Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worst docking station I've ever used
Pros: Looks nice comes with everything you need but beware
Cons: Used it once on one of the hard drives and it worked great was able to transfer files as needed,
then I inserted a brand-new Western Digital hard drive that I had received that was already formatted and surface scanned for errors, the drive would not initialize it acted like he just wasn't there but all the lights were on on the docking station that should've been. Pulled it out thinking it might have been a seating error and replaced it with the drive that I had just pulled files from not but an hour before suddenly that drive was no longer readable either. Pulled both drives manually installed them into the computer one by one and both the drives were unreadable and could not be recovered this destroyed two hard drives one brand-new and one less than the-year-old I doubt very highly that this company will replace the drives and I doubt that I could even get a refund unless I had to spend more money to send this piece of junk back if you value your data you'll stay away from this product.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to anybody unless she wanted to give it as a gift to somebody you didn't like. No I would not purchase this product again and if there was one thing I could change about this product I would've never purchased it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/22/2016 8:16:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid
Pros: Uses the recent Asmedia ASM1153E SATA 6Gb/s USB bridge chipset. The USB hub chipset also appears to be by Asmedia.
Sturdy aluminum housing.
Excellent layout for providing accessible ports for a system with USB 3.0 only on the back panel.
Performed as expected.
Cons: Power supply cord is 5ft not 6ft.
Power supply output is less than the theoretical maximum of the drive and the three USB 3.0 ports.
Other Thoughts: Soft power button may be a pro or a con depending on your application.
I just bought my third unit because this is such a good value.
Reviewed By:Douglas M.,7/21/2016 12:30:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Unknown since item was DOA!
Cons: DOA!
Reviewed By:Matt C.,7/18/2016 5:15:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Compatibility challenges, but they can be overcome
Pros: Once you find a card with works, all is good
Cons: No compatibility info re which cards work with this product. Took a little trial and error to find reviews pointing me to SI 3221 chip as a compatible one. A card with RR62x chip (same chip used in SansDigital cards) died not work for me. HP miniserver (N40) WHS2011 environment
Other Thoughts: Syba 9SIA85V3DG9323 card worked for me with this product (SI 3221 chipset). Highpoint R620A and Startech PEXESAT322i (Asmedia 62x chipset) did not work although they are supposed to support port multipliers
Reviewed By:Luc P.,7/16/2016 8:24:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS4UM+B JBOD (Hard drives are accessed individually) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 4-Bay eSATA Port Multiplier and USB 3.0 JBOD Tower (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works with QNAP TS-x31 with both USB3.0 and eSATA but with rebate scam
Pros: It has both eSATA and USB3.0 interfaces and it works well with my QNAP TS-231. I have no connection stability problem with either interface. The QNAP TS-231 does support port multiplier and can see all 4 drives in it. I can set up scheduled backup from the NAS to the drives in this box. The QNAP apps can also access the drives in this box even away from home. In the last 4 months, I only need to power cycle it a couple times.
Cons: This model has no RAID support. It also cannot combine multiple drives into a large volume. There is also no way to change any setting.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this 4 months ago when there was a rebate from manufacturer. The rebate never arrive. There is also no tracking or contact information on the rebate form. So don't count on the rebate offer from this manufacturer.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/15/2016 7:23:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2 PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BuY
Pros: There is nothing good about this product
Cons: failed lost not one but 2 hard drives Mediasonic HAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE .
Reviewed By:susan c.,7/15/2016 11:55:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Amazing little box
Pros: affordable, works
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Use to buy 1tb external hard drives, then I realize that they were 2.5 hdd, then went to hgst 2.5 for the 3 year warranty and the WD Black for 5 year warranty. that was better than 90 days to 1 year.

I hooked up 3 external hdds and one in the chamber, it worked flawlessly.
Reviewed By:rickie b.,7/14/2016 12:09:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not At All Reliable
Pros: If you only need your data for a year or less, these are fine.
Cons: I bought two of these, originally intending to use both at once, but I'm glad I didn't. I filled up one with drives and used it for a year and a half or so. After that, the drives kept throwing command errors and being removed by the OS. For a while, I could reboot the computer and the drives would work again, but eventually, they just stopped being detected.

That's when I opened the second box, thinking that maybe the first one was a fluke. I pulled the hard drives out of the old box and slotted them into the new one. The second one began exhibiting the same behavior in less than a year. So here I am with four perfectly good hard drives and a pair of perfectly worthless enclosures. They turn on, so I don't think I have a power supply problem as other reviewers have described, but something has obviously failed on the logic board and the drives can't be recognized by the OS.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this to anyone.
I would not buy this again.
Reviewed By:ET A.,7/13/2016 8:46:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Habey > Habey DS-540N Hardware RAID 0/1/3/5/10/JBOD/CLONE, on-line auto rebuild at 200GB/hr 4 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA and USB 2.0 4-bay eSATA/USB 2.0 Storage Enclosure with Hardware RAID

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Power supply failed
Pros: Fairly fast by eSATA, current JMicron HW RAID Manager from JMicron website is Windows 10 compatible and has an email function to alert you if RAID failure occurs.
Cons: As others mention, the physical build quality is not good. Additionally, the unit failed to spin up the drives after a couple years of occasional use; I had 9TB of data in a RAID-5 array, and was grateful this was just a backup device. A year later, I removed the power supply and powered the unit instead with an external power supply (an unused PC PSU, trigger wire attached to ground). It worked, confirming the built-in power supply as the culprit. It is back in use, this time as a 2-drive RAID-1 unit.
Other Thoughts: I question the value of cheap RAID arrays after this one's PSU failure, a MediaSonic's board failure, and my LG-NAS's tendency to destroy the RAID array every time it is shut down or restarted. It seems a poor use of resources to protect against data loss from hard drive failure using a device with worse reliability than the hard drives.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/13/2016 4:50:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4 Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not for random HDD's
Pros: Great for laptops, 65MB write speeds with large files (30GB) over USB 3.0. Good RAID Options. 4 - Bays. Works well with 2.5in drives. has esata and usb 3. See other..
Cons: You have to remove cover to unscrew drives. USB setup can be flakey. Activity light stays on (sometimes) when not connected to PC. Config changes may require PC reboot. Slot 4 bay slides hang on the drive and I have to pull the metal out to seat the drive. See other.. - Update: power died after a few years. I had to take it apart to get the raid card out, find power for it, and save data.
Other Thoughts: The need to know info. I work as a IT/Server admin. I test alot of items..
Using different brand/series drive types can hurt throughput very bad. With mixed drives I got 6MB write speeds. One Seagate drive was dragging the system down... With like drives I for 65MB over USB 3.0.. **In all a good raid build would be better with same speeds. **

The long story.. FYI..The included software works better with like drives also.
Now like some people, I have some extra HDD's around. Different sized WD and Seagate's for the most part. I got this system to test out some RAID 5 and spanning (or Large)HDD's. First thing I did was load 3 - 1TB and 1 - 500GB drives. And used the turn dial on the back to create the "Large" drive setup. During this process my 2 year old turned off the power strip.. This crashed the drive in bay 1. The activity light was on at the time of power loss.. I tried a few repair software's including Seagate tools but it was dead. Moving on.. Now I added 2 - 1TB, 1 - 500GB, 1 - 250GB.. Used the software to create the "Large" drive setup.. I got 6MB write speeds.. Changed it to raid 5. This would give me 4 drives at smallest drive size.. Still 6-8MB write speeds. I took off all raid.. Now each disk shows separately .. got between 8-15MB write speeds on each drive. Removed all drives and went through each one in slot 1. MY 1TB Seagate drive was the big problem. It will not move data above 10MB in this system.. I added 3 - 320GB 2.5 inch drives in different raid combos and got 65MB write speeds and 75MB read..
**In all a good raid build would be better with same speeds. **
I may upload a video...
Reviewed By:wesley T.,7/9/2016 11:57:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.