Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Okay storage
Pros: Lots of space of course!
Great price when I bought it
When I first recieved it and hooked up to my Asus 99fx pro MB the usb 3.0 transfer was slow. After checking the Asus site I found the problem there was a recent update for the usb driver. Transfer speed is dramatically faster now, as fast if not faster than some of my other regular sata drives.
Cons: Proprietary drive end connector, sorry I don't like those
Runs a bit warm at idle. It runs in tolerance for a hard drive (has been increased throughout industry) but I am in the cooler is better club and it definitely factors into the lifespan of a drive, the case really should be better designed for better air circulation.
Writing small chunks of data can be on the slow side for many drives, but seems even slower for this one. I use for photo and video storage primarily and photo transfer can be slow the files are usually around 25mb in size. Large video files go Much faster.
Slow transfer of small chunks is not unique by any means to this drive and It's not a huge issue (for me anyway), just something to be aware of.
Other Thoughts: I don't know all the specifics on how data is stored on this but it is really designed just for storage, not for a main boot drive etc.
That is why this particular drive is used as external storage drive.
My main reason for buying this was the price, it was cheaper than a regular sata drive but with the added benefit of usb 3.0 interface that I can easily use with any drive.
Also I have always had good luck with Seagate drives, have a couple over 10 years old that still run fine.
I removed it from the case easily without destroying and put it in the bottom of my ATX Tower, since I really did just want it for permanent storage a non issue for me. It went from running idle in the low to mid 40c range to running in the low 30c range, even with heavy use stays cool. Maybe for some that defeats the purpose of an external drive (and of course voids that lovely 1 year warranty) but I can easily put it back in the case if I need to move it, or even hook it up to another computer easily enough with just the cable.
Cheaper than buying an interface card.
So overall a good drive I would have no problem recommending. And as with all my other Seagate drives I am sure it will develop no problems.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/13/2017 11:07:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT5000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Drive failed without much use.
Pros: None.
Cons: ***Update 2017*** The drive did work for some time sitting on my desk and I hoped it was just a fluke that it had a problem right after I got it. After all that, it has finally failed. I cannot access the files and can't even run a CHKDSK on it. Screw this.

It failed today. I cannot get it to connect through USB. Shows up in device manager but can't access any of the drive data or volume info. Very frustrating since now it's just a brick that cost $160. I usually considered Seagate a good company, but this drive sucks.
Stick with smaller drives I guess.
Reviewed By:Michael K.,1/12/2017 8:54:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Xbox One storage.
Pros: Good price
Lots of storage
Smaller than I thought
Cons: Makes a very little bit of noise
Other Thoughts: Obviously, it's a mechanical drive. So it's not as fast as a solid state drive, but it's quick enough to use as an add-on drive for my Xbox One.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/11/2017 9:02:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very erratic and get VERY Hot in its case. 8TB review
Pros: $$/GB
Cons: Noisy, bad case design leading to heat death, Slow and errtic read/write speed
Other Thoughts: Ok so the reason everyone lokks at these are that the $$/GB is the best for these drives. I have used the older designed expansion cases of 5TB and they were MUCH better. The new case itself is just plastic with holes on TWO sides (older case had a aluminium sheet around the drive which acted a heat sink with holes at bottom as well which worked great to keep them cool). When copying 3.5TB the drive died due to heat which was above 50C (I placed in a zip lock bag and put it in Freezer and it revived). Even when working I was getting randomn speed spikes after 2-3 minutes of copying which is very odd. I had two drives and both showed the same symptom.
I finally copied 3.5TB to one drive but it just died with a week. In panic, I opened it up (void warranty but I needed my data back as I had deleted my old drive data) and placed it into Freezer again and it started up again and managed to recover in 2 days! slow copying speed for reading but it was the erratic at best. I am now using one as a internal drive (only fot backup after 1 week) and one as a backup to a NAS (in case but with a small fan on it when I was making the first backup as this heats up fast).

Please spend some money and buy a good NAS or Desktop drive . This Archive drives were good before (my 5TB one is still going awesome) but the 8TB one is just a bad drive which will kill your data and with 8TB it will make you be sorry for trying to save $40.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2017 6:39:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent unit! Fast, quiet and (so far) reliable!
Pros: --Well-built, has a good 'heft' to it.

--Incredibly quiet! I had to plaster the thing to my ear to hear the drive running at all.

--Easy to use, but don't bother with the built-in software. Just plug it in and use it!
Cons: --The software provided was not useful, at least to me. It seemed 'overly simplified' for a power user or pro tech.

--Rubber anti-skid feet are too small. I don't think they're going to last more than a year or so.
Other Thoughts: I bought this unit so I could back up the entirety of our old NAS (about 3.5TB worth) and transfer it to a new one (see my other review for the Synology RS-816). Other than the minor annoyances listed in the 'Cons,' no complaints. I've been leery of Seagate product in times past, but they certainly seem to have gotten this unit right.
Reviewed By:Bruce L.,1/8/2017 12:48:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA4000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Drive interface seems cheap & failed
Pros: - worked ok for ~2 yrs
Cons: - sudden failure of the USB interface component.

Drive still spins up and works sporadically sometimes, but computers can no longer consistently see it or send data over USB. I figure it's because of the cheap USB controller on these things.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2017 12:26:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA - Damaged in Shipping
Pros: - None
- Nope
- It makes for a nice paperweight
Cons: - This product could be improved by working
Other Thoughts: - Contacted Support, awaiting a resolution.
- Can't back up my parent's computer before I return to college.
Reviewed By:Cameron J.,1/6/2017 4:41:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Element 1TB 3.5" Black External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better late than never
Pros: - Lasted 9 years without fail. Well, until it finally died.
- Extremely quiet and compact for its category.
- Great price for 1TB of storage. Well, in 2008 it was a great price.
Cons: - It didn't last 9 years.
Reviewed By:Robert P.,1/5/2017 3:50:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0080HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WD Red in a sleek, black enclosure - solid performer without the side-effects of SMR (shingled magnetic recording)
Pros: - Helium filled hard drive allows for greater capacity using proven PMR recording
- From pictures on the Internet, the drive is essentially a WD Red 8TB hard drive (proven performers) with a black sticker
- Honors sleep command from host system to power down the drive when not in use; recovers in about four seconds
- Transfers well over 200MB/s via its USB 3.0 controller (I suspect it supports UASP natively)
- Quiet operation - it's not going to "scratch" your ear to death
Cons: - All plastic design does not do well for thermal dissipation (though adequate venting on top allows the drive to breathe)
- Vibrations. This drive will vibrate its external case like crazy while running - this is where I docked it a star - but it is noticeable compared with my smaller capacity 3.5" external drives (3TB or less)
- Like most external drives, the power supply is a brick-style so it will take up some room on your power strip if shared with other bricks
Other Thoughts: I purchased this drive to attach to a Mac Mini via USB 3.0 cable to be the main media drive (music, videos, etc.) Upon exhaustive research of different alternatives, I settled on the WD drive versus the much cheaper 8TB Seagate because the recording technologies differ greatly. The WD drive can handle long, sustained writes without issue while the SMR based 8TB Seagate external must realign heads on a periodic basis due to the way data is written with the technology. In an effort to extend the longevity of the drive, I purchased a cheap, USB-powered fan that circulates cool air and helps rid of the exhausted heat from the drive. So far, it has been cool running at around 85F-100F depending on idle versus actual use.

8TB drives are not exactly in the $/GB sweet spot, but when capacity is important, this drive will certainly perform its task. Despite the vibration (which I just attribute to the large number of spinning platters in the 3.5" form factor), it has behaved quite well in its role, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.
Reviewed By:Michael Y.,1/4/2017 12:42:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only four months into using it and it's dead
Pros: Lots of storage, quiet.
Cons: Dead after four months. I sent it back after getting an RMA but I was told they don't have any replacements in stock, but they will let me know when they do.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you get the extended warranty with it if you do buy it.
Reviewed By:Daniel U.,1/3/2017 1:49:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.