Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Free shipping & returns. Sign up for Newegg Premier for Canada
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No problems for me with this beauty!
Pros: Works perfectly for me. It does drop off when the connected PC is off, but it comes right back up when the PC does.

I use it for some intense file serving and I have had zero problems with WD Red 4TB drives in it. Set for RAID 1 (mirror), because I am paranoid after losing two RAID 5 array volumes.

I am going to get some more of these.

By the way, I NEVER use any software based controls for this kind of box. I always use the switches.
Cons: Not a NAS? It would be nice if it could do either NAS or USB, but no one has that.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this unit. Wonder if it will support 6TB drives?

I have Buffalo NAS drives and a Drobo USB array with 16TB. About 6 or 7 other RAID 1 boxes too.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/15/2014 10:18:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It has $3 power supply as a base
Pros: Works fine when it works.
Cons: I have 4 devices with 16 HDDs installed. Two towers are dead - power supplies out of order. All hard drives in good in health.
RAID5 should protect my data, but it ruins it.
Other Thoughts: Reliability of modern hard drives is much higher than some devices above them.
Reviewed By:Celestial,12/15/2014 8:37:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 mine seems to be DOA
Pros: fair to moderate asking price for the features promised
Cons: Bought this at newegg (in June of 2014) because it had generally favorable reviews. I finally had need for it today (December 15, 2014 ) and took it out of the box and tried to use it for the first time only to find it was dead on arrival!

Actually, not 100% dead... I tried multiple disk-to-disk dupes in standalone mode; however, no matter what size or types of drives i use, the clone copy stops after about 10-15 minutes.

Instead, i tried copying data to and from various docked drives to multiple PCs via usb 2.0 and 3.0 ports. In all cases, again, copies start, but, after a few minutes, simply stop. (Then I need to power the unit off and back on again to get a PC to see it again. Which, isn't very useful, as it will just eventually die again if I try to perform another transfer.)

SO - I tried calling the phone number listed in the documentation, thinking maybe I could talk to tech support and/or get an RMA. But, that number has been changed. Thankfully, they do give you the new number and allow you to be transferred to it. But, when I call the new number, the answering system simply repeats the dialed number back to me and then beeps once. I assume I had reached the right company, but I have no clue if that beep meant I could leave a message or not. (Strange that in this day and age that they don't have a real answer machine or service. Heck, they could simply buy vonage or ring central or ooma -- something that basic that at least has an automated attendant!!!)

So, now I will have to try and email their support team and see how easy the are (or aren't ) to do business with... Will the RMA process for a product well-within it's one year warranty be simple and free/very low-cost, or, will it be long and painful and costly to the consumer?

I'll keep you posted....
Reviewed By:20plusyeartech,12/15/2014 11:23:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H212 RAID 0/1/JBOD/Normal USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" Bay Silent Hand Held RAID Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great portable RAID-1 enclosure
Pros: - Does RAID-1 in a portable package (I couldn't care less about RAID-0 or JBOD);
- Fits 2x 2.5" drives in an enclosure slightly bigger than those hosting single drives;
- Nice price;
- Runs well, never had any issue with the hardware;
- Did I mention you get to have RAID-1 on the go?!?
Cons: - Flimsy USB connector (but never had trouble until recently)
- Holds together with a tiny plastic latch, which after a while gets loose so you have to tighten it from time to time; I would have preferred it used screws instead.
- Watch that inner tray! Once you unlatch the side cover, if you tilt the enclosure the inner tray will slide out faster than you can say "Oops!"
Other Thoughts: First, some disclosures:
- Never used anything else but RAID-1 on it
- Never tried USB 3.0
- Never bothered benchmarking the device
- I have owned the enclosure for just a hair over one year (which was bought on the December 1st, 2013).

Current use:
I use it with a pair of 500GB, 7K RPM Travelstars (in RAID-1) to store everything I have, ranging from the unimportant stuff like my music collection, some ripped DVDs (the kind you can re-watch again and again), setup files and disc images, to what's really essential to me like programming & webdev projects, graphic work and all my documents. Essentially, it means I could wipe my laptop's hard drive and all I would lose are the installed applications' settings.
That also means I been using it at least 5 days a week for the past year, most of the time connecting & disconnecting it twice a day, if not more.

Reason for purchase:
At the time I bought it, I was copying the content of my (previous) 500GB drive to a second one, the latter to be used as a full backup I would keep in a safe and sync to the primary one from time to time (once every fortnight or every month). Whatever happened, once completed the primary one started showing bad blocks, and while telling myself "Hell, there's no way I'm going to loose all this" (well, the unimportant stuff) I ordered the enclosure with the two Travelstars. I had been looking for a 2.5-inch RAID-1 enclosure for many, many years (as far back as 2004) and was glad I had found one, though I wasn't sure I could really depend on it. Needless to say, I haven't been deceived yet.

On that USB connector:
I noticed from the start the connectors looked a bit loose, as in there was too much play for my taste for both the power and USB connectors (coming from a Macally enclosure). Still, moving around either one of them never translated into a emergency spin down (power) or dismount/remount (USB). But yesterday, I noticed for the first time my disk remounting itself at random times. I still have to check if changing the USB cable alone will suffice to fix that, but in any case, if I have to change the enclosure I've been more than satisfied by it, even if lasting a single year. Still, I wish Macally would make a sturdy, 2.5" RAID-1 enclosure themselves.

On my backup strategy (for those interested):
So, all this needs to be backed up, even if it's running on a RAID-1 array. The most important stuff, accounting for about 35GB and that changes often (but in small amounts), is continuously backed up through CrashPlan on the cloud and to two "friend" locations (same city though) on UPS-backed computers with also RAID-1 arrays. In addition, the same stuff gets rsync-ed 4 times/day to another computer, also with a RAID-1 array (over the web). For the remaining stuff (~390GB), from time to time I sync the whole array to another 500GB I keep in a fire-safe, since either it rarely gets updated (music, movies, etc.) or is disposable anyway (setup files, disc images,
Reviewed By:johnwait,12/10/2014 5:29:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H115 USB 3.0 2.5" & 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Dock Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised.
Pros: Does what it is supposed to, simple to use.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,12/9/2014 7:14:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M-BP RAID 0, 1, 10, 5, 5+spare, Spanning and JBOD (via Bundled RR622 RAID Controller Card) 4 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA (via Port Multiplier) PCIe 2.0 x1 for RR622 RAID Controller 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tow

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 4 year running 24/7 : Power Supply Blow
Pros: - Many Features.
- Possibility to send SNMP Trap for a faulty drive in the drive bay.
- Excellent for home use (if you want to secure your important data in a RAID drives.
Cons: No service after sell :

I send 2 emails to sans-digital service support and i receive no return from her part. I just ask for a reseller of her power supply in the market. I think it's because he didn't sell separate parts if it's not comercial product...
Other Thoughts: The 80mm FAN is not enought if you use 4 HDD in the drive bay.
No selling separate parts (Power supply).
Reviewed By:testcspo,12/9/2014 3:20:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS1UT+B 1 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 & eSATA 3.5" SATA Hard Drive USB3.0/eSATA Enclosure w/ Removable Tray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for what it is
Pros: Built like a tank. Does what it claims to so far: USB and eSATA access work (haven't measured speeds yet) and disks run reasonably cool and quietly. Price seems to be in line with other products that connect with both USB3.0 and eSATA.
Cons: Not as convenient as tray-less bays or docks. A bit pricey if all you need is USB3.0 connectivity. Limited to 4 TB disks (but for no obvious reason - perhaps it just wasn't tested with larger ones?).
Other Thoughts: For the net price I paid (assuming the rebate is honored and that I use the gift card within a year) Newegg might almost have given it to me for free, so it would get a 6th star for that if one were available. But it may well be worth Newegg's normal price if it's what you need.
Reviewed By:- bill,12/8/2014 5:42:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR5M+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked great, for about a month
Pros: Easy to set-up, well ventilated supplied power supply provides plenty of power for the installed drives.
Cons: Worked like a champ for around a month. Then I started getting errors, drives failing to spin up and load; and read times started to take longer and longer (5 minutes or more).

I deleted the array, uninstalled the driver, removed all references to the driver & card from the registry and removed the supplied card. I then used SIIG card to connect this to. Again it all worked well using the WIN 7 software RAID. Once again, after about two to three weeks I had the exact same problem.

Rinse and repeat the driver/card removal process.

Tried a third card to run this device, the MaxPower card. Again it worked for about a week or so, then failed to do anything.

All my enterprise drives in this enclosure were then removed and tested individually. All were found to have full capacity and no errors/bad sectors on them.
Other Thoughts: I am out of my 30 days return, and I really do not feel like talking to the SansDigital technical support as they will have me do EVERYTHING I have already done just to come up with the same conclusion. This thing is bad and would best serve as a doorstop.

Now if someone with practical experience besides reading some worthless troubleshooting spreadsheet wants to talk, I will reconsider.

Been in IT since 1988, and this is by far the worst performing RAID enclosure I have ever experienced.
Reviewed By:Curt,12/7/2014 2:33:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS1UT+B 1 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 & eSATA 3.5" SATA Hard Drive USB3.0/eSATA Enclosure w/ Removable Tray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 excellent enclosure
Pros: both usb3.0 and eSATA
Hot swappable
All metal case
Cons: longer than most enclosure, but it's for 3.5", not a portable design.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/7/2014 6:52:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS1UT+B 1 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 & eSATA 3.5" SATA Hard Drive USB3.0/eSATA Enclosure w/ Removable Tray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just fine
Pros: Works, right from the start, no problems man.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Cofmajo,12/7/2014 6:24:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.