Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Can't tell. Doesn't work.
Cons: We purchased this for data storage in our lab. We plugged in 4x4TB WD Enterprise drives in the bottom 4 slots. We installed the PCI-E card and then plugged the tower (both cables) into the card. When the tower started up. The PC Link 1 and 2 lights lit up in addition to the power light. The light for harrdrive 1 also lit up but the other lights remained off. The BIOS screen for the PCIE card never showed up, but Windows detected the card and successfully installed the driver. Beyond this point, nothing worked and the tower was never recognized. The bundled web interface does not detect any of the harddrives that we have slotted in.
Reviewed By:Jon,4/17/2014 3:28:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H252B Dual 3.5 Bay Quiet USB 3.0 RAID Enclosure (No Drives)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 stay away from this cheap device
Pros: cheap
Cons: have had trouble with keeping the raids online. they keep going to sleep. contacted mfg and have set every possible option and upgraded firmware/drivers/settings etc to no avail. will have to buy something else. Mfg says the unit migh be defective and they were to send me an rma paper but they never did.

Also found out that if one drive goes bad in mirror, there is no way to replace the one drive and get back to normal. you have to copy all your data to somewhere else and start over which is not very practical with large amount of data and you will spend days just on that.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2014 7:05:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor quality
Pros: - Cheap.
- Works as described until it inevitably breaks.
Cons: - Terrible build quality. My drives did not even sit level inside.
- I bought two and both failed within 6 months.
- Bright blue LED on fan, very tacky.
- Cheap power supply inside, will probably damage your drives.
- good luck getting your rebate from this company.
Other Thoughts: AVOID. If you need a cheap esata JBOD unit, get the mediasonic instead.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2014 12:54:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketStor 5212 2 3.5" Drive Bays Thunderbolt Dual-Bay Thunderbolt Storage Dock (Mac Pro Support and Windows PC Support)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible Customer Service
Pros: - fast thunderbolt speed
Cons: - broke after 2 weeks
- have been going back and forth with their RMA team for over a month just to get a gosh darn RMA!
- poor customer service, lack of communication in their company between departments
- expensive for poor quality product
Other Thoughts: Seriously High-Point....

I have been going back and forth with them since I mailed out the RMA request in early March. It is now Mid April and they are having me resend the same paperwork that I initially sent. I am tired of dealing with their ridiculous way of issuing RMA's (whole other story that involves making a customer profile, logging into their customer support which is only accessible through a secret link they provide, then you finally get to see their reply vs. just sending you an email).

Hopefully Newegg can issue me a refund at this point so I don't have to deal with these guys anymore.
Reviewed By:0^s1RuZ,4/15/2014 10:11:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketStor 5212 2 3.5" Drive Bays Thunderbolt Dual-Bay Thunderbolt Storage Dock (Mac Pro Support and Windows PC Support)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So much faster than USB – no contest!
Pros: This is a major step up from a USB 3 or 2 docking bay - if you have Thunderbolt, its well worth the cost. Currently, we are using this with a pair of MacBooks - great for moving large files between systems or unloading video (like our Blackmagic camera). Definitely recommended.
Cons: Matte and black or grey would have been nice options. Obviously not a big deal as it wasn't bought to make the office look pretty.
Other Thoughts: Unlike some I don't consider the lack of a second TB port a minus in this case. Why? Ever stop to think how much this thing would cost if it did? Its still affordable as is - but with 2 ports?

Use alcohol to clean the Thunderbolt cable connector if the RocketStor device is not detected.
Reviewed By:Thunderbolt,4/15/2014 7:46:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Runs for a while
Pros: When the power supply runs, it works as advertised.
Cons: As usual, a good product for a year. The power supply has failed after 1 year and 2 months. This coincides with their 1 year warranty. Another case of making a product just good enough to last through the warranty. Where has US integrity gone.
Other Thoughts: At least point us to a place to replace the power supply for reasonable dollars.
Reviewed By:Rick,4/13/2014 2:00:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H458 Hardware RAID 0, 1, 10, 3 and RAID 5, support 4 x 3.5" Hot Swappable Drive Bays USB 3.0 eSATA RAID SubSystem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working Great after 18 Months
Pros: I own two of these units. The first one purchased 18 months ago and the second unit purchased 12 months ago. The first unit is configured in RAID 5 with four 3TB drives (Seagate ST3000DM001) and has 6TB of data. The second unit is configured in JBOD with two 4TB drives (Seagate ST4000DM000) and one 1TB drive (Samsung HD103S) and has about the same amount of data stored on it. Both units have been up 24/7 since shortly after purchase. Both units are connected via USB3 with read speeds at about 140MB/s on Windows 8.1. Originally deployed on Windows 7 performance has improved after the upgrade to Windows 8. Under windows 7 could never get the USB3 interface to work properly. I experienced dropouts and slow read speeds on Windows 7 when using USB3 and I eventually gave up and fell back to eSATA. To be fair USB3 support in Windows 7 is not very good and was probably most of the problem. I have had no problems setting up the email notification using stunnel and my Gmail account.

The RAID software manager that comes with the unit is functional but very Chinese/Taiwanese in design/workflow and could be laid out better with a modern windows interface. One of the things you should set is the RAID standby timer to its max of 10922 minutes. Also in windows disable any power savings for the USB controllers.
Cons: The RAID software manager is not very intuitive. The RAID stand By timer will kick in so make sure you set it or you will have lag as it comes back up or you may loose it from your system altogether. Vendor should give this unit a little TLC and fix-up the software and firmware.
Other Thoughts: Its a good unit and has been reliable for me.
Reviewed By:Vortech,4/12/2014 1:24:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H212 RAID 0/1/JBOD/Normal USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" Bay Silent Hand Held RAID Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Product not as advertised!!
Pros: Nice looking drive, easy to configure hardware (case opens easily and hard drives *could* be easily installed)
Cons: Does not support SAS as it says in the specs here on NewEgg!!! The reason we bought this is because Newegg says it supports "SAS & SATA", but it does NOT support SAS. Also, it says on the first page of the manual "Requirements:...Drive type: SATA I or II". Where did they come up with thinking it supports SAS?
Other Thoughts: This looks like a great way to create an external RAID drive, but DON'T buy it because you think it supports SAS disks!!
Reviewed By:MARTY O.,4/11/2014 7:49:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 impressed
Pros: RAID built in, priced very competitively, works with my WD Red 2TB drives.

Been running 24x7 since I got it and it's still transferring well enough to get HD streaming through my WHS 2011 box, via USB 3.0.

Quiet convenience, easy to share.
Cons: Software sucks a little....needs more development.
Other Thoughts: Still not sure how it will hold up over the long term, but for the price, I'm happy so far.
Reviewed By:silvergoat,4/10/2014 4:25:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H252 Hardware RAID, Supports RAID 0, 1, JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 (Backwards Compatible to USB 2.0) 2-Bay RAID/JBOD Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Fans Fail
Pros: USB 3. Simple to setup.
Cons: The fan failed after a year. I might take a look to see if its replaceable.
Other Thoughts: Worked flawlessly for a year. Then fans failed. Unfourtunatly its out of warranty.
Reviewed By:mazman,4/10/2014 12:25:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau