Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170M-PLUS LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 UPDATED: Easy Motherboard to work with.
Pros: I have my computer booting instantly from bios. I see Asus logo then my desktop within 3 seconds of hitting the power button. Very fast with the m2 hard drive slot used. Very easy board to install. I read a few people having issues but it was easy and this was my first full build from scratch if that helps any.
Cons: So here is the bad news. out of the box it does not support windows 10 pro 64 bit (on the box the motherboard came in said it did work). UPDATE: After months of use the motherboard is unusable with my graphics card because the PCI slot is not sturdy.
Other Thoughts: Here is my update. This Board just fell apart on my the other day. I was using it mid game BOOM black screen then my monitor went no signal. tried to reboot it and no signal still. i opened the case the pci slot broke... My graphics card was sloppy in the slot. I have a 980TI and it somehow was loose in the PCI slot. I re-seated it and tightened it up as much as possible (trying to have my case hold the card up as best as possible where the board could not help any) and after one gaming session it was no signal again. I had to replace the motherboard so far so good with my new different branded board.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your review on your ASUS product. I'm sorry to hear about your PCIe slot and please accept our apologies for any inconvenient experience. Unscrew the screw that secures it to the chassis, and then release the tab at the bottom of the card, near the rear of the slot. When removing the card, pull it straight up to avoid damaging the slot. If you didn't have a card installed previously, you will need to remove the metal cover that covers the bay associated with the PCIe slot. Insert the new card directly into the PCIe slot, applying even, firm pressure. You should hear the tab at the base of the PCIe slot click when the card is in place. Make sure that the screw holes line up on the chassis. Use case screws to secure the video card to the bay openings on the back of the case. If the video card is two bays wide, you will need two screws to secure it. If you have any technical questions or need to have your motherboard repaired, you can contact me at cl-nestor@asus.com

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best Regards,
-Nestor
ASUS Customer Loyalty - US Support

Reviewed By:Victor P.,5/27/2016 3:17:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming Fatal1ty X99X Killer/3.1 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: None!!
Cons: See below!!
Other Thoughts: Decided it was time for a new gaming pc ordered everything from Newegg including this motherboard. Everything went as planned powered it up and kept receiving error codes for memory. Tested each stick and socket memory was fine Double checked that memory was supported for this board. Sent MB back Newegg shipped a new one out two day air five days later it showed up. Installed new board same errors again dropped the whole rig off to a pc shop to see what was wrong. The tech contacted Asus after he tested it and found the same errors they told him because the DDR4 memory was new and the board was older you need to update the bios with a chip. He ordered the chip a week ago and as of today still no chip. Now heading into the third week without my rig. Tired of waiting and very upset that Asus knows of this problem and has done nothing about it.
Reviewed By:douglas b.,5/27/2016 2:45:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI B150I GAMING PRO AC LGA 1151 Intel B150 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Easy to set up. Beautiful and easy to use BIOS. I have seen some down right ugly, unusable BIOS and these are great. Updating the BIOS and other MSI software is very easy. Works great
Cons: Somewhat difficult to install depending on your case size but we made do.
Reviewed By:Holly P.,5/27/2016 1:12:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-X99-Gaming 5P (rev. 1.0) LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very poor quality - AVOID this board
Pros: None. Zero.
Cons: This board is poor quality. Two board had exact same symptoms. Second board I tried to go through Gigabyte support to try resolving the issue. Support poor and slow. Took almost two months to be told that there is a problem with the board.

This board has no speaker and from what I hear from Gigabyte support, doesn't support beep codes (even ones listed on the Gigabyte site) unless the board is running. Even then I was told I had to work with what was on the display. If you cannot get to a display, there is no troubleshooting but changing parts.
Other Thoughts: I will tell everyone to avoid this board. Gigabyte support is slow and kept asking me to do the same thing over and over. I had to purchase other parts to test the board. AVOID

Symptoms were power up for about 2 seconds and then power off. Redo this again and again.

I was asked to try to update BIOS which required me to purchase new memory. According to Gigabyte, unless supported memory was in the board, it wouldn't update the BIOS. Old bios that doesn't support 16GB sticks.

If I could give it a zero, I would.
Reviewed By:Robin L.,5/27/2016 12:40:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Gaming Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked beautifully, just a few notes to the audience
Pros: Elegant board design, 4 DDR memory slots, great paperback manual, M.2 SSD interface works well, EUFI menus are well thought out, has multiple fan headers, temp sensor header, and a water pump header!! USB 3.0 6GB sata, power/reset/hd/sw&led module included, parallel sata connector orientation, push button start, reset and CMOS clear buttons, great bundled APPs.
Cons: IO shield has a spongy inner pad that makes installation a little tight. Plastic cowling on the board is kind of cheap looking.
Other Thoughts: Great board for a gaming/vr rig, don't forget to connect your 8-pin CPU power and also if you use a water cooler, make sure you connect your radiator fan to the CPU fan header, there is a water pump header that you connect the water pump to, but the system will not post and you'll get a 00 code if you do not hook a fan to the CPU fan header.
Reviewed By:Mattthew S.,5/27/2016 11:36:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Full featured mATX Z170 board
Pros: Full featured board, with Realtek ALC1150 audio.
Cons: A few changes I would have made:
Use an Intel i219 LAN controller, instead of Atheros Killer LAN.
Replace the VGA port with a Display Port, (& keep DVI & HDMI) for the on-board Intel video.
The plain gold audio connector ports should include color markings, such as green, black and yellow, for compliance with industry standards for pluggable audio devices.
Other Thoughts: F4 bios recommended, although the Intel MEI firmware is still not the very latest available version.

Update 5/26/2016: Gigabyte's product page omits specifics on the USB 3.1/Thunderbolt controller.
Gigabyte lists a USB 3.1 driver for Win10-64, although AFAIK only Microsoft-supplied drivers are allowed for Win8/8.1/10. So: not sure if the USB 3.1 controller chip is Intel or possibly: Asmedia, or some other 3rd party. Gigabyte also offers a firmware update for the USB 3.1 controller, but questions remain about the status, since the brand of the controller chip isn't specified.
In Windows10-64 Device Manager, the only USB 3.1 (or Thunderbolt) device that appears, is listed under USB controllers: Intel(R) USB 3.1 eXtensible Host Controller - 1.10(Microsoft)
Reviewed By:Richard V.,5/27/2016 10:28:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z170 Pro4S LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pleasantly Surprised
Pros: Booted first try. Recognized memory with correct speed and timings. Also recognized all other peripherals.

One of the people that reviewed this mb said it does not work with Windows 7. He was incorrect. If you follow the instructions on the AsRock site you will learn how to do this. It is not AsRocks fault that some people are having problems. When Intel made this generation of cpus they left off instruction sets for usb 2.0(not sure if this is the correct way to say this). Anyway, this means that since Windows 7 does not have 3.0 usb drivers you have to create a usb version of windows 7 adding the 3.0 driver, which you can get on AsRocks website. The instructions on how to do this are VERY clear on the motherboards page at AsRock.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Paired with GSkill 8gb ddr4 2400 memory(will be getting 8 more next month), an i5 6600k and my trusty old MSI r9 290x gaming 4g. All bought here. Getting 20 fps more in Battlefield 4, and no more lag issues in Fallout 4. Both games on highest settings

It was a move from my FX 8350, of which I always will have fond memories.
Reviewed By:David M.,5/27/2016 5:28:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good motherboard for the price!
Pros: It works.
It overclocks.
It does very well for gaming.
Cons: None so far; other than it being blue! lol
Other Thoughts: I recommend this motherboard to those looking for a good gaming motherboard that isn't crazy expensive. I overclocked my i5 4690K from 3.5ghz to 4.2ghz and the motherboard did well.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/27/2016 1:43:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS X99-DELUXE/U3.1 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine for me
Pros: - Love all the USB ports
- Good wireless
- Seems efficient
Cons: - Not really a con, but the interface for installing RAID0 configuration on a non-bootable drive took a while to figure out, because the instruction manual was too ambiguous. Once I figured it out, it only took me about a minute to do. I wish the instructions were more precise and clear on how to do it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/26/2016 9:07:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic board, very easy setup.
Pros: Setup the board with an i5-6600K, and G.Skill 2666 DDR4. Easy overclock to 4.5Ghz. No issues at all. First thing I did was update to the latest bios, then enable XMP for the mrmory. Couldn't be simpler.
This is also the first board I've ever had where the onbaord audio was usable, due to the de-pop setting in the bios.
Cons: None really, although it would be nice if the onboard LED's turned off with the system.
Other Thoughts: Not sure what the issues are with all the DOA and negative reviews. I've built a few systems with this board now, no issues with any of them.
Reviewed By:William M.,5/26/2016 9:04:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.