Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Free shipping & returns. Sign up for Newegg Premier for Canada
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-E LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 3 Defective boards
Pros: z97 chipset
Cons: 3 Defective boards in a row.
First board had a bad bios flash I think, it wouldn't post no matter what.
Second board had bent cpu pins.
Third board posted and booted, but the main pci-e had a weak solder joint so that the video card would glitch out occasionally.

ASUS quality control has become terrible.
Other Thoughts: Done with ASUS. I selected this board to do a simple build for a neighbor and after this experience I am not going to purchasing an x99 asus board.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/19/2014 4:47:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97-Gaming 5 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good board
Pros: Board has a lot of functionality, good price. Guess
More to do with Intel then the board but my first true Intel build have a i5 4690k board and cpu stable at 4.4 didn't have to do a lot of voltage changes unlike with asus over clocking. Had to update bios first one didn't take had to use back up bios and transfer etc glad the board came as a 2 bios board otherwise it would be bricked so a con and a pro.
Cons: Well like others not the most update bios, almost killed board. Had pin issues been an amd guy used to having to comb cpu pins like odd doing mother board pins. Biggest con is I have an ssd as my os drive motherboard does not find it on first boot ever always have to do a reboot wants to load from and old hhd drive with Linux loaded.
Other Thoughts: All and all a great motherboard wish they would fix the bios flash issues. Maybe have some qc on the motherboard pins. The ssd issue I'm not sure maybe a bio update could fix this in the future not sure I want to do another updat at this time.
Reviewed By:Billthescienceguy,12/19/2014 4:40:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-E LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 3 Defective boards
Pros: Z97 Chipset
Cons: 3 Defective boards in a row.
First board had a bad bios flash I think, it wouldn't post no matter what.
Second board had bent cpu pins.
Third board posted and booted, but the main pci-e had a weak solder joint so that the video card would glitch out occasionally.

ASUS quality control has become terrible.
Other Thoughts: Done with ASUS. I selected this board to do a simple build for a neighbor and after this experience I am not going to purchasing an x99 asus board.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/19/2014 3:48:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z97 Extreme6 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great board - if it worked?
Pros: ;very pretty. lots of potential
Cons: I have been fighting with random BSOD's, random restarts, random bios clearings..

Sometimes it wont boot, sometimes it will. did all of the tests possible- 1 stick, 2 sticks, drivers etc. all of the parts work in my old pc... just not in this one. Back to Asus for me!
Reviewed By:N/A,12/19/2014 3:46:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-B85M-DS3H LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good deal
Pros: Cost effective. I've owned other Gigabyte boards and been pleased. Around $45 with rebate is a steal. However, it's too early to tell if this board will last since I just put it in a new system and haven't even got Windows installed yet. If I can, I'll update my review after I do some serious testing.
Cons: I guess Newegg is cleaning out their inventory. I bought the board expecting a Revision 3 but instead they sent me a Revision 2. The latest version had upgraded audio capacitors to limit RFI, so I'm deducting an egg. If I buy a motherboard, I expect it to be the latest version.. not yesterdays news!
Reviewed By:Matt,12/19/2014 3:00:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-B85M-DS3H LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: This board was dead on arrival. The computer endlessly power cycles without POSTing or making any beeps.

I tried removing RAM, checking connections, everything. The power supply tests good.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/19/2014 2:31:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: don't know, doesn't work
Cons: turns on for 20 seconds and then power cycles off for 4 seconds. This is a cycle that continues as long as I let it. It is also beeping continuously
Other Thoughts: usually not this early of an adopter of tech, I have learned my lesson
Reviewed By:rob,12/19/2014 1:39:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Beautiful work of art!
Pros: As long as you know what you're doing this motherboard is a beautiful work of art, i love it and i thank asus for making it.
Cons: It's complicated so if you're just going for a cool computer and don't really know what you're doing and don't want to put in the time to figure it out, you probably won't have a great experience.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/19/2014 11:06:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z87-A LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just don't even bother.
Pros: Well, I guess it looks like a motherboard.
Cons: Here's the rundown: I decided that, after months of deliberation, I would finally build my first computer. I came to Newegg for everything;

Intel i5 4590
Corsair CX500M psu
Team Elite 8GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti gpu
ASUS Z87-A mobo

I was so excited to finally try this out. While everything was shipping I watched at least four separate videos on building and was fairly confident in my ability to snap this stuff together. When everything finally arrived it was like freakin christmas.

Fast forward to now. It's going on 7 WEEKS and the build still hasn't seen its first POST thanks to this board. I've been troubleshooting so much I've got the procedures memorized. I've been through two processors, two sets of RAM and even sent the board back to ASUS an the problem HAS NOT CHANGED ONCE. The best part is that Newegg won't even trade the board. the "best" they can do is send some stupid little email to ASUS on my behalf to see if they will do anything else. (this email, according to them, would have the same visibility as if I sent it myself)

All I can say is avoid this board because the chance of failure is too high to justify the price (especially when you factor in paying for multiple trips back to the manufacturer).
Reviewed By:N/A,12/19/2014 10:18:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97I-PLUS LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great motherboard with excellent WiFi
Pros: The Z97I-PLUS has a great layout the allowed me to fit a giant CPU cooler even with tall RAM. The bios (UEFI) is pretty straight forward and allowed for the XMP overclocking profile for my RAM with one click. Any changes that you make are detailed before you save and exit, so that is a big plus to verify you didn’t accidentally change something while you were in there. The built-in WiFi is also very fast, has excellent range, and a great antenna that can be magnetically attached to your case (It’s on the top of my case in the photos).
Cons: I do have a few minor cons for the board. The wifi connections to the board when you install it are a bit of a pain to snap down and you have to punch out two holes to screw the antenna connectors (did it with a small pair of pliers). The IO shield is also padded, which you think would be a plus but is a pain because the board would not fit completely flush with the case. I managed to get it to fit and the connections are solid but they should have not padded the shield. Last con is that it did not come with motherboard mounting screws (luckily my friend who helped me build it had some in his toolkit).
Other Thoughts: My system:
CPU: i7 4790K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14
Motherboard: ASUS Z97I-PLUS mini-ITX
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8 GB (2x4GB) DDR3 2400
GPU: EVGA GTX 750Ti SC
Storage: Intel 730 SSD 480 GB and Intel 520 SSD 120 GB
Case: BitFenix Colossus mini-ITX
Power Supply: Corsair CS450M
OS: Windows 7 Pro (64 bit)
Monitor: Asus VS239H-P 23.0"
Case Fan: Noctua NF-F12
Keyboard: Logitech G710
Mouse: Logitech G502
Speakers: Creative Labs T20
Optical: ASUS external slim DVD writer
Reviewed By:Thrax,12/19/2014 10:09:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.