Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI B85M-G43 LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX High Performance CF Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Motherboard!
Pros: easy bios, simple to setup, gets the job done.
I had a gigabyte z87-ud3h atx mobo that crashed frequently so I tried out msi. So far so good
Cons: I'd wish there would be more fan headers but it's micro Atx so what would you expect
Reviewed By:Kevin,10/23/2014 5:00:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97-Gaming 7 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broken Audio Boost
Pros: Awesome looking.
Great Bios Menu
Lots of ports
Great for audio recording through the backpanal usb 3.0 ports
Cons: Audio Boost is broken on mine
You have to send the motherboard in to be assessed before they deiced to send you a new one, major bummer.
Other Thoughts: I bought this awesome board for a new gaming pc I built, and 99% of it is awesome and works great and runs great, but the 1% is the back panel audio ports. The sound I get from them (tested all the line-outs with multiple sound systems, headphones, and speakers.) is extremely quiet. I had to turn the volume up to 100% to get it to as loud as I normally have sound. The front panel headphone jack on my case works great, however, and is super loud. (found that out the eardrumbursting-way.) I'm bummed that I have to pay to ship this board and then wait until they decied if its actually broken and then ship me a new one, AND I installed an OEM of windows 7 so I'll have to call microsoft and pray they let me activate windows without buying a new code.

Awesome motherboard, not-so-awesome RMA policy.
Reviewed By:John Moreau,10/23/2014 4:00:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 wolfman30m
Pros: died on 10/24.2014 setup and did not work,, i been building from 2009 to now and never had any troubles this is the number 1 board that did not work other then that looking for a replace ment for this same board to see how well it really works before i give my thoughts
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,10/23/2014 4:00:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock X99 WS LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and expensive
Pros: The ASRock X99 WS comes in a big box with a carrying handle. Inside you’ll find 3 SLI bridges and 4 black SATA cables. There is also a cable for the HDD Server, a small screw and a rather plain I/O shield. The shield is unadorned, unpadded aluminum like you get with a cheap motherboard and not at all befitting motherboard royalty like this. I know this is a workstation board and in a business setting a fancy shield would be out of place but how about providing another one for us home users?
The motherboard comes nestled in a foam holder, tie wrapped in for safety and placed in an anti-static bag. First impression is that it’s a bigger than normal board and done in a restful black and blue color scheme with muted gold capacitors and gray 90 degree SATA ports… lots of them. Your first impression is tasteful quality. The black PCB seems unusually thin for a motherboard this complex and seems perhaps a bit fragile. This seems particularly precarious when installing the board as I got a chorus of cracks and creaks that scared me I might have broken something. However the board seemed unaffected so it may have been simply my cautious nature.
I’m lucky I have good friends because this board requires a new processor and expensive memory. My good friends Mike, who is an early adopter and has more money than me, let me use his core i7 5930K processor and 16 gigs of Corsair DDR4 memory for my review. Of course he stayed to make sure I didn’t fry anything and helped me with getting the board up and running. Here’s a shout out to you, Mike. I owe you a big one.
I will mention here this board will also take a Xeon processor and EEC memory if you’re into the whole workstation thing but now you’re talking about truly stratospheric costs but I suppose it’s nice to know you can plop one in if you want to.
In addition to the processor and memory I used a SanDisk Extreme SSD and my trusty Gigabyte 4 Gig memory nVidia 760 video card. The X99 WS board will take 4 videocards easily but I’ve only got the one so if you[re looking for reviews of 4 way SLI then you’re reading the wrong review. Everything installed fine and Windows loaded without a problem. I did have some problems with the drivers disk in that it was particularly finicky and the machine didn’t want to reboot after the driver installation on several of the drivers. I had this some problem on an AsRock X97 Fatality board so I guess it’s just how it is with them. The system runs perfectly now that I have the drivers installed so I’m not going to spend a lot of time grousing.
The BIOS is standard AsRock fare and the same as the X97 Fatality board except it’s blue instead of red. The BIOS is actually a delight to use and has more options then I’ll be able to explore in a lifetime. I tried using the XMP for my Corsair memory and it froze up the computer. I tried several times and no luck so I updated the BIOS and it worked this time.
The system was fast and I mean fast. It seeme
Cons: No real cons although theX99 WS board was borderline flaky. The driver’s disk install freezing up and the XMP giving me problems and not being able to use the OC Tweaker are small things but leave a bad taste in your mouth when you consider the price of this board. All things considered it’s not a lot to gripe about and will probably be fixed with future BIOS updates. I don’t particularly care for the uninspired software and think this board deserves more but that’s a personal preference so I won’t ding ASRock for that. Really hate the plain jane I/O shield but I understand why they did it I suppose.
Other Thoughts: First off let me say this is way too much board for me. I use my computers a lot but when I look at what I do with them I’m not really a power user. I don’t encode video all day or render elaborate Adobe Premier videos or even rip CDs. I’m afraid my needs are much more prosaic. I spend a lot of time on the Internet although I have never once used Facebook or Twitter. I download a lot of stuff over BitTorrent and I play single player First Person Shooter games. My main machine uses a Haswell Core i5 processor and no video card. I have what I think is a first class gaming machine that uses a Z-97 motherboard and a Core i7 processor and an nVidia 760. It plays all my games easily at 2560 X 1440. I’m not a frame fanatic and usually don’t even check to see what FPS I’m getting. I say this because this X99 board is like buying a Ferrari after driving a Chevy. This is the big leagues.
Sometimes you have to stand back and look at what you do with your system and what you really need as opposed to what you want. X99 involves a minimum outlay of about a grand just for the motherboard, processor and memory. It makes a wickedly fast system and gives you bragging rights over most of your friends. Let me tell you this is a cutting edge system but at the end of the day I just don’t need it. My computing needs are really very pedestrian. I use Microsoft Word and Excel and I surf the Internet (Probably too much if I’m honest). I do a lot of Bittorrent downloading and I burn the occasional Blu-ray or DVD. I have a vanilla Haswell i5 in my production machine and even though I sprang for a Maximus VII motherboard I don’t overclock. I don’t even have a video card in the system. My gaming system is more robust with an ASUS Z97-Pro and a core i7 but I make due with a nVidia 760 video card. It’s not the fastest thing out there but it’s fast enough for me. This X99 system I’m writing this on is a beast that’s meant to chew through video editing or designing nuclear reactors. It’s too much system for most people.
Bottom line this is a good board and that goodness makes the few niggles I have not so significant. The board is big and gaudy and expensive but darn I suppose if you need this kind of power it’s worth it. I’ve had to give back the processor and memory but already I’m thinking about selling my second gaming system to purchase my own Haswell-E processor and DDR4 memory to put into the ASRTock X99-WS motherboard.
Reviewed By:Culthuu,10/23/2014 3:53:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock X99 WS LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid board packed with features
Pros: A solid high-quality board on Intel's latest X99 Chipset, with 8 DDR4 memory slots supporting up to 64GB or 128GB of RAM.

This board is packed with hardware, with 6 PCI Express slots (supporting 4-way CrossFireX/SLI), 10 6Gb/s SATA ports, Dual LAN, M.2 x4 support, and every connector you can think of. ASRock piled everything into this board.

It would be an excellent choice for someone who needs the best, in either a workstation paired with a good 8 or 14 core Xeon processor, or for a high-end gaming computer with a new Haswell-E i7.
Cons: This is a new chipset, and as such some people are experiencing instability problems with certain kinds of DDR4 RAM. Make sure the first thing you do when you get your new motherboard is to go and update the BIOS to ensure the best chance of having a stable build.
Other Thoughts: Note that this motherboard is in the newer LGA 2011-v3 socket, which is not backwards compatible with LGA 2011 processors! It also supports DDR4, which is similarly not backwards compatible with DDR3. So if you're coming from an older platform you'll need a new processor and new RAM for this board.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/23/2014 3:19:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z77A-G45 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid Board
Pros: A good solid board with great performance.
Cons: Didn't realize that it arrived with defective RAM slots.
Other Thoughts: It finally quit after almost three years of constant running. I didn't realize that two of the four RAM slots were defective until I went to upgrade to 16GB 2 years later. I figured that the two sticks I had were just in the incorrect arrangement. Board finally failed last night, dead USB port and unable to recognize hard drives after reboot.
Reviewed By:Msusee,10/23/2014 1:01:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS X99-DELUXE LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Beautiful looking motherboard, very unique black and white scheme. With a nice case and wires tucked, it is a very high end visually pleasing system. When I first got it, I was really excited to overclock it. It took some time and tweaking to get DDR4-3000 stable. But then I found out there was a newer EFI, and that improved things quite a bit and it was definitely much easier and more stable for DDR4-3000+. Apparently got a really good 5960X CPU because I read some people have more issues than I did, or they just don't know how to use this new tech.
Cons: None, for new technology I expected having to wait for a better EFI or for some things to be resolved, but ASUS did a really great job. The "Deluxe" line is always top notch maybe only second to the ROG Extreme boards they have. Really high quality parts used.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly read ASUS and Intel's guide for X99 overclocking. For enthusiasts, it is worth taking a look at, I learned a lot and it definitely helped make things easier and more familiar to work with.
Reviewed By:Bill,10/23/2014 11:48:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Fatal1ty Z97 Killer LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Killer performance
Pros: Installed a i7 4790k with DDR3 2133 GSkill kit. Great performance overall for the price range of this motherboard.

Easy to navigate BIOS interface , Easy Raid setup control.

Overclocked the CPU to 4.7ghz and the memory to 2400
Cons: The font on the jumper connection is a tad small.

I do not like the placement of the SATA connectors so close to the corner of the board.
Other Thoughts: I really could not see a difference between a Killer NIC and your standard intel one.
Reviewed By:JOEHAMMER,10/23/2014 11:30:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-H87N LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Small
Easy to configure.
Has been running 24/7 for 8 months
Cons: Can be a little hard to mount good heatsinks since it so small
Other Thoughts: Have been using this for 8 months as a linux file server, Arch linux
Use a pico power supply, i3, intel 4600 gfx, 4gb mem, ssd, esata bracket.
Zero problems.

Installed Yosemite on it. Runs perfectly.

Gigabyte gets all my MB purchases.
Reviewed By:yup,10/23/2014 7:34:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97-G45 Gaming LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wrong chipset
Pros: Looks fantastic
Cons: The page specifies that it'll fit i7 cards, but after I'd opened it up and was all ready to drop my i7 in there... The little safety nibs didn't align. I thought to myself maybe I'd just put it in upside-down, but nope. After a second look over the package, the box specifies that this motherboard is ONLY for i3 and i5 processors.
Other Thoughts: Filed an RMA and I'll be getting a new, different mobo. Hopefully it's compatible with my CPU.
Reviewed By:Alex,10/22/2014 10:55:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau