Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170-A LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: The first mention I want to make is the inclusion of the pin block. Plug in all case (LED and pwr switch) pins to it, and plug it in easily... From an assembly viewpoint, thats my favorite thing they included!

The motherboard looks nice, for the price I am very happy. Silly things like the plastic shell for aesthetics around the IO help make it an easy pick for style reasons, the name ASUS, carries weight to those of us who build/assemble PC's. The motherboard layout, all in all, is a great setup.

Everything booted fine and worked well, the UEFI is easy to navigate and displays a wealth of information. All functionality of the board, tested and working.
Cons: Lower the top x16 a bit. the only minor draw back. AIO's cram against the GPU, and there is a wide gap on this board.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this, its affordable, it looks great, its backed by a great brand. An easy choice.
Reviewed By:Matthew C.,9/30/2016 4:06:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M5 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Motherboard
Pros: -The color scheme is nice.
-easy to setup
Cons: Audio issues from jacks
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/30/2016 12:05:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170-A LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fair for the price you pay.
Pros: It works. BIOS is easy to use. Provided manual makes everything a cakewalk to install and setup.
Cons: Not really a gripe about the board, but AI Suite will not run no matter what I do, including reinstalling windows. Had I known it wouldn't have worked I would have stuck with MSI (as I have never owned an ASUS product before). I do not like having to go into the BIOS every time I wish to switch between gaming and doing schoolwork or just browsing to change the settings. I also do not like installing 3rd party monitoring software to view my system temps while gaming.

The sound driver is not as good as MSI boards that come with Nahimic sound. Even going into realtek HD audio driver and adjusting does not make it sounds better.

Finally, the BIOS refuses to recognize my Mushkin Blackline DDR4 2400 memory as anything other than 2100. No matter how many times I change it, it returns to 2100 as soon as I exit the BIOS.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this board if there were a way to fix AI Suite from getting the access violation error and a way to fix the memory issue.
Reviewed By:Bryan P.,9/30/2016 6:50:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Gaming Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not living up to standards
Pros: - Aesthetically pleasing
- Rich features
- Intel 219-v LAN
Cons: - Horrible quality control
- Board Arrived DOA
- Same issue happening over and over again
Other Thoughts: To be clear I've had ASUS motherboards in prior builds and the quality on them was outstanding.

First off, board arrived DOA. NONE of the DIMM slots worked. Called up ASUS to inform them of this. Very much told they would either A) Send me a new board and wash their hands of all future problems or I can have them repair it. I'm no dummy, I had them repair this given that odds are this would come back to be an issue. Sent it in, got it back in about 2 weeks total.

When board came back the recommended DIMM slots for RAM didn't work, found out that the other pairing did. Didn't feel like being without a computer for another 2 weeks so just figured repair was good to go. about 9 months later the repair went and ONLY DIMM slot now working was DIMM_B2. Called up, got an RMA, sent it out ASAP, got it back in a lil under 2 weeks total.

Not even 1 week later the repair job they did failed. Not only that, the DIMM slot that was working when I sent it out came back dead! Yes, that's right, their repair broke the board even more! So as I write this, I only have 1 DIMM slot working DIMM_A2. I have spent $230 on this motherboard and then another $50 on it for shipping and handling to try and get it to work right. I am not going to spend another $20 or so to ship it out properly so I can then fall behind in classes I'm taking. Just going to put that money aside for a new motherboard from either MSI or Gigabyte.

This was my fourth ASUS motherboard, my first ROG and probably going to be my last ASUS board until they get their act together in both QC and CS.

Bottom Line: Avoid this board at all costs.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your ASUS producte experience. I'm sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. Please make sure to forward any associated RMA/Case number for further investigation on your case history. I'll make sure to forward your findings to the Management Team to avoid these issues going forward. If you have further details, please provide a a detailed description to your issues at cl-nestor@asus.com.

Thank you for choosing ASUS

Best Regards,

Nestor

ASUS Customer Loyalty - US Support

Reviewed By:Brian V.,9/30/2016 6:23:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS TUF SABERTOOTH Z170 S LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board
Pros: Build sturdy, doesn't feel cheap. BIOS is easy, great looking. Not everyones case but it worked perfect for me so far. Software is easy to install. The Asus suite is great for control over fans and checking Voltage and Temps across the board and its components. So many fan headers its awesome. Dedicated pump header with cpu fan headers right next to it keeps everything clean. 2 EVGA 1070 ftw's in sli, no problems.
Cons: Doesn't come with the 40mm fan, although i would probably replace it anyway with a Noctua fan so, it doesn't matter.
Other Thoughts: So I may be stupid or bad luck or something but just to inform people (whether its my fault or not so you don't make the same mistake) I installed the drivers on WIN 8.1 and then installed WIN 10. Put the cd back in again and updated the USB drivers and after the restart completely crashed everything. It would load past the BIOS option screen then frantically flash grey trying to load WIN infinity and would have to shut down. Could not repair WIN 10 or reset, or diagnose or anything. Had to use WIN 10 installer and delete all partitions and clean install WIN 10, everything worked fine after. SO in short, clean install WIN 10 then install the drivers and save yourself possible hassle, or Im dumb and you don't have to worry.
Reviewed By:Travis D.,9/30/2016 4:06:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170-A LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 easy upgrade
Pros: -huge upgrade from older hardware
-well made
-no issues
Cons: -might need to buy new ram for this board if upgrading from older hardware
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/30/2016 3:49:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-PRO GAMER LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I Recommend this!
Pros: ☑️ Overclocking Simplistic.
☑️ Excellent overvoltage protection.
☑️ Intuitive UEFI BIOS.
☑️ Asus Suite is perfect!
☑️ 5 way optimization is okay but, manual adjustments makes system more stable. Good for a starting point.
☑️ Plenty fan headers.
☑️ Excellent layout.
☑️ Ambient Red LED; On/Off/Stand by.
☑️ BIOS backup vs dual BIOS chips.
☑️ Very stable for overclocking.
☑️ Low power consumption.
☑️ Excellent sound chipset.
☑️ Intel Ethernet.
☑️ Available in Z170 chipset.
Cons: ☑️ First board died after a week.
☑️ RMA process was excruciating.
☑️ Replacement is standing strong and, showing better vitals this time.
☑️ No M.2 Pcie 4x option.
Other Thoughts: Will post updated review in one year or, if a problem arises.
Reviewed By:Xelahgohn,9/30/2016 12:14:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M7 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cheap
Pros: It was the right colors
Cons: Cheapest build for over double what I've ever payed for a board
Other Thoughts: Example 1: Put a video card in the 3rd PCI-E slot. Had to remove it. Un-hooked the back of the slot and tried to pull the card out and the whole slot came with it. Guess now I own a 2 PCI-E slot board.
Example 2: About every 2 days I have to re-seat my USB cables because they stop working. No audio, No mouse, No keyboard. windows needs to re-detect these because it just doesn't see them.
Example 3: Killer network software is garbage and you have to use it

Would not recommend Z170 boards in general but for the price this is well below average. If you can deal with the yellowish grossness of the Asrock, I would go with that.
Reviewed By:Russell M.,9/29/2016 11:24:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z170 Pro4S LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA Garbage
Pros: Absolutely none.
Cons: I'm astounded by the inexcusably poor quality board. ASRock opted for square capacitors--which would look great, if they could place two in a straight line. I should have shipped it back then and there. Instead I wasted an afternoon carefully bolting components to this technological equivalent of a graham cracker, which you probably guessed--wouldn't turn on.
Other Thoughts: If you're reading this and thinking, "These guys probably just had bad luck, it won't happen to me..", consider the 4 days of shipping, 1 day of building, 1 hour of return process, 4 days of return shipping, 4 days for replacement, and 1 day to rebuild. Then ask yourself is ASRock's reputation is worth betting 2 weeks of a non-functioning computer. Don't bet on a loser.
Reviewed By:Alex J.,9/29/2016 10:35:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS P8H61-I R2.0 LGA 1155 Intel H61 HDMI USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 had very high hopes
Pros: couldn't check because no output
Cons: couldn't check
Other Thoughts: the mobo was dead on arrival. no output to monitor.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We appreciate the feedback you have provided on your ASUS experience. I'm sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing. What are your hardware specifications? Is your CPU, memory, and power supply all in the qualified vendor list? After you have verified your parts, please double check each cable on the motherboard including your 24pin/8pin power plug connectors. Please make sure all your GPU connectors are firmly installed and that all your SATA drives are receiving power from your PSU. Clear CMOS and see if the board will POST. If it will not, pull one memory module and place the other stick in the slot furthest from the CPU and see if that helps. Please make sure to complete the power off cycle before testing hardware to avoid damaging your hardware.

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best Regards,

-Nestor

ASUS Customer Loyalty – US Support

Reviewed By:Sanjog T.,9/29/2016 9:41:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.