Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Faulty Drive
Pros: Lots of storage
High speed
Cons: Drive failed on me after 3 days. It's pretty bothersome to have drives failing in this day and age. In fact, this is the first drive I've ever owned to fail without being mishandled.
Other Thoughts: Would have been awesome if it hadn't died on me. :(
Reviewed By:Koibu,9/30/2014 5:01:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love the Space for the price
Pros: Great for storing many MKV files and may other large files. I have 2 of these. One on my pc for a nice vast amount of storage and the other connected to my WDTV live HUB. The 1TB was already used up on my live player so another 3TB is definitely great.
Cons: Would like a dedicated power on/off button , so that it can rest when not needed.
Reviewed By:EmulatorX,9/30/2014 12:20:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive Pro 2TB USB 2.0 / eSATA 3.5" External Hard Drive GDP2000EU

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 High Failure Rate
Pros: eSATA, price
Cons: Ordered 10 of these for my engineering staff ~4 months ago and we already have 3 failures. I only received one replacement and it was so noisy I could not use it so it goes back. I just received a replacement for the noisy 1st replacement and it seems to be fine. This was an advance replacement I arranged so I suspect it is a new one.
Other Thoughts: I am very concerned that we will continue to have failures and lose data and while Fantom support has been somewhat responsive, it has not been overwhelming and they have not recognized any issue with the high failure rates.

My hope is that Fantom recognize this high failure rate and make some adjustments to help ease this pain. We can no longer rely on these for critical data storage and we have to pay for shipping on the RMA's.

Currently I am unable to open new tickets to request RMA's on the latest 2 drives that have failed and I am not sure what else to do. The new ticket form seems to be jacked up.
Reviewed By:BNDT12,9/30/2014 9:42:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive Pro 2TB USB 2.0 / eSATA 3.5" External Hard Drive GDP2000EU

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Multiple Failed Units
Pros: eSATA interface
Cons: We purchased 10 of these in May 2014 and so far we have 3 complete failures w/data loss. I have only received 1 replacement and the drive installed is so noisy that I have to have it replaced as well. I am very concerned with this failure rate and that it will continue!
Other Thoughts: Fantom Drives support is somewhat responsive but right now their new ticket form is broken so no new tickets can be opened. It has been disappointing that they have not indicated recognition of a prolific issue with these drives. Also, at this point their policy of the customer paying for return shipping is a major thorn in my side!

I have used Fantom drives in the past with no issues but this experience has been, looks to continue to be, a nightmare. I am not even sure what to do at this point. We have 10 of these units and my engineers use them for local backups of critical data but now we have no confidence in the reliability.

I have to believe this is bad batch of drives outsourced from another vendor but I need a solution NOW!
Reviewed By:BNDT12,9/30/2014 7:34:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't last a month
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Failed within a month. Lost all data. Have to deal with Seagate's warranty process.
Other Thoughts: I've had the internal version of this model (3TB) fail too. It's an okay drive if you have it backed up, but don't expect it to last very long.
Reviewed By:timothyp,9/29/2014 3:48:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Big storage drives
Pros: I got a pair of these to backup my media server during a reformat; they were fast enough for the task and did the job.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 9:36:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 6TB USB 3.0 3.5'' Desktop External Hard Drive WDBFJK0060HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It Just Works (and that's good)
Pros: Simple to use and configure. When I say that this product "just works" I mean that as a compliment.
I'm not using any of the bundled backup software, I'm choosing to use the built-in Windows 8.1 services for that.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/28/2014 4:29:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Slow
Pros: Great Price for a 4TB drive got it for 119 on sale with coupon code. Samsung brand with Seagate inside. Long warranty on it. Looks nice on my charcoal colored desk.
Cons: Really, really slow performance in compare to my Hitachi or Western Digital which are also 4TB and a 5900RPM drives. It seems almost like USB 2 but they are all properly connected to USB 3 ports with correct drivers on Z97 ASRock board. Get's hot (approx 52C-56C) when crating full backups of my systems.
Other Thoughts: Wished it has a fan in the case and would perform a bit better. I experienced no dropouts or any other issues others reported.
Reviewed By:Frank,9/27/2014 2:06:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Constant Overheating
Pros: Huge storage space
Very fast on USB 3.0
Inexpensive
Cons: This is the second of this model drive that I've owned. The first one had to be replaced via RMA after overheating when I tried to transfer data from smaller drives to it. After I was done, I ran HD Tune Pro which indicated the drive had failed with a maximum temperature of 60° C. The maximum temperature allowed is 55° C.
Being aware of the overheating tendency, I've been monitoring the temperature of the replacement drive continuously. After an hour of transfers, the drive reaches 51° C and remains there even when idle. I've had to resort to disconnecting the drive to allow it to cool down before using it again. Even if the drive doesn't fail, I'm sure that Samsung won't honor the warranty if the drive has overheated. Maybe this is the cause of the failures noted by other reviewers.
Other Thoughts: Because the drive inside the case is a Seagate, I'm sure there is the same problem with Seagate drives. Because my data is more important than price, speed or size of the drive, I should have bought a WD drive.
Reviewed By:Voyager62,9/27/2014 12:01:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Worth It, and Dies On 1st Use
Pros: 4 TB for a great price. Should have seen this as a red flag right away, instead, I thought, "Hey, I need this, my 2TB Hard Drive is coming down to its last 100GB so I should get this before I really run out of space!
Cons: 30 Day NewEgg Warranty, that's a very strict timeline. About to contact SeaGate, and already reading reviews that I'm more than likely going to get a refurbished item. Which doesn't matter to me, and makes sense, due to to how easy this drive dies on you. 2TB of family photos, videos, vacations, college graduations, etc. things that matter- gone. And this drive gives false hope. I used it right after the 30 day mark because college started for attaining my Master's Degree, and everyone knows the first month is very difficult to find any time for anything. So I finally take it out of the box, back up my files with ease, wipe out my PC, and then proceed to transfer files. About 20 minutes in (which should be a piece of cake for any drive), the blue light flashing (which indicates it's working), stays lit. This means the drive froze or came across a difficult file (whatever that bogus means) or my new phrase, "Thanks for trusting me with years of valuable and irreplaceable memories, now I'm going to bring you to your knees for being a seagate fan." I leave it waiting because I tried to safely remove the drive- cannot, it's still in use. I can't reset or hard reset because then I could risk damage to the drive (as with anything else storage related). So I wait, and 5 minutes in, the drive shuts off. It no longer is picked up. I connect it to another computer, it light immediately goes solid blue, not flashing (as it should be), and is not picked up. Wow. 25 minutes of use, and bam- dies on you. Thanks SeaGate, not only will you replace a brand-new item with a refurbished one, you're going to give me one that's broken before, will probably break within the half hour, and 140 bucks (how much I paid at the time 8-21-2014) down the drain PLUS another amount for a 2TB because you made me realize the world isn't ready for a stable 4TB drive so the replacement is going to sit there and collect dust. What a waste of money, a terror if you have valuable memories or files. Stay away from this one, EVEN if it is on special. Ask yourself if it is worth saving money to lose all your data. That's what I ask myself now whenever I see another massive size drive for a "great" price.
Other Thoughts: Never again will I buy a SeaGate drive. This is the best way to lose a customer- die within the first use, and give a short guarantee so you can keep the money, the customer/client can keep the headache and heartache of losing priceless data.
Reviewed By:Peter G.,9/26/2014 9:44:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau