Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very unreliable drives, one already crashed, the other one is unstable with bad sectors
Pros: read cons
Cons: These drives are very reliable, don't store important stuff on these junk unless you have a backup.

I bought two if these on Nov 17th 2012, they are both sat on a desk on top of a notebook cooler, I never move them around.

2 days ago, one of the drive has crashed completely and I can't even read the drive anymore, so my datas are all gone, the other drive is about to die too as the SMART on diskinfo showing caution, so I'm in the process of transferring the data on that drive to a new samsung 4TB. I have 3 other internal hard drives 3TB/3TB/4TB that I bought way before these external drives and they are still running fine without problems.

These drives can't even last for 2 years, you are basically paying seagate $100 every 2 years per drive, some people can't even get these junk to last for 1 year, I only got 2 years outta them and I lost over 2tb of data.

Luckily, I paid with a visa card, I think my visa card has extended warranty that extend the manufacturer's warranty by an extra year, shame on you seagate, you did this on purpose, making your drive last such short time. I can tell you are doing this on purpose just by seeing how your stock has performed, you screw with your customers to benefit your share holders.
Reviewed By:sfpct,10/29/2014 9:39:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 XBOX ONE compatible!!
Pros: huge data storage
Loads very quickly
Compatible with XBOX ONE (Recognizes instantly)
Very easy to configure and manage data.
Very durable, and does not produce a lot of heat during extended usage.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome product that bolsters the capability of my gaming system tremendously. This is a must have for XBOX ONE gamers!
Reviewed By:Zafar007,10/29/2014 4:47:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Touro Desk Pro 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive 0S03503 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product!
Pros: Great price, big drive, good transfer speeds, and so far very reliable
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I bought this to house my 2.5 TB iTunes library as well as a few other backup items (photos, eBooks, etc.). It's been very reliable and I have not noticed any blatant sluggishness. I typically add one or two movies or albums at a time, and it only takes a few seconds.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/29/2014 8:09:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bad chasis, decent drive?
Pros: High capacity drive, good price
Cons: DOA, essentially.
Chasis is garbage
Other Thoughts: I got the drive and it was basically dead on arrival. I scheduled an RMA but I think I am just going to tear apart the drive and keep the hard drive. It has a seagate T4000NC000 drive in it supposedly, which, unfortunately, is only 5900 rpm. But since I am just using this as a backup drive, that is plenty for me I think, and at $110, this drive + chasis was $40 less than the bare drive itself.

But long story short- do not get this product. A ton of people seem to complain about it, and I would have to agree with them. Unless you feel like giving UPS $10 for no reason. If you want to just buy the product for the cheaper hard drive, then that I would recommend. If the drive fails anytime soon I will make note.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/28/2014 10:16:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent Desk 1.5TB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive ST315005FDA2E1-RK Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Reliable External HDD
Pros: Vast space, reliability, great overall HDD
Cons: The data transfer rate after a couple years use seems to lagg some, but overall still better than most. The 2.0 USB capability versus the newer HDD's with 3.0 capability, it obviously is slower.
Other Thoughts: If you take care of the HDD properly (defragmentation, cooler and dry space, don't drop it, etc) it will be a great external HDD for at least the 5 year warranty that it comes with.
Reviewed By:PC Techie,10/27/2014 1:27:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lost confidence in Seagate
Pros: Large capacity for a reasonable price.
Cons: Again, for all you people who want to protect your data, Seagate has declined in quality over the past few years to a fatal level. I have many Seagate hard drives and they used to be the best on the market. In the past few years though the quality and dependability has dropped off to almost worthless. Seagate has opened a new branch of their business to perform "data recovery" for people when their hard drive dies. Well, it is designed to fail for just that purpose. Do yourself a favor and try a different brand. It's all about money for Seagate, you and your data are just food for them.
Other Thoughts: Enterprise class drives may give you a bit more dependability, look to the warranty time, but realize, they still make out like bandits even if they replace the drive with their refurbished ones. They get plenty of returns for just that purpose. It's all a business model which has zero to do with your satisfaction. They are just capitalizing off their old rep.
Reviewed By:Marco,10/27/2014 12:43:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GForce3 Pro 4TB USB 3.0 7200RPM External Hard Drive GF3B4000UP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for server backup
Pros: I am using this drive for backup of my Windows Server Essentials 2012 R2 server. I rotate drives with one stored offsite. It set up easily and works fine. I have several Fantom drives. The oldest are 5 years old. None has failed yet. All other external drives I have bought have failed after a while. These are more expensive than some other brands, but they hold up far better.
Cons: More expensive than some other external drives.
Other Thoughts: You pay more, but you get what you pay for.
Reviewed By:BozemanMark,10/26/2014 10:46:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3 Year Warranty Terrific Value for an External Drive
Pros: A 3 year warranty! Lots of space. Fast transfer of data if you have a USB 3 port on your computer. For the unfamiliar, this drive works fine with a USB 2 port, the transfer rate is just slower. Price is very very good for this much storage.

Backups, video and audio streaming are perfect for this drives speed and space

Others have said this is actually a Seagate drive internally as a positive
Cons: The drive is either 5400 rpm or 5900 rpm (most 4 TB drives seem to be this rpm speed). This speed is important only if you editing / writing / saving files on the drive directly.

Many others have mentioned it comes with a short USB 3 cable.

Seagate drive reliability has come into question in the last few years but this drive has 3 year warranty
Other Thoughts: Older computers may have issues with a 4 tb drive. Make sure your does NOT before you buy 4tb (or 3tb too)

Hard drives fail, it is guaranteed. Newegg is exemplary in replacing defective products. You should expect your drive to last at least two year beyond the New Egg return period. (I just used an external drive I've had since 2005 - it was just 300 GB)

Similarly priced space / brands have just 1 or 2 year warranties

I just purchased my 2rd drive of this model.

I swap back-ups with my 1000 miles away sister every six months. The 3 year warranty protects my limited use of this drive with our infrequent backups and swapping.

I bought a 6 foot USB 3 cable when I purchased the drive. Hope this was review is helpful, mark it if it is.
Reviewed By:Denden,10/26/2014 7:32:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Iomega Corp > iomega Select 2TB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive 34974 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good storage device
Pros: It runs exactly as promised.

I dropped it after having it for about 1 year and a half, and it didn't work anymore. During my efforts to recover the lost data, I found the drive still works fine, so now it runs as my internal mass storage.
Cons: the enclosure was a little heavy until I broke it.
Other Thoughts: good value, would buy again
Reviewed By:Doug,10/25/2014 10:50:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC130XK3J1 Black -Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Power Users Stay Away
Pros: It's probably great for dumping selfies onto every few months then putting back in a drawer.
Cons: The ultra-agressive power management on this drive makes it almost useless for any sort of ongoing storage project or large archival use. The controller will simply power off the drive in the middle of a long copy operation. The drive then immediately wakes back up and repopulates itself to the OS (autorun prompt etc), and the copy op must be restarted. This requires one to break up large multi-hundred-GB ops into small chunks and baby-sit the drive to make sure they copy through successfully. The drive is useless as a working drive for large downloads for the same reason. That the manufacturers claim this to be useful as an always-on cloud storage device is shown to be a bald marketeering fabrication.
Other Thoughts: Do not buy this if you expect it to behave like hard drives behave.
Reviewed By:Viva Con Vio,10/25/2014 10:07:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau