Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed right out of the box
Pros: I bought this from NewEgg's auction store. It was a GREAT for this 4TB unit. NewEgg's fast shipping and handling has always been superb.
Cons: Where to begin. 1) The outer casing was a very flimsy either plastic or rubber not sure of the material it was made from. After getting it connected up to my computer, my computer started having issues with this thing. On the initial power up my pc did see it. But, when I started trying to pull the software and instruction manual off to my local C: my pc kept going into a not responding state where I would have to force a shut down. I then tried copy files from my 1TB drive to this unit and the samething. Not responding and a hard power down.
Other Thoughts: I am not putting the blame on NewEgg with this issue. And I don't know were to put the blame. I have had Samsung products and Seagate products and never had issues with any of them. I am seeing a lot of other posts throughout the internet where this units are dying within a 6 month time.
Reviewed By:George W.,7/25/2016 3:52:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT5000100 (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works for me
Pros: -Spins up faster than previous external drives
Cons: -Spins down sooner than previous external drives
Other Thoughts: I've used one these as a media drive heavily for the past year with no problems. I have two of these drives and never used the included software, they haven't given me any problems. I'm not that well versed in transfer speeds or average file size optimization mentioned in other reviews.
Reviewed By:David M.,7/25/2016 8:41:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 1.5TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive WDBU6Y0015BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice product
Pros: - Heavy duty cable, looks very durable
- Small profile and footprint
Cons: None that I've found
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend
Reviewed By:R H.,7/24/2016 11:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Maxtor > Maxtor 4TB D3 Station Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 STSHX-D401TDBM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4 TB D3 Ext Hard Drive USB 3.0
Pros: Comes with other software to help keep stuff safe.
Back ups are a breeze compared w/my past experiences.
Cons: Cord to short!
Other Thoughts: When your pc goes through changes this drive stays the same with all your data safe, so to speak.
Always evaluate your saving procedures from time to time, make a few tests, till you learn how to us this monster.
Reviewed By:William M.,7/24/2016 7:21:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 16TB My Book Duo Desktop RAID External Hard Drive USB 3.0 - WDBLWE0160JCH-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works but .....
Pros: Works
Cons: WD My Book Duo 16TB
Purchased 4 of these from 2 different distributors.
So far they work OK but generate lots of heat (witch is normal).
You can use a timer to minimize the heat, if you can afford about 30 seconds wake up of these drives.
They work fast under Win 10.but because of poor heat dissipation I was not impressed with these new drives.
Because of that I decided to use all 8 of the internal WD Red 8TB drives in my Synology DS1815+ NAS.
All drives worked but the performance is terrible.
Mechanically all of them are noisy, very poorly balanced, works like my old washer and dryer set (well almost).
Using four screws in screw less drive holders did not helped much.
The write performance is poor.
During file writing, drives makes a lots of noise, starting at about 100MB/s than the transfer speed falls to about a zero MB/s for a few seconds and than keep working again with some of these “hiccups”.
They all works, but the performance of my old WD RED 4TB drives is much, much better (quite, well balanced, now such problems during file writing).
I made significant investment and I am very disappointed with this new WD product.
Other Thoughts: Disappointed
Reviewed By:Konstanty B.,7/22/2016 10:09:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 a-ok product, it doesn't need to do much, it's a storage drive.
Pros: USB 3.0 - small footprint - $27 per TB - it has an 'activity' light - i like 3.5" drives for reliability - comes with a 24" cable, plenty for my desktop. - quiet as a mouse - free shipping
Cons: would be nice to have a fan, but not a deal breaker and doesn't change my opinion. it's actually 3.63TB, not really a con, but it should be noted as a 3.6TB drive instead of 4TB, not a deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: i've only had this about a week, but it does what it needs to do with no hiccups. i replaced 2 smaller drives and after moving 220GB of ALAC files, another 240GB of pics, vids and documents, plus what i've accumulated on my new 1TB desktop computer i still have 3TB for the future. it did get warm in those 3.5hrs of use...i wouldn't call it hot though, there is adequate ventilation. i doubt i will have it on and laboring for 3 or 4hr stretches again. i would recommend it to anyone needing a simple, reliable storage drive.
Reviewed By:John R.,7/19/2016 7:58:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Maxtor > Maxtor 4TB D3 Station Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 STSHX-D401TDBM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected
Pros: 3 year warranty
Runs cool
Cons: Not using bundled software
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 12:13:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Maxtor > Maxtor 4TB D3 Station Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 STSHX-D401TDBM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 working fine for me
Pros: It works smoothly with windows 10.
I like the driver manager that comes with it.
It came with several outlet adapters for whatever country you may use it in.
Cons: Would be nice if it had a on/off switch on it.
Other Thoughts: I don't use it heavily. I occasionally backup a few files from time to time.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 9:31:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Desktop Storage WDBWLG0030HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just Say No
Pros: None
Cons: Unreliable product.
Other Thoughts: Failed after 24 hours. Loaded it up with my movie collection.
Shut it down for the night. Next morning booted up computer.
Drive wasn't recognized. 30 seconds later smoke started rolling out of the drive.
This is the second My Book drive that's failed for me in the last three years.
When these drives work, they work fine. If they work.
But they don't seem to work out of the box. For me anyway.
I'm done with Western Digital. Going to buy from another HD manufacturer.
Reviewed By:PATRICK M.,7/17/2016 9:23:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0080HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 the SLOWEST write speeds I ever have seen in a modern HDD
Pros: Huge amount of storage capacity at a reasonable price
Cons: My write speeds connected through USB3 and Windows 10 are never faster than 25 MB per second. I have never seen any HDD this slow. The platter speed must be 1200 rpm. That being said, if you are VERY patient, it gets the job done. Like a 1948 Buick in a world of Ferraris.
Other Thoughts: Though I buy many things from Newegg, this particular drive was bought at a competitor because I needed it immediately. I would NOT buy it again. Write speeds this slow are inexcusable.
Reviewed By:rick c.,7/16/2016 5:52:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.