Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Areca > areca ARC-5040-U3 RAID level 0, 1, 10, 1E, 3, 5, 6, Single Disk or JBOD 8 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA/USB3.0/Firewire800/iSCSI/AoE/USB2.0 Hi-Speed USB 3.0 eSATA Firewire 800 iSCSI RAID Sub-System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tested with 6TB Hitachi
Pros: Tested compatibility with HGST Deskstar NAS H3IKNAS600012872SN (0S03839) 6TB 7200 RPM SATA.
As a test, configured 2 drives as RAID 1.
Volume was mounted in Win2003 server.
Enclosure with 8 of this drives in RAID 6 configuration should work, expect very long verification time (few days).
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Andrei K,1/27/2015 6:59:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H212 RAID 0/1/JBOD/Normal USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" Bay Silent Hand Held RAID Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good idea but poor Design
Pros: Allows multiple disks to be used RAID.
Cons: Used with two 840 Pro SSDs RAID 0. Started copying files USB 3.0 at 250 MB/s but quickly slowed down to 35 MB/s. Might be good for smaller files but the sustained speeds of the RAID are not very impressive.
Reviewed By:Unhappy,1/27/2015 12:13:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Quality Power Supply
Pros: Good connection, fast USB 3.0 transfer
Cons: bad quality power supply I have bought 2 of these and both went out little over a year later after powering down and never turned back on. I have a computers that are way over 10yrs on the same power supply?
Other Thoughts: Contacted SansDigital for resolution still have not heard back from them but upon reviewing there website I did see they sell the power supply for $80
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 6:48:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid H8R2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 / 50 8 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 / eSATA 8-Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well for its intended purproses
Pros: 8 Bays
USB 3.0
esata
Raid 50
Cons: can't do non-raid functions
Raid 5 - can't use all 8 drives in one array.(7 drives and 1 parity). Can only do 3 drives and 1 parity, times 2.
Other Thoughts: I've have both the raid and non-raid version of this enclosure. This one works well if you know the limitations. First one is it doesn't do any non-functions. If you want the option to use individual drives this is not the box you want. It doesn't have the flexibility different type of arrays at the same time. I did like the raid 50 option, which is essentially two raid 5 arrays stripped. I actually ended up liking this option. If you use 8 drives you only get the capacity of 6 of them. Also it states up to 4 drives can fail and not loose data.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 2:08:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4-Bay SAS/SATA JBOD Compact Tower Enclosure w/ Mini-SAS (SFF-8088) x 1 TR4X+B (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sans Digital 4-Bay SAS/SATA JBOD Compact Tower Enclosure w/ Mini-SAS (SFF-8088) x 1 TR4X+B (Black)
Pros: This thing works great!

Using this with a used RAID card as an additional set of four drives in an Vmware esxi server.

Somehow I missed that is DOES come with a cable.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,1/25/2015 10:28:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Overall trash
Pros: For while it worked picked up nicely on Win7 pro, 4 WD Black Drives speed was a little slower then advertised but not a whole lot.
Cons: After about 1 year, different dives would just drop off and the whole box would need to be power cycled. then ports just stopped working even after trying with different HDs all together. Sans Digital support was basically useless after waiting 30+ minutes to speak with a person.
Other Thoughts: I bought 2 of these boxes within 6 months of each other... 1 is completely dead. the other 2 of the 4 bays work. Would not recommend this or would i purchase another one.
Reviewed By:Skyline94,1/23/2015 2:55:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2FW Raid 0 (Spanning) JBOD Raid 0 (Stripping) Raid 1 (Mirroring) Raid 3 (Stripped set with dedicated parity) Raid 5 (Striped set with distributed parity) Raid 10 (Mirroring + Striping) 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Storage Option
Pros: Easy to set up (see other thoughts), reliable, lots of RAID options.
Cons: Poor documentation, obscure brand.
Other Thoughts: This device has held up well for me for two years. The only support option is email or a rarely used forum, but I was able to get a response quickly within business hours via email and they were able to solve the only problem I had.

The device has a RAID change confirmation button on the back (hidden compartment) and this is not documented well. It must be used to set or change the RAID, which is nice so you don't accidentally break your array, but it isn't obvious how it's used initially.
Reviewed By:Rich,1/22/2015 7:32:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR5M+ (Silver)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Same Problems
Pros: Holds 5 drives
Fairly quiet
Worked great for a week
Cons: MegaRAID card is junk. Stable system with months of uptime now crashes daily accessing data on the array. Hoping customer service can fix my issues.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 5:24:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO DS-12D 12 3.5" Drive Bays 3 x SFF-8088 external connectors External 2U 12 Bay Hot-Swap 6G SAS / SATA III Rackmount RAID / JBOD Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK for the price
Pros: Windows Backup wants locally attached disks and our HP 1U servers came with SFF-8088 cards installed, so it's a good fit for three server. I have the older model that isn't that loud.
Cons: Low build quality. Won't come back on after power failure -- must push front panel button.
Other Thoughts: I really wish these had redundant power and a higher build quality. It APPEARS that you can replace the power supply with a standard PC power supply. I would pay an extra $100 for higher build quality and the ability to add a second power supply.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 10:11:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible
Pros: None
Cons: Very bad experience. Drives kept dropping out and freezing my system on both Windows and FreeBSD. I have eliminated my eSATA controller and cables as possible causes. Had to pay a hefty return shipping fee and when I got the unit back it had the same problem. Never again!
Other Thoughts: Would give zero rating if possible. Sent defective item for warranty replacement and got it back in the exact same state. Of course now the warranty has conveniently expired, so I am left with a useless piece of junk and they have my money.
Reviewed By:JustAnotherReviewer,1/19/2015 8:29:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.