Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super Fast HDD
Pros: Super capacity, really quiet xferts up to 96mb/s with a $10.00 usb 3.0 pci card from china on my i7 windows 7 p.c.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Michel M.,2/10/2016 7:27:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 2TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0020HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Read the EULA before you use, or buy...
Pros: You may be able to format the drive, thus erasing the install-ware ("smartware") WD includes on the physical drive instead of an install disk. This may allow you to use the product as a simple external drive, that you could then use however you wish.
Cons: IF you want to use the software WD includes on the drive, you must agree to WD's EULA. The EULA for the software, including the backup software, stipulates that WD has the right to collect every bit of info you back-up to their drive, including credit card numbers, phone numbers, addresses, etc. In the privacy policy part of the EULA, WD gives several reasons as to why and how your personal info will be used, as I recall, the last line reads:that you must agree that your info can "be used however the company deems appropriate". Because of this, I decided to RMA the product.
Other Thoughts: Be aware also, that unless you format the drive and get the install-ware off of it (I decided against doing so) , your agreement to their EULA is necessary in order to even use the drive. Otherwise, it shows up as a disconnected device.

While it may have been possible to format the drive, erasing the install-ware, when it comes down to it there are better external drives available. This one has an enclosure made of plastic. You're better off with one that at least has a metal or aluminum enclosure, fwiw.
Reviewed By:George D.,2/8/2016 8:50:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000200 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: None
Cons: Hard drive had almost a year and a half of use on it and died on me in less than 2 hours. Save your money, Seagate is selling other peoples garbage as manufacturer refurbished.
Reviewed By:Darryl D.,2/7/2016 8:07:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bought for a friend
Pros: I ordered this for a friend who was wanting one for her son for Christmas for his Xbox One. I have not personally touched it myself, but from what she has told me it worked right from the start. Plugged it up, immediately did whatever it needed to do with the Xbox. No issues.
Cons: I have none as I haven't actually messed with it.
Other Thoughts: I reiterate, I have not personally messed with it, take my review with a grain of salt, even for me it is hear say although it sounds like it did exactly what it was supposed to do.
Reviewed By:Clinton S.,2/5/2016 8:40:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG G3 Station 2TB USB 2.0 External Hard Drive HX-DU020EC/AB2 w/ European Power Cord - Free US Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Did its job
Pros: Purchased in July 2012. 2TB for $90. Warranty was for 3-years.
Cons: Died today, February 2016 . . . $Mft errors . . . took all the data (1.3TB) with it.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this item. It did its job quietly and reliably. It surpassed its period of warranty by six months. I would strongly recommend moving data promptly onto a newer drive when the end of the warranty period is in sight.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/4/2016 8:07:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 6TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0060HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Did what its suppose to do
Pros: -Works
Cons: -You need to update the software to use it out of the box.
Reviewed By:Joseph R.,2/3/2016 7:29:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk - DO NOT BUY!
Pros: Perfect for losing all of your data.
Cons: Purchased 4/24/15, died 10/15/15. Drive just clicks when plugged into the computer, cannot access the data at all.

I've owned many LaCie and Western Digital external USB drives, never a problem with either brand. Seems like Seagate makes a junk product, which many of the reviews appear to back up. Guess I should have read the reviews in more detail, as looking back at them now, there do seem to be a number of fake positive reviews.

And Seagate 'support' is an absolute joke; try another cable, plug it in again, etc., just stock scripts with no real personal 'support'. Plus, although the drive is still under warranty, they make you ship the piece of junk back to them on your own dime. SHADY. Instead, I'm spending more of my own money to purchase a hard drive enclosure to try and salvage the data from this hunk of garbage.

I will never buy another Seagate product again, and heartily recommend that you do not either.
Other Thoughts: tl;dr - DO NOT BUY THIS DRIVE!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/3/2016 12:55:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Quality
Pros: None
Cons: After about 2 and a half years it just died. No warning. Just started making a clicking sound. Stay away from this model!!
Reviewed By:David B.,2/3/2016 4:45:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after only a few uses
Pros: It seemed fast for the few times I used it
Cons: Used probably less than 50times and then it died with no warning. Since it was post-warranty, I pulled the drive to see what the problem was, the drive itself was dead, not the enclosure.
Other Thoughts: This drive never left the office and was always either hooked up to the computer or stored on the shelf. Used less than 50 times, probably more like 20. Does anyone know if this drive is part of the class action suit against Seagate?
Reviewed By:Derek B.,2/2/2016 10:23:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT5000100 (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Poor manufacturing, bad connection resulting direly slow speeds
Pros: Tempted by huge amount of space at a great price
Cons: Flimsy manufacturing, poor workmanship, cheap housing materials.
Bad connection from drive to cable
Other Thoughts: I bought two 5TB drives - one works fine so far (transfers at an average of 150MB/s for large files), but the other one moves at a snail's pace (transfers at only 20MB/s to an astonishing slow 2MB/s.)

I could tell how poor the manufacturing of this product was when I plugged in the USB and power cables - you can feel (and even hear) hollow "clicks" as you plugged them in, which probably means bad contacts. I'm sorry to say that this is the first Seagate product that feels so cheap and flimsy, that I'm afraid to turn it on.

I have two other Seagate ext hard drives (4TB and 5TB) that have served me well, but were fairly well built and have never struck me as "cheap". This particular model, however, is beyond cheap. It's like they skipped the quality check portion of the manufacturing, which is odd because you're going to end up losing money with all the returns that are bound to happen.

After fiddling around a bit, I've concluded that the drive itself is fine, but the cable connection is loose or the cable itself is bad. I can shift the plug around just by touching it, so maybe something inside isn't bolted down.

It's such a letdown when a good brand starts cutting corners, resulting in inferior products.
Reviewed By:Young J.,2/2/2016 9:07:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.