Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't Work, Syba wants me to Pay for RMA
Pros: Free after rebate. HDD part works
Cons: USB 3.0 Hub doesn't work.
Requested RMA, and Syba wants me to pay for return shipping.
Is it worth it? Not really.
Reviewed By:Garrett F.,8/22/2016 4:49:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent USB Docking Station
Pros: - Easy to use, just plug in and it works
- 3 USB 3.0 slots behind the hard drive dock so it doubles as a USB hub
- Fast speeds. Haven't tried it with a SSD but I get the same 150 MB/s on a regular HDD as I was getting with it plugged in directly to the SATA port
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Abhisekh M.,8/21/2016 5:57:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk!
Pros: None
Cons: It bricked the first time I used it right in the middle of cloning a drive. I was cloning a 500gb drive to a 2tb drive and it got a little further than 50% done. At least it didn't kill my source drive.
Other Thoughts: Stay away from this product. I wanted to give it ZERO eggs. Apparently, 1 egg is the minimum allowed.
Reviewed By:Glenn D.,8/18/2016 2:37:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR7-SU3S2 Raid 0 (Spanning) JBOD Raid 0 (Stripping) Raid 1 (Mirroring) Raid 3 (Stripped set with dedicated parity) Raid 5 (Striped set with distributed parity) Raid 10 (Mirroring + Striping) 4 3.5" Drive Bays e-SATA, USB 3.0 PRO

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As easy as an external hard drive
Pros: -Quick setup and drive formatting
-Quiet
Cons: -Little documentation, so I'm not sure exactly HOW it functions. For example, I don't know if it turns off hard drives when not in use, etc.
Reviewed By:Mitchel D.,8/17/2016 7:06:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR8UM6G JBOD 8 3.5" Drive Bays 8 Bay SATA to eSATA and USB 3.0 JBOD Enclosure (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked great right out of the box
Pros: Unlike NAS the drives don't need to be identical, and all show up as separate drives on PC
Cons: never had a problem until lightning struck my power line, now it is nearly impossible to find a service phone for the extra three year protection policy that I purchased.
Other Thoughts: The product is fine, it provides ample capacity for almost any storage that you need
Reviewed By:BRUCE C.,8/15/2016 6:32:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR8M6GNC JBOD, RAID available via eSATA RAID card (not inlcuded) 8 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA 6Gbps (via Port Multiplier) 8 Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It works but it's ovepriced and low quality
Pros: It's a SATA III port multiplier enclosure and works as advertised
Cons: The construction is rather lightweight. Very thin sheet metal enclosure and the power supply, backplane appear to be sufficient, but not overly robust.

The product also suffered from poor assembly. The front plastic bezel was forced on and didn't fit properly. I had to disassemble and fix that. Also the power supply was installed improperly and the metal tabs on the cabinet were bent as a result. Again, I had to disassemble the unit, bend the tabs and tighten the screws properly.

It goes without saying, that none of this rework should be necessary. If I wanted to do this kind of work, I would have applied for a job at Sans Digital's Chinese sweat shop.
Other Thoughts: I believe the product is overpriced for what it is. I paid $249 and am not satisfied with the quality. Had I paid half that, I could overlook the quality flaws.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/15/2016 10:10:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-S4-6G - 4-Bay 3.5” Hot-Swap Spanning & JBOD Enclosure - RAID 0 / 1 / 10 / 5 / 5 + Spare - Controller Card Bundle - Up to 6 Gbps Transfer Rate

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple and Easy setup.
Pros: East to install drives, card, and cables.
simple setup to get working
Cons: Drives are not hot swap
Other Thoughts: Just purchased a second one to back up my first one. The first one is still running with no issues.
Reviewed By:Josh T.,8/10/2016 3:35:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic USB3.0 UASP HUR1-SU3-WT 2.5" / 3.5" SATA HDD Station

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked fine for 6 months
Pros: Compact, takes up little desk space. While it worked it was fast.
Cons: Worked fine for about 6 months. Now it locks up the computer while transferring files. Sometimes it will run for a few minutes or 20 minutes before locking up the computer. I have tried it on several different pc's and they all will freeze. It has a 1 year warranty but the cost of shipping it just isn't worth it.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the small size of this dock, too bad it didn't last longer then 6 months. I really hate that everything today requires you to pay shipping in order to receive warranty service. Since the cost of shipping is almost as much as the item costs It makes inexpensive items like this really have no warranty at all.
Reviewed By:James S.,8/9/2016 9:56:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4 Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Power Supply, Never Got eSata or RAID to Work
Pros: Looked like a nice system. Price was good, features looked good.
Cons: When I first set it up (with 3x Toshiba 2Gb drives), I couldn't get it to talk with my system over eSata. I thought maybe it was the eSata port on my motherboard, which I wanted to upgrade anyway (for USB 3.0 support). eSata didn't work with the new motherboard either, but USB 3.0 worked fine. RAID wouldn't configure and I figure it was only supported when using eSata, not USB 3.0.

Within a few weeks, it died; wouldn't turn on. Didn't really need it, especially without working eSata, so I stuck it on a shelf and forgot it. I just moved and found it. In the meantime I had purchased a different 4-drive external chassis which I had been using, but now I wanted a second working one. Checked the power supply, and totally dead. I will try to find a replacement power supply, but I think I will avoid Mediasonic going forward.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/1/2016 3:29:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid HUR5-SU3 2 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Super simple external USB RAID box
Pros: • Very compact design with a small footprint. Simplistic, yet attractive too.
• Very easy to get started. Follow the short instruction sheet to ensure you don’t skip the most important step - confirm your RAID selection during first power-on!
• Holds two desktop 3.5” drives or two laptop 2.5” drives, or a combination of both. However, 2.5” drives will not be secured with screws, so avoid moving the box while it’s powered up. Note, RAID1 will require identical drives.
• Hardware RAID that supports up to 8TB capacities using GPT. MBR is also supported for 2TB and smaller disks. All SATA 1, 2 and 3 interfaces are compatible. Also supports UASP and SMART.
• USB3.0 interface lets you connect to a PC or other networked device with USB to create a network accessible FTP or SMB share. Much cheaper than buying a true stand-alone NAS.
• Front facing status indicator LED’s aren’t too bright or distracting.
• Easy to upgrade firmware – Download the updater tool from MediaSonic’s website and run it.
• 1-year warranty
• Awesome price during Newegg daily deal plus $10 instant promo – came to $40 shipped
Cons: • No LAN port, so cannot function as a NAS without a dedicated connection to a PC or other device.
• No 2.5” drive bracket adapters to secure the drives into the enclosure.
• Small 60mm 2-watt exhaust fan.
• No way to monitor disk temperatures.
Other Thoughts: The HUR5-SU3 was detected in Windows device list as a Western Digital My Book Duo WDBLWE, which must share a hardware controller with this same MediaSonic device. But, I bet I paid a lot less for it!

The Notes section of the quick installation page references a website for additional product information that no longer exists – usbex.com/r52x-01

The Notes section also tells you to visit the product website for a complete HDD compatibility list. However, I am still unable to find one. I was curious if this device supports 10,000 rpm disks, so I sent MediaSonic an email asking if high performance drives are compatible and their response was, “it may work, but the problem is the single fan on HUR5, will not be able to cool the hard drive.” So, yes, but no?

If you found my review helpful in your product search, please check Yes below. Thanks!
Reviewed By:William F.,7/31/2016 6:33:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.