Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 6TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 1 month review
Pros: It works. It is plugged into a Synology Rackstation RS812+ and being used for scheduled backups.
Cons: None at this point.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 6:04:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 3TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC3.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 In reply to John M.
Pros: Has been rock steady for me , despite the fact that I have it sitting on the floor next to my desk and have kicked it several times.
Cons: Their instructions can actually be confusing to new users . Anyone with any tech savvy will probably do as I did and just repartition it and reformat it from within Windows and dump the tools they provide.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure by what you mean "A Buffalo Drive inside" ... Buffalo doesn't actually manufacture hard drives. They make the external units . They use drives from Seagate , Western Digital , or Toshiba , depending on who gives them the best discounts for buying in bulk and also gives good performance in their product.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 7:20:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Errors Galore
Pros: None
Cons: No internal fan. Overheats quickly resulting in read/write errors. The included skinny data cable is under capacity.
Other Thoughts: I have 2 of these drives & both have read/write errors occurring anywhere from 1 to 15 minutes after connecting. I tried a test where I replaced the supplied skinny data cables on both drives with stockier USB 3.0 cables I had but this measure only reduces errors for the first few minutes immediately after connecting. Just a fews minutes after connecting the errors begin.

When errors occur, the error handling routine asks if you want to try again or skip the file being processed. Trying again always results in a failure of the current file being read or written. Sometimes I'll even get a message saying "you must reformat this drive before you can begin using it".


In the reviews here one person (kudos to him) said he buys these external drives, opens them up and removes the drives within to use as internal drives. I followed his lead with one of my 2 drives and plugged the removed Seagate drive into an Orico external hard drive docker that I bought on NewEgg (it came with a fat data cable). I had no errors after approximately 60 minutes straight of copying a large volume of data to the Seagate drive while it was mounted in the Orico external docking station, not one error. My conclusion is that cheap parts chosen by Seagate are causing data errors. My 4 TB drive appears to be working fine once I removed it from the error ridden Seagate external housing. Cheap parts, i.e. skinny cable, no internal fan (and possibly the internal USB 3.0 circut board) = data errors.

I killed the warranty on 1 drive (so far) but I wasn't about to go through an RMA scenario with Seagate just to get a refurbished drive as a replacement having the same issues.
Reviewed By:I've been taken,3/25/2015 1:53:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard DriveSTSHX-D501TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Internal use
Pros: Large, what else is there to say, it functions fine and has a ton of space
Cons: The case is rather difficult to open in order to extract the HDD and use it internally.
Other Thoughts: don't forget to change it to a GPT if you're going to use this internally.
Reviewed By:Screwyluie,3/25/2015 12:09:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Random Disconnects
Pros: Quiet, low cost per TB
Cons: Random disconnects
Other Thoughts: I am using this drive on a Windows 8.1 Storage Pool. It has random disconnects and I have to unplug the power to reset the drive. Fortunately, Storage Spaces is smart enough not to bother with the drive when it disconnects and the system just uses other drives in the pool and warns me of the disconnected drive. Since I use the parity system on my Storage Spaces, no data has been lost. Now that the drive is about 50% full, I am seeing less disconnects, probably because the Storage Space is not writing to the drive as much as when it was first put into the pool. I would not trust this drive in my pool to protect data without a parity or mirroring setup. None of my other 9 drives have ever displayed this random disconnect. So, I am disappointed with the performance of this unit and will replace it as soon as I can.
Reviewed By:gtaus,3/24/2015 3:55:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive 1TB USB 2.0 / eSATA 3.5" GreenDrive External Hard Drive GD1000EU

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great hard drive, very reliable
Pros: Never had a problem with it. I've owned this since 2009 and have traveled with it to Europe and back 4 times.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 7:30:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Warranty 1 year, Failure 1 year 2 months
Pros: Works great for 1 year!
Cons: Only works great for 1 year....
Other Thoughts: Only reason I'm posting this is to try and help those getting the "Reformat Drive" or uknown drive errors. I had a theory that maybe the driver had become corrupted for\by the external control board so I tore it apart and loaded it into my home HD dock. No go so I uninstalled the driver. Still nothing but thought maybe I didn't get it all. So I took the drive to work and used my office laptop (never hooked up the Seagate before) and my office HD dock. Bingo I'm pulling my stuff off of it. If you have sensitive data on the drive and are getting the aforementioned errors, I'd recommend doing the same thing.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 12:04:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 crashed after 4 months
Pros: It has a lot of capacity
Cons: drive was working great until about 3-4 months later it just stopped working and then wouldn't even connect to my computer anymore
Reviewed By:N/A,3/21/2015 3:28:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Second Failed Backup Drive From Seagate
Pros: Straight forward backup software included. No Frills.
Cons: This is my second Seagate backup drive to fail. I chalked up the first to a fluke or something. Then after owning this one < 90 days it started to fail on backups. Investigating further identified the drive had bad sectors already and was non system repairable. A very big disappointment. If I relied solely on this drive and didn't compensate for issues like this I could have lost all my data. I recommend Seagate raise their prices or whatever they need to do to build something reliable. Seagate if your out to damage your brand I say success!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/21/2015 1:53:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Seagate 5TB Expansion drive
Pros: The price for the space is good and the read/write time is good being a 3.0 drive
Cons: Drives do not have an on/off switch. I would expect the drives to run warm being in a tight poorly vented case with out a fan if left on.
Other Thoughts: I have four of these and they all work fine. I use them as backup drives and would not hesitate to buy more. An important point in my use of them - they are hooked to a USB 3.0 hub that has an on/off switch. I do not leave them on when not using them as they spin all the time when powered on.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/21/2015 12:39:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.