Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-Designare (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Motherboards - Intel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Mobo for the Intel Cutting Edge
Pros: * If I had to fancy a guess, the reason Gigabyte named these motherboards “Designare” is simply because they are motherboards aimed at designers, working professionals, workstation enthusiasts, and software creators who require horsepower and flexibility. Though I run my own business and do a lot of work on my PC, my PC is built for gaming (thank Posiden that gaming components can facilitate most users). I mention this because I would avoid using this motherboard as my primary board in my gaming PC; in fact, I opted to continue using my Asus M6F for many reasons. That’s not to say that you can’t, but it’s obviously a motherboard that will suit power users and enthusiasts more than gamers. If you’re a graphic “designare” (get it?), the Designare will provide you with what you need on a Z170 chipset without having to necessarily invest in an X99 board. It is loaded with features and cutting edge tech built right into it. *

- The Designare comes with that musky new motherboard smell, an easy front panel connector port (G Connector), 4x SATA Data cables, 2x Velcro straps, clean IO cover panel, thick manual, wide spaced SLI connector, cable sticker labels, Drivers CD, case sticker, and onboard RGB lighting extender. And now let’s quickly cover the included IO ports on the board: Dual Intel Gigabit LAN (Yes, two ports for teaming and 2gbps), PS/2 Port, Mini DisplayPort, 2x USB 3.1, 4x USB 3.0, 2x USB 2.0, 4k 1.4 HDMI port, Full DisplayPort, and 5x Audio & S/PDIF ports.

- Aesthetically, the Designare has a metallic black cover with accents of blue all around the PCB. It has a ULTRA DURABLE logo block over the rear IO which makes the build look a lot cleaner. Its PCIx16 slots are plated in a silver finish that looks fantastic, but also reinforces heavy GPUs that reduce sagging. There’s plenty of aesthetic covers over all areas of the board, making the PCB show a lot less, hence an overall much cleaner, sleeker look. I won’t mention all of the internal I/O ports that are ubiquitous, but on top of the normal ports, the Designare has an optional water-cooling pump header (really cool), a U.2 connector, an M.2 Socket 3 connector, RGB LED extension header, a TPM header, a future Thunderbolt card connector, and a one-press overclock button. The most glaring feature is the Designare’s LEDs scattered around the board, illuminating it in RGB glory. It can be customized to any color using Gigabyte software and can even be synchronized with other four pin RGB LEDs you may have as case lighting. There’s also a dual-BIOS switch to ensure that even if your UEFI becomes corrupted, you have a backup. I didn’t have a single gripe with the placement of headers or ports. They’re all conveniently accessible and ideally positioned.

- The features that the Designare sports are nearly boundless. Pretty much any technology that has come out recently can be used in conjunction with this motherboard. With two USB C ports, products like the Seagate Innov8 can be used and other cutting edge USB 3.1 products. The external storage transfer speeds through the Designare’s USB 3.1 are astoundingly quick. Nearby the SATA 6gbps ports lies a U.2 port for hyper-speed SSDs like Intel 750 series that exceed read and write speeds of 2.5GBps and 1.2GBps respectively. M.2 22110 is also onboard and triple NVMe PCIe gen3 slots that can support SSDs, even in RAID config, which is incredible. Overall, the vast amount of storage options (up to 32 Gb/s on PCIe) on this motherboard can fulfill anyone’s pipe-dream of storage heaven.

- The RAM slots are DDR4 which can clock up to a whopping 4000MHz. I couldn’t push it that high, but there are a lot of factors involved with that, including CPU clock. Over 100Watts can be provided through the USB 3.1 ports using their Power Delivery 2.0 Support for charging and powering of devices. The onboard sound is stellar as well. Built in is Realtek ALC1150.

- The BIOS is Gigabyte’s latest UEFI. It has a lot of great tweaks and features like the RGB LED control and easy control of the 4-pin fan connectors. Easy options for updating BIOS are included, and a beautiful looking GUI for digestible settings tweaking.
Cons: - I wouldn’t say there are many cons with the Designare. The cons may be its overwhelming features. A lot of the features go away with other supported options. Like if you use SLI, the NVMe PCIe Gen3 SSDs options kind of go out the window. That’d be true with practically any board, but it’s still worth mentioning. There’s nothing that the Designare faults with really. There’s no Wi-Fi, but hey, come on. There’s no back CMOS reset switch. But again, these are such minor nit-picks that I don’t feel like it takes away from the feature-packed motherboard this is.
Other Thoughts: * Overall, the Designare is an Intel wet dream. It practically supports all of Intel’s latest and greatest technology. This is where I recommend a board like this. If you’ll be using USB 3.1 type devices, piddling in NVMe RAID for SSD PCIe storage, utilizing two LAN ports for network transfer, and flexible overclocking features, then the Designare is for you. If you don’t intend to utilize these features or don’t even know what they are, then the Designare isn’t for you. Purchase a simpler board with features you know you’ll use. The price of the Designare is reflected by the many cutting-edge features it comes packed with, so it’s easy to look elsewhere if you don’t have the devices that this board supports. The Designare is a cutting edge motherboard that is obviously aimed at workstation users and hardcore enthusiasts. The overwhelming majority of users will not utilize a quarter of the features on this board, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing… is it? *
Reviewed By:Benjamin B.,8/25/2016 5:01:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M5 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Warranty is a JOKE
Pros: It works until it doesn't
Cons: Warranty exchange sent me a refurbished board with scratches and tape stuck to the heat sync. Just buy Asus and avoid the hassle.
Reviewed By:Mike A.,8/25/2016 2:11:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 1st one defective and 2nd one replaced by newegg gift card of price listed not the item.
Pros: -Great motherboard for a great price.
-Fit all my needs for my gaming PC because I have a intel i7 2600k, 2 GTX 970s, 32GB DDR3 RAM.
Cons: -1st one had RAM slot issues, it would not detect my RAM but my old motherboard did fine so the board was the issue.
-2nd one I accidentally broke a piece on it while installing my GPU because I forgot the locking system is different than normal (The locking system was closed by default for some reason so it broke off) and I sent the item to service net because I had an extended warranty with ADH protection. My issue is they gave me a gift card of the price listed but I need this motherboard and it's set at auto notify. They say there have not been any orders made and unsure whether it will be restocked but it could be, I understand how supply and demand work but I just wish you had a clear answer for me.
-My only other option is this item: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIAA0S3ZG4908&cm_re=Z77-_-9SIAA0S3ZG4908-_-Product. Not sure if I should wait or get this product, hopefully others have better luck than me but I know it's a nice board for a great price!
Other Thoughts: -If it helps with you making a decision to restock this item I want newegg to know that I really want this board and you should restock it, really need it!
-My eyes will be glued to my email for days!!!!
- Gave this item 3 eggs due to the fact I was hoping to get the item replaced, newegg representatives do not know if it will be restocked, and the first motherboard giving me RAM issues.
Reviewed By:Royal G.,8/25/2016 1:51:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG STRIX X99 GAMING LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked only 1 week - AVOID !
Pros: Pretty to look at
Cons: Fried after 1 week
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts: Pretty much the same like Marcus K. It died without warning while browsing. My computer just turned off, no BSOD. I tried to turn it back on, the fans wouldn't spin up, no error code on the LCD, just the LED labeled PLED1 (which is effectively not referenced in the manual). I tried again to turn it back on after 20 min, I thought maybe my processor was too hot (which is weird because my temps were always around 40C) or something went wrong with it and the mobo just burnt-out in front of my eyes.

I should have checked user reviews before buying this motherboard because clearly there is a manufacturing defect affecting a significant amount of the boards produced.

I am not getting a second Strix x99, I'm very disappointed, a motehrboard at this price...it's a shame!

Computer specs:
Win 10 Pro
Intel i7 6900K
64GB DDR4 G-Skill Trident @ 3200 Mhz
1 SSD Samsung 840 Pro
3x WD Green 2TB
GeForce Asus 1070 GTX
Corsair h115i AIO water cooling
Cooller Master Silent Gold 1200W
Reviewed By:TRISTAN C.,8/25/2016 1:38:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI B150 PC Mate LGA 1151 Intel B150 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really nice looking
Pros: Looks great
Really solid
Supports crossfire
Cons: doesn't support sli I think .If you are in that kind of stuff
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/25/2016 12:33:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170-A LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Value and Solid Platform for Overclocking - i7-6700K at 4.8GHz
Pros: - Standard ATX Mount Points (unlike similarly-priced Gigabyte GA-Z170 Gaming 3)
- Motherboard/Driver Software is optional (all overclocking, fan control, and power management options are also accessible from within the UEFI BIOS, so no need to add bloat to Windows)
- Excellent Overclocking Performance! Reached 4.8 GHz at 1.36V on my i7-6700K, and many others in the Skylake Owners Club forums have achieved similar results on this motherboard.
- High-quality heat sinks on the motherboard, spring/screw-mounted so that they can be easily removed/reinstalled if necessary.
- DC and PWM fan controls on all 5 of its fan headers! Wow! It even lets you set custom fan curves for each fan. If it didn't require rewiring my case, I'd put the motherboard in charge of all of my fans. For now, I'm still using a hardware fan controller.
- FAST boot-up sequence! Sub-20s boot times on SSD, even faster with M2.
Cons: - Heat sinks are SHARP. Nicked myself pretty badly unpacking it.
- ASUS Software from their website would not install successfully; I was forced to install from the CD first, then run the EZ Update application.
- ASUS Software does not properly register itself as Startup applications in Windows 10; instead, many of these applications run as scheduled tasks at login, making them a pain to turn off. There are no options to control auto-startup behavior from within the application, so launch Task Scheduler if you want to disable them.
- The aluminum punch-out port cover is awful. Just terrible. It required lots of bending and adjusting to get it to fit correctly against the face of the ports. Par for the course in mid-range motherboards, unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: - Despite the Cons, I would recommend this motherboard. It's going to be difficult to beat its price and quality without stepping into the next price segment (Premium/Deluxe/Pro motherboards).
Reviewed By:Keith B.,8/25/2016 12:11:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-B85M-DS3H-A LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy set up
Pros: Strong board, keeps up with other brands, if not exceeds
Small, compact size leaves much room for larger components
HDMI connector is always a favorite
Cons: The I/O shield sucks, I got it to work but had to kind of jury rig it, pins broke off quickly
Reviewed By:Mackenzie R.,8/25/2016 7:51:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO/Whetstone LGA1151 DDR4 DP HDMI M.2 U.2 USB 3.1 Z170 ATX Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great MOBO! Easy and poerful
Pros: - Easy to bench start because of exterior MOBO power button.
- Easy to upgrade bios. (4 different methods depending on what stage you are at)
- Accurate easy to understand Q Code display. This helped me immensely. It wouldn't POST at first, so I saw the yellow RAM LED on, checked the code and it turned out my RAM was just loose. Could have gone down a rabbit hole with that had the code not been there. If you have ever read an OBD II code on a car, you can read this and it is as accurate.
- Looks super sexy. If you like grey and black, this MOBO is for you.
- Powerful software suite made it incredibly easy to OC, benchmark & just overall tweak (everything). Another handy feature that allowed me to squeeze extra power out of both my CPU and GPUs, just by messing with the radiator and fan profiles. It also made it easy to switch back and forth between my OC profile and my power save profile at the hold of a button.
- Comes with a lot of other little cool extras like a mouse pad which I used to bench it.
- Newegg got it to me within the first day of my shipping dates in good condition.
- Overall feature packed. If you want something useful in a MOBO's software or hardware ASUS probably has it. I could go on and on, but this is already getting long. Very useful features for a mid tier MOBO.
Cons: - Not much, but I do have to mention that the EM shielding gets in the way a bit during install.
- A few features that I wish ASUS had that other brands do such as the steel around the PCIe 16 slots. I almost bent mine when bench testing on accident. I wish there were more space between the main standoff screw holes and the components of the MOBO. Wish there was more gold on the CPU tray. Minor things I noticed while installing, but nothing bad enough to warrant a broken egg.
Still a great MOBO once it's in the case.
Other Thoughts: This is a great mother board with no major flaws that I can see thus far. It looks good, it performs well, it comes with a hefty software suite (including a year of Kaspersky that you have to go to ASUS.com to get) and it probably has more things to surprise me with. If anything changes then I will most definitely let it be known since I haven't had it for that long yet. Overall I recommend this motherboard.
Reviewed By:Marc R.,8/25/2016 5:33:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI H170I Pro AC LGA 1151 Intel H170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product!
Pros: Easy to use graphical bios, steady solid motherboard.
Cons: nothing
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this motherboard.
Reviewed By:David T.,8/25/2016 1:45:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Board was DOA
Pros: It did not work. Only pro the RMA with MSI was fairly easy. The other 2 motherboards I purchased are still running just fine.
Cons: Unfortunately, will take 2 weeks to get a refurbished motherboard.
Other Thoughts: I really wish board manufacturers would test their boards before they ship them to retailers. The good news the other 2 motherboards I bought are still running just fine.
Reviewed By:Donald S.,8/25/2016 12:33:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.