Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-A LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Multiple problems
Pros: It's a motherboard
Cons: Multiple problems: Cannot get the SM Bus Controller to install to save my life from the CD provided. Same with drivers provided on the Asus website. Onboard DVI-D does not appear to like going through a KVM switch. Have had to connect a monitor directly to get any video. Tried to install a known good video card, no video output from the onboard DVI port or the new video card. Multiple bad OS loads (Win 7) from known good software and bad application crashes (IE, Firefox, Word, etc).
Other Thoughts: Have been able to install most of the other drivers from Device Manager just by pointing at the CD to install them. The installation program on the CD and downloaded from Asus site does not work..
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 10:18:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-B85M-DS3H (rev. 3.0) LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good MB, BUT DO NOT Enable XMP
Pros: Solid mATX Board, with all the modern functions without a high price tag. Very well overall quality.
Cons: X.M.P function is defective on all rev. DO NOT enable X.M.P or the system will become unstable with random blue screen or restart sooner or later.
Other Thoughts: I am a technician and build a lot of computers for my customers, this MB is a good choice for the cheaper ones. I ordered several from rev 1.1 to 3.0, kept all the BIOS up to date, but sooner or later all the computers came back because of the random blue screens or restarts. I began to dig into the issue and almost RMA some of them. Then one day I finally figure out the it is the X.M.P which sets up the RAM to run at 8-8-8-24 causing the problem, on all revs. As soon as I disable the X.M.P, all issues go away. It took one MB half a year to show the problem but it will happen, so be prepared and disable X.M.P. BTW, RMA the MB will not solve the problem since all revs share the same issue.
Reviewed By:Bo,3/26/2015 9:17:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS H97I-PLUS LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HTPC/Mom build
Pros: Bought this for my mom to use as an HTPC and internet browser since she didn't need anything earth shattering. Nice compact design with all the outputs you will need to get the job done. Glad it had optical audio and even a PS/2 if I need it. Layout was nice and intuitive.
Cons: n/a
Other Thoughts: Intel Core i3-4130
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
SAMSUNG 850 EVO 120GB
CORSAIR CXM series CX430M
CORSAIR 250D Case
Reviewed By:Joe K.,3/26/2015 9:14:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Save some grief. Buy something else
Pros: It is pretty?
Cons: Does not work.
Other Thoughts: This thing will post and run for about 3 minutes at a time.
On a good day.

Even if you are staring at the BIOS config screen, it will shut down and reboot every few minutes.

Pass this by and get something from ASUS.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 8:26:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-PRO GAMER LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SEXY BOARD, SEXY PRICE
Pros: • Space is perfectly distrusted so you can place parts in with great efficiency.

• BIOS is much better than I've seen on any other motherboards.

• Great look to show off in your case.

• Lots of illumination to tell you that everything is working.

• F-Panel connectors are labels CORRECTLY.
Cons: I have yet to find any.
Other Thoughts: I was looking for a great motherboard, that can support the weight of some higher end CPU's, that is under $200. This... IS JUST PERFECT. I would suggest this motherboard to anyone who is a first time builder or even people who just need an upgrade. You get a LOT of bang for your buck here.
Reviewed By:Tim M.,3/26/2015 7:33:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97N-WIFI LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nearly Complete Garbage
Pros: Small form factor
Easy to place components.
Cons: -Exceptionally fragile sata connectors
-Ram slots are two close to two sata connectors
-No drivers on manufacturer's website are compatible with x64 OS's.
-Insanely slow to post with latest, non-beta drivers
Other Thoughts: I'm pretty sure I got a bad unit but it's been one thing after another with this piece of junk. The sata ports wiggle and are very loose. Not to mention on SHATTERED when I plugged a cabled into it.

Another thing that's bonkers is that none of the drivers from Gigabyte's website are compatible with Windows 8.1 x64. They only work with x86.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 7:32:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Board
Pros: Large, has lots of features.
Cons: After 1 day, couldn't get it to restart unless letting it sit for about 30 minutes. Read online this is a common problem for this board, a component overheats. First new board I ever got bad out of the box. Returned it since it was quicker to get a new board ( Gigabyte) sent out than the replacement method and it appears this brand it bad luck for me.
Other Thoughts: Shipped it back for a refund, which cost me 11 dollars in shipping per Newegg policy. That stunk.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 6:32:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > Biostar > BIOSTAR H81MHV3 LGA 1150 Intel H81 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NO VISTA SUPPORT...
Pros: Great MB for the money with a great warranty. I warranty my builds for 3 years so coming with a 3 year warranty is a good thing.
Cons: One thing I found is that this MB has NO Vista support whatsoever so buyer beware. There are no drivers for Vista at all. I have some clients that need/want to upgrade from XP to something that is still supported by MS and need an inexpensive alternative to the latest OS and since I have lots of Vista licenses left this IS that cheap alternative but I found this out the hard way. I had to upgrade one client at no cost to Win7 due to the lack of Vista drivers.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 5:35:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H97M Pro4 LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board so far
Pros: Has all the features I need. H97 chipset instead of my previous H87 for whatever that is worth. A couple of USB 2.0 ports for the slow stuff and plenty of USB 3.0 ports for the rest.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Would have been nice if it had an mSATA connector so I could reuse my SSD from my failed motherboard.
Reviewed By:Stretch,3/26/2015 5:22:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI B85M GAMING LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 MSI is honestly the best.
Pros: It has everything you'd realistically need for a motherboard. All the standard pins are there, the installation of the GPU, CPU, and RAM are as easy as it's ever been, and it even has an extremely detailed and all-around useful custom BIOS. everything down to the box itself is very pretty to look at. Its design is perfect for a black-and-green style build. It even included some pretty good pin labelers for those who would honestly just be better off using them. It also included a cute little "Sorry, busy gaming," door handle sign with an extremely well-made and well-detailed user guide.
Cons: There honestly isn't one.
Reviewed By:Papa 'Pooter,3/26/2015 3:01:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.