Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Free shipping & returns. Sign up for Newegg Premier for Canada
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Reliable
Pros: Worked for a while
Cons: I got CRC and IO errors trying to use the drive after a 3 months. Even non-quick reformatting does not help.

I have been unsuccessful getting it returned for warranty. The web site locks up, gets inconsistent results with identical input, is unusable. I even tried using three browsers. I finally called Seagate to get an RMA over the phone. For the past half day, the warranty department has been closed "due to a department meeting." Nice way to run a company.
Other Thoughts: It will be a long while before I try another Seagate.
Reviewed By:xpda,11/26/2014 10:42:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Samsung D3 4TB USB3.0 Ext HDD STSHX-D401TDB
Pros: - Low Cost.
- Quiet
- Reliable
- Large Capacity
- 3 Year Warranty
- USB 3.0
Cons: - Not the fastest External HDD available.
- Difficult to remove the outer case without damage to the case.
Other Thoughts: These Samsung 4TB drives were on sale for the lowest cost I could get 4TB HDD's of any kind. The internal drives are Seagate 4TB 5900rpm drives and they came with a 3 year warranty. I normally buy Seagate drives and have been very happy with them (I own more than 20) for reliability and longevity. Seagate only offers a 2 year warranty on their External HDD's so I bought the Samsung version instead.

I do not use the included backup software by either Samsung or Seagate so I cannot speak to the quality or usability of that. I can only speak to the actual physical hardware.

I have eight of these Samsung D3 drives. Some are still in their original enclosures, some are in a NAS RAID array. I will say that the Samsung enclosure is different than the Seagate enclosure. The Seagate enclosure is more angularly rectangular with an internal metal heatsink and little space between the drive and the plastic enclosure walls. Samsung has a larger enclosure with no metal heatsink and rubber bumpers about 5mm thick to cushion the actual HDD in the enclosure. The Samsung enclosure is made to sit edgewise where the Seagate is made to sit flat. It is hard to say whether the Samsung has better heat management than the Seagate enclosure which I put on its side to be like the Samsung. The Samsung enclosure has better ventilation than the Seagate enclosure.

Performance wise, I believe that the Seagate enclosures are slightly faster than the Samsung enclosures based on direct comparisons between equivalent file transfer read/writes to both. The difference is no more than 10% and often less than 5% depending on the type and size of files being transferred.

If you take the HDD out of the enclosures (voiding the warranty) and put them in a server/PC/NAS, the drive performance is improved and the drive performance is the same whether it came out of a Samsung or Seagate enclosure.

I recommend these Samsung 4TB External HDD if you can get them on sale. I paid US$109 each for them at Newegg which was the lowest price I have seen to date for 4TB HDD's. So far, out of 10 drives purchased, I have had Zero DOA, Zero with Bad Sectors, and Zero with read/write failures or corruption. They seem to work good in a NAS RAID (RAID 1) configuration and I use them as drives in video servers where they are being read and written to every day and are running 24/7.

I gave the rating of 4 eggs because these drives in the Samsung enclosure are not as fast for read/write speed as the equivalent Seagate HDD enclosures.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 2:59:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 6TB USB 3.0 3.5'' Desktop External Hard Drive WDBFJK0060HBK-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not the fastest but so far reliable
Pros: It works, lots of space, great for large backups
Cons: Its a bit slow for a USB 3, drive. I have others that run 3 times as fast as these do.
Other Thoughts: Even though slow, very useful for dumping large amounts of data for archival / storage purposes. Good for the average user to use for simple video editing and picture / music librarys.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 11:00:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Touro Desk Pro 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive 0S03503 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 bad, no read or write speeds
Pros: its 4 TB drive, but its not a NAS grade drive and i've never used this brand before so im abit skeptical for this size of storage in a drive for the price. Thats about the only pro
Cons: They say in the specs its USB 3.0!! WOW, its capible up to 5 gigabits per second which is UP TO 625 MEGABYTES per second.

Now with that in mind, the fast drive speed of 7200rpm is incorrect, that is the speed of which the hard drive platters inside the drive move. Not at all a measurement of the drive's speed! 7200rpm is the standard for hard drives and it's been that way for over 10 years! No hard drive in our current time can have a read or write of 625MB's. SSD's are much closer to this number and some hit it depending on the SSD.
Other Thoughts: If you need storage, sure, this works but don't expect it to last forever. its a consumer model and not built for 24/7 use, that and a power saver mode really reduces performance for it. So all that speed just left you. You'd be MUCH better off taking the drive out and installing it in your own computer.
Reviewed By:Post real info!!!!!,11/24/2014 9:03:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 2TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0020HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing and Reliable so far!
Pros: bought 2 of these and they're both running 24/7 - no issues :)
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2014 4:00:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terriable
Pros: Low cost it was 90.00 for 4 TB, not bad.
Cons: Failed after trying to power it up a second time.
Other Thoughts: I will not buy Samsung again, the only reason to get this was for the price...and now that is not even worth it.
Reviewed By:Dave,11/22/2014 9:47:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 4TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC4.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It is a hard drive
Pros: Was the cheapest 4TB drive available when I bought it. Shipping was free and fast - two days. I 'deshell' external drives to use in hot-swap bays, making one GPT partition on the drive - it comes to 3.63 TB formatted. The drive is actually a WD Green - model WD40EZRX
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: As to why the drive sells for much more without the shell, I have no idea. That is just the way it is. Easy to fix just using a flat head screwdriver though.
Reviewed By:Paine,11/22/2014 10:10:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 XBOX ONE REMOTE STORAGE
Pros: In doing this your Xbox One System will boot faster stay faster and be able to hold more of whatever your poison is games movies and music....etc..
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Saw the price for Microsoft Xbox External hard drive and for 40 more dollars you get 3.5tb more
Reviewed By:N/A,11/21/2014 6:51:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 4TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC4.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Buffalo 4TB Drive
Pros: I bought 2 of them, one as primary storage and one as backup. I used SeaTools to test both drives and both drives passed. I normally get Seagate drives but these were on sale so I decided to try them out and have no complaints about it so far.
Cons: Not really a con, but like most 4TB drives it only comes with 3.63TB of useable space.
Reviewed By:Kenfolk,11/21/2014 11:11:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great drive, great price
Pros: I bought two of these on sale for $119 6 months ago. I pulled the drive out of the case and made them internal drives for $60 cheaper than you could find the same drive bare. They have been working flawlessly on my HTPC since, zero issues at all. Looking to buy a few more now. 100mb/sec transfer rates are pretty standard.
Cons: Get them out of the case and you have a cheap 4tb internal drive. Leave them in the case and they seem to get hot quick, which might kill longevity
Other Thoughts: As close as you can get for a reliable, fast 4tb drive nearing the $100 range.
Reviewed By:BeAtCoAsTeR,11/21/2014 7:43:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.