Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK1 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A bit complicated, but awesome
Pros: Everything so far.
Used this to replace a faulty MSI board and it is running perfectly.
Cons: All the extra thermal sensors and the two board fans threw me a bit. Haven't had to install them yet though
Other Thoughts: This board has amazing thermal management. On top of that it comes with two small little fans to help keep air flowing across the board. I have not needed to install these yet as the board temperature has remained at and below reasonable levels. I would highly recommend this for any gaming build.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/21/2014 4:58:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97-Gaming 9 AC LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So smexy
Pros: Great looking board. The red and black theme matches my case setup.
Bios is easy to navigate.
Drivers and Bios updates are easy to install.
Dragons!
Cons: Loud click when you power on the computer. But, it's apparently normal according to MSI so I won't take away any eggs.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people are complaining about the conflicting audio drivers, just install one and you'll be fine. I used Live Update to get the initial drivers installed then plan to manually install any updates in the future. Also, I wouldn't use Live Update to update the Bios. Seems to risky. Flashing the updates in the Bios itself is quick and easy.
Reviewed By:CcaidenN,11/21/2014 3:58:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock G31M-GS R2.0 LGA 775 Intel G31 + ICH7 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Um, the contents of the package were pretty complete, I guess. It came with all the necessary mounting hardware, and more cables than I was expecting.
Cons: DOA. I have no idea how well this model works in general, because after I returned it I opted for a G41C-GS instead (which did work pretty well).
Other Thoughts: I actually posted a review of this last year, but for some reason it didn't make it on to NewEgg. So I'm trying again. Don't buy this board, period.
Reviewed By:PhoenixM,11/21/2014 1:44:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI H97I AC LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Excellent AND bad surprise
Pros: Good features (Wi-Fi/Bluetooth) and affordable

The UEFI-BIOS recognized the G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2 without a fuss

The layout is PERFECT for the Lian Li PC-Q30 Mini-ITX case : the position of the CPU socket allows for a 120mm fan on the right side (after moding for mounting holes).

That layout also allows for an active CPU cooler with horizontal fan (relative to the mobo), like the Cooler Master Vortex Plus I'm using on this mobo. With a restriction : if using a discrete graphics card (I use the NVIDIA GTX750 Ti), then such cooler's fan cannot be above 92mm, whatever the case. No problem with DIMM clearance, when orienting the CPU cooler's heatsink's longer side towards the ports and over the power regulators (while this also allows to cool down that part of the mobo).
Cons: Flimsy and UNACCEPTABLE mount of the Wi-Fi antenna. Without forcing much wile securing one of the antenna, it broke and now it turns loose! -2 egg, because this is for an HTPC setup that will use Wi-Fi ac (up to 867MB/s) so as to stream music, movies and such. Generally, this type of mobo would be mostly used in HTPC systems, and such important part must at least be on par with standards (e.g. not break at first use like a cheap useless toy).
Other Thoughts: Although the motherboard works like a charm, after pondering if I should leave my evaluation at -2 eggs or -1 (for the Wi-Fi antenna), I left it at -2 : the importance of this feature for my HTPC setup makes this unacceptable.
Reviewed By:HawkFest,11/21/2014 12:22:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-H97M-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great budget motherboard!
Pros: Great performer. Beware that Gigabyte has one H97 motherboard a few dollars cheaper that only has only one system fan and two memory slots.

Great tech support.
Cons: The drivers loaded flawlessly, but there's a lot of other bundled software that is either bloated or will slow your system down. For example, the AppCenter and its related optional "tweaks" automatically load on the startup, and slows things down. It does very little that cannot be done in the bios, like running "fastboot." My anti-virus, AVG, also sounded off numerous alarms that the software had viruses after I installed it.
Other Thoughts: Skip the temptation to load the optional software and you will be fine.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/21/2014 12:01:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97M-PLUS LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice board
Pros: Decent build quality. Worked out of the box and I really enjoyed the bios upgrade process compared to years past. Used with I7-4970.
Cons: Not a knock against the board in general, but the Hackintosh community lists support for this one. It's a half truth. The problem is that without a discrete graphics card the HD 4600 does not work alone without the 'IGPEnable=No' statement added. Performance with the statement is P### poor. Apparently other motherboards do not have this issue. Beware that the #1&2 SATA port headers are easily bent and could be useless without care.
Other Thoughts: Overall pleased with build. Backed off to a Windows install which works well. Will wait for native v9 support and try again.
Reviewed By:Matt G,11/21/2014 11:15:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best motherboard in it's price class
Pros: Quality of components, feature set, BIOS settings. Asus has been the world leader in motherboard quality for 15+ years now and this motherboard is a show case of what you should expect from a moderate enthusiast main board that doesn't break the bank. Construction quality is apparent. When you get the box in your hands and open it up you instantly get the feeling that Asus takes pride in what they've assembled.

I've seen a few comments about the 240-pin SDRAM slots being hard to get the first sticks of memory in and I did not have that problem. I would recommend that if you are buying a new motherboard, get your ram and cpu on the board BEFORE you install the main board in your case.

The BIOS user interface is awesome. There is a plethora of settings to tweak, but lots of thought has gone into organizing things and making it both easy to navigate as well as easy on the eye.

The various buttons, LEDs, and the post/error code display are excellent extras that allow your to have a clear understanding of issues during overclocking or hardware swapping and still run the board (troubleshoot) with minimal attachment to other components (even a case).

And then there is the looks. The coloring/theme of the board and heatsinks as well as the LED backlighting on the southbridge and such are great touches. If you are installing this main board in a case without a window, you are doing it no justice. This main board deserves to be on display. I'd advise getting a case with good cable management, not only for airflow, but simply because this board is just as strong visually as it is in performance.

I've always been 99% satisfied with ASUS products, but this board I'd recommend to anyone building a new system OR upgrading an existing one.
Cons: I've heard the M.2 Socket is no good however I'm using it so I don't have an opinion on the matter.
Reviewed By:Sephlar,11/21/2014 9:39:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z97M OC Formula LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Board is well designed and well laid out. UEFI is plenty good. It absolutely looks great, and the periphery is well laid out for easy management and use
Cons: Two big complaints:
1) the first two PCI-e slots are the only ones that will run SLI/crossfire. This means your first card will most likely be smothered for cooling. The 3rd PCI-e slot ends up being mostly cosmetic on this board
2) I found the number of SATA ports to be lacking. 6 ports is kind of low for more ambitious storage setups.
Other Thoughts: I bought the board for cosmetic reasons, and it absolutely fills that part. Also performace is absolutely as expected, am generally happy with the layout.

My main gripe is still the SLI/crossfire slot restrictions, and would not recommend this board if you are looking to run a compact SLI/crossfire setup. In a single-card rig, this board is absolutely perfect.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/21/2014 9:03:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI B85M GAMING LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 MSI QUALITY
Pros: Looks great. WORKED 1st time. Has latest 10.2 BIOS.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: I wanted to do a budget build with some spare parts laying around and tried a different mfg. mobo. It was nothing but problems so I decided on a different route and used this board with a G3258 and am happy with the result. This board gives the room for further expansion 4690K and has OC ability. Lesson learned I will always use MSI for quality builds.
Reviewed By:MDW151,11/21/2014 8:38:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z87 Extreme3 LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works perfectly
Pros: Works without any problems.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,11/21/2014 8:06:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.