Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII GENE LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bad Chip, Bad Customer Service
Pros: Great Board
Stable Overclocker
Good drivers
Allows you to skip installing bloatware
Cons: Poor Customer Service (Used to be good, now it's disappeared!)
MOSFET heatsinks are over-the-top. While they look great, they are extremely unnecessarily large and add a lot of weight to the board, which makes it hard to install case fans, arrange CPU 8-pin power cable, and get your fingers in to install brackets for heatsink. You're better off getting a budget board.
In retrospect, way overpriced for what it offers.
No PCI slots. So no way to install aftermarket sound cards.
Only 1 PCIe x4_1 slot. Again, other boards which are cheaper offer up to 4 slots on their board. This one comes with 3.
Other Thoughts: SupremeFX Audio chip came to me with a snapped pin inside the socket. The board's mPCIe pinout had a missing pin from it, which I assume was the one in the card. While trying to converse with ASUS customer service, all they did was give me 1-line responses once a day or every other day. Very lazy support agents. They would ask for information that I already specified in great detail in my original support ticket and overall, I gave up trying to get any support from them so I just started the RMA process to replace the whole board.
Reviewed By:Kupes,11/25/2014 3:36:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 2nd time a charm
Pros: Latest chipset, lots of connections, fast boot.
Cons: 1st one was DOA. My test equipment showed that power got to the motherboard on only one voltage. No fans spun, no POST codes. 2nd one was perfect, but I had to reformat the hard drive as my previous Windows 7 installation couldn't tolerate the new chipset.
Other Thoughts: Purchased as a combo with a CPU at total cost less than current price for the board alone. I didn't remove the UPC before I tdiscovered the first one dead. Consequently, Newegg could provide a free return shipping label, which took them 3 days to process, and otherwise replaced it promptly.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 3:33:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent all around
Pros: Good price for what you get. I didn't need a super expensive board as I'm only running a single graphics card & one other add-on card. 10 SATA ports was the bare minimum for my needs. Absolutely no issues with the board whatsoever, nor with anything related to the install. It simply works as it should, which is a nice change from my previous boards from Gigabyte that always had at least one "issue" with them. We'll see how long this socket is supported by Intel, but I have yet to simply upgrade a CPU without also having to get a new board for a new socket. I can easily see myself being able to use this one for quite a few years before I'd ever think of upgrading. All in all, an excellent board with more than enough connections to please the majority of home/office users.
Cons: I agree with everyone else that the manual is a bit sparse. But, the only items I ever need from it are the pin assignments on the various ports, which it does have in detail.
Other Thoughts: Having read through the previous reviews here, I'm kind of left scratching my head at some of the comments. To address a couple of them: I have no problems with any of my USB ports. Yes, there is a molex connector in the middle of the board, but it does not have to be connected if one is only running a single graphics card.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 1:53:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-SLI LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great rebound board !!!
Pros: purchased this board after several ASUS Z87-A boards were RMA'd with the same issues returning (OC error message on startup, even though nothing was OC'd) which lead me to believe that my 1150 4770K was NOT compatible after months of troubleshooting (Feb.2014-present) So, I decided to make the switch to another brand and upgraded board. I decided to try a board swap without formatting the drives like most people normally do. Used driver sweeper to remove all drives that were related to the board (i.e. sound, USB, LAN etc.) swapped boards and came across a small problem. The drivers from the Gigabyte CD were not installing. Under task manager, I found an ASUS process running in the background which was preventing me from installing the drivers. Located the folder, deleted it and WORKED!!!!! Drivers installed properly, system has had no error messages, wakes up from sleep mode and most importantly it boots properly!!! I've been nothing more than satisfied with the results.
Cons: Small but easily resolvable. On the DIMM install page, the instructions contradict each other. On the first sentence, DIMM slots are listed as followed: Chanel A: slots 2 and 4, Channel B: slots 1 and 3. Below this was the picture listing slots from top view, right to left: slots 1,3,2 and 4. Slots 1 and 2 are grey and slots 3 and 4 are black. Below the image it says, "...it is recommended that memory be installed in the same colored socket when enabling dual channel. For optimum performance with two modules, use slots 1 and 2.

The second sentence makes sense which is what I naturally did (BLK with BLK: same color slots). Booted up and had a constant beep noise. Removed one stick and the system booted right up. So, I followed the first instructions (mixed color slot: GRY with BLK) and it worked...some how. Both sticks are listed under channel B, even though they are not on the same color slots.

This was the only issue I found and is a quick fix if you decide to purchase this board and if you come across this issue. May just have been my board.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 1:42:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > Biostar > BIOSTAR H81MHV3 LGA 1150 Intel H81 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BIOSTAR H81MHV3
Pros: Used for a workstation running windows 7. Booted right up and ran great. A fine mobo for what i needed.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Skeptical14bid,11/25/2014 1:31:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z97 Extreme4 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Outstanding, Until It Isn't
Pros: On paper and for most general users, this board is a fantastic buy. It avoids the "fluff" features that many mobo manufacturers throw on their boards and has decent audio, great bench-testing options and a solid layout.
Cons: As other reviewers have mentioned, after a few weeks/months of normal usage, the board will essentially brick when removed from power. If you unplug it from the wall, turn off your PSU, or even experience a power blackout, the board will refuse to power on again. Some have reported certain troubleshooting steps temporarily fixing this issue, but for me and most others, waiting 2-4+ weeks for a repair/replacement from ASRock was the only option.
Other Thoughts: 2 stars for what could have been an excellent board. If you never unplug your computer, and live in a place that never has blackouts, you'll probably never notice its flaw. Until there is some sort of annoucement from ASRock that this problem has been resolved in newer versions of this board, I would stay away.
Reviewed By:wizmander,11/25/2014 12:39:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > JETWAY > JetWay JNAF93-Q77 LGA 1155 Intel Q77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board!
Pros: Four PCI slots, so I can use my old sound card setup. Used this on my first computer build, and it was pretty easy to figure out.
Cons: I have not had any problems with this board
Other Thoughts: great board for those of us who want to hang onto their old PCI cards.
Reviewed By:Mark B.,11/25/2014 12:07:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I did have to flash bios/cmos/ and clear ram before this would boot, but after i did that, worked perfectly. and im currently using 2133 ram, no idea why people were having issues getting their ram to run properly. after getting into bios, literally pressed 4 buttons and bam, ram is running at 2133.
Cons: none thus far, works like a dream.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 9:05:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z87-G45 Gaming LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Pro Gaming with Killer Networking & Sound Blaster Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty and slick.
Pros: It's very pretty to look at and seems very well made. The ports are all well labeled (on the MB itself and on the rear facing ports). The bios is comprehensive and informative.
Cons: The ports on the motherboard seemed to be strangely placed in contrast with other boards, causing me to have some cable length issues. The bios is very cluttered.
Other Thoughts: I have had no real problems on this board at all. It runs in a full size ATX tower almost all day and sees heavy use throughout the week. I am very satisfied.
Reviewed By:SergeantDoc,11/25/2014 7:08:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VI IMPACT LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall, pleased
Pros: The board is built with good products. It is also beautiful, and feature rich. Good BIOS, the riser cards do their job well. It was easy to set up and install all the components, or most of. The board runs cool also, and has great hardware support.
Cons: My first board had a defective controller on it. When rebooting, the OS would close out completely and it would go to a blank screen. Fans would spin up to 100% and it would sit there hanging on the blank screen. I would then need to flip the PSU power switch. Ultimately, this led to a corruption of my Windows files during an update, and required I needed to reinstall. Which is unfortunate, as I had lost the money on the Windows installation. Once I received the new board, everything worked properly. Other small gripes:

- I/O shield, is not as bad as people claim, but I can see it being bothersome.
- Location of the WiFi antenna connectors. It's very hard, even with medium/smaller hands to screw in the antenna leads to the rear I/O.
- Location if the SATA ports. But then again, it's the only logical place.
- Plugging in CPU fan and other fan headers might be difficult, especially when installed in the case.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 6:50:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.