Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Its a NAS
Pros: - Works good once set up.
- Haven't had any problems with it.
Cons: - Instruction for setting it up were not the best in the world, but I managed to put it in RAID 1
Reviewed By:Brandon C.,2/8/2016 1:11:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic NSO1-SU3 USB 3.0 2.5" / 3.5" Hot-Swappble SATA HDD UASP Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Good Deal, Decent Quality
Pros: Great deal, $5 after sale price & rebate. USB3 cable is heavy duty and seems good quality. The power supply was only a little bit warm after powering a 3.5 inch drive for about 4 hours.
Cons: Acronis True Image 2014 does not recognize the device. I’m not deducting an egg because I don’t think it’s a problem with the dock. It is a disappoint though, because I wanted to use this combination to clone drives. I will need to find different cloning software that has compatible drivers.
Other Thoughts: The dock worked just fine with a USB2 port and Windows 10. I don't have any computers with USB3, so I can't speak to that. The dock itself is pretty light weight plastic and I'm not sure it would hold up to heavy duty usage. I think it will be OK for occasional usage.
Reviewed By:Douglas R.,2/5/2016 2:03:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6G RAID 0, 1, 10, 5, 5+spare, Spanning and JBOD (via Bundled RR642 RAID Controller Card) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA (via 6G Port Multiplier) 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier RAID Tower w/ 6G PCIe Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Be Deceived by Specs and Price
Pros: Specs and price. (Price too good to be true)
Cons: The item (and Sans Digital) are, in my opinion, completely unreliable. I've given Sans Digital plenty of chances to address this our problems. FYI, before this I had purchased an earlier model TR4M+B and had ongoing problems of that RAID dying. Then I purchased this unit,and ran into the same trouble. Spent lots of time with Sans Digital support (they are hard to get), and had RAID set exactly according to their specs. A few days later it froze again. Called support and their big idea was to send it in for replacement parts. Not interested. Waste of time.
Reviewed By:Franklin T.,2/4/2016 3:01:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the job
Pros: Recognized every SSD I put in it under Windows 10: Samsung, PNY, Intel, Mushkin.
Cloned 120G SSD to SSD in 15 mins.
You clone while NOT plugged into USB. SO basically you can set this on a bookshelf or kitchen table and clone drives with no PC attachment needed. I like this!
Power supply cord is long enough I'm not limited in where I locate the unit for cloning.
Cons: Its light weight plastic so not for gorilla handling.
USB cable could be longer but every company seems to skimp on this.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/3/2016 6:36:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic NSNOE-SU3 USB 3.0 2.5" SATA 6.0 Gb/s UASP External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: One of the easiest installations ever. Dropped a 1 T drive. Works
Cons: Noe for the $$
Reviewed By:David S.,1/30/2016 2:49:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Awesome HDD Dock, Cloning Seems Slow
Pros: I got this product due to many instances where I needed to access a drive quickly and didn't want to mess with the internals of my computer to do so. This was incredibly useful in that department, and it was hard to beat it at the price I got it for. The cloning feature was entirely secondary to me, but I did find use in it.
Cons: Cloning seems slow. I had a few instances where I needed to clone a backup drive for a HTPC due to issues with Windows and the cloning process felt like such a long time. I feel like if I were to have plugged both drives into a motherboard and cloned them through software, it would have been much faster.
Other Thoughts: As far as the rebate went, I received it roughly 2.5 months after the original purchase. It took a while, but if you're willing to wait, it can be entirely worth it. In my case, the rebate pushed the price down to $20 before shipping and taxes.
Reviewed By:Matthew A.,1/26/2016 9:58:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4 Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN
Pros: I have been running a pair of Western Digital Red 1TB drives in RAID 1 with this enclosure 24/7 for close to two years now with zero problems. It's not doing anything too intensive though, just media storage and file backups for a desktop machine.

The enclosure itself is very solidly built with thick metal panels and an attractive exterior finish.

Hardware RAID is great. No messing around with add-on RAID cards.

I have used both the eSATA and USB connections with no issues.
Cons: The fan is only 80mm and makes a bit of noise; I have the enclosure on my desk only ~2 feet away though so it's easy to hear.

UPDATES:

A few months ago the stock fan smoked its bearing and started making a racket. I had to buy a 2-pin to 3-pin fan adapter in order to replace it with a different model.

Then the power supply died after ~3 years of use like numerous other users are reporting. I turned it off to go on vacation and now it will not turn on again. I kept this enclosure running 24/7 and probably power cycled it less than 10 times during the time I have owned it so this issue is unacceptable. I will probably not buy another product from this company again.
Other Thoughts: When connected over eSATA the drives inside would get power cycled when the computer was shut down. This seems normal but I didn't like it, so I switched to USB and haven't had any problems.
Manufacturer Response:We're very sorry for the inconvenience your PSU has caused you. Our engineers are currently looking into the issue. We offer a 1-year warranty with all of Tower units. If your warranty has expired, you may purchase a replacement PSU on our website. If you have any questions, please contact our technical support at tech@sansdigital.com

Reviewed By:Alexander F.,1/19/2016 4:18:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 winner
Pros: Just plug in, set HDD choice and watch it go!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I use it as a movie backup server and it just works.
Reviewed By:NAS,1/16/2016 1:00:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome 2 drive raid enclosure!
Pros: cost
simple to use
works great for my needs
Cons: none. though death and suffering are top of world cons, just not applicable to this product.
Other Thoughts: I have this running thru usb3, though I have esata , I don't see the need for 6gbps esata rate, verses usb3 rate of 5 Gps. which works great and fine for my needs.
Reviewed By:Phatloader69,1/15/2016 9:32:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I've owned two of these... using both via e-sata connection to a single pci esata card (sold separately) in my VMware esxi 6 host, and passing the pci card to a windows vm to advertise a file share, ftp, nfs, and plex media repository. I've had no problems with these and would recommend them as a great, low cost way to easily scale storage.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Although neither of mine are the raid version, I suppose it would be as to avoid needing an e-sata multiplexer (pci).
Reviewed By:N/A,1/15/2016 6:23:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.