Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Loud buzzing from power supply, poor Seagate Support
Pros: What's not to like about 5TB of space?
Cons: The power adapter started making a loud buzzing sound about 2 weeks after I bought it. I called Seagate for warranty support and I was given 2 options
1) Send the entire package, drive and power adapter in for warranty replacement.
2) Buy a new power adapter with my own money from a 3rd party, as they don't make the power adapter available seperately.

What?
Other Thoughts: I've been defending Seagate recently in all of the social media threads trashing them, as I'd never had a problem with their products. That won't be happening any longer. It's not worth my time to wipe 5TB of data from this drive, ship it back (on my dime) wait who knows how many weeks to get a new one back, then have to copy back my 5TB of data.

It's cheaper and less hassle to suck it up and spend my own money on a new adapter, which will probably be cheaper than shipping the entire hard drive back anyways!

Seagate: I've been buying your drives since I bought my first computer in 1987, you just lost a 28 year customer!
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 8:25:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 2TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0020HBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Ok...
Pros: 2 TB of data space....fast with USB3...password enabled on installed computer AND with others...did general WD backup of 2GBs data in 20 minutes...great for those with many large files...
Cons: Don't really like and might not use the installed backup software...could be very useful for someone working on large important fies...but since use is dependent on use of propietary software...backup files are not visible unless WD software is installed...and then only if files are copied back elsewhere. Issues might arise with a HD or Windows failure? No point to doing an elaborate backup if you can't utilize it reliably when needed? Though there is an "upgrade" to use with 2 other computers I think. If you are tech savy...go with it?
Other Thoughts: Compared to my old laptop and when doing mirror copies of most important files...this drive copied the same data in 1.5 mins vs about 20 mins with the old Vista laptop USB2. Since copying is so fast I have little interest in compression.

Mirrored backup files were visible from the old USB2 laptop once PW was entered.

Went with this backup drive due to expected reliability and 2 TB data space...plus password.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 7:06:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > ioSafe > ioSafe SOLO G3 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive with Fireproof / Waterproof, 1 year DATA Recovery SVC SK2TB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love ioSafe!
Pros: I run an IT company that supports several clients of various industries and we use these backup drives all the time for our customers. We've installed probably over 15 of these devices, both the G2 and G3 models. Whether we're using them as workstation backups, NAS backups, or even Windows Server backup destinations, they work great!! I would highly recommend these to anyone that doesn't want to fool with the hassle of offsite backups. I'm not a fan of offsite backups, and these provide the peace of mind that those costly offsite backups offer, and all of your data is stored locally so there are no worries of data integrity. Great product! A+++
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Also includes a 1-year data recovery service in the price. Once you register the product, they offer a 1-year recovery service where you can send in the drive to the manufacturer and they will extract the platters and retrieve your data. Included with purchase!! Can't beat that!
Reviewed By:G&S Computing,2/26/2015 10:23:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard DriveSTSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 samsung d3 5tb hdd
Pros: works superb transfers data rather normal, considering my pc only has usb 2.0.....
Cons: not applicable at this time
Other Thoughts: Price is rather nice especially , if you compare to the price of a the seagate wireless plus 2tb drive whicn was 199.99
Reviewed By:sshawnt1114,2/26/2015 9:58:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBWLG0040HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not compatible with Win7 Media Player
Pros: Good price, USB 3, large storage disk capacity. The write speed is good, but a lot really depends on the entire system.
Cons: When playing a movie video from a DVD folder with Windows Media Player (Win7), I can't forward or skip to the next chapter. Widows Media Player would just stop responding completely. I tried it with another media player like VLC and it worked just fine. You only get 3.63GB of hard drive, where's the rest? Minus 1 Egg.
Other Thoughts: I am wondering if everyone has the same problem with Windows Media player when using this hard drive. It could be a Windows driver issue and it needs a patch to fix it.
Reviewed By:RGQ,2/26/2015 1:06:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great capacity for price. Faulty power supply
Pros: Nice capacity
Cons: Fully power supply will make the drive unrecognizable. Second drive I'm on turns out to be the power supply. I still had my old power supply and the new drive wasn't working. Plugged in the new power supply and it worked fine. Waiting to see how lung this power supply works till it fails again.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 9:08:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT4000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great For Xbox One Addition Storage
Pros: Good amount of Storage for the Price. Easy setup out of the box. Has it's own Power Supply. Very Quite while running.
Cons: I wish it had a better case with better cooling.
Other Thoughts: I bought this for my Xbox One due to 500GB internal HDD not being enough to hold all my games. I was sitting at 99.4% used with only 9 retail titles with DLC and 15 Arcade games. This has been a great item with no complaints so far.
Reviewed By:Shuckey,2/25/2015 6:41:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0030HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for the cost
Pros: Even though it's a refurb, it serves the purpose needed, which is to provide a storage medium for our security cameras. 3Tbs is be more than sufficient and gives me close to 6 months of footage just in case.
Cons: Refurbished
Reviewed By:Jason,2/24/2015 10:18:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 1.5TB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive STAC1500100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No complaints
Pros: It worked without a problem. Easily connected to my old XP system (from which I wanted to offload a bunch of files) as well as to the Windows 7 system.
Cons: Speeds could be a little greater
Other Thoughts: Given the price, at the time I purchased it, I can't complain. It wasn't as fast as other drives, but I didn't run a benchmark so I can't say exactly how much so. For the price, I have no complaints.
Reviewed By:StarMan,2/24/2015 12:03:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Stylish minimalistic design, working fast... if working.
Work with Mac. Utility "NTFS for Mac OS X" is free for seagate usb hdd (from seagate site)
Cons: PC lost connection with drive during copy large files (movies, photos etc) every 5 minutes. After 1 day of use power supply start buzzing.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 7:48:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.