Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR4M+B (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bought 2, both died
Pros: Cheap. No tools needed. 4 pin molex connectors on backplane.
Cons: I got some use out of these before the internal PSU failed on both. I found that the backplane used 2 4 pin molex power connectors for power. After gutting the cases of existing power supplies, I was ready to fix them once and for all. All it took was a $4.99 ATX PSU terminator, a spare ATX PSU, and 2 4pin Y connectors. The PSU may be external now but it is going to be far more reliable than the one that Sans-Digital provides.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/28/2014 8:20:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Watch out for power outages
Pros: Allows you to easily connect 4 sata drives to your system via eSATA
Cons: Power supply is horrible, it blew out on one of my units after a few months of use. Won't power on at all and non serviceable fuse so it's a throw away at this point.
Reviewed By:Barnacules,10/27/2014 8:10:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 big dissapointment
Pros: good price
Cons: The USB connection drops immediately after power up, rendering the device useless. I tried another new USB 3.0 cable and different ports on my PC. Also tried USB 2.0 cable with same results. When the drives spin up on power up, the USB light comes on for about two seconds. Then it goes out and both drives shut down and their corresponding drive indicator lights go off. This could indicate more than one problem. I also tried two other new drives to see if it they could be the issue, but same result. Very unfortunate as the form factor and price are great for my needs.
Reviewed By:Kevin in Escondido,10/27/2014 2:10:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DISMAL exerience... :-(
Pros: Solid aluminum construction; looks nice; plenty of indicator lights; nice features; fast access; both USB 3.0 *and* eSata connectivity options; easy drive access; fairly quiet. LOVE these! --EXCEPT for the very serious cons, which totally blew it for me.
Cons: I bought two of these units, and with 3 year extended warranties. Being a software engineer for two decades, I have accumulated quite a lot of files and needed a RAID-1 box to make me feel that my files were safe, while having a second as a RAID-0 box to give me fast access for regular system backups. I REALLY wanted these to work!

However, after spending 12 hours copying, then another 2 hours organizing files to the first unit, using a RAID-1 configuration with two new 3TB HGST Deskstar NAS drives, that unit failed, leaving me with a RAW, unformatted partition. Although I should have returned it right then and there, I gave it a second chance. It failed a second time after about 16 hours. I contacted Mediasonic, who said they'd only seen this with a bad USB cable (I was using the new USB cable that came with the unit). I told them that I had already lost a couple of days time when I was supposed to be developing software, and that I couldn't afford more days of testing (nor did I want to put the additional wear and tear on the drives; whether it was the USB cable or the box or something else, *something* was defective, and I figured it should be their burden, not mine, to figure out what that was). So instead, I requested an RMA for the first unit, then set the drives up on the second unit that I'd bought, but this time divided the drive into two partitions (two drives are seen as a single Drive in RAID-1 (mirrored)) configuration; but that space can be divided into partitions). A whole day later, everything was still good. Then days later, then a week later, it was *still* good! I was THRILLED! Maybe I'd really just gotten a bad unit. But, one day later (8th day) the partitions suddenly became inaccessible. When I checked them with Windows 8.1's Disk Manager, the partitions showed up as RAW, unformatted partitions with no data. Not only did I once again lose all the work I'd done copying files from older, slower drives, but I also lost a week's worth of additional organizion and system backups.

With the second unit, I used *its* USB cable and power supply, so the only thing in common between the two were my HGST Desktar NAS drives. Even if one of those failed, the unit is supposed to recognize that and mark it as a bad drive. A problem with one of the drives should NEVER cause this result with a RAID-I box.

I'm afraid I have no other choice, now, than to request a refund on both units.
Other Thoughts: Mediasonic also said that there were no firmware updates for these, seeing as this model is relatively new. It would be interesting to see if other people end up experiencing the same problem with these units. I suppose there is a slight possibility that the error could be caused by a bad signal from my laptop and/or OS, but I very much doubt it. My laptop is a high quality, Dell Precision M6600 workstation class machine, running Windows 8.1 with all its latest updates, and in months of using it, I have had zero problems with all the other internal and external drives that have been used with the system.
Reviewed By:SoftwareDeveloper,10/26/2014 3:09:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for the WiiU
Pros: This works great with the WiiU system. I put two WD drives in it that I had sitting around and run it in RAID1. It is fast and quiet and auto power works great.
Cons: None found as of yet.
Other Thoughts: I have not tried it using USB3 or eSATA so I cannot comment on those but USB2 works wonderfully.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/25/2014 6:59:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL EliteSTOR ES316X6+B JBOD (RAID is supported by additional RAID card) 16 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays 6G SAS Expander, Mini-SAS / SFF-8088 x 1 3U 16 Bay 6G SAS/SATA to SAS JBOD with SAS Expander Rackmount

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Like A Champ
Pros: Easy setup. Three redundant power supplies, solid construction.
Cons: The rails. I had to manually modify them to make them fit my Middle Atlantic RDR-S6 (a custom rack). It worked out in the end, but was kind of a pain. I would have also been nice if they would provide a spare sled in case something goes wrong with one of th16.
Other Thoughts: It took me about a week to get this and the server setup, but it's been working like a champ ever since. The fan is very loud, but it's a raid case and it moves a ton of air for two fans. If you want quiet, you shouldn't be looking at something like this. This is something that goes in separate rooms. I would definitely buy this again if given a choice of competitors out there. It's worth every penny thus far and it's been a little over a year.
Reviewed By:Broseph,10/25/2014 2:00:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR8M-BP RAID 0, 1, 10, 5, 5+spare, Spanning and JBOD(via Bundled RR622 RAID Controller Card) 8 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA (via Port Multiplier) PCIe 2.0 x1 for RR622 RAID Controller 8 Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SANS DIGITAL Customer Service is AWFUL!
Pros: When it worked, it was outstanding.
Cons: Be wary of SANS DIGITAL products. They will work for a while, but then after the warranty is out, it will no longer work properly and SANS DIGITAL customer service is no where to be found. I bought this 8bay for JBOD and it worked great for a while but as soon as the warranty expired, it stopped working properly. When you power it on, the power light continuously flashes and the bottom 4 bays are detected. But as soon as you tried to use them they will disappear and it rescans the drives.
Other Thoughts: See Cons.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 3:32:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 At least the PSU hasn't died yet
Pros: Quiet. Raid works.
Cons: Slow. Maybe mine isn't working correctly.
Other Thoughts: Had this connected to an eSATA pcie adapter. Speed wasn't great. 50Mb/s. Replaced card with USB 3.0. Now getting a lousy 6 Mb/s. Tried to use switch to the internal eSATA port on my machine. When trying to access the device from that connection, the data is corrupt. Not sure how to make this thing faster.
Reviewed By:Bleedish,10/19/2014 2:30:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very poor
Pros: Rather cheap solution if compared to NAS devices and other JBODs.
Cons: Have had two of these already and both died right at two year mark. They use terrible power supplied and sell replacements for the cost of a brand new unit. I've lost faith in this brand, definitely not getting a third one.
Other Thoughts: You can usually tell the quality of device by how long the warranty is. If company knows or believes in the quality of their product they will give you better then 1-year warranty.
Reviewed By:SimonYel,10/13/2014 5:07:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Power supply died
Pros: Easy to use, easy to setup, lot of RAID options, no significant noise.
Cons: Power supply goes out easily when trying to move the unit
Other Thoughts: I have had two of these for the past 3 years. I have installed them at two different locations, one at home other at my office. They worked fine till they did.

One day last month I had to slightly shift the RAID enclosure, at home, as I had purchased a new desk. As I picked it up to turn the powerswitch in the back off It quit working. Power supply died.

Same exact thing happened in my office 2 weeks later.

I am not sure if the power-supply is sensitive to motion. In that case why we do-not have a power switch in the front.
Reviewed By:Acj,10/12/2014 9:54:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau