Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great drive for the price, but a bit noisy
Pros: As you'd expect, easy to set up. Price point is great as well. After some research I found that these Seagate 4TBs are supposed to be the most reliable drives, so I'm hoping this one lasts.
Cons: A lot noisier than my previous backup. Spinning up is louder and when it's running it's fairly noticeable as well.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 11:36:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good
Pros: The product satisfies the performance condition is very good
Cons: The product satisfies the performance condition is very good
Other Thoughts: The product satisfies the performance condition is very good
Reviewed By:GUNOK J.,4/26/2016 5:26:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good size, great pricing.
Pros: Easy to setup, was set for a daily backup.
Cons: Will not boot up attached to HP computer, had to switch to a Seagate unit or attach the USB cable after boot up. It would hang at the standard blue HP start up screen. The utility's included did not correct the problem.
Reviewed By:Cyrus J.,4/25/2016 8:14:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good product
Pros: Plenty of storage for the price.
Cons: The one thing I did not like was the fact it would not play thru my WDTV Live...
Reviewed By:Larry G.,4/24/2016 9:09:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 My first ans probably last Seagate drive
Pros: Works ok until it stopped.
Cons: Less than 6 months and it died ...with my backups.
Good price but NOT reliable.
Other Thoughts: I don't recommend this product for backups
Manufacturer Response:Dear Yves,

We apologize for the problems experienced with your 5TB Expansion Desktop drive. We would like the opportunity to talk with you to determine the root cause and available resolution.

A support case (#05635939) has been created that will reference your review and our response. Please contact us directly using the following link:

http://support2.seagate.com/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Yves P.,4/22/2016 5:57:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > ADATA > ADATA Superior Series 2.5" 500GB SH93 Water & Shock Proof External Hard Drive (Red) Model ASH93-500GU-CRD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Durable, as you would expect
Pros: Shock resistant, compact design, pretty sure I saw it in the movie "The Martian"
Cons: Acts somewhat buggy sometimes, driver detection isn't the most reliable.
Other Thoughts: Has survived 3 moves so far, pretty impressive.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/22/2016 7:08:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA3000101 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed just after a year
Pros: It worked for a year
Cons: Died after a year. Literally a month after the warranty ended. Joined the class action law suit.
Reviewed By:Mark H.,4/21/2016 3:03:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive3 5TB USB 3.0 Aluminum Desktop External Hard Drive GD5000U3 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent External Hard Drive
Pros: For a USB 3.0 drive, this one works as a top of the line drive should, fast. I use it primarily for my music and video downloads.
Also for AVG automated backing up of my win10pro computer. Not only a utilitarian dream, but looks and construction are first rate.
Cons: Sorry, but no cons for this unit.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/21/2016 2:40:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT8000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed only after only casual backup
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: I read many negative reviews about this drive. Since I was only going to use the drive as an incremental backup once per day (less than 2GB), I figured it should last at least couple years. If it show any sign of break down such as bad sectors or random drop out, I will add a third backup into the loop. Guess what, the drive failed completely this morning without any sign! Now, I am contacting Seagate for a replacement. Now I have to be extra careful with my main drive since the backup is out.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/20/2016 11:33:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Easy to set up
Pros: Worked for almost 3 years
Cons: Drive is beginning to fail and I can't recover the data
Reviewed By:Rahferd N.,4/19/2016 3:45:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.