Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drives
Pros: These were a great deal!
Have been using these as USB backup drives for servers.
They have worked flawlessly for months
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Daryl,10/23/2014 8:08:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: 5TB for $160
Cons: My first one had a bad sector and had to be RMA'ed. Replacement is working fine, however.
Other Thoughts: I needed another HDD for my HTPC. I wanted to get a 5TB internal bare drive but this one was at least $60 less. I could always remove it from its case and use it as an internal but I don't want to void the warranty. I have mine plugged into a smart power strip so it turns off with the rest of my AV equipment and I have it tucked behind my plasma so it's out my sight and won't get knocked off of my AV furniture. So far I copied 1.62TB worth of uncompressed blu-ray rips and got an average transfer speed of 120 MB/s. Not bad for an external.

I'm using it strictly for blu-ray files so can't comment about the back up software. I have 3 copies of all of my important files on 2 different desktop PCs and this HTPC so I think I'm pretty well covered and won't lose anything.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/22/2014 2:36:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 4TB brick
Pros: Inexpensive and large
Cons: I bought several of these drives. I left one unopened until I needed it (97 days after purchase). Big mistake--it's a brick that will not initialize on either a Windows or a Mac system. Seagate was good about recognizing their 1 year warranty. Newegg simply supplied Seagate's phone number--1-800-SEAGATE.
Reviewed By:Laguna Mike,10/22/2014 9:50:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what I wanted
Pros: 5 Tb!
Quiet
USB 3.0
Pre-formatted NTFS
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Needed a lot of space and found this on a great deal, around $150. So I grabbed two! With it being 5 Tb was a little worried I might run into problems when formatting, but it was already pre-formatted NTFS. Basically plug and play for Windows PCs!
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 4:08:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 1TB Desktop USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Storage WDBACW0010HBK-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Drive Crashed
Pros: Lots of space
Cons: This model drive crashed twice for me
Other Thoughts: I don't know whether my experience is unusual, but twice now I've bought this model and twice the drive has crashed. I am not happy.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 11:02:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Add me to the list of failures...
Pros: Price was OK at the time (assuming it doesn't die).
Cons: It dies after the 1 year warranty.
Other Thoughts: The wife told me the computer was a bomb and was about to blow up (it was "ticking"). Determined it was the Seagate backup drive and noticed it wasn't being recognized. Unplugged power and USB, re-plugged, same thing... click click click click and not recognized. If anything is going to fail in computers it's the mechanical hard drive, so while not great it's also not the first hard drive I've had to get replaced under warranty (from many manufacturers). To my surprise, I found it was already out of it's measly 1 year warranty. I should have known better than to buy a drive with only a 1 year warranty, but that still doesn't make any excuse for a drive that hasn't seen that much use to fail in that amount of time.
Reviewed By:raydur,10/20/2014 8:36:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I was living in a fool's paradise!
Pros: Large capacity storage, but I really know because I got to store 992 gb before everything went kablooey.
Cons: Started flashing format drive after 6 months of use.
Other Thoughts: This isn't my first rodeo with an external hard drive; I've had two previous. The first one failed and I lost almost everything. With my second external, I took extra special care of it and three years later it is still working, but nearing capacity, so I bought the My Book on the recommendation of a computer tech I know, who had turned his nose up at my 2nd external hard drive, which was not a WD. Seven months later the WD My Book is not working, and says I need to format it. After a minor heart attack, I called WD support and was told that I can reformat and the My Book should work fine, of course I lose everything I have stored in the past seven months. I've got an RMA from WD, but after this I cannot seriously consider using the My Book again.
Reviewed By:Gary W.,10/20/2014 5:27:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Nice compact case. Worked perfectly out of the box. Got it on sale and it was the best deal for 4TB I could find. Even better than a bare drive.
Cons: No cons related to the drive, see other thoughts
Other Thoughts: My system seems to have a problem with the USB 3 ports. (This is no fault of the drive) So after a weeks, I took the drive out of the case. No security screws, just pops open without breaking anything, nice. Anyway, it works great for me plugged into a SATA port. And if I need it portable again, I can just put It back in the case.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 5:05:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation Axis Velocity 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive HD-LX3.0TU3 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Drive so far
Pros: Semi large drive
Been running solid (24/7) since June 2013
2 year warranty - always backup your data in two places
Cost
Cons: I don't have any at the moment
Did not purchase from Newegg :(....had to purchase through credit on another retailer. :( LOVE Newegg!
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately I cannot comment on the USB 3.0 Speed, I have it connected to my network through an old PC's USB 2.0 port that I use FreeNAS OS on. Been running the NAS with this as the only drive for more than a year now. Room Temp during the hot months (April-Oct) here are usually 80-95 F (27-35 C). Seems to be a solid drive, 7200rpm. Hooked up with USB2.0 over network (100mb/s NAS port) I get usually 10MB/s transfer speed. (those are the slowest parts on my network, I will be upgrading soon and will probably convert this as a USB3.0 backup drive-will update then) Using as a Media Stream/File storage NAS drive atm.
Reviewed By:Lorenzo C.,10/19/2014 3:57:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Free the beast
Pros: Lots of room
WD Green inside
Works just fine for me.
Cheaper than an bare internal
Cons: Not enough air flow inside the caddy.
caddy not reusable, but I wouldn't anyway.
I removed an egg because while the bare drive is fine the bit encryption makes this drive impossible to restore data if caddy fails, and it will.
Other Thoughts: This drive had mixed reviews when I bought it, but it was really cheap, and I needed a 4TB so I took a chance. I immediately removed mine from the caddy, and formatted it. I have been keeping an eye on mine and haven't received any errors. External caddies are failure prone (heat, power fluctuations), so I am hoping the bare drive is just fine.
Reviewed By:Thel,10/19/2014 5:00:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau