Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0
Pros: Easy to set up and use. Very fast transfer speed.
Cons: I purchased 2 one worked exactly like it was suppose to, not problems. The other hard drive had issues first time I plugged it in. It did not want to spin up, then when it finally did, it would work for a while and quit. I do not think a doa or almost doa the consumer should have to pay a shipping fee back when RMA issued. I do not think it is too much for customer to expect item to work out of the box, and if it does not I think they should not have to pay return shipping, even though that is policy.
Reviewed By:Tex,7/25/2014 4:07:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 4TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC4.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Quiet and no bright flashy lights.
Cons: Nada
Reviewed By:Jay,7/24/2014 5:12:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, still works.
Pros: Works great, fast, well priced. I've had it for almost 3 years, still works like new.
Cons: NONE! D-:<
Reviewed By:Nate,7/24/2014 2:25:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Exrataordinary Capacity Good Price but Terrible Warranty
Pros: reduces backup time significantly compared to USB 2.

For novices: Your computer must have USB 3 technology for higher speeds but you can still use the drive in USB 2 ports without problems
Cons: Warranty only 1 year!

Short USB Cable. Physical case edges / corners are so sharp you could cut yourself

Seagate had reduced case composition quality from previous models - it is really cheap plastic. RPM drive specs are not listed on the specs, package, etc.
Other Thoughts: Drive is 5900 RPM, but it is only a con if you are editing / saving stuff directly on the drive

The drive is inexpensive but there are other brand / labels that have a 3 year warranty at competitive prices. I bought the competition.

Disk technology / capacity has increased dramatically over the years. Manufacturers have merged, competition has diminished. Warranties no longer are long enough to think that manufavturers are confident in their product quality. Drives are priced at junk prices (buy cheap, buy more if you have a problem).

It is the philosophy of the big chain superstores - sell junk stuff cheaply so the consumer has to buy more junk stuff when it breaks. The company wins, the consumer loses; the company profits, when it breaks the company profits again.

A 'good' hard drive should last at least 5 years. All hard drives will fail eventually - you need to have BU. The only reason to buy THIS drive is if your data needing backup is huge and your budget is very tight

Seagate is saying 'we are not confident' that our drives are good products because they only have a one year warranty
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 7:49:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Drive Works Great, But....
Pros: Cost, Storage Capacity
Cons: Included USB cable does not meet 3.0 spec despite having 3.0 connectors, see other thoughts for more details.
Other Thoughts: Purchased as add-on storage for Xbox One. At first attempt drive was detected as USB 2.0 and therefore not compatible with an Xbox One, after various troubleshooting steps, the included USB 3.0 cable was proven to be the issue, testing with another USB 3.0 cable resulted in immediate detection and formatting of drive for use with Xbox One. If you buy this drive for use with an Xbox One do yourself a favor and purchase a high quality USB 3.0 cable at the same time.
Reviewed By:Tony,7/23/2014 8:21:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Drive
Pros: It's a lot of space for one drive, 5TB. USB3.0 is a plus!
Drive runs cool, it has been working 24 hours a day. I use it for weekly backups using Seagate Dashboard software.
Seagate Dashboard software it works great, I'm surprised how good it works. I also have a Seagate Central 4TB NAS and Seagate Dashboard I can manage both devices using Seagate Dashboard.
So far it's very stable.
Cons: No cons, this drive works well and it's fast.
Other Thoughts: Decent reads and writes using USB 3. Drive is performing extremely well under. It's huge and fast, I got it on special 200.00 for a 5TB USB3.
Reviewed By:axelisallright,7/23/2014 3:36:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Extraordinary Capacity Good Price but Terrible Warranty
Pros: There is room to back up every bit of data / pictures / videos that I have accumulated (and kept) during the past 20 years. Cheap. USB 3 speedy transfer of backup reduces time significantly compared to USB 2.
Cons: It is a con - Warranty is only 1 year.

Short USB Cable. Physical case edges / corners are so sharp you could cut yourself

Seagate is saying 'We are not confident!' that our drives are good products because they only have a one year warranty

Seagate had reduced case composition quality from previous models - it is really cheap plastic. RPM drive specs are not listed on the specs, package, etc.
Other Thoughts: Drive is 5900 RPM, only a con if you are editing / saving stuff directly on the drive

The drive is inexpensive but there are other brand / labels that have a 3 year warranty at competitive prices. I bought the competition.

For novices: 1) Your computer must have USB 3 technology for higher speeds but you can still use the drive in USB 2 ports without problems. 2) Windows 7 or higher is needed 3)

Disk technology and capacity has increased dramatically over the years. Manufacturers have merged, competition has diminished. Warranties no longer are long enough to think that manufacturer’s are confident in their product quality. Drives are priced at junk prices (buy cheap, buy again if you have a problem).

It is the philosophy of huge discounter - sell junk stuff cheaply so the consumer has to buy more junk stuff when it breaks. The company wins, the consumer loses; the company profits because again if it has to be replaced.

A 'good' hard drive should last at least 5 years. All hard drives will fail eventually: you need to have BU. The only reason to buy THIS drive is if you need a huge amount of space and your budget is very very tight

FYI. In the 90’s my hard drive failed and I did not have a backup. The IRS got too much money because my data was gone. In 2009 my house had a fire – computers destroyed but my data was safe because of an external drive backup
Reviewed By:Coisa,7/23/2014 7:48:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great So Far <crosses fingers>
Pros: Got two of them during the "2 for $240" deal. 8TB of space for $240 is a heck of a deal. That's a little under 3 cents per gig. I remember spending $1,000 for a 25 gig hdd around 15-20 years ago :P

They're doing exactly what they are advertised to do. No problems yet.

I popped one of them out of the enclosure and slapped it into a desktop, and after a GPT reformat, it's working like a champ.
Cons: None yet, but it's only been a week. Don't let me down, Seagate! I have faith!
Other Thoughts: I've had hard drives last 10+ years, left them in high temperature environments, and even dropped a few, but the only time I've thrown out a Seagate hard drive is when technology has progressed to the point where the hard drive is too small to bother with and is replaced with a much larger one.

After reading all of the comments here, I'm really surprised that so many people are having issues. Unless Seagate has really been screwing with their manufacturing process or replaced the factory with an assembly line populated by monkeys wearing top hats, I never would have thought there would be so many complaints about faulty drives.

Maybe I should invest in some lottery tickets...
Reviewed By:Slurpee Poop,7/23/2014 7:04:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 QUESTION
Pros: none
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I have the previous mac Prp tower which opens and have
an eSata card installed for other backup drives. Is there an
adapter that changes eSata to USB 3.0?
Reviewed By:jar1945,7/23/2014 6:06:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Off to a terrible start
Pros: Very speedy delivery by NewEgg
Cons: Bought the drive to backup my HD using Windows Backup (no need for the bells and whistles in other backup packages in my world so I stick to the standard here). Set it up on arrival and started complete backup at about 7 PM. By 3:19 AM it had failed to complete (error code 0x8078002A) "one of the backup files could not be created". Spent several hours off and on the Seagate site trying to find solutions and started running their SeaTools diagnostic about 8:30 AM. Now it is 4 PM and it's still running with no progress meter, no diagnostics, just sitting there eating CPU cycles. Started case with Seagate via e-mail this AM, and no acknowledgement from them yet that I exist. Bottom line is that this turkey is going back, probably tomorrow or as soon as I can get an RMA.
Other Thoughts: If, as another responder indicated, for some reason this device is incompatible with Windows Backup, the fact belongs in the product specs. Otherwise all you are doing is setting yourself up for the administrative overhead of an RMA and annoying a faithful customer.
Reviewed By:Geoff Brown,7/22/2014 1:17:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau