Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 check your parts!!
Pros: very good board- solid
Cons: Not much to con about except that the box you may receive could be open. Check your parts inventory before you install. I did not receive the temp sensors with the board. I decided not to RMA due to lack of time on install.
Reviewed By:KEITH D.,4/28/2016 3:08:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming G1 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 nice features and nice looks, but man is this board temperamental
Pros: - well designed layout, lots of customization options
- stable when as long as you can get it to boot
Cons: -the killer triple shot, I do not know if its the implementation or just in general, in windows 10 updating to the latest driver/software set of the killer software, and windows blue screens, only way to get it back for me was safe mode and disabling the wireless NIC portion. I've tried updating twice, and both times windows 10 coughs up blood and lays down in the corner

- when I installed 4 sticks of memory (for 64 GB total) the board would fail post, the bios would state the processor speed as 2000 instead of 4000, and just a lot of random info was wrong in the bios, did a reset to default , and a couple tries, it booted, went back in, set it back to xmp profile, first time failed post, couple reboots, and vola it works, I'm still paranoid to fully turn the machine off but it seems to be stable now at 4.5 ghz and the ram running stock just xmp profile enabled. i still do not like that the problems with the board are not consistent and not reproducible the same way each time. i've spent hours going step by step from default settings up and random boot failures on different settings, memory set i'm using is CMD32GX4M2B3000C15 x2
- built in sound sometimes has alot of static/centre channel not working other times sounds crystal clear and amazing

- The bios seems really unstable so far, currently on F6 with plans to try updating to F7 this weekend
Other Thoughts: Build
Gigabyte G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming G1
Intel 6700k
CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3000 x2
intel 750 series 1.2 TB SSD pci express
Samsung 840 evo 1tb ssd
Corsair 110I cpu watercooler
EVGA GTX 970 SSC(just waiting for pascal)
Corsair 1000w power supply
Reviewed By:Kyle A.,4/28/2016 2:55:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid motherboard, does the job well
Pros: It seems like the main beef with the "meh" reviews on the previous version of this board were centered around 1) the positioning of the SATA connections and 2) less than ideal sound quality. This board addresses the SATA positioning for the most part, though the PCI-E port and two of the SATA ports are still located at the bottom corner of the board, forward facing. Not sure if/how this would impact SLI configurations. The audio has been addressed with a chipset upgrade and sounds fine. Nahimic is included that will benefit streamers but that's not my bag so I will leave it to others on that one.

Overall the BIOS is easy to use, overclocking is as simple as on any other board.

Update: I am really impressed with the OC performance of this board. I pushed my i7-6700k to 4.9 GHz without issues but I have backed off to a very solid 4.8 with only 1.35V, stable as a rock with only a humble Cryorig H7 air cooler. Part of this may be winning the silicon lottery with the processor, but the BIOS is impressively easy to use and it's worth a thumbs up to a "budget" board that is allowing those sorts of OC speeds without breaking a sweat.
Cons: - Still a bit of weird positioning on a few of the board connections. Most annoying for me is SYS_FAN1, which is just below the CPU so jacking in with any sort of aftermarket air cooler installed is an exercise in finger dexterity.

- No screws on the right because this is a short board, which means there is uncomfortable flex when installing the 24 pin connection. Not a big deal but a minor annoyance.

- For a board that markets its black and white styling aggressively, I don't understand why there is a giant LED-illuminated gold line running up the left side, with no option I have found to either disable or change color. *face palm*
Other Thoughts: There's not really anything that distinguishes this board from any of the other well-regarded Z170 products on the market (looking at you Asus Z170-A). Buy the one that best suites your style.
Reviewed By:MATTHEW W.,4/28/2016 2:51:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170A TOMAHAWK AC LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Motherboard but not for SLI-ers
Pros: Pretty, not expensive, USB 3.1, Z170 chipset
Cons: Installing Windows 7 was a pain, had to play tricks. May try Win 10 soon however. Overclocking is also somewhat painful. The WiFi keeps dropping so frequently that it becomes useless so I hooked up my Netgear WiFi adapter to a USB and disconnected the in-board MSI adapter to solve the issue...and boy...you know what a PITA it is to attach those little WiFi connectors for the antennas...with a magnifying glass, and then the little screws and then....oh...no good. I think I will never buy MSI motherboards ever more....their GPUs are OK but certainly not the MoBos
Other Thoughts: Edit my previous review and increase to 4 eggs: after install of Win 10 everything working like a breeze. The signal with the WiFi is actually excellent and does not drop. The only problems now with the MoBo is lack of SLI for those who want to SLI. Also I wish the OC would be easier with this guy.
Reviewed By:Gonzalo P.,4/28/2016 2:43:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H97M Pro4 LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My Go-To Board
Pros: -4 ram slots
-sturdy
-4 USB 3.0
-HDMI + VGA + DVI
Cons: I've bought 4-5 of these boards, 1 was DOA but was promptly replaced. Not a con but I'll be switching to the 1151 version of this board from now on.

an m.2 would be nice also the front case ports could be better labeled but what can you do.
Other Thoughts: Like I said this is my go to board for micro-atx builds. Specs

This board + 8GB DDR3 Corsair + cheap SSD + 450W Bronze EVGA PSU and call it a day.
Reviewed By:Patrick C.,4/28/2016 1:47:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Major Issues
Pros: - Great Board with the right connections
- Good Wifi onboard
- Great software
Cons: - Major issues with USB
Some ports in the wrong place which made it hard to set up
Other Thoughts: I have set up many computers in my lifetime although this is my first ITX. I have to say that I ported an SSD over from another system with Windows 10 installed, however no USB ports worked initially. Once I sourced a device that worked I was able to log into windows. Then I found out that only the USB 3.1 port worked on the computer. A Rock support sent me to Microsoft and after working with Microsoft for quite a while another user told me that they were having the same issues with the ASRock and they believe it to be an ASRock issue.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Yechiel,

Thank you for purchase and review.
Its the common issue that Windows drive is from other system due to hardware configuration has changed.
However, the USB ports work with Windows 8.1/10 without problem with fresh Windows install.

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Yechiel R.,4/28/2016 1:31:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-H110M-A (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel H110 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty good for the price
Pros: - Bios isn't too hard to figure out (had to fiddle with some settings on my ssd)
- Price
Cons: - Onboard LAN died after a couple of months. I assume it was static electricity. I had an extra USB 3 to Ethernet adapter lying around, but you may want invest in a NIC card. Only problem is if you have a big video card a NIC may not fit or it will block your fans like it did mine.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product, despite the dead LAN port. I can get away with using an adapter, but if that doesn't work for you, you'll want to by a $10 NIC too, it's cheaper than RMA.
Reviewed By:Ammon S.,4/28/2016 1:04:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-Gaming 6 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 garbage
Pros: everthing but it wont detect my gigabyte 980 ti windforce only randomly with my graphics go through my gpu instead of on board gpu
Cons: wont detect my 980 ti only somtimes it will work
Other Thoughts: no i would not maybe its just my board but the only problem is it wont detect my two month old 980 ti i have got the gpu to work once other then that stuck on on board graphics
Reviewed By:Daniel T.,4/28/2016 12:38:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z170XP-SLI (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Run like a charm, very good motherboard.
Pros: All the greatest features without useless stuff:
- Support USB 3.1, with normal and type-c port
- M.2 socket
- Six audio jacks
- Support SLI/Cross fire with 2 PCIEx8 slots
- Apparently, according to some review:
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/7401/gigabyte-z170xp-sli-intel-z170-motherboard-review/index.html
- it support RAM up to 3600 MHz
- Even thought, I usually don’t care about this stuff, the led that separate the Audio circuit is pretty cool
Cons: Absolutely Not
Other Thoughts: Just to let you know that, it came with Bios version F3 and it works out of the box (even thought I update the bios to F6 later on).

I use this board with a I7 6700K, 16 GB RAM (2x8GB) of G. Skill Trident Z at 3200 MHz, 2 Mushkin SSD ECO2 in raid 0 (for the OS), one old Samsung Spinpoint F3 1 TB for data and a Radeon HD 7870 2GB . I connect everything, power on and it starts. At first, RAM was at 2166 MHz, but once I enabled XMP, it was at full speed. I build my RAID 0 in the intel ROM, and it was ready to install the OS.

To install windows 7, I use a DVD ROM, so I didn’t have any problem with the USB. Windows7 being very old, USB and Ethernet wasn’t supported. They provide some driver to install windows 7 from a USB stick, but you still need to copy the driver at the installation, so it is kind of useless. That means you need to burned a DVD with the driver, so better to install the whole thing from the DVD. Once windows 7 is installed, you still stuck with no USB (even though the mouse and keyboard works) and no Ethernet. I copy the Ethernet driver on my old HDD from another PC.

Beside those little installation problems, (anyone with a bit of experience will figure this out) it works perfectly well.
Reviewed By:Marc V.,4/28/2016 12:05:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > Configurator > MB MSI | Z170A SLI PLUS RTL Configurator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 love
Pros: love
Cons: love
Other Thoughts: love
Reviewed By:mohinder b.,4/28/2016 11:13:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.