Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 At least the PSU hasn't died yet
Pros: Quiet. Raid works.
Cons: Slow. Maybe mine isn't working correctly.
Other Thoughts: Had this connected to an eSATA pcie adapter. Speed wasn't great. 50Mb/s. Replaced card with USB 3.0. Now getting a lousy 6 Mb/s. Tried to use switch to the internal eSATA port on my machine. When trying to access the device from that connection, the data is corrupt. Not sure how to make this thing faster.
Reviewed By:Bleedish,10/19/2014 2:30:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very poor
Pros: Rather cheap solution if compared to NAS devices and other JBODs.
Cons: Have had two of these already and both died right at two year mark. They use terrible power supplied and sell replacements for the cost of a brand new unit. I've lost faith in this brand, definitely not getting a third one.
Other Thoughts: You can usually tell the quality of device by how long the warranty is. If company knows or believes in the quality of their product they will give you better then 1-year warranty.
Reviewed By:SimonYel,10/13/2014 5:07:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Power supply died
Pros: Easy to use, easy to setup, lot of RAID options, no significant noise.
Cons: Power supply goes out easily when trying to move the unit
Other Thoughts: I have had two of these for the past 3 years. I have installed them at two different locations, one at home other at my office. They worked fine till they did.

One day last month I had to slightly shift the RAID enclosure, at home, as I had purchased a new desk. As I picked it up to turn the powerswitch in the back off It quit working. Power supply died.

Same exact thing happened in my office 2 weeks later.

I am not sure if the power-supply is sensitive to motion. In that case why we do-not have a power switch in the front.
Reviewed By:Acj,10/12/2014 9:54:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Power supply died.
Pros: It worked good until the power supply died.
Cons: The power supply died after 18 months.
Other Thoughts: Replacement PSU is about $60. Output power connectors are 3 molex and 1 floppy so perhaps a spare computer PSU could be mounted externally.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for purchasing our Sans Digital product.

I apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused, the power supply should not have died this soon.

To discuss your case further, please call 1-800-980-1988 to get in touch with one of our Technical Engineers, or email us at tech@sansdigital.com.

Reviewed By:Chris T.,10/7/2014 1:26:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR5UT+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Was working good but now fails
Pros: Used to work okay
Cons: I would like to mirror the last two comments (Guy R. on 7/28/2014 and J.M. on 7/17/2014)..

I had this unit for about a year, configured as a 5-disk RAID-5 array. For a long time the unit worked just fine, serving up some media for my media center.. Then all of the sudden things started to go terribly wrong.

Over the past month I have had my data destroyed twice. The volume itself becomes corrupted and cannot be accessed by Windows anymore. I have to re-format it, and then attempt to recover the data (I have been using Recurva software to do the recovery).. But now that I have done that more than once, I am afraid that my data is gone forever

This first happened under Windows 7, and then I reloaded my PC with Windows 8, and the same problem happened again just a week after my reload (so I highly doubt it is an OS problem). At this point my data is gone, and I don't think I will be able to retrieve it anymore..

It doesn't seem that the disks themselves are failing, but the volume itself is becoming corrupted and unreadable, and I have to start over..

I bought this unit (and the drives) thinking that this was the best way to protect my data from loss, but it seems to have done just the opposite.

I used to recommend this unit to my friends and even some small business clients of mine that needed some type of inexpensive protected storage. I will no longer recommend this unit to anyone anymore.
Other Thoughts: Not worth it
Reviewed By:TPK,10/7/2014 5:47:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H115 USB 3.0 Hard Drive Dock Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great on Macbook Pro
Pros: Got 140MB/sec read/write through USB 3.0 with WD 3TB RED drive. Good performance.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: none
Reviewed By:ddtx,10/6/2014 11:32:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H115 USB 3.0 Hard Drive Dock Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect simple little device..
Pros: -Easy setup
-Top loading, no trays
-USB 3.0
-Simple
Cons: Have not run into any negatives.
Other Thoughts: Noticed the other review stated slow speeds but i have seen normal USB 3.0 speeds on my end.
Reviewed By:DEA7H13,10/3/2014 3:26:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H212 RAID 0/1/JBOD/Normal USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" Bay Silent Hand Held RAID Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Ruined one of my SSDs
Pros: Nothing that would make up for ruining one of my SSDs.
Cons: I'm out one 256GB SSD.
Other Thoughts: I installed two 256GB SSDs in it and tried the Normal mode. No problems, I was able to read/write from/to both drives.

Switched over to RAID0, reformatted, tried to copy a file to it, got partway into the copy and it froze up. Upon disconnection I removed the two 256GB SSDs and found that now only one could be recognized. Tried them in several other PCs and confirmed that only one of the two SSDs still works. The other is a brick.

Needless to say I will be requesting a refund, *and* never buying another CineRAID product.
Reviewed By:bobkart,10/1/2014 4:59:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Promise Tech. > PROMISE Pegasus PR401US 4TB (4x1TB) 7200RPM SATA RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, 10 with 2 x Thunderbolt 10Gb/s port 4-Bay RAID Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: This thing is fast.
it is small.
no noise or spin up vibration what so ever.
cool flashing blue LED's.
Easy to set up and use
Price
Cons: 18 hours sync time.
Other Thoughts: Purchased to house my media library of HD video, music and pics. This thing is flawless and I love it. Superfast, i imported 1,000's of pics into iphoto in under a minute. I am considering buying another to run them in array. At the current price you can buy 2 and have 8 raid bays with 8TB, Compare that against Areca, (8 bays with no drives) Lacie (software raid only 5 bays) or caldigit (software raid and only 3 bays) and you will see why buying this is the right choice or even buying 2.
I am using this with a macbook pro 2013 with Retina 16GB Ram and I get over 650MB's write and 450MB/s read.
Reviewed By:jrendon,9/30/2014 11:24:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Promise Tech. > PROMISE VTrak A3800fDM 24 x 3.5" Drive Bays Dual Controller Turnkey SAN Filesystem Solution

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 I cannot recommend this product enough
Pros: It's very big, which makes it good.
Cons: ONLY Complaint i have with this is the amount of RAM i had to download to make it work, but i was in luck and found this site that allowed me to download as much as i wanted FOR FREE! How great wasn't that?
Other Thoughts: The rack was kind of too big, so a family of owls settled in it. I dont mind, but their echolocation capabilities are screwing with the magnets in the Hard rives
Reviewed By:Snoop,9/28/2014 10:57:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau