Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3-WT 4 x 3.5" Drive Bays e-SATA, USB 3.0 ProBox SATA III Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Turns off within 4 hours on Mac by default, but easily fixed
Pros: It looks nice.
It's small.
It's quiet
Cons: Default power sync mode doesn't work well with Mac OS and requires manual intervention.
No vent holes in the front impeded airflow.
Other Thoughts: I doesn't actually stay on and the disks are removed (without unmounting, since the device physically turns off) by default when attached to a Mac Mini running Sierra.

I just purchased an HF7-SU3S3. I have been trying to rsync files from one disk in another chassis to the disk in the HF7-SU3S3 (a WDC Red 8 TB), And after about 4 hours, the hard disk enclosure turns off and the disk is removed from the system without unmounting. The unit won't turn on again without turning it back on physically.

I have opened a case with the manufacture and did some research online. It turns out the default (power) sync mode is set to turn the chassis off if the power to the computer or USB port stops flowing. This mode is indicated with a blue light. There are two other modes: sync (amber sync light) and always on (light off).

I set it to power sync and it seems to work fine. The chassis turns on when I turn on the computer and off when I turn my computer off. I have a second one now and it works fine on Linux (on an Intel NUC) as well.

I deducted one star for the lack of airflow due to no vent in the front. The two drives I have today stay pretty cool, but they would be cooler if the airflow were better.
Reviewed By:Johnray F.,9/29/2016 8:13:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3-WT 4 x 3.5" Drive Bays e-SATA, USB 3.0 ProBox SATA III Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Very easy to set up works seamlessly and the ability too use usb3 or esata makes it a good fit for just about any system
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Mike S.,9/25/2016 7:48:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4 Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bored On a Saturday Night? Don't worry, this PSU will go bad and you'll have fun like I did.
Pros: Worked well at first. Always seemed to have some issues with the USB3 working right.
Cons: The Power Supply WILL go bad. Just look thru this thread or google it. You too can have an awesome Saturday night like I am by creating a Frankenstein like setup to get the data off your RAID array. Here's the proof. imgur.com/h3Fhrjb Sad that this is happening to so many people and the company refuses to acknowledge the issue and make it right.
You can take the whole thing apart, use the MOLEX connectors from a working PSU, then dump your data to something else. That's what I'm doing. Buying a replacement PSU from Sans Digital for $60 seems like a waste knowing it too will go bad within a couple of years.
Other Thoughts: Skip it. Go with something more reliable or use an old PC to make a NAS box.
Reviewed By:Brad M.,9/24/2016 8:30:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC25042 USB 3.0 USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" SATA Drive RAID Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed in the product....
Pros: Possibility of RAID 1
It handles up to 2TB HDD
Cons: It has the poorly written manual. It took two days to get a clarification from SYBA about settings because on B&W pictures are not possible to see the switch details.
The disks are hard to get into the enclosure because they do not fit a little bit.
The light locations on the pictures do not match ones on the enclosure.
The disk locations are not clear and you would have a hard time to find which is not working.
After a day or so one of the lights went off and not working. SYBA is not responding to this issue. No contact phone number.
Other Thoughts: The SY-ENC25024 was build much better and easier to handle drives.

I am reluctant to recommend it.
Reviewed By:Roustam D.,9/23/2016 1:38:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid HUR5-SU3 2 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent looking box but pretty cheap feeling
Pros: No connection issues others speak of (after updating to latest firmware)
Solid transfer speeds ~140mb/s
Nice looking
Cons: The box feels pretty cheap being made entirely of plastic. The top half that lifts off to insert the drives sort of shifts around when you move it or hold it even when it's attached. The back right edge is all chewed up, looks like a cat gnawed on it. Just overall poor quality for the price, at least in terms of physical design.
Reviewed By:Ryan G.,9/20/2016 5:02:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid HUR5-SU3 2 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worked for a few months
Pros: worked good while it worked
Cons: now it fails backups and ends with the raid configuration wiped, when i restart the computer this enclosure wont reconnect, the right side is being accessed for a long time, but never the left
Reviewed By:Nathan R.,9/14/2016 11:37:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 lots of possibilitis
Pros: Inexpensive, two working bays, USB 3.0
Cons: Bought 2, both heat up & shut down if you are doing anything more than a few files. So not useful.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend this product.
Reviewed By:William S.,9/10/2016 12:39:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileRAID MR2UT+ 0/1/JBOD* and Spanning 2 x Hot-swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2-Bay SATA Compact Tower Enclosure (Silver)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Complete Trash
Pros: It's silver.
Cons: I attempted to post a review before, but it was never published -- go figure. I ranted about the shoddy build quality, and my prior experience with Sans Digital products - all of which failed. Well, surprise! Barely a year later and the enclosure's bay #1 fails without any notice. It just force-reboots my entire server. On reboot, still no indication there's a problem. I thought it was a memory issue on my server, turns out it's just this piece of garbage.
Other Thoughts: NEVER. AGAIN.

Oh, and I'm not even bothering to attempt to contact the manufacturer - I've dealt with them before, and it's like putting bamboo shoots under my fingernails.
Reviewed By:Neil C.,9/3/2016 5:40:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR2-SU3 2 3.5" USB 3.0 UASP ProBox dualbay docking station 2.5"/3.5" HDD / clone function

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Product
Pros: 8TB HDD Available...
Cons: There 's a slight vibration.
This cable's too stiff.
Reviewed By:Kim Y.,9/2/2016 4:04:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Compatibility Issues
Pros: -Has built-in USB 3.0 hub
-Good price after MIR
Cons: -Compatibility issues with 3.5" 2TB hard drives.
-The housing becomes discolored very soon
Other Thoughts: I got his docking station for about 7 months and barely use it. Today I need to get some data off my WD WD2002FAEX (aka Black) 2TB HDD and WD WD20EARX (aka Green) 2TB HDD. Both of them would be recognized by the system, then disappear in few seconds, and repeats again and again. Hopefully the docking station hasn't any damage to my drives.

Contacted with their technical support, but unfortunately they wouldn't be able to help. Would not recommend this docking station to anyone.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
On behalf of Syba, please accept our thanks for choosing our products. Please be assured that our interest in your complete satisfaction.
It is our sincere desire that you are completely satisfied with your product and the service you receive from our Team.
If you cannot give us a completely satisfied rating for any reason, visit support@Sybausa.com so we can better serve you as our valued customer. As a reminder, our business hours: Monday ~ Friday, 9:00am ~ 5:00pm PST

Regards, Syba CST-302
Re

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/1/2016 5:04:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.