable price. For example, I'd love to see a 5-bay unit that can be set up with RAID 5 for all drives, RAID 5 with a hot spare, or RAID 6 as some setup options. A unit that supports newer, higher capacity drives (>4TB for example), and a large (say 16TB) maximum volume size would also be fantastic.

The unit I ordered worked fantastic out of the box. I did need to order a PCIe USB 3.0 card, as my older server didn't have USB 3.0 or eSATA, and it was not a problem at all. After less than 3 months of operation, the power cord crapped out, but a call to the CineRAID tech support (a human answered!) and a very quick RMA process had a new power cord on the way and to me within a couple days.

This unit is up 24/7 with 4 WD Red 3TB drives, and other than the power cord, I've had no problems. It just works. I have a huge media collection there (pics, music, movies) as well as all my installer files, computer backups, etc. and still have room to spare.

I highly recommend this product, and more than likely will buy a second one at some point, unless CineRAID introduces a new product such as I mentioned.
Reviewed By:FWHMolotok,2/26/2015 3:58:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H252 Hardware RAID, Supports RAID 0, 1, JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 (Backwards Compatible to USB 2.0) 2-Bay RAID/JBOD Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cheap enclosure not fit for Raid 1
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Enclosure suffers from frequent disconnects from host machine. Power cycling does not always fix this, requiring the enclosure be fully disconnected, power cycled, and then reconnected. Enclosure has poor raid support, and recently my Raid 1 array was wiped for unknown reasons. Both drives now come up as uninitialized. For this to happen to both drives in the array is very suspect in this enclosure which has demonstrated inconsistency.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2015 10:22:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL EliteRAID ER208I+B 0, 1, 0+1, 3, 5, 6, 10, 30, 50, 60, JBOD 8 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays 2U 8 Bay SATA to iSCSI 2x GbE RAID 60 Rackmount

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent unit
Pros: Very slick unit works perfect, lots of features.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Make sure you install Java run time it is needed for the web GUI. Excellent tech support. A+
Reviewed By:bs953,2/23/2015 9:18:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4U+B JBOD 4 x SATA 3.5" Drive Bays 4 Bay SATA to USB 3.0 JBOD Enclosure (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 great while it lasted
Pros: It worked as a JBOD for a remote offsite solution for 4 offices in three states and two countries. Pop in HDD's and plug in cable. Up and running 90 seconds.
Cons: Has recently created a nightmare. Power supply died and when it did all four drives have become easily unrecoverable. Of course this wouldn't have been a problem except one of those locations went down two days before this failed 1,800 miles from backup. Now fighting to see if SpinRite can recover all four - 4 GB drives.
Other Thoughts: Great for back only
Reviewed By:N/A,2/22/2015 7:22:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TS21UT+B USB 3.0, eSATA 1 Bay 2.5" SATA to USB3.0 / eSATA Server Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective design, beware!
Pros: Metal case with good air flow.
Cons: Defective design can damage your hard drive.
Other Thoughts: This case has a critical design flaw. The mounts for the hard drive internally aren't level. The front two mounting holes are about 1/16 of an inch lower in the horizontal plain than the rear two mounting holes. If you secure the drive in all four holes, it will cause the drive to flex the SATA connecter of your drive downwards. It broke the connecter on my hard drive before I noticed the elevation difference in the mounting holes. My drive wouldn't come up after I plugged it into the computer. I took the case apart again to see the damage. If you leave the front two mounts undone, then the drive will vibrate in the case. I had to use 3 layers of fiber board (the kind used for photo backing) to make up the difference in the elevation between the two ends. Luckily, the drive I first tried to mount was an older drive that didn't matter to me. But this could be a big problem if someone tries to mount say an SSD or a drive with important data on it. Beware, you have been forewarned.
Reviewed By:Disapointed,2/22/2015 11:52:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR5M6G 5-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe x4 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rocking little enclosure w/ 6GB speeds.
Pros: Fast, Cheap, versatile. 6Gb backplane screams with the 6GB multiplier card. Seeing 130MB writes to itself in RAID 5 mode and 300MB across the bus.
Cons: BIOS on Highpoint RAID card pretty much requires a flash to perform a quick boot. I had an SAS 6/ir RAID card in the machine as well. OOB HighPoint 642L required a flash from the vendor. The BIOS now bypasses the configuration at bootup and allows you to configure the HW raid from web gui. Tech support was very helpful.
Other Thoughts: I liked the speed and reliability so much from the 5 bay that I bought an 8 bay Sans Digital with the multiplier card for my other machine. I am now performing live migrations of VM machines flawlessly across the raid enclosures as well as streaming 1080p movies to every room in the house without a flutter. All filled with 4TB drives in RAID 5.
Reviewed By:BagaDonuts,2/21/2015 9:49:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6G RAID 0, 1, 10, 5, 5+spare, Spanning and JBOD (via Bundled RR642 RAID Controller Card) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA (via 6G Port Multiplier) 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy, very unreliable
Pros: Easy to setup.
Cons: Raid 5 fails randomly once a couple of weeks, for seemingly no reason at all. Power down, wait anywhere between 30 sec to 2hr, then boot up resolves the issue (so far) but it is not something you can count on.

Happens on Raid 1 and Raid 5
Other Thoughts: Also BIOS take forever to boot up. Something I can live with, unlike the random failures.
Reviewed By:YX,2/20/2015 7:59:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS4UT+B 0, 1, 10, 3, 5, and Spanning 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 4-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NICE!
Pros: Raid built into unit, does not require a card to be installed in pc, so this unit can be plugged into a single esata port on a laptop, or onto a router that supports usb 3.0 and raid functions on both the 2 ports even on the usb port!
Cons: Documentation Sucks! Does not explain much about the unit, but how much can you say on 1 sheet of paper....... just baskics
Other Thoughts: Unit is better than I expected!!! I can use either the built in usb 3.0 port to access or the single esata port! Also, they do not explain that the unit auto shuts off if you do not have an active connection using the usb or esata. It was very simple to setup.... Install your drives, set your raid level, (this was covered on instructions) and then unit shuts down. IF using raid level 0,1,3,5,or 10 it may take some time for unit to build the raid drive, but IT DOES NOT FORMAT!!!!! You need after it builds the raid, connect to computer, and use disc partition finish setting up the drives! Thats it.
Reviewed By:Viper_rt1996,2/20/2015 5:06:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Promise Tech. > PROMISE Pegasus J4 J4HD2TBUS RAID 0/1, JBOD 2 x Thunderbolt Port Thunderbolt Enabled Storage - 2TB (4 x 500GB)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NICE!!!
Pros: PLEASE NOTE Yosemite Users - YOU MUST UPDATE the driver from Promise support site...for the J4!!! Your dirves will not load unless you do.

But Fantastick!!! Thunderbolt Fast!!! Clean looking..right under a mac Mini..Plus you can update the drives to each 1 TB giving you 4 TB.
Cons: Nothing so far. Except some people want other Raid options. This will mirror or stripe raid!!!
Reviewed By:Kimbakat,2/17/2015 11:46:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.