Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 4TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC4.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Buffalo 4TB Drive
Pros: I bought 2 of them, one as primary storage and one as backup. I used SeaTools to test both drives and both drives passed. I normally get Seagate drives but these were on sale so I decided to try them out and have no complaints about it so far.
Cons: Not really a con, but like most 4TB drives it only comes with 3.63TB of useable space.
Reviewed By:Kenfolk,11/21/2014 11:11:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great drive, great price
Pros: I bought two of these on sale for $119 6 months ago. I pulled the drive out of the case and made them internal drives for $60 cheaper than you could find the same drive bare. They have been working flawlessly on my HTPC since, zero issues at all. Looking to buy a few more now. 100mb/sec transfer rates are pretty standard.
Cons: Get them out of the case and you have a cheap 4tb internal drive. Leave them in the case and they seem to get hot quick, which might kill longevity
Other Thoughts: As close as you can get for a reliable, fast 4tb drive nearing the $100 range.
Reviewed By:BeAtCoAsTeR,11/21/2014 7:43:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 About a Year
Pros: It was cheap
Cons: Only lasted a year
Other Thoughts: I've been building my own computers for the last 15yrs. I've probably been through 20 or 30 drives in that time with different setups and RAIDs and all that.

This was the first drive I've ever had actually crash on me.

It never moved, it just sat in a closet connected to a home server serving up some videos every now and again.
Reviewed By:Matt,11/20/2014 7:50:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives Gforce/3 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" USB 3.0 External Hard Drive GF3B2000U Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Does not Work as Advertised
Pros: Works with USB 2.0
Cons: Will not Work with USB 3.0 on any port.
Reviewed By:Tony,11/19/2014 3:29:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 4TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC4.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it works
Pros: Plugged it into the USB connector, and it was recognized immediately (Windows 7 64 bit). The large size allows me to backup my home NAS and put this in a safe deposit box, getting an off-site backup for much less than 2 months of cloud storage (it's *expensive* to have 3TB+ of data in the cloud).
Cons: SMART status information is unavailable, but that is an attribute of it being a USB drive vs SCSI or SATA.
Other Thoughts: For $139, you can't find a better deal right now.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2014 4:23:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent Desk 1.5TB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive ST315005FDA2E1-RK Silver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Short Life
Pros: Works, had it just over 5 years
Cons: Hard drive is loud, runs hot, and has began clicking (which means it going to die soon). Just outside the warranty so I'm probably stuck with a dead HDD.
Other Thoughts: I always thought highly of Seagate and I still due. Its probably older technology and I'll have better luck with a new model. Its just costly disappointment that the HDD didn't last very long.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/18/2014 8:28:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA3000101 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the lucky ones
Pros: Cost: paid around $130 back in 2012 for 3TB
Still going strong after 2 years and 2 months.
Cons: 2-year warranty.
A shade warmish when just idling but definitely warm under sustained read/write.
Other Thoughts: Reading other reviews, I feel lucky that my external drive is still going strong after 2+ years. This drive has served as a secondary storage (powererd on for about 6 hours per day average) for my home pc and has accumulated about 1.5 TB.

Sporadically accessed with only short bouts of sustained read/write. I've occasionally moved 50 to 70 GB at a time without much issue but the top of drive gets definitely warm.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/17/2014 6:57:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 3TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC3.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great drive for external storage!
Pros: So far, this has been a great drive. Very quiet operation, and it works well as an external storage drive for my Xbox one. Fast transfer speeds when connected to a USB 3.0 port. If you look through the vent hols you can see the drive inside and it appears to be a WD green drive. Not sure on the exact model though.
Cons: The USB 3.0 connector had a tab that was bent in such a way that the cable could not be plugged in, until the tab was bent back out. Hopefully I didn't weaken any of the solder joints for the connector. This tab should normally be bent the correct way and it was probably missed.
Other Thoughts: Formatted NTFS size ~2.7 TB

CrystalDiskmark 3.0.3 x64 results:
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 155.552 MB/s
Sequential Write : 154.943 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 47.516 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 86.189 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.541 MB/s [ 132.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.584 MB/s [ 386.6 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.580 MB/s [ 141.5 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.619 MB/s [ 395.3 IOPS]

Test : 4000 MB [G: 0.0% (0.3/2794.5 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2014/11/15 11:16:57
OS : Windows 8.1 Pro [6.3 Build 9600] (x64)

Since it is a Western Digital drive, it will probably have a long lifespan, and being a green drive it is most likely power efficient. Longevity of the drive is something that I am most interested in since it will have all of my save files for games stored on it. I will have to wait and see how it performs in the long run.
Reviewed By:Evilmonkeyz,11/15/2014 11:15:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 18 months later...
Pros: Quiet
Low Maintenance
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: most times, I don't feel like writing a review of a product, unless im bothered by it. With this drive, and the comments about another WD drive being so bad, I thought I would share my view about this product.

I bought this drive 18 months ago from newegg, and have done nothing. It backs up my server 2x a day and has for the last 18 months flawlessly.

Im happy with it, although the time has come to replace it with a larger version, and in researching my options I noticed a lot of hate toward WD external drives, which I have the opposite opinion.
Reviewed By:PDGM,11/15/2014 10:34:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Be warned
Pros: Does work quickly and is easily installed
Cons: This drive will NOT work with any version of windows backup prior to windows 8 as it does not support 512E it only has native 4k sector sizes. Kind of sucks that seagate touts compatibility on the box when it fails at one of the task many people buy a drive for. As another mentioned here at least WD provides a utility for making it backup compatible.
Other Thoughts: If I had been paying close attention I would have bought a WD drive instead.
Reviewed By:whknight,11/15/2014 8:28:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.