Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock H97M Pro4 LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Overclocked 3258
Pros: Overclocked a Pentium 3258 to 4ghz @1.2 vcore in just a couple clicks. Running stock cooler. Worked with 4x 1GB DDR3 1333 out of an old Dell inspiron. An extra couple fan headers Im not used to on the cheaper boards so it was very nice.
Cons: No documentation on bios settings in the paper manual. Bundled junkware on the CD if you choose to install all drivers and utilities.
Reviewed By:ochadd,5/26/2015 12:47:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97MX-Gaming 5 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No issues to report
Pros: for the price it does everything I would expect.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:Blauhung,5/26/2015 11:33:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI X99A GAMING 7 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Time to RMA
Pros: Looks nice.
Has a lot of features.
Already has a CPU backplate.
Cons: The Fast Boot option works well...when it works. I've had to turn it on several times.
The onboard Realtek and Creative SB are sub par.
OC Genie only has 1 OC profile as far as I can tell. It only goes up to 3.8Ghz from 3.3Ghz. ASUS had 4.2Ghz and 4.6Ghz options as well.
Decided to install an ASUS SXT audio card. Now none of the PCIe slots work.
Other Thoughts: This is my first experience with MSI. I should have stuck with ASUS.
Reviewed By:MajorRocker,5/26/2015 11:21:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-A LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolute hit or miss
Pros: When it worked it was fine.
Cons: When it doesn't, it seems you're absolutely out of luck regarding getting it fixed.
Other Thoughts: Been a regular consumer of ASUS hardware - parts, monitors, notebooks. Purchased late last year. Read the many positive reviews as well as the negative ones, but figured I wouldn't be an unlucky one. However, since installation, repeated various motherboard problems with faulty boot, display, and sensor issues that would come and go over three months. Finally, board absolutely failed after about four months. Repeated support calls over the view months were the most unhelpful things with accusations that my other parts were causing the problems despite explaining that I'd tested everything with working parts.
Finally, RMA yielded to me a "liquid damage" which, given my environment and history of use, makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. Strangely convenient excuse to not replace my board and instead ask me to pay for a new one. Had I not been treated so poorly previously, I may have been more sympathetic, but as is, my business with Asus is done.
Reviewed By:GDLK,5/26/2015 9:17:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Boot Loop
Pros: When this board is working correctly, its amazing.
Cons: First board worked for about a week then went into a boot loop. The replacement mobo has been running for a few days without any issues.

Despite the bad apple, I don’t want to discourage anyone from ASUS motherboards. I’ve been building machines for about 20 years. This is the first bad Asus motherboard I’ve gotten. Asus will continue to be my first pick when buying motherboards.
Other Thoughts: Clearing the CMOS seemed to work on fixing the boot loop, however the PC would then randomly crash while loading up windows. This seemed to corrupt the OS and cause additional problems.
Reviewed By:Durbs,5/26/2015 7:46:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z87-A (NFC EXPRESS EDITION) LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Board
Pros: Good quality board. Was looking for H series but this was at a good price.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Friend needed a new system to run his accounting and tax software. This board will give him a little added performance.
Reviewed By:dtchuck,5/26/2015 7:20:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS SABERTOOTH X99 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Board
Pros: Had 0 problems getting it up and going.
Intel Core i7-5820K
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (4 x 4GB)
ATI 270X Crossfire
Set Multi to 33 @ 4123 MHz at stock auto settings.
Runs like a deer.
At 34 multi / auto- some Video hiccups when hours of hard gaming. Too lazy to figure out.
Cons: Thinking uhh nothing
Other Thoughts: Like the little led trouble lights. The board doesn't like my old ati 3850.
Like the fan control software - it auto slows fans depending on temps have a duel radiator fans barely a whisper even when gamming overclocked.
High class board and looks good to.
Think I am set for a while.
Reviewed By:Amite,5/26/2015 7:02:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Mobo
Pros: What a great board. I am so happy I got to pick up this board before it sold out! There is a newer version out, if you are currently in the market, Maximus Hero boards have a great layout and the build just worked. I had one mishap which was easily resolved due to the fact that the error screen on the mobo told me exactly what was wrong.

BIOS is SUPER easy. Seriously, a 10 year old could figure out how to customize BIOS - it is straight forward and very user friendly.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:BK,5/26/2015 5:55:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS H97-PLUS LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Got what I needed to run a Core i5 and DDR3 ram
Pros: Excellent! I can't really rate it 5 eggs and say it isn't excellent, can I? Hah. It's a worthy upgrade from my ASRock A790GXH/128M because now I'm not limited to DDR2 ram, PCI-E 2.0, cpu socket AM2+/AM3, USB 2.0 and SATA 3 Gb/s. The H97's BIOS is pretty cool. From it, I can manually change the cpu fan speed based on temperature. I used to use Speed Fan for this, but this is more convenient. Flashing the BIOS was easy (first time doing it). Didn't know a BIOS could look this nice and have mouse support.
Cons: I did have an issue after some days of gaming where the PCI-E x16 started running at x1; making my GTX 660 Ti perform like a GTS 250. It happened out of the blue. I fixed it by resetting the CMOS battery. Issue hasn't happened again.
Other Thoughts: I wish it could OC. Due to my budget, I couldn't get a Z-series. I see it has some OCing potential for K-series Haswell and Haswell Refresh cpus, but I decided not to worry about it and got the i5-4460.

After I powered on my PC directly after connecting all the components, the ASUS logo stayed up for a long time. I began to freak a little (lol), but to find out I had a troublesome USB flash drive connected that I was going to update the BIOS with. I removed it and inserted another drive with the update file and all was fine after.

My next Newegg purchase will most likely be a gpu. Gotta have my PC ready for all the upcoming beasts (Arkham Knight, Just Cause 3) and whatever is already out now, but going to wait till then.
Reviewed By:Jodeth,5/26/2015 2:23:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS SABERTOOTH Z87 LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Value
Pros: Price and Performance.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I did not need the latest and greatest of technology. What I did need was an upgrade to a failing Gigabyte x58 motherboard at a reasonable price. This product has what I need. The board is fast and stable. It came with BIOS 2004. I went ahead and flashed it to 2103. Using this with a Xeon E3 1231 V3, 16gb Patriot C9, Zalman 9900 CNPS Max Blue Cooler, PC Power and Cooling Silencer MK II 750 watt power supply, Crucial 250gb ssd, Plextor M5 Pro 256gb ssd, WD 1TB for storage, and a EVGA 670 FTW video card. Passmark scores the setup at 5073. Not the highest but high enough. The CPU score is 10020. I had thought about upgrading the video card, but I will wait for the next generation cards to come out and then decide. Overall this is one fantastic system. I did not really need overclocking or to spend the money for the X99 and the power usage that would bring. The power usage on the z87 has gone down significantly from the x58. My final cost for the motherboard will be $104.99 after rebate. That is more that half off for the same level of performance of the z97. LOL. Works for me. Highly Recommended.
Reviewed By:mdm59,5/25/2015 10:17:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.