Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mixed Results with this unit and I am a long time SYBA owner.
Pros: 1.) Has the Newer Chipset
2.) Dual Docking Station
3.) LEDs for CLoning Progress
Cons: 1.) Takes a very long time for this device to show up in Windows.
2.) If we have 1 Hard Drive in this unit and then pop in a 2nd drive, it completely resets the computer.
3.) Hot Swappable Features have issues and does not always work
4.) All of the front progress lights for the Cloning feature are on all the time whichj makes no sense.
Other Thoughts: We own 3 of these in our shop and have the same issues with all 3. We previously owned a bunch of the SY-ENC50071 models which worked absolutely Great! We thought going to this newer version with the Newer chipset would be an Upgrade but it hasnt been. Too many issues so far. We hoped that doing a Firmware Update will solve the issues but the Firmware software does not even see the Docking Station. We still have to play with the Update and will try plugging it into different USB ports but so far the firmware Update Tool does not see the Docking Station even though Windows does.
Reviewed By:Robert R.,1/12/2017 9:34:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC25042 USB 3.0 USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" SATA Drive RAID Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup, Sturdy, RAID
Pros: - Easy to assemble
- Easy to setup RAID
- Good speeds
Cons: - A bit bulky, but not a big issue
- The enclosure to insert HDD is kinda tight length-wise, so the hard drive gets inserted kinda at an angle. no stopper to prevent it from sliding backwards, but otherwise, a snug fit
Other Thoughts: - Very happy with the enclosure. Easy to assemble/dissasemble. RAID works as expected. Would definitely recommend.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/9/2017 6:55:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Was good then turned into lightweight paperweight - bricked on Firmware upgrade
Pros: Worked OK. Easy to install drives
Cons: Would not stay powered on with 2 WD Blue 1TB drives. OK with WD Green or Green and Blue
Long pauses (2-4 seconds) every 5-10 seconds on large file copies.
Saw there was a V2 Firmware upgrade on SYBA website so downloaded that; made backup of current FW and updated FW.
Didn't solve delays so tried to reinstall old, saved, firmware - this failed. tried multiple times then update finally said passed but unit not functional.
Now have 75% light flashing (others on solid). Unit not recognized by Win7 OS. The SYBA has been 'bricked'.
SYBA website had Tech Support help form on website so I filled it in detailing all that happened. That was 7 days ago.
No response from SYBA. Bad/incomplete info on website as to firmware versions.
Other Thoughts: If it works OK and slight delays between copying blocks of large files do not bother you it's probably OK for you just do not try to update the firmware.
And it the constantly on clone lights (blue LED's for 25%, 50%, 75% & 100%) will not bother you (tape them over if it bothers you) then it will probably work for you.
For my brothers I'll be getting them the Sabrent with fan. That's 4 more units I will not be buying from SYBA mainly because of bad (as in not responsive) Customer Support (based on my 17 years as Senior Technical Support Engineer at MTS).
Reviewed By:harald n.,1/9/2017 4:04:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very nice piece of equipment
Pros: I got this because the price was right and I was in the market for a toaster-type docking station. I was pleasantly surprised by how substantial it is considering that the footprint is really small. it's very easy to set up and use and though I haven't used it a lot I've been very happy with the results - which were just what I was hoping for.
Cons: Not really a con, but I was surprised that it turns itself off automatically after a period of disuse. Anyone using this sporadically would need to keep this in mind. In that case you have to restart it from scratch, unless there is some instruction that I've missed.
Other Thoughts: I haven't tried it but it does have a copy function built-in that doesn't require connection to a computer. nice feature for cloning a hard drive.
Reviewed By:Robert H.,1/7/2017 7:17:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This is garbage
Pros: None
Cons: Ordered when it was $99.99. 3 days later it drops to 89.99 with a $40 mail in rebate. Interesting, are they trying to get rid of them?
Other Thoughts: Plugged to my computer with 4 HDDs in it. it kept shutting off for no reason, every 15 seconds. PLUS, Newegg advertises esata speeds up to 6 gigs using esata. the instructions that came with this garbage said a max of 5 gigs.
Reviewed By:shaun r.,1/7/2017 6:57:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Generally Poor
Pros: On Sale, Dual Drive, USB 3/3.1 Thought I would give it a try.
Cons: Takes too long for driver to load. Some times can not find driver. Other times drops driver and then reloads. Once overloaded the USB circuit so that it had to be reset.
I am going back to my always faithful 2.0 USB single drive unit.
Did look to see if Syba had a driver specific for this unit. Could not find one. Also checked to be sure my drivers were up to date on a New Asus Z170-A MB.
Reviewed By:William E.,1/4/2017 12:37:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4 Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Power supply failure after three years
Pros: Looks nice
Cons: Your power supply WILL fail
Other Thoughts: I bought this in December of 2013 because I needed an enclosure and this one looked nice and was hardware RAID. There were already a smattering of reviews complaining about power supply failure, but I didn't take them seriously and figured they just got unlucky. I am here writing this review (my first ever on Newegg!) because today this proved to be an incorrect assumption. Failure of the power supply in this unit is universal after about three years of usage; it blows my mind and angers me to no end that Sans Digital has the gall to reply with a canned response stating "Our engineers are currently looking into the issue" when this has been an issue with these units for several years, yet they continue to sell the same exact product with the same exact flaw. I have used power supplies that came with bargain-tier cases that lasted more than three times as long as this one, with many times more power cycles, so clearly cheap and reliable do not have to be mutually exclusive when referring to power supplies. A product made for data storage, which is a purpose that requires reliability and longevity, should not fail after three years (and in my case, only around 15 power cycles), especially when it costs nearly $200.

This unit looks nice and was reasonably fast with three drives in RAID 5 over USB 3.0, but seeing as reliability is the single most important aspect of data storage I would like to stress how little this ultimately matters.

Obviously I will never buy a Sans Digital product again, but I will be sure to let everyone who will listen know to avoid them too. This honestly needs to end in a class action lawsuit.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/30/2016 3:01:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50091 USB 3.0 Dual Bay SATA HDD Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good in theory
Pros: Attractive price; small footprint.
Cons: Would not power-on right out of the box. Pressing the power switch resulted in momentary illumination of front panel lights and once in a while the Windows a-USB-device-has-been-inserted tune, but no devices were ever found with disk management or file explorer. Same experience with another Win10 machine and a Win7 box. Lucky I also ordered a similar-featured ORICO docking station from Newegg which worked fine.
Other Thoughts: Reviews at another e-tailer (which has an interest in dirigibles and drones) indicate many users find frequent disconnects and generally flaky performance with this device.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We do apologize for the issues you have had with this docking station.

We believe there could be an issue with your AC adapter that came with it that could cause the drives to not appear due to inefficient power supplied.

For any further issues, please contact the support team using the email support@sybausa.com

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST JA 20170104

Reviewed By:Robert R.,12/30/2016 12:27:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR7-SU3S2 PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Looks good, performance is abysmal
Pros: Looks good, ridiculously easy to setup and use
Cons: I have (4) 6TB hard drives setup in RAID 5 connected via USB 3. Transferring data to it at about 1.3MB/s. Occasionally it'll transfer at about 30MB/s for a few minutes. Its going to take about 6 months to get my data on this thing... To do this review, I decided to go ahead and try to read from it as well (now that I have about 500GB of data on it). I'm reading from it at less than 300KB/s. I guess, you get what you pay for. I have other USB 3 hard drives connected that sustain steady 60-80MB/s read/write performance.
Other Thoughts: would absolutely not recommend this. i'm pretty disappointed with it.
Reviewed By:Dan H.,12/26/2016 6:31:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NUC Linux Ubuntu review (updated)
Pros: Its been a month and I am upating the review with more info on the hardware changes. The power cord has a right angle plug into the side leading to the back instead of coming straight out the side. The front has a very nice aluminum door that has a good magnet close point to keep the door closed. Using the USB3 port, the NUC5i3 was able to immediately see both drives. Turned the power option to amber and that worked perfect; it turns off/on with the NUC. APC 600Watt UPS shows almost no wattage required to power the unit (36 watts for the NUC and 24 watts for the enclosure with 2 WD RED 4TB drives even when writing to both drives at the same time.) The unit comes with a 60 watt switching power supply (Shanpu Power; PAS060123-H1). Build date on the enclosure was Aug-2016. Throughput performance was a surprise. Using nmon with 10-2GB files to copy, the results were
1 disk write: 145-155 MB/s
1 disk read: 120-150 MB/s
2 disk write: 230-300 MB/s
2 disk read: 230-285 MB/s
Just a note. If you go to the WD RED reviews, you will see that drive has a throughput of 150 MB/s, so these throughputs seem to be dependent on the drive. The surprise was the 2 disk read and writes we not dependent on the USB protocol or speed. This was tested using a m.2 SSD in the NUC so the max performance from the m.2 was not a limitation.
It handles the 2 low power WD RED (WD40EFRX) with no issues.
Finally, the price on this during black friday was insanely low (80). It is a steal for that price.
Comes with a esata-to-esata cable and a USB3 cable.
Cons: The bad part of the enclosure is the fan. Some say its loud and some do not. Lets just look at the spec. This is the same fan on all of the Mediasonic 4 bay units (RAID and JBOD). It is a
Young Lin DFC802012H
80x80x20; 2/3 pin with special connector to the motherboard
2.8 watts; 12VDC; 41.33bD[A]; 0.23Amps
3500RPM; 37.8CFM;
Held in place by 4-M2.5 27mm (actual length) screws.
Most average fans are around 25dB[A] and every 3dB, the noise doubles in loudness, so this fan is VERY loud. You can easily hear it 30 feet away in a noisy house. If you put Mediasonic on low or auto, it will run at a much slower speed and the noise drops to around 25dbA. I purchased a replacement fan for $9
Noctua NF-R8 redux 1800 80mm 1800 RPM 17.1 dBA 3-pin SSO 31CFM
The replacement fan it is a 80x80x25 instead of a 80x80x20. I bought M2.5 30mm screws and they came in at exactly 30mm. Since the original screws were 27mm, I could not have the cover fit. I recommend M2.5 35mm screws. Only place I found them was at Newegg's competition and in China. $5 and a slow boat ride across the Pacific, they arrived. After splitting the fan wires and connecting black-to-black and red-to-red, it worked great. I run the new fan at medium and it is barely noticeable. An interesting point ... the instructions actually say if the fan is too loud, try to re-seat the fan/cables or replace it with a quieter fan. The fan cable resides under the fan, so it is easy for the cable to get into the fan making a clicking noise. That is easily fixed by re-seating the cable.
The second bad thing about the enclosure is the air flow path. The only air holes are in the back of the enclosure, the heat from the drives in the front is not dissipated well. The nice door is the problem in that it does a good job of sealing the front of the unit. The HF2 has vents in the front bottom of the unit that are not present here. So, if you want to really use this unit, you will probably need to do some custom work on the door to add vent holes. The door is about 1/8" thick so it should hold whatever you need for a vent. (update) the door has an aluminum front with plastic behind. When I drill holes, the aluminum seems to chafe. Since I was adding a filter screen on top, it was covered. Dremel works well at cutting a square hole in the front.

Best info on mediasonic 4-bay fans is to search google with
yzrandome mediasonic fan replacement
Other Thoughts: For my Ubuntu OS 16.04, I was able to mount each disk using the following sequence of commands. I also have the USB set to not suspend (autosuspend=2).
sudo fdisk -l (showed all raw disks indicated enclosure is working)
sudo parted /dev/sdb (used to configure the partition when the disk is >2TB)
sudo mkfs -t ext4 /dev/sdb1 (used to format the disk)
sudo tune2fs -m 1 /dev/sdb1 (changes the amount of root reserved space from 5% to 1%)

Do that for each disk, and you have is all mounted and happy. I bought the WD RED 4TB disks that were rated at a max power of 20 watts and that concerned me since the unit can only support 60 watts total. Be careful in the drives you by; they assume you are buying low power disks such as the WD RED 4TB and not 7200rpm disks. Otherwise, you may fry your enclosure power supply. I have seen reviews that state they were unhappy that the P/S got extremely hot and fried itself.

It comes with an esata-to-esata cable, but I need a esata-to-sata that is arriving soon. With that cable, I check the WD RED spin down time and it was set to 300 seconds, but that is another review. I hope you enjoyed this review. Good Luck on your enclosure!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/26/2016 7:19:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.