Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z97 Extreme4 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good budget MOBO/Bad Rebate Process
Pros: Great motherboard with a lot of features for an affordable price. UEFI BIOS is easy to use and you can even use a mouse. First time I've ever seen that.
Cons: Placement of SATA connectors could be better. ASRock has a horrible rebate process. You have to fill out an online form and the form doesn't even do basic validation of required fields. If you miss a field, you can't go back and edit the existing submission. So basically if you do it wrong, you're out of luck. Either utter incompetence or just shady rebates. If the rebate is enticing you buy this item, buy something else.
Manufacturer Response:Dear ASRock Customer

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
For the rebate related issue, please contact us at user@asrockamerica.com.
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 3:24:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Recent ones no good
Pros: Lots of features, has been on the market for some time.
Cons: Recently received boards buggy, BSOD all the time for no reason.
Other Thoughts: I've built 12 computers using this motherboard over the last year or two for research-related use. The first 9 computers went together without a problem and have experienced no problems in service.

However, the last three motherboards I've received (between June and September of this year) have all been problematic...all three computers have had serious BSOD problems. We've tried all sorts of remedies, from flashing the BIOS, replacing RAM/HD/PS, totally reinstalling Windows 7 x64 from scratch, and nothing fixes it. The thing will even BSOD during the Windows install process. Run a stress test on the computer, and it could go 36 hours before locking up, or 5 minutes. There's no rhyme nor reason to this.

Replaced the motherboard in one machine with a similar ASUS motherboard, reusing all components (HD, RAM, processor, etc.), and had zero problems with it after that.

I can only assume that something has changed with these motherboards...maybe a bad batch of components or something. I've built at least 60 computers with Gigabyte motherboards over the last 5 years and had zero problems with them until now. Hopefully they'll take these back and exchange them for something else.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 12:56:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI CSM-B85M-E45 LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent motherboard
Pros: Very reliable board with a nice BIOS interface. This is a rugged board that I have been using in industrial builds. Excellent performance, and so far, no boards or components have gone out on any of these boards I have in place (About 10 so far). MSI customer support is excellent, I have had to contact them several times and they were always very helpful. Oh, did i mention that it is a CSM model?
Cons: None so far, and none expected.
Other Thoughts: Honestly this is one of my favorite boards for industry. It has a PCI slot for those legacy boards, and it is small enough to fit into the nice slim cases.
Reviewed By:Vicki,9/30/2014 12:17:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS X99-DELUXE LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board Overloaded with features
Pros: Nice Board and Features. Everything works as its advertised and more. You can use the uefi to overclock or not or completely customize. setup up defaults with gskill 2400 MHz insta boot...
Cons: The Auto extreme tuning with a 5820k took it to 5.2 and I chickened out and turn the tuning process off as I didn't want to take the chip beyond 79 C ...so be careful with the Extreme tuning ...
Other Thoughts: Read about other news frying what not I've no issues at all tried the crystal sound2 thought it would compare to Creative recon3d it doesn't but it may work fine for those not interested in a full sound ... personal preference is why I didn't knock an egg off
NOTE *** I did a memery OC and my board wouldn't reset figured out you have to turn off the xmp switch for your memory to reset while testing your overclocks
Reviewed By:Boolie,9/30/2014 10:37:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad customer service
Pros: Has some good features like upgraded audio and future proof Intel Thunderbolt slot.
Cons: I have a small side business and build about 20 systems a year for customers and friends. I decided to go with Gigabyte, because I liked some of the features on this board. This is the first time I used a Gigabyte board and have always been brand loyal to MSI. Everything went fine during the build and it booted into windows with no problems. After downloading all my software I attempted to go into the BIOS to fine tune the system a little and that is where there is an issue. As the system boots I hit the "delete" key to enter the BIOS and the screen just turns black. It will not go into the BIOS. I hit ctrl/alt/del and it shuts down and boots into Windows fine. No matter what I do it will not go into the BIOS all I get is a blank screen. I tried to re-flash and update the BIOS and that did no good, still just a blank screen. I submitted a ticket through Gigabyte's web site and after a week absolutely no response from customer service. While the system seems to work fine, what good is it when you can't enter the BIOS? Perhaps I am doing something wrong, but when their customer service doesn't respond I felt my only option was to leave a 1 egg review for non-existent, poor customer service. Over the past five years I have built a lot of systems and have had very few hardware issues. I am very disappointed with my first Gigabyte board, they really should learn how to back their products like Corsair and MSI do.
Other Thoughts: I understand that bad products do slip by on occasion no matter who the manufacturer is, but their is no excuse for bad customer service. Never another Gigabyte product for me.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 10:28:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simply amazing
Pros: It works! I say this because in my past.. I bought an ASUS Maximus III Gene and the board wouldn't boot up using an i5 760.

This one worked no questions or issues what so ever. Was easy to set up, turn on.

Stock Speeds it blows away my previous build which was an EVGA P55 SLi E655 Mobo and i5 760 Quad Core overclocked to 4.0GHz on air. It easily dispatches the i5 760 with less GHz by a dramatic performance ratio.

I no longer find myself getting any form of lag while playing Battlefield 4.

The SATA Cables that come with the board give it a nice touch considering the fact when I get my fans in to replace the 3 pin ones I have, the case will be of Red/White and Blue theme. Red from the motherboard, White from a few fans and most of the rest are blue..
Cons: People apparently have been having on-board audio issues? I haven't had any issues with it what so ever of any type. My only personal complaint is the fact it only has 4 pin fan headers and my case fans are 3pin.. For now I had to resort to routing cables around and running them off Molex.

In the process of buying new fans but this doesn't bother me as i'm getting higher CFM one's even if they cost a ton.. $24 for a 140mm e.e; I need 3 200's to go...

Not going to dock a Egg off it tho for that. In the end, it will be cooler so..

Another small gripe is the fact unless they disappeared.. this doesn't come with any Zip ties in any way shape or form but considering I bought a pack of 100 from a dollar store.. not docking an Egg either.
Other Thoughts: OS: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

CPU: Intel core i5-4690k @ Stock speed.

Ram: G. Skill Snipers 1866Mhz 8GB (4GBx2)

PSU: XFX BES Black Edition 850W. (3yr old out of my old Rig)

GPU: EVGA nVidia 660 GTX Ti 2GB

HDD: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200RPM Sata III, 64MB Cache

Monitor: Acer AL2016W 20" 1680x1050

Keyboard: Logitech G110

Mouse: Logitech G500


Case: CoolerMaster HAF XM

Fans: Original 140mm, Original 200mm's that comes with the HAF. Sigmatik 120mm, Coolermaster 200mm Mega Flow, 200mm Coolermaster.
Reviewed By:HellsDisciples,9/30/2014 9:12:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-A LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works fine now, but horrible tech support
Pros: It works!
Came packaged well and undamaged.
Very helpful owner's manual.
Cons: Awful awful tech support!
Other Thoughts: I want to share my experience with this MOBO, so that other people can learn from it. I purchased this MOBO as part of my first PC build.. Before purchasing it, I read a lot of reviews that complained about ASUS's customer service. I disregarded these because I saw ASUS techs commenting on the reviews trying to help. After all, ASUS has a great reputation! Unfortunately, the reviews are correct. After installing it, I had issues with the B1 and B2 RAM slots not working. The PC would not boot when a RAM stick was installed in either slot. I checked the RAM, and it was compatible and good. The PC worked fine when the RAM was in A1 or A2. I was at a loss of what to do, and I was worried that I may have to RMA the entire MOBO and take my entire PC apart, so I entered into an online chat session with ASUS tech support. What a waste of time! The tech didn't seem to know anymore than I did. After, updating the BIOS (a step that I suggested, not him), he disconnected even though I told him that the problem was not fixed and that I wanted his input on how to continue troubleshooting the problem. This is the main reason I was dissatisfied. After doing a lot of research on my own (no thanks to ASUS), I tried reseating the CPU and the heatsink, and lo and behold it works fine now. I am satisfied with the product, but I am upset by a company that does not stand by their product. I can't imagine the hell I would have to go through to RMA this thing if it came to that.
Reviewed By:Brainer,9/30/2014 8:23:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z87E-ITX LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel I217V Lan 802.11ac WiFi Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Motherboard
Pros: This is my first ITX size motherboard. I have 0 issues with it.
Cons: No issues.
Other Thoughts: I chronically used MSI motherboards till I decided to build an ITX case. I needed a ITX board with a MSATA slot for my msata drive. this is virtually the only one out there.

Yes once the msata drive is installed, you can't get to it without removing the MOBO from the case. There is no reason you would want to in the first place. Good motherboard.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 8:17:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS H61M-A LGA 1155 Intel H61(B3) HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid as far as I can tell
Pros: -Looks nice in my parents new build
-UEFI layout is very slick, easy to navigate
-Good board for micro builds, lots of nice features

Generally very few complaints, it's a solid little micro board. I can't see anything about it so far that tells me it was refurbished, works like new so far. (I think, see cons/other thoughts).
Cons: None so far, will update if I find out the issue I'm experiencing is due to the board, but I don't think it is.
Other Thoughts: -only 2 fan connectors, but I knew this going in. Just would have liked to see a third for (FRONT INTAKE + REAR EXHAUST + CPU HEATSINK) setups without needing a fan splitter.

-did a fresh install of windows and there seems to be no network adapter/ethernet device on the board. I thought maybe it was disabled, but checked the BIOS and it's enabled but Windows can't see it at all.

I'm hoping that the boards built-in ethernet/network inputs + outputs on the I/O panel are functional and still working.

It's most likely just drivers (I hope), as the board came refurbished with no driver disc/motherboard dvd, so I've been trying to compile windows updates to move via USB to the new system and get the network adapter recognized by the OS.

Either way, aside from the little hiccup I'm experiencing the board seems in good shape, recognizes all other hardware and BIOS is very nice. Board build is good and it should serve this system well.

If it does turn out the network adapter is non-functional, I will update this review as necessary and probably just order a $10 network card to replace the on-board with, problem solved.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 7:25:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-X99-GAMING 5 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Has potential, potentially
Pros: Looks very well made, high quality parts used.
Cons: unstable, unstable, unstable. While I think this is due to the newness of the x99 platform, we need some clarification from gigabyte on whether the instability is due to hardware problems or software. If it is software/bios I don't mind waiting while 'a few kinks get ironed out', but I was very close to returning this board for something else. Now I'm worried if it is too late.
Other Thoughts: The last build I did prior to this was x58 i7930, which I had stable at 4.2Ghz very quickly and was rock solid for 4 years. I have yet to get this board/cpu/ram to its 'happy place' in terms of overclocking. Its going to take a lot more trial and error I fear. If I'm working against a quirky bios it makes it that much more difficult. I can't even enter the bios screen if I have all of my HDDs plugged in. Thats nuts.
Reviewed By:me,9/30/2014 6:46:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau