Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR5UT+B (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: bought this 6-1-2012
windows 7 works perfect on all 4 of my systems
updates no problem
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I have had this and three 4 bay units running all at once on one system that's 17 drives all come up perfect,
If this don't work for you its YOU !
your the problem.....
Reviewed By:jollysailor,4/22/2015 9:57:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I LOVE MINE
Pros: I have three 4 bay and one five bay and they all work great
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I would like to buy more, need a good sale 100 or less and I would grab at least 2, if not more.
Reviewed By:jollysailor,4/22/2015 9:44:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR5UT+ (Silver)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best purchase in a long time
Pros: Solid construction
Rear exhaust fan
Standard power input...no converter & cheap plug combination like most other enclosures.
Easy setup
eSATA/Port multiplier card included
Cons: Not a one so far
Other Thoughts: Setup was absolutely a breeze. I needed the port multiplier since my SuperMicro mini server doesn't support it on board. Plugged the PCI card into my FreeBSD 10.1 box and it was picked up as expected. Plugged in 4 drives existing drives formatted ZFS and imported them just like any other onboard SATA device.

I was getting sick of less than reliable USB connectivity due to cheap enclosures and this so far is working perfectly.

Note that I am using it in clean mode (without RAID) since I like to have my backup drives able to be rotated offline without the hassle of RAID. All of my backups are done disk to disk via RSYNC.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/18/2015 5:11:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid H8R2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 / 50 8 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 / eSATA 8-Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Unreliable
Pros: Capacity, speed
Cons: I'm using a Man, and every time I go to use it, I have to cycle the power of the array. When I cycle the power, it works again. Awfully frustrating.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 7:35:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS28X JBOD 2 x mini-SAS (SFF8088) 8 Bay 2.5 tower SAS/SSD/SATA to mini-SAS JBOD Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Epic speeds
Pros: Ordered this at work for 3D animators with a lot of digital assets who needed a scratch drive with high read/write. They origionally had a RAID array with regular spinning disks but found the speed unbearable. I picked up this enclosure and put in a few 500 GB Samsung Pro SSDs and now they are enjoying working with their new array doing 1.1 GB/s writes.
Cons: Mini SAS raid cards are a pain to find in a reasonable price range.
Reviewed By:Aku,4/16/2015 11:51:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of Money and Time
Pros: Seems like a good solution
Cons: After acquiring this item I placed 3 4TB WD Green drives into the enclosure. I installed the RAID card on my media center. For the first few months everything was fine.

All of a sudden one day Windows stopped booting. Upon closer inspection I discovered that the enclosure would simply shut down the drives randomly during start up. The activity lights for all 3 drives would just turn off in the middle of boot up. I thought maybe I could try a different bay so I moved them to the lower bays in the enclosure. I also tried replacing the eSATA cables to no avail. The eSATA ports are not engineered properly either since the eSATA cables don't fit entirely into the port leaving about 2-3 millimeters of extra space.

I contacted Sans Digital support many months ago about this issue however their representative blamed my hard drives which are in perfect health. Apparently I need to be using the more expensive enterprise hard drives instead of my consumer ones. Of course he couldn't explain why my existing hard drives worked for so long with no problems.

The RAID card itself slows down the boot process considerably.

Do yourself a favor and stay away from this product.
Other Thoughts: I find it peculiar that a support representative would recommend using enterprise drives for an entry level product. If I'm gonna spend the extra money on better drives I'm probably also going to spend the extra money on a better enclosure and RAID controller.
Reviewed By:Aku,4/16/2015 11:48:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR1-SU3 2.5' / 3.5' SATA Hot-Swappble HDD USB3.0 & UASP Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy setup
Pros: Easy setup, USB 3.0 transfer (compatible with USB 2.0), supports 3.5-inch desktop and 2.5-inch laptop drives, supports my WD Red NAS 4TB HDD.
Cons: Powered by wall wart which takes up space on the power strip. I really wish there was just a common 2-prong power cable instead with integrated power supply.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't find a USB 3.0 HDD enclosure that supported hard drive capacities beyond 2 TB. This dock supports my 4TB HDD over USB 2.0 to my Mac Mini (Late 2011) with TimeMachine on Mavericks (10.9).
Reviewed By:Bill,4/12/2015 10:33:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A waste of money
Pros: Price. It's the cheapest 8-bay enclosure around.
Cons: Simply doesn't work as intended. The raid cards fail and the bandwidth is poor. The drivers are poor, and you can't make it work without the proprietary PCIe card. It failed so many times in the course of trying to use this solution for 1 year (even after replacing multiple raid cards and cables), I had to scrap it and just buy a better enclosure (which has since worked flawlessly). So I lost $400 on this bad hardware.
Other Thoughts: If you need 8 bays, buy two 4-bay USB3 enclosures and call it a day.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/7/2015 7:50:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-S4-X - 4-Bay 3.5” Hot-Swappable SATA - eSATA Storage System - RAID 0 / 1 / 10 / 5 / 5 + Spare, Spanning & JBOD Enclosure - RAID Controller Card Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Sort Life Spain!!!
Pros: Work good for almost 2 years! Looks nice, Solid cabinet.
Cons: When they started to fail I they may have taken a couple of drives with them. There all failing the same way, obvisly theres a manufacuring problem, way wont the manufacture offer usefull support when they knowingly know they have a QC or engineering problem.
Other Thoughts: I have 2 of these, the first one started to fail after about 1 3/4 years and then the other one about 2 1/4 years. It does sound like the power supplys are to fault, I was thinking maybe do to poor quality electrolytic capacitors, but my LCR meter indicates there still good, not sure whats failing but both my units do the exact same thing. It's like there trying to start up then they fail, then they try again and fail, it happens over and over and then they start working after about 10 mints, mean wail you could be damaging more drives.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback; we will pass it along to our QA and Design teams for further investigations. In the event that you are having troubles, please do not hesitate to contact our support team at the number below.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:Jerry,4/7/2015 2:22:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H458 Hardware RAID 0, 1, 10, 3 and RAID 5, support 4 x 3.5" Hot Swappable Drive Bays USB 3.0 eSATA RAID SubSystem

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible.
Pros: Solid construction. Very good looking. Great hot swap bays.
Cons: Where to start. Well I have Windows 8.1....if you are running that don't bother getting this. The drivers for this product don't work for it and the website is all but useless in terms of support. Also I seem to have gotten the last one is stock and I can see why. It was shipped in the manufacture box without and additional shipping box to protect it and to hide what it is. When I got it the box top was partially open with not type of shrink wrap or manufacture seal (neweggs fault) Also the power brick has a huge crack that appears to have taken some serious force to create. As this was open and knowing it had to be hit hard I have to assume they knew it and it was the last one they had.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are running an on older operating system and never want support then don't bother. Also I would not order this from newegg since I got the last one and am returning it you may get stuck with the same one.
Reviewed By:Sortilege,4/4/2015 2:14:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.