Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Replacement also failed diagnostic test
Pros: None
Cons: Failed Seagate SeaTools Short Generic diagnostic test.
Other Thoughts: This was replacement drive from Newegg. First drive failed same test. Sending 2nd failed drive back to manufacturer Seagate. Don't want to take the chance I'll get another bad drive from Newegg.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/18/2014 1:08:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA3000101 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Two warranty replacements already
Pros: It's big
Cons: I've had to replace it twice under warranty through Seagate within a year.
-The first one started clicking like crazy and throwing read errors. Got it replaced before it died completely
-The second one just died completely. Drive still spins up, USB not recognized.
Other Thoughts: I have a bunch of other external drives in the same location from other manufacturers that have been running 3+ years without issue. This one is the largest and the biggest hassle.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/18/2014 9:27:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Elements 1TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Second Verse Same As The First
Pros: At this point not sure there are any...
Cons: This is an update to my review on 3/22/2014. After returning and receiving a second unit (AFTER i HAD TO PAY TO SHIP IT BACK!!!) the second unit has now also failed. Time for another replacement. Third time is the charm, maybe? I would seriously discourage anyone against purchasing one of these. WD, what is the deal??
Other Thoughts: This is an update to my review on 3/22/2014.
Reviewed By:Billy S.,4/18/2014 6:20:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB Desktop USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Storage WDBACW0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad after 125 hours and 24 starts
Pros: Nice case...
Encryption if you want it.
Cons: Fails
Encryption if you don't want it(Can't be truly disabled, ie: remove drive from enclosure and put into another computer, data won't be readable(so they say) tho removing drive voids warranty anyway.
Other Thoughts: I filled this sucker twice, 2.7TB or so, and ran Crystaldisk info each time, no errors. I go to copy data off onto another 'backup 3tB external USB drive and crc error and bad sector(s)...

All the lousy drives made today, they count on it to increase future sales I think...Timing is bad, gotta wait 6 months to send in for warranty replacement.

I would say don't buy!!!! but I can't since I can't recommend anyone else... Blu-ray maybe? :(
Reviewed By:Onlooker,4/17/2014 7:21:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Touro Desk 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive HTOLDX3NB40001ABB(0S03396) Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Decent drive, but disconnects with windows 8.1
Pros: Good price
Nice enclosure design
Quiet
Cons: Constantly disconnects/reconnects any time it is not in use.
Seems to be a compatibility issue with Windows 8, but there is NOTHING on their webpage to indicate a problem or help with a solution. I am very disappointed in this as my Seagate external drives run just fine, no matter the OS.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2014 10:04:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA2000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Where to start
Pros: Great Drive with Great Speeds and cheap.... see Cons
Cons: Had to RMA first drive received because it turned on and off every hour or so...
Got the RMA'd New Drive...... SAME PROBLEM. I just took it out of the case which voids my warranty of course and put it in my HTPC. Now it runs flawlessly. I don't know what's up with these new External Enclosures but they aren't good at all. I have 3 of these Drives (Last Years Model Cases) that have been running flawlessly for over a year now. But These new enclosures are just garbage.
Other Thoughts: Save yourself the trouble and just buy the bare drive. It's running great now inside my HTPC for 3 days without issue. I've run Disc Analyzer on it and it shows no bad sectors so it has to be something wrong with the enclosure itself. Seagate needs to look into this problem as These are great drives. Just sad I had to take the drive out of the enclosure for it to actually work Properly.
Reviewed By:grnster,4/16/2014 8:05:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 1TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive HDTP110XK3AA Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buy something more reliable.
Pros: Bought on black friday for only $50
Looks nice,
seems fast,
lots of storage
Cons: Everything was great until it DIED after only 5 months over very LIGHT use..
Toshiba customer support is horrible.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, do NOT buy this drive, spend the extra $20 and get something more reliable. I should have known not buy from toshiba they have the WORST customer support I've ever experienced. After being on hold for TWENTY minutes the lady just referred me to their site. I go on their site and they tell me that the item is out of stock, so I am stuck with a coupon to THEIR website. I am very unhappy with this. I even got the 2 YR coverage.
They also require a credit card from you to do a return, wow. I will never buy toshiba again, ever. And you shouldn't either, take my horrible experience into consideration when you buy your next product.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2014 7:08:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BTT-NESN Titanium

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Holds all of my info! Great price too.
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2014 5:43:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 2TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0020HBK-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Dissapointing WD My Book 2TB
Pros: Nice looking drive. Price. Easy to setup. USB 3.0. WD. Faster than USB 2.0. NEWEGG super saver shipping put it here in 2 days! WOW NEWEGG!
Cons: I bought a USB 3.0 so that I can transfer at super fast. What a disappointment.

First, let me start by saying that I'm running twin WD Blue's RAID0 striped. I transfer between a standard HDD and my twin Blue's over GB Ethernet and get 100MB/s. I had previously purchased an external 5400RPM eSATA drive and got !!200MB/s!!! WOW. So I hear all this hype about USB 3.0 and I'm getting a disappointing 50MB/s - 64MB/s. I have a video production studio... so all my files are HUGE. That's where speed is nice.
Other Thoughts: All the drivers on my Gigabyte h55-USB3 are up to date. I bought this board 3 1/2 years ago because it was a good brand and had USB 3. Now I'm using the USB3 feature and I'm not so sure I'm excited about it. If I find out something that fixes my issue, I will follow up and repost.
Reviewed By:TEX,4/16/2014 3:37:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worthless piece of drek
Pros: The only advantage that this drive has is that it's cheap relative to the competition.
Cons: This is a poorly-constructed drive. I bought 4 of them, one for a backup for myself and 3 to share videos and music with friends. Out of the four, two failed within the first week. One I returned for an exchange (after wasting many hours transferring data to it), the other, with almost 3 TB of data on it (and representing more than 24 hours of my transferring data), I took into my local computer shop. The USB port in the drive is an extremely delicate, poorly designed piece of garbage. Soldering it (at a cost of $75, almost as much as the drive itself) failed within a week. It's possible to replace the port, at another cost of $85. The drive is cheaper than competitive drives. That's because there's no quality built in, and the drives are poorly designed. It's worth an extra few bucks to go with Western Digital or another better constructed design.
Other Thoughts: Avoid this. AVOID this. AVOID THIS DRIVE at all costs. Save a couple of bucks initially, but wind up with absolutely nothing at the end,
Reviewed By:Burned with Seagate,4/15/2014 8:23:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau