Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H458 Hardware RAID 0, 1, 10, 3 and RAID 5, support 4 x 3.5" Hot Swappable Drive Bays USB 3.0 eSATA RAID SubSystem

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 OK when it works...
Pros: Cheap, easy to setup.
Cons: Constantly unmounting itself from Mac Mini server. Have tried new cables, etc. Just unmounts at random times. Have tested on known good machines. Not sure what to do next.
Reviewed By:Miguel of Bellevue,9/17/2014 9:29:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Working so far, waiting for rebate
Pros: Reasonably easy to setup. Works fine with the eSata port multiplier on my PC.
Cons: I did own an older Sans Digital storage enclosure that died with a bad power supply. Crossing my fingers on this one.
Other Thoughts: 3 months and counting for the rebate.
Reviewed By:Larry,9/16/2014 3:30:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast & Quiet
Pros: Fast data transfer, Quiet
Cons: Very light, USB 3.0 is too short
Other Thoughts: So I'm satisfied with its performance. It is very fast at 3.0 but I wish they provided a longer cord. I had to order a longer cord.
Reviewed By:msaltmyer,9/14/2014 10:26:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC JBOD (Hard drives are accessed individually) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA (via 6G Port Multiplier) 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as expected
Pros: - Decent cooling with 4x WDC WD2003FYYS-02W0B0 2TB drives operating at ~36°C each. Quiet overall - its predecessor (TR4M+BNC) seemed louder, but it will probably get louder over time.

- Nice, sturdy case with good HDD cage (seems identical to TR4M+BNC).

- Works without any issues with a Sil3132 controller-based card (Commell MPX-3132). Have not tested Sata3 6G speeds as I'm limited by the performance of this card (Sata2), but its performing as may be expected.
Cons: - Considering it does not look like there was much done to improve this unit other than changing the internals to be Sata3 and having no USB3 option, the price seems a bit steep compared to competition.
Other Thoughts: Even though this seems a bit too expensive, this is probably the best option out there if you want to use a hardware port multiplier for a Software Raid setup under Linux. A lot of the competitors are either outdated or use their own Raid controller.

I use this with a custom NAS running OpenMediaVault (Debian), connected through a Commel MPX-3132 card. I am replacing the previous generation model (TR4M+BNC) as the power supply burnt out in that one after ~2.5 years of use, which appears to be a common problem that might affect this product as well.
Reviewed By:Alex,9/13/2014 2:40:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No Power to 3/4 of the Drives
Pros: The drive is constructed well, it's sturdy. Drives go in and out easily. It worked well when it was working.
Cons: It stopped powering all four slots. Only the first/bottom slot is providing power to a drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/6/2014 3:20:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid H8R2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 / 50 8 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 / eSATA 8-Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 RAID 5 problems
Pros: Futher to ppl mentioning that this enclosure "splits" the 8 drives into 2x4 drives for a RAID 5 config, I just spoke to tech support @ Mediasonic and confirmed that this is not so, and that using all 8 bays will give the user 7 bays of data with one bay for parity [as I already knew], so I'm sure that ppl here are using RAID 5-0 and NOT RAID 5.
Cons: n/a
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2014 2:30:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Support replies seriously lacking.
Pros: Ridiculously high grade metal. ie like the old school 2001 Alienware case type. Very well built. Maybe too Well. So it's a con as well. It does find all 4 drives but again a Con. Very fast when it works.
Cons: Face Palm on myself. Port multiplier. Okay Newegg has one for eSata to USB 3.0 but no rating so I bought one else where. Not sure if it's that stick though (5/5 star) or Sans Digital. Neither of them replies to emails. But it has a bad tendency to go into standby and in Windows 7 that causes some hell. Mac has an option to keep the discs spinning but WIndows doesn't :( Also yeah it is plug and play but can cause issues eventually if you switch a disk. Also has issues if you stick the computer in hibernate. The drives don't come back so I have to reboot. And my Dell XPS L702X BIOS doesn't seem to like whatever system the 3.0 converter uses so I have to unplug it while the Dell boot screen is on then quickly insert it after that screen goes out. NewEggFlash didn't make a mention of needing a port multiplier. not sure if the 3.0 version needs one. The con on being well built? uh do you have nails? are they short? It's not coming off then. If they are a bit longer you might break them off. This thing is so tight basically required a professional flat head screwdriver to slowly remove the cover. (so you can put the thumb screws on. Other oddities. The power isn't true Sata. It's powered by Molex power. (4 wires each) Sata is 5 wires. (orange wire is missing) Now not looking inside my old white Vantec (taking it apart) I can't say much about this either but there are many molex to sata converters that convert with 4 wires. My tech knowledge into this design I have no idea what the orange wire does. (blush) And yes seriously what is it with BLUE. I don't mind it. Red, blue and green are good on the eyes in the dark but, ... to look professional one should put in a normal fan. Made of normal plastic. The clear plastic has a bad tendency to crack. Another Con. 4 drives?? uh well if you want to get the drives out don't the other it doesn't seem to like 4 drives in. And won't let me run much if my main drive is in the Disk 1 slot. Now if you don't want to run this as a JBOD but as a good single disk housing thru esata. putting it in Disk 1 seems okay but my Disk errors went from 1 to 9 in that amount of time. and S.M.A.R.T. hates this box. Both GsmartControl (it crashes) and HDD Guardian (it doesn't see the device thus the drives) Hates it. Only Speedfan seems to find most of them. Also a 300gb WD (Blue label) won't work in this thing.
Other Thoughts: Standby is my main issue with this. When it shuts the discs off it takes forever for windows to find the drives again. I got my converter thru datoptic, it's white. Seems well rated but some have reported issues in Windows 7. Without this $32 item I would have returned this unit. With it. I think I can live with the issues but still Molex power? It's powered by 2 Molex connectors so maybe running 4 drives on 2 not a good thing..Depending on if they are high powered drives or Green drives. Also gotta fix that BIOS issue. Might ask Dell about it but the warranty Died on Aug 3rd and I didn't renew because they can't seem to communicate. Always make sure you keep one of the techs emails . I see some of this as a BIOS issue. if Sans Digital has a forum board I'd love to know about it.
Reviewed By:PatrynXX,8/29/2014 9:17:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 & eSATA PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 simple
Pros: Compact design and attractive. i was a bit afraid to do this on my own but it was simple to put together and get working. Have not had it for long but so far no problems.
Cons: the power plug being on the side is not the best design. It would be better if it was from the rear. Not really a hinderance just an annoyance if putting flush to a wall on that side.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to no longer losing data. i got this after having several external hard drives fail....
Reviewed By:Skicop,8/29/2014 8:06:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN
Pros: I have been running a pair of Western Digital Red 1TB drives in RAID 1 with this enclosure 24/7 for close to two years now with zero problems. It's not doing anything too intensive though, just media storage and file backups for a desktop machine.

The enclosure itself is very solidly built with thick metal panels and an attractive exterior finish.

Hardware RAID is great. No messing around with add-on RAID cards.

I have used both the eSATA and USB connections with no issues.
Cons: The fan is only 80mm and makes a bit of noise; I have the enclosure on my desk only ~2 feet away though so it's easy to hear.
Other Thoughts: When connected over eSATA the drives inside would get power cycled when the computer was shut down. This seems normal but I didn't like it, so I switched to USB and haven't had any problems.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2014 11:09:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Yeah get that Port Multiplier.
Pros: Figured out after seeing the Neweggflash letter that this needs a port multiplier figured this out a day later. :( And thats not possible on a Laptop/notebook. However might have found a way around this. There is a port multiplier adapter for changing the eSata to a USB 3.0. Not cheap. found one for $33 though. And NewEgg didn't have one that was rated so had to go elsewhere. Kinda hoping a mini extension cord will ease the torque one the port though. (weight). But only way this would work. Hope it ships fast though or I'll have to return this.
Cons: Not very well thought out on plug in play. These drives aren't coming out without some muscle and the case must be taken off. If you can take the case/cover off without breaking an already short nail be my guest. Otherwise I had to jimmy it off with a flat screwdriver. Not all that thrilled about the thought of putting it back on. Rather just cover it with non conductive plastic. And who thought up putting in a BRIGHT blue LED fan in the back. It's not that powerful.
Other Thoughts: You need that Port Multiplier !! NewEggFlash didn't exactly put it up in big print. Sneaky. :( But it's hard for me to say no to a challenge. I have 3.0 ports lets see if that works. Does run a we bit warm on the hard drives. so not entirely sure what the fan is for. If this is an 80mm fan probably have ones that fit.. The drives slide in rather easy but they are a major scare to remove. Do like the LED lights for activity. Seem more accurate than the White Vantec I have which still puts off less blue light than this thing.
Reviewed By:PatrynXX,8/22/2014 12:26:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau