Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic NSNOE-SU3 USB 3.0 2.5" SATA 6.0 Gb/s UASP External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 cheap product
Pros: none
Cons: any drive i connect to it will every now and then disappear. have to disconnect the power and then reconnect multiple times for it to show up again. cheap case
Other Thoughts: very unreliable
Reviewed By:praneet t.,5/4/2016 2:46:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Cloning function, USB 3.0
Cons: Did not work for updating my hard drive with the windows install... although nothing has
No eSata
Reviewed By:Zachary M.,5/2/2016 9:08:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4 Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 SANS DIGITAL sans power supply
Pros: It did work great. Fast, reliable for a couple years -- I thought a pretty good value.
Cons: And then I nudged the power connector. And that was that.
Other Thoughts: I'm very sorry for the inconvenience Sans Digital's PSU has caused me. As an engineer, the replacement plan when the sustandard, custom designed for the space power supply inevitably craps out is to disassemble the enclosure, and unplug the drives (three old style Molex connector and a floppy drive connector). Remove the broken and useless PSU and throw it away. Get out an old ATX power supply (what good is a 20 pin mobo connector anyway nowadays?), cut the green mobo connector wire and connect it to one terminal of a switch like you'd use in a wall socket, cut the adjacent black wire and connect it to the other switch terminal. Make sure the switch is "OFF". Connect three Molex and the floppy drive connectors in their respective places, and power on the power supply with the switch you just installed. Eureka! Now the enclosure will power up, all the lights light, and you can get your data off onto another more reliable storage medium. It's a Frankenstein, but I got the data off.

Now Sans, before you offer your regret at the situation your bad design put me in, what's the going price for that *great* power supply that will likely fail just like the first one did?

FOLLOWUP: Bought 4 $3.25 12V+5V AC Adapters (FREE SHIPPING) from a large online marketplace I probably shouldn't advertise here. Instead of a $60 guaranteed to fail replacement power supply. Plugged them into their respective connectors, powered them on, and all seems to work, at least good enough to fish the data off. It is admittedly an ugly mess of wires, but it works.
Reviewed By:Thomas M.,4/30/2016 5:33:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid HUR5-SU3 2 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent 2 drive RAID solution
Pros: The RAID configuration is extremely simple. Just flip the switches on the back of the unit for the RAID mode you want, turn it on, press confirm button and let it sync, then plug into the computer.
Drive installation is also simple. Remember to mount the drives with the supplied screws to prevent the drives from swaying or shaking.
Operation is quiet.
Drive detection in Ubuntu was flawless and required zero configuration. The OS even detected the RAID config automatically.
The capacity limits are clearly stated and runs my Toshiba drives flawlessly.
Cons: The case is plastic, but for the price this is definitely acceptable.
Other Thoughts: I looked for a long time to find an enclosure with:
1. Acceptable capacity limits (up to 8TB per drive)
2. High speed connectivity (USB 3.0)
3. Hardware RAID built-in. No expansion cards needed, and not a slow, software RAID
4. No nonsense operation without on-board OS (yet another distracting dashboard)
5. Low price point

This enclosure meets all of those requirements perfectly. I highly recommend this enclosure if you value the above features.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/28/2016 3:03:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR8M6G 8-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe x4 Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nothing but problems crashes constantly
Pros: Clean design is all that this unit has going for it, great paper weight
Cons: I never was able to get this unit working, I have attempted to get this unit going 5 different time and failed, I have tried different controllers, cables and drives but drives keep dropping "very unstable", I have tried WD Red and WD Enterprise Seagate NAS drives all with the same results, it was just a waste of time and money, the unit is going back on the floor to be my $350 foot rest
Other Thoughts: If you are looking at this unit take my advise run far far far away from this unit unless you want to waste your money and time.

I know what I am doing as well, I have 22 Years IT/Networking experience and Tech support was a joke
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 10:15:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic NSO1-SU3 USB 3.0 2.5" / 3.5" Hot-Swappble SATA HDD UASP Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect portable transfer/backup tool
Pros: lightweight, solid connectors, instantly in use or instantly disconnected
Cons: Rebate not received.
Other Thoughts: This portable USB 3.0 dock and a gparted live flash disk make a complete, lightweight, fast backup/restore system. Gparted live is a 300 mb iso transferred by TuxBoot to a bootable flash disk. It is copy-and-paste software for moving linux distributions to new HDD and SSD. Snapshots of a Windows or Linux or OS/X partition are also done by gparted, the simplest protection possible against viruses, malware, install errors and accidental deletes.
Reviewed By:Grant G.,4/24/2016 8:56:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Low Cost Enclosure
Pros: Setup was absolutely painless - slide the drives in and secure them with the tool-free bracket. Windows 7 recognized it immediately with all drives exactly as they should be. Essentially, a five minute setup, tool free and plug and play.

Using USB 3.0, speeds were exactly as expected from all four drives. Identical to the speeds when using SATA from each of them.

Sync feature works well, allowing for manual power on/off, power off when computer is powered down, or hibernation on power down with reconnect when computer is rebooted.

Fan was much quieter than expected when the front door of the unit is closed.

Have experienced absolutely no disconnects so far.
Cons: Drives can run a little hot when in heavy use, getting up to 50-52C a couple of times. Cracking the front door open a little takes care of the problem, but the enclosure becomes a bit loud. It is noise from air flow, not mechanical from a bad fan.
Other Thoughts: I grabbed this on a Flash sale and am very happy with the purchase so far. I specifically did not want RAID, so this enclosure worked out perfectly. Performance has been solid, it is cool and quiet under lighter loads, and I simply crack the door open for doing heavier work such as full drive backups.
Reviewed By:George C.,4/21/2016 7:13:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cloning function works great.
Pros: Hard disks dock very easily into slots. Cloning function saves me a lot time making a copies of my drives without having to use the computer, that's energy savings too. Price is very good comparing to cloning software or backup software.
Cons: Price dropped a few dollars when I just bought it days prior.
Other Thoughts: It's great for people do not want to use system image or any kind of software to back up their system drives. Just put into the drives and let this thing do its job.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/20/2016 11:05:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Two bay unit. USB 3.0
Cons: It's a little light, but who cares one you have a drive in it?
Other Thoughts: 10/10 would buy again.
Reviewed By:Cody F.,4/19/2016 12:46:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > AMS (American Media Systems) > AMS VENUS T5 mini DS-2250J RAID 0, 1, 3, 5, 10, JBOD eSATA 5-Bay SATA RAID Storage Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great product! If it works...
Pros: -small and portable
-can setup up RAID with hardware dip switches or software GUI
-can monitor RAID via light indicators or software
-product info says it was tested with up to (5) 375GB drives, but I use (5) 1.5TB 5400RPM drives in each bay and it can work!
Cons: -RAID config reset button and on/off switch too close to each other and identical (fool me once!)
-high failure rate for raid controller
-hard drive eject buttons can get stuck inside case making it hard to pry out
-power adapter is a bit bulky
Other Thoughts: I have bought 3 of these devices 3 years ago but they were the eSATA and USB 3.0 ones and so far only one of them has completely failed where if you would reboot the RAID, random bays would fail and you would have to rebuild every time. I tried flashing the firmware and updating my drivers and none would correct this problem, there is also little to no support for this product from the company. However if i put said drives into my working RAID enclosure then all my data would still be there (assuming i didn't rebuild the next time I lost the raid). Speaking of my working ones, these devices have been phenomenal! I travel around the world a lot and it has been in my luggage being jostled around and it still works like a champ (Though somehow the 3.0 port doesn't work anymore). I did remove the raid reset button on the back so if i needed to reset the raid or reboot the device, i would need a pin or paperclip to reach the pressure switch. Final thought is, as great a product this is when it actually does work, it does not provide peace of mind when it comes to data retention and only serves as a means of high capacity portable storage but if you're willing to bet your dollars on this product DO NOT let this be your main choice of data storage or backups, but as a means of putting those laptop drives that have been building up in your computer parts bin to good use (hopefully).

-1:3 failure rate (66%), so 3/5 stars (60%)
Reviewed By:Joshua R.,4/18/2016 11:19:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.