Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC120XK3J1 Black -Retail

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed After a Year
Pros: The drive itself is well constructed. The adapter to the external power and USB is garbage. After my drive broke my instinct was to take it apart. The symptoms were it was not showing up in my disk management or being registered by my computer; though, the drive would turn on and spin when i connected the drive to my computer. After cracking the case there are some phillips screws you take a metal brace off and then you can slide a triangular piece of circuit board out from the normal SATA connector for a in-tower HDD. I put the drive into an adapter
(http://rosewill.com/products/1581/ProductDetail_Overview.htm)
and she fired up perfectly with all of my 1.8 TB of data.
Cons: Failed to work thanks to the SATA to USB adapter inside. Easy fix - read pros.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trouble for me.
Reviewed By:Heath M,5/27/2015 3:29:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBWLG0040HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lots of storage
Pros: Lots of space for the price point is great.
Cons: If you want to use this drive for windows backup as one reviewer stated you have to format the drive with Western Digital's formatting software.
Reviewed By:Tempest,5/26/2015 3:28:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT8000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Capacity is good to handle most of backup requirement,
Cons: However backup software only support windows version not server, also backup speed could not compare with NAS spees, that is the next selection.
Reviewed By:Tom,5/24/2015 5:21:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Possibly on my 2nd failure...
Pros: Honestly, I can't think about a pro when it looks like we're about to have our 2nd lemon...
Cons: Hard drive failed within 3 months, got a replacement that is starting to show the same issues. Device I/O errors, just not showing up in Windows, or files being inaccessible.
Other Thoughts: Really wish I had never bought it. Even if we can get the issues under control, it's hard to trust my data on a drive that has failed twice now...
Reviewed By:David Rosen,5/24/2015 2:33:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 3TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC3.0U3

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Affordable price. Looks nice.
Cons: After one week of nightly backups, the drive failed.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/24/2015 12:34:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard DriveSTSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 overall good deal
Pros: server 2012r2 recognized it with no driver/software installs needed. this was important as I was testing it to see if it could be used for the automatic pc backups Essentials does and remove those from the main drives where the users redirected items are stored and backed up multiple times a day.
have tested restoring a "dead" pc from a backup stored on it over network and seemed to work well.
I plan on deploying this at a location where the sever is a dell T110 II which only has 4 drive slots so the drive space used by the 8 client pc automatic backups was, until now, a concern.
so now the clients backed up to this for disaster recovery and their redirected files already handled by multiple backups on server itself.
Cons: the drive in it is somewhat slow however for my usage this is minor concern.
Other Thoughts: so far working well, can maintain client pc backups w/o utilizing space on the limited amount of drives the T110 II.
Reviewed By:dmacleo,5/23/2015 5:30:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Essential 320GB USB 2.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive WDBAAA3200ABK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing!
Pros: I've had this for five years now, it has been connected to many computers. I've dropped it many of times. It has operated vertically and horizontal. Also with me moving it around while copying files. Never has broken. Never had to call Tech Support. Hasn't slowed down over the years. Will not give up. Plus I have wiped it and partitioned it more than ten times. I had installed an OS on it too, wiped it than put another one on it. Nothing at all. This little Hard Drive is amazing and even if I get a new hard drive I'm not giving this one up.
Cons: -No USB 3.0 (Can't deduct points because USB 3.0 was just coming out when I got this. I get speeds around 33 MB/s.)
Other Thoughts: This is an older dive, although if you can get your hands on one and you are in need of some more space for files, not as fast as USB 3.0., and a very solid build quality. Get it!
Reviewed By:Macman825,5/23/2015 9:36:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good price. Adding to joeham's review.
Pros: - Good value; picked it up during a flash sale.
- Can write at a rate of 120~150MB/s when transferring media files. Naturally, much slower if you're transferring a ton of small files.
- Not too loud, though you will hear it; about as loud as a stock CPU heatsink running at the default RPM.
- If you so desire, you can take out the hard drive from the enclosure and use it as an internal drive. The included drive is a ST4000DM000 as far as I'm aware, so you save money.
Cons: - Comes partitioned as MBR and uses a special controller to make it compatible with Windows XP 32bit; meaning if you use the expansion drive as it is, when you take out the drive and plug it into SATA, the computer won't be able to recognize what's already on the drive. See 'Other thoughts'.
- None functionality wise so far; will update if the drive fails only within a few years.
Other Thoughts: Adding onto joeham's review down below (2 reviews before this), unlike the newest version of the expansion drives(STEB4000100) which comes partitioned as GPT to begin with (hence why the newest model doesn't work in Windows XP 32bit by default but you really shouldn't be using Windows XP anymore), the drive in this older model comes partitioned as MBR and uses a special controller to appear as 4TB for the sake of Windows XP 32bit's compatibility.

To explain things a little for those unaware, a hard drive formatted as MBR can only utilize up to 2.2TB of its space, regardless of its original size. A hard drive formatted as GPT, however, can use 4TB as a whole. The downside is that GPT is only supported in Windows XP 64bit and later versions of OS. Seagate decided to partitioned the drive as MBR and installed a special controller to appear as 4TB to make this product work with Windows XP 32bit by default. Because of this, if you transfer data to the expansion drive, and later decide to take out the hard drive and plug it into SATA for whatever reason (i.e. broken controller), you won't be able to retrieve any data because the computer can't see the whole 4TB if the drive is MBR.

I didn't know if the external drive will still work properly with the special controller if I convert the included hard drive to GPT. So, I called Seagate customer support to ask them and the rep said it's safe to do so, and people have done it before. I converted my drive inside my expansion drive to GPT with no problems and it seems to be working fine. Now that I've done this, if I take out the hard drive inside the enclosure and plug it into SATA, the computer should be able to recognize the data that's already on the hard drive.
Reviewed By:Andy,5/22/2015 3:29:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Caught fire
Pros: Could be used in an insurance scam as it is a mini arsonist
Cons: The asian power devices inc adapter WA-24E12FU Caught on fire today after four years of normal use.

Flammable
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 3:25:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Flawed, Slows to a crawl after copying for a little while.
Pros: Cheap, lots of space, USB 3
Cons: I returned the first one, this second one is still doing the same thing. I use this and others of the same model line (I have 3 of the 4TB versions) to offload completed projects. I'm a video editor. I'm trying to offload 3.4TB of media and set it copy last night. I watched it for about 20 minutes and it was copying at a good 130MB/sec average but when I got up it was down to around 30-40MB/sec. The first drive I had did the same thing. The other 4TB drives I have will copy all day long at 130MB/s
Other Thoughts: Something definitely wrong with this specific model (5TB).
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 9:18:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.