Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive
Pros: Great price, workis flawlessly, large capacity, and outstanding speed. Paired with my ASUS Sabretooth motherboard and using its USB 3.0 boost tools this thing is really fast. Moving from an SSD drive the transfer speeds are between 270MBS, and 140MBS depending on what size files were being transferred. I run Virtual machines using VMWare viewer off this drive with no performance problems. It is definitely faster than my 3GB Western Digital My Book, tested moving the same files.
Easy to install, just plug it in. I did not have any issues getting it to run at USB 3.0 speeds. I think people are having issues with their computers, or may not be using the cable supplied with the device. Some of the early USB 3.0 hardware and drivers can be real buggy. My old ASUS lap top has been a great machine, has USB 3.0, but never gave me the performance I see on my desktop, or my kids new lap tops. The first thing I would do make sure you are running the latest Mother Board drivers and firmware.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Sparky,1/28/2015 5:17:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great backup solution
Pros: Using this as a backup solution to my media server.
While I may need to upgrade in the future, this provides the space needed with a little bit of a zone for expansion to back up the entire server.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:JC,1/27/2015 1:00:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent Desk 1TB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive ST310005FDA2E1-RK Silver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Click of death!
Pros: I was able to use the hard drive on an external enclosure
Cons: After a few years the hard drive started to make a clicking noise
Reviewed By:OS X,1/27/2015 10:27:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just Quit
Pros: Pretty good space / price
Cons: NOT Ergonomic - Very sharp corners on housing - Why they use plastic instead of aluminum? Overheating?
Dies Unexpectedly - Just Did, er Died
Other Thoughts: Just got done loading all my media and it disappears. Haven't figured out how to send it back to Seagate but then I am still mourning. Newegg refused a return because I had it sitting in a drawer for a couple of months before I opened the package. Got two other Seagate drives with no problems so I wouldn't give up on them unless they don't handle this deal satisfactorily.
Reviewed By:theewizard,1/27/2015 6:51:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Value, Seagate Has a Customer For Life
Pros: Ordered this drive when it was on sale, significant savings from other retailers online and brick and mortar. The drive arrived quickly. Unfortunately the one I received was defective. I contacted Seagate whom were entirely professional and courteous. They shipped out a replacement quickly and I have been enjoying all 5 terabytes at incredible speeds since. I highly recommend this drive and Seagate as a company.

Thanks!
Cons: There are no cons, just a fantastic drive
Reviewed By:John-Paul,1/26/2015 9:12:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 2.5" Portable Hard Drive WDBACX0010BBK Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Won't Stay Mounted
Pros: Small (about the size of a deck of cards). USB-power, so no additional power is required. Good for back-ups. File transfers are fast. Works fine as a portable drive for travel.
Cons: It keeps dismouting and won't stay connected. Keep getting an error message saying the drive was improperly disconnected. This happens about once-a-day. I wanted to use this for my music and video library and keep it connected 24/7, but can't. I upgraded the firmware and contacted WD support, but it didn't help. It won't stay mounted, no matter what I tried.

And don't get me started about the cable. It's USB 3.0. so it introduces yet another USB connector to my drawer full of different types of USB cables. I hate this non-standard interface. Why can't we stick with one? USB-C is coming out soon. Finally it's reversible. I hope the insanity stops there.
Other Thoughts: I'll be returning this drive and buying a Seagate drive after I transfer my stuff.
Reviewed By:Drive Me Crazy,1/25/2015 10:29:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBWLG0040HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Drive
Pros: Works but using the WD formatting tool found on WD web site to back up windows 7
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Gave it 4 eggs because I had to do a little research to get the back up to work
Reviewed By:Bobby,1/25/2015 7:40:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 2TB USB 2.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive WDBAAU0020HBK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Right price
Pros: CHEAP i got 2 of them for $75 each that would be the biggest pro they are usb 2.0 i expected them to be a bit slow and they are just that however for my use that isnt a problem they are silent and run cooler then i expected and above all they were cheap i was sure to put the 2 year replacement warranty on them just in case for refurbs im happy with them excellent bang for the buck
Cons: they hang the computer for about 1 min or so when it starts im not sure if its the drives or the modified thin client NAS server they are on not a problem for me its never turned off except for updates and the occasional cleaning and takes them a few seconds to wake up from standby still not a problem
Other Thoughts: The 1 per customer 48 hour cool down on the purchase of the 2nd one was truly annoying i would say that was the biggest con for me
Reviewed By:guerryblackwell@yaho,1/25/2015 5:44:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA3000101 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Seagate Backup Plus 3TB Prone To Failure
Pros: When it was working, external hard drive was a bargain at $99.
Cons: I have had two Seagate 3TB external drives fail within two months. I bought both from Newegg in November 2012. The problems started when I changed computers, attaching them to a new Dell Windows 7 desktop some two months ago. Maybe the movement was too much but now both hard drives are busted. Using Active@File Recovery software, I managed to transfer most of the data to Seagate 2TB slim USB powered external hard drives. Hopefully these new drives don't conk out after just over two years. I will never buy a Seagate with an odd number of platters again. The new Seagate 2TB slim drives are apparently Samsungs.
Other Thoughts: Nothing lasts forever.
Reviewed By:Gerry,1/24/2015 10:56:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only good for filesystem -- not streaming
Pros: 5TB in one unit. Should be enough for all my media.
Cons: Does not work with Windows Media Center for TS_VIDEO or any video streaming. Also does not work as a Server backup. Drive tests fine and works with regular NTFS filesystem via Windows Explorer or CMD prompt (XCOPY, ROBOCOPY).
Other Thoughts: Others have reported problems writing large amounts of data. I did not have this problem. I loaded 3TB in one ROBOCOPY session and then byte verified everything with BeyondCompare.
Reviewed By:Barry,1/24/2015 6:01:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.