Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 1TB 2.5" USB 3.0 Black Portable Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked as expected
Pros: It looks really nice and fancy
Works out of the box, comes with seagate's software
Fast write speed even for smaller files
Cons: Short USB cable
Nothing else so far, I will see if something get wrong in the future!
Reviewed By:Bacon,4/22/2014 11:19:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 1TB 2.5" USB 3.0 Black Portable Hard Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 backup software difficult to install
Pros: USB 3.0
portability
nice looking
Cons: Backup software requires several other Microsoft programs to install.
The installer can't remember where it left off after a failed install.
Other Thoughts: I bought this for my sister-in-law to automagically backup her laptop. The backup software has a lot of dependencies on microsoft programs, such as .net, c++ redist, etc. Had major problems trying to get those installed, (Windows update issues) and the project became a big mess, but I would have preferred a backup software that didn't have so many dependencies.
I ended up installing some other third party backup program since I never got the included back program to work.
Reviewed By:Greg M.,4/22/2014 7:46:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Rugged Armor A80 500GB USB 3.0 2.5" Military Grade Portable Hard Drive SP500GBPHDA80S3B Blue

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A very well designed hard drive, able to stand the elements. Tested well in benchmark.
Pros: + A military grade external hard drive designed to withstand the toughest elements: Water, shock, heat, cold, and drops. My drive withstood two drops and water over the USB port and still performed well.
+ Benchmarked at very fast speeds compared to my eSata USB 3.0 drives. (116 MB/s Read, 115 MB/s Write)
+ A very smart design, with the ability to carry a very small cord that should never be lost.
+ A three year warranty to back up the claim of the military grade product.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: ▶ Accessories
The two accessories included are two included USB 3.0 mode cables (USB male to USB male); one short 4.25 inch cable and one long 30 inch cable. The USB interface is a newer standard for external hard drives, as it is able to achieve speeds as high as 625 MBps (In theory and compared to 300 MBps with eSata, the old standard), but in reality will benchmark close in real world tests. I really like that the interface isn’t proprietary and is easily replaceable.

▶ Hardware
Due to the nature of this device, it a little larger and heavier than most of the external hard drives that I own(5.5 x 3.7 x 0.7 inches; 9.6 ounces vs WD Elements: 4.4 x 3.2 x 0.6 inches; 8.6 ounces vs Brinell 1TB: 4.5 x 3.4 x 0.5 inches; 6.7 ounces). This device comes in one color, a matt blue aluminum, which is supposedly also “Military Grade”. This means that this product should withstand drops, temperature changes, water, and shock without damaging the device. If the device ever does get damaged, it does come with a 3 year warranty. On the front body is the Silicon Power name and logo, and on the back is the capacity followed by certifications. On the left side is the USB port and a flap over it to avoid being damaged from water. On the right side is a compartment for the short USB cable, which is a great place when you need a cord on the go, but would be very annoying due to its 4.25 inch length. Overall, the device is designed well, and created for tough situations.

▶ Software
The name of the drive that arrived is named “SP PHD U3” with 931GB of usable storage in the FAT32 default format. The external hard drive includes a very easy method to register your product:

1. Click the program “Activate Warranty.exe”
2. Enter your name and email
3. Congrats, you registered your product.

No mailing registration cards or frustration. Silicon Power created a fast and simple method for registering products.

▶ Testing
I started testing the “Military Grade” remark by dropping my device from my desk height of 30.75 inches, and then running water over the USB port. The drive maintained stability before and after the tests. I then benchmarked the product through CrystalDiskMark.

Sequential Read: 116.859 MB/s
Sequential Write: 115.839

This device is the fastest of my three USB 3.0 1TB external hard drives (WD Elements: 80MB/s Read and Write, Brinell: 116 MB/s Read, 94.15 MB/s Write). This was probably due to the USB 3.0 to USB 3.0 connection, instead of eSata to USB 3.0. I am more than satisfied by these results.

▶ Final Thoughts
Despite being a little heavier and bigger than my other USB 3.0 External hard drives, it is durable and performed much faster than my other drives. I don’t mind the extra weight and size if it performs well. Because of this, I would recommend this product to anyone looking for an external hard drive, and is why I give this product a 5 egg rating.
Reviewed By:Spanky,4/21/2014 3:50:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Quieter than my last one
Pros: Acceptably quiet, much quieter than the previous one.
Cons: Still slightly noisier than my other samples of this model,
Other Thoughts: This sample was an STBV2000100-E1E64 from Thailand, my much noisier previous one was from China, but I haven't noticed a relationship between country of origin and noise level.

All of my 2TB Seagate Expansion USB 3.0 drives have included 7200 RPM, 1TB/platter internal drives, either an STBV2000100-1E6164 or ST2000DM001-1CH64, and it appears the latter drives tend to be quieter
Reviewed By:Nick Nameless,4/21/2014 2:13:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation DDR 3 TB USB 3.0 Hard Drive with DDR3 MegaCache Accelerator - HD-GD3.0U3

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fast but poor USB connector
Pros: Very Fast with smaller files
Cons: The USB port is centered so be very careful inserting the cable. The pins will bend out of shape.
Reviewed By:Bill,4/20/2014 11:19:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive STDR1000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 33 percent failure out of the box
Pros: 1. Decent price.
2. Two drives worked (which is expected, right?), one died (not a "pro", really). I wanted to give 1 or maybe 2 eggs, but felt bad since two out of three of my drives do work well.
Cons: Several problems.
1. The USB cable is stiff and quite short. The bottom of the drive case is smooth plastic. When using the backup, the drive easily slips off the table or chair arm, or whatever, because the cable is so short any movement of your computer drags the drive around. A rubberized coating on the bottom of the drive would be helpful.
2. The Seagate "dashboard" backup program supplied on the drive itself and set to auto load is really bad. I recommend you NOT use it. Instead, use the backup feature in windows (my OS is Win7). If you DO install and use the Seagate dashboard, be very careful NOT to interrupt the first backup operation. You might kill the drive if you do.
3. Bought three drives, one worked for about 3 minutes then died (or was killed by some USB or Windows operation). Actually, the drive is probably still good, but it wont work for me; its a brick. I have tried to uninstall, re-install, search for new drivers, roll back the driver, EVERYTHING. Nothing helped. The power light won't come on, the drive does not show up as a USB device. BUT IT DID WORK ONE TIME. Then stopped. Now Windows 7 reports: "Code 43. Windows has stopped this device because..."
4. Even the registration program that pops up automatically is a joke. The serial number self-populates in the registration form, but after I filled in the rest of my info and pressed the "register" button, i got an error message telling me that there was a letter in the serial number sequence that was not allowed. BUT THE SERIAL NUMBER was correct, and the program filled it in automatically!! When I get lousy programs supplied with a tech product, I tend to judge the entire product and the company poorly. The Seagate software sucks.
Other Thoughts: I researched, I considered WD, Seagate, and a few other products. Finally settled on Seagate, which was a mistake. One dead drive out of three. Now I have to RMA, pack for shipping, beg for Newegg to cover mailing costs back to the shipper (why should I pay?). Pain in the bum; why can't Seagate build and sell products that are worth the money and do the job they are supposed to do?
Reviewed By:JCC,4/20/2014 9:41:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 3TB USB 3.0 Desk External Hard Drive STAC3000302

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great External Drive
Pros: I Liked the first one so well that I bought two more. These drives are being sold as FreeAgent GoFlex but they actually resemble the Backup Plus by the case design. The drive is fast reaching upwards of 150 MB/s over a HooToo usb 3 hub. I found a hint from a previous reviewer about Teracopy and have been using it with improved transfer speeds over MS file manager. The included Dashboard software is a great utility to manage the drives. It allows for custom power settings and led status lights for each drive. The use of the software for power management should greatly extend the useful life of the drive since it won't be spinning 24/7. Did I mention I bought three of these!
Cons: Refurbished warranty of only 90 days.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2014 6:57:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDR2000101 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Software works very well, drive is fast using 3.0. Does exactly what I bought it for.
Cons: A little on the expensive side.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2014 7:54:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA3000101 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Good little drives. Can be very worthwhile ($/gb) depending on sale. I own two of these; they're pretty quiet and seem reliable to me. USB 3.0 attachment, so they're actually fast (unlike USB 2.0 external drives). The drive and the base are separate pieces, so you can swap out drives without screwing around with cables. That was the draw for me--I needed to carry a backup between two desktops so I was able to setup a base at each and then swap the drives each week. Also, you can attach most any SATA drive directly to the dock if you need quick access to the data.
Cons: All plastic, of course. The drive side of things, the SATA power & data connectors are too deep in to access with ordinary cables. I had to shave off plastic from a power & a data cable to make 'em fit. Also, since the dock SATA was offset, you had a gap when plugging in a bare drive
Other Thoughts: Use 'em as intended and you've got a nice system. If you want to do the same thing as I did, you only gotta futz with the drives themselves.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2014 7:38:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Elements 1TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after less than two years
Pros: Spacious, no excess software to deal with.
Cons: DEAD, after less than two years!
Other Thoughts: Warranty is out (of course), and the drive is useful only as a paperweight. Went to check a backup (which was the purpose for this drive), and came back with errors. Tried to diagnose, but the drive was only intermittently visible to the desktop. Tried to repair permissions, ran WD's own Acronis software hoping that it was just a glitch, but no dice. As a last resort I turned to WD's Quick Formatter, but the drive can't be formatted. I am very disappointed with WD. I tried one of their drives on the recommendation of a friend. My Seagate died after less than 5 years of use, so all in all I can't say I'm happy with the quality of the products these companies. Seagate is not what it once was, and I'm starting to wonder how trustworthy any of them are anymore.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2014 3:10:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau