Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-PRO LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 ASUS Pro-Pain
Pros: This is a follow-up from my previous review.
I had No idea that this motherboard had so many picky nuances. Sure it is a nice MoBo and has many Excellent Features. The 5 Way Optimization is great and the BIOS with Mouse support and Graphics is just superb. The colors of Gold and Black look Great.
There are many qualities that make this motherboard a MoBo you would like to own, but this is where it ends. Now you must read the Cons to find out what you are Really in for when trying to do some tweaking or other supposedly featured functions they point out on this Motherboard. Should have just been more prudent and read many more Forums and Reviews before buying this Black and Gold Pretty Brick.
Cons: What a load -
When you want to RAID the book specifies the Control 'I' function after setting the proper switches in the BIOS to RAID will appear.
Surprise Surprise - that function Does Not Appear - at least Not on this MoBo. Then you cannot load the software (Windows 7 Pro 64 bit) in RAID 1 mirror mode. It wants you to pick out the drivers from a Flash Drive or the CD but you can't do it.
Re-Booting does not help - Slowing down the Boot to 5 or more seconds thinking you had it pass you by is not any help either.
I wanted this board because of the extra SATA ports, but Guess what - Those are ASmedia driven ports and Not Intel Controller driven. The ASmedia are just data ports so don't even think about using them for an Optical Drive. The Boot area that should show all the drives does not do it all the time - sometimes yes sometimes no - Sure you can find them in the PCH Storage Configuration and also under the Boot Menu, but not on the Main Window under Boot Selection - Not all of the drives show up ALL the time - sometimes Yes and Sometimes No.
Then it will just switch the boot drive to another drive for no reason when you do any changes in the Bios.
I bought 5 ASUS Z97-A boards and have not had any of these troubles. I did not try and RAID any drives for the customers i assembled them for though. So i don't know if this is a problem that is related to the Whole Family of ASUS Z97 boards.
I have tried many different variations of settings to get this board to do what it is supposed to do, but it just acts like it has a mind of it's own.
I have read many Forums and Posts and their are many people having issues with the RAID - Ctrl-i not appearing and then out of the blue after 10 tries it just magically will appear.
So i have just dropped the RAIDing of Drives in Mirror Mode as i also found out that if one drive crashes you cannot just RAID a new drive to the existing one copying all the information onto it.
I am running a PC-DL with 6 Drives on it 2 SATAS in RAID 1 mode and did have one drive crash and just bought a new drive and after pressing Ctrl-i it asked for a Source Drive and Target Drive in RAID 1 (Security Mode) and it just copied the information to the New Drive and was back on line with RAID 1 was back in Operational Mode with Zero issues.
As far as using the ASmedia SATA ports i just did not even attempt using those at all again. They seem flaky at best being supported by a Third Party from all i have read they are also slower than Intel SATA ports.
So good luck with your MoBo - AND - No - Updating the Bios is not the answer either because i tried that also. It is just the way ASUS has configured the Ports with Intel or Intel forcing ASUS and others to do this weird setup. I have been at this for 3 days trying everything i know and having others help that built many many systems over the years and they are just as freaked out by the way this controller setup is done as me.
Other Thoughts: I have been a Faithful ASUS Motherboard supporter and user sense 1989 when i built my first 286 and all of the predecessors MoBo's performed Unmatched in stability and Functionality, but now i have my doubts with ASUS being like they used to be - Unmatched.
Even the SATA ports are so hard to get to being turned 90 degrees on the motherboard in almost every PC case it is just really some serious engineering blunders. It really is a challenge to get the cables (latching types) not to come loose. They wiggle and seem weak - or frail - just not the Quality i am used to seeing from ASUS.
Oh well i bought this Bad-Lad and will use it as is. It does work in just a Standard Mode no RAID and does over-clock well and stable, but it has some real quarks that need to be addressed and i doubt that a New Improved Bios Update is going to fix all this - this mess.
Reviewed By:Train,7/28/2014 4:22:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII FORMULA/WATCH DOGS LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Board, Excellent Features
Pros: 6 Fan Headers + 2 CPU Headers
Cross chill cooler
ROG Armor for great aesthetics
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I just finished installing this board into my system. The purchase was made in preparation for the watercooling loop I'll be installing in a couple months.

I haven't had a chance to work with any overclocks yet as I want to give everything time to settle, but I'll be sure to update this once I compare it's capabilities to the Maximus VI Hero I was using previously.

In response to Stuart A.'s review. Comparing tried-and-true technology to the newest thing has never and never will make sense. The people buying this board will be able to get the performance they want out of it, and in 2-3 years, when the majority of DDR4 issues have been resolved and the technology is far and above the current DDR3, we'll upgrade to that. Not to mention the cost that DDR4 will bring. For those wanting a good Enthusiast board, this fits the bill. DDR3 isn't going to disappear as soon as DDR4 hits the market, and it surely won't suddenly become obsolete. If you always wait for the next big piece of technology, you'll never complete a build.
Reviewed By:Jonathonc,7/28/2014 4:17:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS P8Z77-V LK LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Luck
Pros: Cheap inexpensive board.
Cons: PCIe Slots Failed
2 Ram Slots Failed
Ethernet Port Failed
Significant Failures
Its a shame because on paper this board was exactly what I needed just happened to burn out after the 30 days
Reviewed By:Fasterest,7/28/2014 2:41:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > Biostar > BIOSTAR G31D-M7 LGA 775 Intel G31 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Blown capacitor
Pros: Many years of reliable service
Cons: After many years of reliable use, this motherboard died recently. It has one capacitor that is slightly bulging (no oozing). I swapped it out with an older MSI board with the same chipset and I'm back in business
Other Thoughts: First experience with Biostar, will definitely consider again
Reviewed By:FEP coder,7/28/2014 1:38:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII FORMULA/WATCH DOGS LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I agree with Donald W
Pros: New technology
High end
Cons: Read Other Thoughts
Other Thoughts: I agree with Donals W's post. DDR4 will be its own thing with its own problems, while DDR3 has had years to be perfected, and as i said, it always happens (Windows 8) DDR4 will have its own set of problems, so if i were anyone, i would wait for a couple years for DDR4 to mature to get an expensive board like this.

-Nick
Reviewed By:Nick,7/28/2014 1:23:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII FORMULA/WATCH DOGS LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I agree with Donald W
Pros: New technology
High end
Cons: Read Other Thoughts
Other Thoughts: I agree with Donals W's post. DDR4 will be its own thing with its own problems, while DDR3 has had years to be perfected, and as i said, it always happens (Windows 8) DDR4 will have its own set of problems, so if i were anyone, i would wait for a couple years for DDR4 to mature to get an expensive board like this.

-Nick
Reviewed By:Nick,7/28/2014 1:11:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-A LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Entry Gaming MOBO
Pros: This MOBO is a great Entry level gaming Mobo. It works great, with the pre-set 5-way enhancements, and the easy to use Bios, this MOBO is easy for any beginner to use and learn on.
Cons: H100i USERS LOOK HERE!
If you plan on purchasing the H100i, Read this part....

After trying to install my H100i on my i7 4790k, My temps would be 32c Idle, and when i would start Prime95, they would shoot up to 95C instantly. I would have to shut off P95. After pulling the Cooler off the CPU, i noticed the compound wasnt touching on the left side. This is because the Brackets do NOT fit snugly on the motherboard. This is a Corsair ISSUE, not Asus. I am having to Contact Corsair to ask for Nylon Washers to make my cooling bracket Flush with the MOBO, so my Cooler can fit snugly on the Whole CPU, not just partial.

After some research, this is not the only MOBO that has loose bracket issues with the h100i. So pay attention before you buy.
Reviewed By:Erik,7/28/2014 1:09:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD5H LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, but some odd behavior
Pros: Looks awesome.
Onboard LEDs are cool and helpful.
Works.
Multiple BIOS options allow you to pick which one works best for you (classic mode, advanced mode, etc., although it took me a few tries to figure this out.)
Cons: Some sata ports are difficult to connect to because of how it lines up with my case.
Had a few issues when first booting, hence the egg being docked. It had trouble detecting the correct SSD to boot from and when I changed the boot order it didn't seem to go through the order correctly the next restart. I did some reconfiguration in BIOS and restarted again and it is working fine now.

My CPU cooler blocks the 4th RAM slot because the RAM is pretty close to the CPU
Other Thoughts: Had to change the RAM Frequency from 1300 to 1600 in BIOS, it didn't automatically detect what my ram was supposed to be running at. It was very easy to find and change this in the bios.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 11:46:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-H61M-HD2 LGA 1155 Intel H61 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Bad Luck
Pros: Small Cheap motherboard. Does what I need it to.
Cons: I bought 7 of these and 3 would not post and had to RMA. At $11.ea to ship back I almost could have bought another board.
1 Motherboard the onboard NIC won't work but I had a PCI NIC that got the job done.
Other Thoughts: Most of my builds are with Gigabyte motherboards and I've been building them since '85. I've just had bad luck with this motherboard. I've got to figure which to get for my next build (have all the parts except motherboard).
Reviewed By:PecosRiverM,7/28/2014 11:25:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z87E-ITX LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel I217V Lan 802.11ac WiFi Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Motherboard
Pros: The board is packed with features and everything has worked that I have tried. It boots fast and has performed flawlessly in my view.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I bought this board and have been running it pretty much every day since last December. I built my own dedicated Steam Box with it, and it has seen far more use than either my PS3 or XBox 360. When I say dedicated I mean dedicated. It does not boot into the Window 7 UI at all. It boots directly to Steam Big Picture mode. I can go into a miminal windows desktop if I need to by launching the explorer.exe process with ctrl-alt-dlt. But I only ever do that to play the handful of Origin games that I own. It is essentially a game console. The key feature that I will try soon since I have upgraded to an i5-4690K from an i5-4670(non-K) is the overclocking ability. I used the internet flash option to download and install the latest firmware update for Devil's canyon. I've now had 4 days of burn in time with the new firmware and no problems have resulted. That's been my experience all around with this board since I got it in December. Maybe I've been lucky as far as defects go but I always thought that Asrock made decent products. Here are my system specs:

i5-4670 (non-k)
Noctua NH-L12 Cooler
Asrock Z87-E Mini-ITX
Gigabyte GTX 780 GHz Edition 3GB
Seasonic G-Series 750W (Gold)
Fractal Design Node 304 case
Reviewed By:sucram65,7/28/2014 11:17:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau