Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC240XK3J1 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: As the previous reviewer stated, fast & quiet. Mine has been in service for about 2 months without issue. If it lasts for 3 or more years it will be well worth the investment.
Cons: None thus far.
Other Thoughts: It doesn't hurt that it has a sleek, appealing appearance.
Reviewed By:AC,9/22/2014 1:52:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives Gforce3 MegaDisk 4TB USB 3.0 2 x 3.5" Dual Drive RAID MD3U4000

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after only a few months of use
Pros: Large Capacity
Reasonably fast
Cons: Unreliable
Other Thoughts: While I was really happy with the device at first, it failed after only a few months of use.

I used it as a backup device, where it had a couple of TB worth of virtual machines dumped to it every night, so it may not have been designed with that workload in mind. Nevertheless, external drives are commonly used as backup drives, so failure after only a few months it simply not acceptable. Hence the low rating.
Reviewed By:C,9/22/2014 8:31:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > My Book Duo 6TB dual-drive, USB3.0 high-speed premium RAID storage Model WDBLWE0060JCH-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected
Pros: The unit works exactly as expected. It is fast and quite. The price was reasonable for the size and hoped reliability of a WD product.
Cons: The provided USB 3.0 cable could be a little longer, but the length was mentioned and I mad it work.
Reviewed By:Foundry Tech,9/22/2014 4:37:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disgruntled with Seagate
Pros: None
Cons: My original drive died within a year. The replacement died last night. I am going through the RMA process with SEAGATE yet again. I have absolutely no confidence with their products. I had two other 3TB internal drives die too.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/21/2014 8:24:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not So Good
Pros: None
Cons: Drive Failed Full Media Test. Just got the 4TB HDD a few days ago. After backing up roughly 700gb to this drive which took forever over USB 2.0, I had issues opening some of the files, so I ran a Full Media Test and after about 4 hours, it failed the test. Returning and getting another brand.
Reviewed By:WOKMAN,9/21/2014 10:44:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG S2 Portable 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" External Hard Drive HX-MTD10EA/G2 Piano Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still Working Great
Pros: Works Great Day after Day...
Cons: Has a proprietary (included) USB cable.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/20/2014 11:24:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty Good Drive!
Pros: Great Drive. Plenty of space, extremely quite, power management is actually MUCH better than I expected, as older model external drives really struggled in this dept.

Speed is very good as well for an external drive, I am clocking a consistent 166mb/sec and the movies and videos on the drive run flawlessly on the computer every time. NO lag or choppy playback, big plus for me. Very happy (so far) with the drive.
Cons: The only CON so far is the software... Funny as I have read this was a PRO in some reviews... Maybe it is me, but it is not very intuitive from a verification perspective... Now it is extremely simple to use, however there is not a really good method of letting you know what it has done and where it is in the process. Also at times it can be buggy and hang the system for several seconds... This is why I give 4 stars.
Other Thoughts: Outside of the software, I love the Disk Drive itself! Define would recommend as a Buy! Hope the product itself holds up for a long time and does not crash and burn, but only time will tell. Good luck!
Reviewed By:David S.,9/20/2014 6:42:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 too slow
Pros: cheap for the seagate this size
Cons: too too slow taking 10 hours backing up 600Gb without its bad software.
Reviewed By:chris,9/20/2014 5:04:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hope you're not in a hurry
Pros: Price
Cons: No drive. Been waiting over a week, and it looks like it will take two weeks to get to me. Can't tell you how the drive is, but I can only hope it doesn't arrive damaged.
Other Thoughts: Guess you're supposed to purchase a prime membership in order to get items shipped to you, which means that there is no longer a price advantage. I have been ordering from Newegg for years, but will have to take some time and look elsewhere before ordering again.
Reviewed By:Dr. Jay,9/19/2014 10:30:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great - After Full Format
Pros: Very pleased overall. Small initial problems getting it to work but after full format it worked great.
Cons: Had to format first to get it to be recognized and work properly. Other than that, it has been running great for about a month. No issues so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/18/2014 1:35:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau