Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Free shipping & returns. Sign up for Newegg Premier for Canada
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 2TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Storage WDBWLG0020HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Almost RMA
Pros: It Works!
Cons: The drive was not read off the bat. the light was on and did not register. i turned off the pc and the external was still on. What Hurts most is that confidence i had/have in WD in sending a quality product, LOL. while on i had to move the desk causing vibration back to the Ext HDD making me more irritated. Well it was the wire that was messed up. did not read it on a USB 2.0 or 3.0. luckily i had a spare cable and now it works. the cable that came with it is about 1mm and the one i have is about 2.5mm.
Other Thoughts: this is the 3rd Ext HDD i have from WD, there customer svc sucks so bad that i could not RMA my 2nd Ext HDD so i broke open the box and installed in the tower and did a quick disk repair and has been working for the past 3 years. I thought it was the cable for my 2nd but now i see it was the enclosure kit that is faulty. either way when you buy WD its to keep because RMA is practically impossible.
1 star off because of the cable
2nd star because i am reminded of WD customer svc.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/18/2014 12:33:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > My Book Duo 4TB dual-drive, USB3.0 high-speed premium RAID storage Model WDBLWE0040JCH-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Every computer owner should has one
Pros: Nicely packed. Easy installation. Comes with backup software. Unit comes necessary wire. Has security software. Perfect for backup with raid 1 mirrored setup. 2 x USB 3 PORT.
Cons: I used it for a month now. I read other two reviews complaining about the heat and fan. I keep on checking the heat with my hand. I do not feel it hot at all. Only low warm once a while. Have not discovered any bad point yet. Needs longer time for investigation.
Other Thoughts: I set up the unit for Raid 1 (mirrored). The actual storage is 2T. I had a expensive network storage, but inconvenience and has to have network knowledge to set up and use. This unit is very simple to use. It acts only as an external storage. I recommend this unit for all computer owners. There is no duo drive external storage drive with similar price. There are a lot of choice for network storage, but no choice for raid 1 external storage. I asked a lot of computer owners. Most of them has no backup or back up in a single drive, either internal or external. I has the same setup before. One day, the backup drive crash. I lost all the backup. This unit has the raid 1 mirrored setup. It is perfect. No more lost data.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/18/2014 1:06:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0
Pros: Have other units from company 1-4 TB no problems
Cons: DOA (dead on arrival) could not get it to work switched p.s and cable from working units.
Other Thoughts: will retry like company
Reviewed By:jreith57,12/17/2014 5:56:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 external drive stop working
Pros: easy install
Cons: quit after 3 years windows 7 will not reconize it windows 8.1 or linux
but getting a lot bad sections
Other Thoughts: good external drive but did not last near as long as inter wb drives
Reviewed By:wexwimpy,12/17/2014 6:55:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: Plug it in to USB, delete useless included files and start storing stuff on it.
Cons: None- works as advertised.
Reviewed By:Chris,12/17/2014 5:51:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBWLG0040HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4tb HD
Pros: Within is a standard WD Green 4tb SATA drive, model WD40RZRX.
Cons: This external drive really isn't made to be opened. Pry the back apart, then slide the cover off. The drive is held in place by rubber cushions. Disassembly is difficult, but if done carefully it can be reassembled.
Reviewed By:Red,12/16/2014 9:46:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 died after 3 weeks
Pros: None
Cons: It started to make my computer not boot when it was plugged in. Then it would not show at all.I had to RMA it
Reviewed By:Rob,12/16/2014 4:36:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Purchased while on sale. Great price thereon. Meets all expectations... so bought another for Xmas present.
Cons: No on/off switch
Other Thoughts: Unknown is lifetime of units
Reviewed By:mmnukem,12/16/2014 10:57:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 1TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV1000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Choose a drive with a better warranty
Pros: Reasonable cost.
Cons: Drive epically failed after 15 months. Checked the website and it seemed like all their drives had a 2 year warranty. Until I actually started the RMA process, which stated the drive was not covered as it is only a one year warranty.

Emailed support and was told because it was part of the "Expansion" line it is only a year...needless to say I will only purchase Western Digital from no on.
Other Thoughts: This is what I get for straying away from tried and true experience I have had with WD. Seagate got their shot and failed like their drive.
Reviewed By:guido1000,12/16/2014 3:30:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Seagate Expansion 5TB stbv5000100
Pros: large amount of storage for relatively low price when on sale.
Cons: Not happy it only has 1 year warranty when a drive with a slightly different model number has a 2 year warranty. Haven't even taken the drive out of the box yet.
Other Thoughts: I can't write them down or my review will be rejected.
Reviewed By:WebGUY-NE,12/16/2014 3:22:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.