Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Gaming Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product
Pros: Very nice and sleek looking. Plenty of ports and it looks great in a windowed case.
Cons: It is a tab bulky. The plastic covers/detail over the rear ports makes it difficult to fit it in the case without removing the rear fan.
Once the fan was taken out the motherboard fit perfectly. There is little to no spacing between the fan and plastic cover.
Reviewed By:Patryk T.,2/12/2016 4:13:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Product, Bad Rebate Policy
Pros: - Very nice looking motherboard that perfectly fit my color scheme.
- Had all the features that I needed
- Reasonably priced (with rebate)
- Working perfectly for 4 months.
Cons: - Never received the mail-in rebate (not even the paperwork for it)
Other Thoughts: - I have not attempted overclocking this motherboard/
- Good product, but do not expect to receive any mail in rebates.
Reviewed By:Igor T.,2/12/2016 4:13:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-PRO GAMER LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy, reliable, nice asthetics. It works well.
Pros: multi-graphics support
led system checks
Good budget performance mobo
Great audio/drivers
Cons: The 4 sata ports are right under the first pcie graphics card slot. If you're running a good size card it's tough to plug in the cables.
The ram dimms only have locking tabs on one side. Not a huge deal, but my sticks weren't all the way in and system wouldn't post at first. The ram led let me know where the problem was, quickly resolved.
Other Thoughts: This is the second mobo I've been through in 3 weeks pending return of the first. First one wouldn't post when power was disconnected, this one seems rock solid so far. Haven't stress tested yet, but temps are low at idle/minimum load. Very happy with this purchase and replacement.
Reviewed By:Frank A.,2/12/2016 3:28:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS H97M-E/CSM LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very few compromises considering the price
Pros: - Easy to use Bios
- USB 3.0 headers
- M.2 slot accepts both B and M form factor cards and runs in both SATA and PCIe modes
- A total of 3 fan headers (CPU included)
- No legacy PCI slots that just take up space
Cons: - Headphone and mic ports are no where near as good as those on a dedicated sound card (typical of any motherboard these days)
- Only 4 SATA ports (ports 5 and 6 are reserved for the m.2 slot)
- M.2 only runs at B speeds (10Gb/s) which means it will severely bottleneck a Samsung 950 Pro SSD
Other Thoughts: Specs:
- i5-4590 (w/stock cooler)
- ASUS H97M-E/CSM Motherboard
- EVGA GTX 750ti w/ACX 2.0
- Gigabyte Bluetooth 4.0/WiFi PCI-e x1 Expansion Card
- 4x4GB Mushkin Stealth 1600MHz CAS 9 DDR3 RAM
- ASUS 5.25" 24x DVD Burner
- EVGA G2 750W 80+ Gold Rated Fully-Modular Power Supply
- Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX Case (200mm intake, 140mm exhaust)
Reviewed By:Tristan P.,2/12/2016 3:15:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z75 Pro3 LGA 1155 Intel Z75 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 The PciE 3.0 Slot did not work
Pros: - cheap
- one of the few motherboard I could find for my 1155 cpu
- other than the bad slot seems like a pretty decent board
- Neweggs RMA process was painless and the staff very friendly and helpful
Cons: - Pci Express 3.0 slot did not work, tried several different working video cards but none were recognized.
- Contacted ASRock support and they insisted it was a bios setting. Tried all their suggestions in bios, but no luck.
- Finally bought a ASRock Z77 board and the Pci Express 3.0 slot worked right out of the box
- The board is kind of thin and flexes easily. Have to be careful not to break runs.
- Got a refund for the motherboard, but did not get a refund for the original shipping
Other Thoughts: Might just have had bad luck. Other then the bad PciE 3.0 slot the board seemed to work well. Love the bios interface, one of the best I've seen. Would only buy items from Newegg that have free shipping. This way you wouldn't loose money if you have to return.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/12/2016 1:32:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M3 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly
Pros: The features list speaks for itself. The bios on here is very useful and I am really impressed this is a big upgrade for me. Have not had a single issue with this board at all. It is going above and beyond my expectations. MSI has NEVER done me wrong. Looks great for my white and red color scheme. Red LEDs are a nice touch. What else to say this thing works exactly as advertised.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Works perfectly with my CPU and GPU
i5-6600k
MSI R9 390x
Reviewed By:Jake S.,2/12/2016 1:18:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 When it works it's great
Pros: -Very nice construction, solid PCB and connectors
-Great features, and design
-When it finally boots it's very stable and performs as expected.
Cons: -There is a large USB3 issue, it might be the X99 chipset itself but if you have a device that draws power plugged into a USB3 port while the computer is off and then power it on, it will hang at boot. Happens all the time because I have DS4s plugged in and once I unplug them it continues on and boots up. It's widely documented and very annoying.
-I get blue screens while Windows is starting and the error changes every time, BAD_POOL_HEADER or MEMORY_MANAGEMENT are the more common ones. But sometimes it will BSOD 2 or 3 times before finally getting into Windows. Could be a memory problem, but I did Memtest overnight with no errors. I'll keep fiddling around and see what I can do.
Other Thoughts: Intel i7 5930k @ 4.0Ghz
G.SKILL Value 16GB (4 x 4GB) @ 2400Mhz
Asus R9 390 Strix

Once I'm in Windows it's stable (No BSOD while in Windows luckily) and I get over 60FPS at 1080p for Fallout 4, GTA V and others.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/12/2016 11:59:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170M-PLUS LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 easy bios and really nice mobo for my i5
Pros: I went with the better stuff this upgrade and am completely satisfied.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:nuong r.,2/12/2016 9:43:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good board
Pros: -4 fan headers
-accent lighting looks nice in my red themed build and is controllable via software in windows
-USB headers, SATA 6 all works as I have everything plugged in and going
Cons: -the extra software in the gigabyte app centre is spotty, half of them didn't even launch after install...
Other Thoughts: -Like a previous reviewer said: worked out of box, UEFI working, easy bios update, XMP for ram OC was a breeze. Overclocking CPU was also easy (i5-6600k 4.4).
Reviewed By:Nelson C.,2/12/2016 9:13:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z97X-Gaming 5 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Looks great, should work great....
Pros: This is, on paper and for the most part in functionality, an excellent motherboard! Everything on it works once I am in Windows! I am running a 4790K and, after flashing the BIOS, it has worked great! Well.... mostly.
Cons: What is it with Gigabyte and boot issues? The last three Gigabyte boards I have bought have developed sporadic issues with booting where they will simply lock up. What good is it to have a great board if I can't get into Windows?
Other Thoughts: At this point I can't recommend Gigabyte motherboards. The prior two boards (one was from a few years ago) were RMA'd, and in both cases required multiple RMA's before Gigabyte would replace them. Gigabyte even admitted the first time that they can't test for these boot issues because they are sporadic. Gigabyte used to be my favorite brand, but I've given up on them, and I'm just not interesting in having my main computer down for several weeks while I try to get them to replace the board.

But if you don't plan on ever turning your computer off, your electricity won't cut out, etc., this might be a good board!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/12/2016 8:29:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.