Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB3000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great with my xbox one s
Pros: Fast, quite and small
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Bought this for my Xbox one s. Very hassle free installation, just plug to your Xbox one and it would configure by it self.
Reviewed By:Francisco M. Nazario,12/8/2016 4:05:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lots of space, lowest cost, cooling may be an issue
Pros: Decent USB 3.0 performance for an inexpensive mechanical drive (see Other Comments).
4.5TB formatted for $110!
Small footprint
Low power (6-7W during heavy use)
5 1/2 foot cord on wall wart power pack.
Cons: Only 1 year warranty.

If you orient the case with the rubber feet facing down as designed, then it is at risk of tipping. It would be easy enough to slap your own feet on the side though, and lay it down (the right side is the bottom of the hard drive).

Bad cooling design. There are vent holes on the back of the case, but they are sealed off by the EMI shielding foil stuck to the back of the drive. There are also vent holes on the bottom, but the feet are less than 1mm tall, so don't count on much air getting in through there.

Full-size, old-style power pack that blocks the outlet below it.
Other Thoughts: Remember, as with any hard drive, backup your data! All hard drives fail eventually, and the fact that Seagate only provides a 1 year warranty is telling. 4.5TB is a lot of data to lose.

The enclosed drive is ST5000DM000.

Performance while in the external case and connected to USB 3.0 port:

Sequential Read (Q= 32,T=10) : 191.383 MB/s
Sequential Write (Q= 32,T=10) : 59.320 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T=10) : 0.697 MB/s [ 170.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T=10) : 6.690 MB/s [ 1633.3 IOPS]
Sequential Read (T= 1) : 191.285 MB/s
Sequential Write (T= 1) : 158.547 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 0.587 MB/s [ 143.3 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 6.667 MB/s [ 1627.7 IOPS]

Test : 1024 MiB [D: 0.1% (5.4/4657.4 GiB)] (x3) [Interval=5 sec]

Performance improved considerably once removed from the case and attached to a 6Gbps SATA port:

Sequential Read (Q= 32,T=10) : 243.320 MB/s
Sequential Write (Q= 32,T=10) : 134.501 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T=10) : 1.511 MB/s [ 368.9 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T=10) : 7.387 MB/s [ 1803.5 IOPS]
Sequential Read (T= 1) : 190.008 MB/s
Sequential Write (T= 1) : 184.365 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 0.592 MB/s [ 144.5 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 7.894 MB/s [ 1927.2 IOPS]

Test : 1024 MiB [D: 0.1% (5.9/4657.4 GiB)] (x3) [Interval=5 sec]

Be warned, unless you are extremely careful, you will break many of the 26 fragile loop clips along the perimeter of the lid while taking the enclosure apart, likely voiding the warranty.
Reviewed By:Steve F.,12/4/2016 9:34:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good drive, bad warranty
Pros: Huge amount of space, ready to go install, speedy for a monster.
Cons: Case is cheap. Almost to the point where you giggle when you pick it up.
Other Thoughts: It does what I asked it to. No more no less. If you are one of the people who like to pop external drives open to see what you're getting, like I am, or, you put them in your desk top, like I also am, you'll find this case is a breeze to get open but its not really designed to be put back together. However I was able to do so with only minimal damage to the case. Mine has an ST8000AS0002 archive drive inside it. Its not real noisy, took a bit longer to get itself going than other drives from Seagates that I have.
Reviewed By:Thomas N.,12/4/2016 5:43:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Book Duo Desktop RAID External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBLWE0080JCH-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Setup, Easy to Use
Pros: Space!! Both in storage capacity and its small form factor! I will get more of these for NAS Storage of Multimedia.
Cons: none thus far
Other Thoughts: Definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for Large storage capacity at a reasonable price and great performance ability!
Reviewed By:Travis C.,12/3/2016 7:19:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Starting to fail after 2 months
Pros: Alot of storage space
Cons: Started to fail this week, havent done anything special it just started failing and i had to reboot and replug it all the time but its getting worse
Other Thoughts: i wouldn't recommend it even with the discount
Reviewed By:david l.,12/2/2016 6:27:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0080HBK-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not as convenient as expected
Pros: It is fast, shiny, and *almost* ready to use out of the box.
The included diagnostics and other software work quite well.
As a bonus, it even comes with a USB and power cable too.
Considerably more durable than other makes; however, see cons. . .
Cons: The factory format's sector size is too small for many computers to succeed in using such a large drive. The trouble is that speed drops way down (that can include zero) while doing backups. So, that may appear broken, even if it isn't. This inconvenience could cause returns. Read on, because there is a fix.
Other Thoughts: You can format NTFS and choose a larger sector size. The default setting is too small. To fix this, I reformatted with "64 kilobytes" sector size (as found on the format menu in Windows). Formatting a large drive can take a while. After that fix, it runs at expected speeds most of the time and doesn't drop the speed to zero for either small or large files.

Table of NTFS sector size (for optimal formatting to accommodate hard drive size):
64K 8TB
32K 4TB
16K 2TB
8K 1TB
4K is the default size, but most suitable for drives of less than 1TB
Notes:
Nearby settings also work fine. That table isn't usually mandatory, but it is for eliminating slowdowns. The bigger your drive is, the less suitable the default 4k will be. That issue will occasionally make a 2TB slow down to half or a 4TB slow down to 1/4 or make an 8TB halt. It probably isn't broken--just format it correctly to fix it.
Manufacturer Response:Hey there Daniel,
Your feedback and suggestions are appreciated, and we thank you for taking the time to provide them to us.
We do provide a formatting tool for use with our external drives to format the device for XP or Vista and later Operating Systems, which may have been beneficial to you.
“How to format external drives using WD Quick Formatter in Windows or Mac”: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=3868

For assistance with any other questions or concerns you may have with the drive, you can reach us below and mention the following case number.

Support Case Number: 120616-11618601

Need Help? Please contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.

Reviewed By:Daniel H.,12/2/2016 5:15:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Bulk Storage at its best
Pros: Got them on sale, perfect for storing old files
Cons: a bit warm
Reviewed By:Christine T.,12/2/2016 2:51:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cheapest $ per TB
Pros: For all those movies or pictures that you just cant delete
Cons: A bit slow on the read side, but nothing major to worry about, for storage purposes, nothing beats this $ per TB
Reviewed By:Christine T.,12/2/2016 2:45:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT8000100 (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent for Storage
Pros: Most storage you can get for the price
Cons: A bit warm
Reviewed By:Christine T.,12/2/2016 2:38:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives G-Force 4TB USB 3.0 / eSATA Aluminum Desktop External Hard Drive GF3B4000EU Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fast, cheap but quirkly
Pros: ESata and USB 3.0 and a 7200RPM drive, what could go wrong? Lots it would appear...
Cons: If you have any Fantom drives with the intention of using them for eSata be warned that you MUST plug your device into a WALL OUTLET for power. If you use battery power (UPS), you will experience eSata disconnecting issues and not being able to format them. I purchased 3 of these drives and all 3 had issues with eSATA while plugged into my UPS. However USB worked fine during this time. Only plugging into the wall outlet fixed the eSATA issues. Hope this helps someone else.

Edited Dec 1st: Multiple days of fast backups with no issues. Suddenly last night one of the drives starts acting up again disappearing during write operations. Ended up killing my backup program and I had to format the drives and rebuild a new catalog. Even after doing so, the drive is continuing to surprise go offline. Switched to a different drive and attempted again but with same results. Tried new brand new cable from newegg and different power cord, again same results. Pulled one of the HG SATA drives from the Fantom enclosure and plugged it into a cheapo Rosewill enclosure we used to use on our old system and surprise, it works flawlessly? I'm simply baffled at this point. I am going to pick up a USB 3.0 card tomorrow and slap it into my backup server and try USB with these Fantom drives and give up on the eSATA option. Too bad as I was moving 1.5tb of WIndows HyperV Virtual Machines in roughly 6-7 hours on average.

So I'm disappointed in the issues I'm having but I hope USB 3.0 gives me the stability and speed I was hoping for with eSATA.
Reviewed By:James H.,12/1/2016 6:34:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.