Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Replacement for faulty first
Pros: NONE DO NOT PURCHASE
Cons: DOES NOT WORK RMA two of these dont waste your time
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2014 4:29:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Elements 1.5TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 blinking white light at the back
Pros: managed to get 4 years out of it
lots of space
Cons: usb 2.0
Other Thoughts: One day it just randomly died on me. I then took it out of the external case and unscrewed the drive from the power supply. Then manually connecting it to the pc. It shows up as disk is not initialized and is unknown and would not allow to do anything. Im assuming this is now dead??
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 4:24:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Breaks VSS
Pros: It's an external hard drive
Cons: It causes the Volume Shadow Service to crash in Windows Server 2008 R2 whenever this drive is plugged into the system, even if it is not the drive you are backing up to.
Reviewed By:Ken P.,8/28/2014 9:23:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD 4 TB External Review
Pros: Ordered 4 of these on sale. All worked out of the box. Required a 4 port PCIe USB 3.0 adapter for my older MB. NE had that as well. Awesome storage & speed.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: On sale these drives are the best value for your Storage Dollar. Of course NE had the 4 I bought on my door step the next day.
Reviewed By:The Tech,8/28/2014 8:45:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 50-50
Pros: Got two of these on sale
Massive storage capacity
One of the two worked right out of the box
Cons: One of the two was DOA, but recognized as a 4TB unallocated rive according to disk manager. I began a "Long Generic" test with the seatools software hoping that perhaps a firmware update or something might help only to find that the drive failed the test in less than 60 seconds. (I guess I shouldn't have been so optimistic after hearing the sound of read/write heads grinding against spinning platters while it was powering up)
Other Thoughts: I don't know if this was a result of shipping or, if a high failure rate was the reason for the sale.

I currently have the working drive going through a "long generic" test using the seatools software, I hope that this one passes the test w/o any errors - I'll update or post another review after the test and an RMA of the failed unit.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2014 8:50:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Drive
Pros: Looked it over and read it is a samsung drive in a seagate casing, imported by seagate. My seagate software formatted it in the GPD format with 1tb partitions. It is better balanced since it has the feet on the longer side. I plugged it into my seagate usb connector and power supply.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2014 9:16:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I have to agree with Ronald R.
Pros: There's a larger drive out there...

There are Seagate Apps that do route backups, social media, etc directly to this drive.
Cons: While I do not have this model, I've had 4/5 Seagate External 2.0 and 3.0 USB drives die just over a year thus have lost quite a bit of data. Ironically enough, the go flex 350mb model USB model of 2010 is the only one still working; anything over 1 TB has forced me to take them out of service. It's not right to have to have a triple and quadruple backup on data that should be safe for at least a few years.
Other Thoughts: I'd stick with buying external enclosures or think about possibly setting up a RAID system. They have many out there where the tech curve is pretty low.

I've had good experience with the WD Passport 1 TB. Also I have no use for the soclial media software but it it's your thing, it can be gotten and added to an external drive put into a USB enclosure.
Reviewed By:jimscape,8/27/2014 4:35:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Backup Option
Pros: TONS of space. Let's be honest 5TB is huge. I already had a 2TB drive for my wife to backup pictures, videos, and architecture REVIT files. The USB 3.0 is very fast and moving about 30GB worth of pictures and movies only took a few minutes.

Install is seamless. Windows 7 recognized the drive immediately and it was up and running and I was able to transfer files.

The apps for both Apple iPhone and Android devices (in this case my wife's Samsung Galaxy S3) work well. Though only one device can be backed up at a time. Starting the app on another device will kick the original device that was backing up. Now that we have the apps installed the backup runs in the background and we don't even notice.
Cons: The software that comes with the drive could use a bit more work. I started the software (it comes saved on the hard drive) and it asked me to register the drive. Easy enough...so I did that. Then there was an updated version of the software I could download. The install failed at first but after restarting the computer the install continued and completed successfully.

The software does NOT make a complete backup of your computer's hard drive. In the event of having to restore your hard drive due to an operating system failure the drive will be of no use. You won't lose your files, true, but you had better be ready to do a fresh install of your OS. I could be wrong on this but was unable to locate any program files in the backup folder that the software created.

The power plug. It seems like any device that requires a wall power receptacle ALWAYS gets this mentioned as a negative from me. I know it's kind of petty...but why...WHY can we put a tank on another PLANET that sends back complex scientific data on soil composition and atmospheric readings but we can't create a power adapter that takes up only one plug on a power surge strip? Just like my router, my modem, my other two backup drives, and even the charger for a couple of my wife and my mobile devices this device has an awkward annoying oblong brick that takes up one and a half outlets on the power strip. I had to rearrange several plugs and cords so that this thing was on the bottom of the strip. Again this is minor...but I consider it a con and I will continue to mention it in my reviews. There HAS to be a better way!
Other Thoughts: This is a great device. I'm sure with third-party backup software this thing would be a BEAST of a backup drive. 5TB is massive and for the size the drive itself is quite small and able to be hidden. I placed it behind my wife's monitor and we quickly forgot that it was even there (other than it backing up our files and showing up in the device list in Windows).
Reviewed By:Logan,8/26/2014 7:46:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Idea But...
Pros: This is a massive amount of external storage that moves data at USB 3.0 speed.
Cons: Over several weeks this drive irregularly disappeared from my system.

On bad days this drive locked up my systems.

Sometimes unplugging this drive would fix the problem, sometimes it took a cold boot.

Occasionally I would get a message that the drive needed to be formatted.
Other Thoughts: I tested this drive on both Win8 and Win8 systems-same bad result.

I reformatted several times, using Windows and Seatools, with no lasting good results.

When I think about making backups of my data, which is how this drive would be used by most, I want dependability. So it would be illogical to use or recommend this drive, based on my experience.
Reviewed By:vplite,8/26/2014 7:25:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 awesome drives
Pros: everything. great drives. Great for backups and storage.
Cons: they are not free lol.
Other Thoughts: great drives. internally they are seagate 4 platter 5900 RPM single drives. You can pull the physical drives out of the enclosure (though it'd nuke your warranty) and use them as an internal SATA Storage drive. Some drives in enclosures do not allow you to do that.
Reviewed By:burn0u7,8/26/2014 4:11:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau