Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-G1.Sniper M5 LGA 1150 Intel Z87 SATA 6Gb/s Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 little board, big features
Pros: I bought this board last year because I wanted to build a little mATX and something that had the fastest SLI and saw this supports x16/x8 for the slim 7750s I was going to use. Build changed, and I went to a full case and a 770. Lots of nice features, Creative Labs Sound, changeable Amp chip, and Killer LAN. I haven't used 1/2 of them.
Cons: I upgraded from an i5-4670K to a i7-4790K. Even at the latest BIOS of this writing, F10, it doesn't correctly detect the chip parameters. It will stay stuck at the 4.4Ghz speed even with no load. I've decided to move on to a Z97 board, since I no longer have the 4670K. I don't think I can wait for F11 to come out.
Other Thoughts: Should have gone with a i7-4770K and be done with it. I'd have to say this board is strictly for 4th Gen.
I found an incompatibility with Netgear's Genie and Killer LAN. It kills the LAN to LAN transfer speed (80Kb/s!). Just uncheck the Netgear Firewall filter on the adapter and you'll be back to normal.
Reviewed By:spdaimon.,9/16/2014 3:43:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-WS Intel LGA1150 HDMI/DisplayPort /Mini DisplayPort Dual server-grade Intel LAN ATX Server Workstation Motherboard for Quad-strength Graphic Power

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Z97-WS plays no games when it comes to stability.
Pros: Stable, High quality components, Nice BIOS, Everything you need without everything you don't need.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: RIG:
4790K
16GB G.Skill @ 2400MHz
SeaSonic Platinum 1200w
Intel 730 Series 480GB
2x EVGA GTX Titan Black
Reviewed By:Jeremy G.,9/16/2014 2:53:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z97-A LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Tons of features at an excellent price.
Cons: Does not include a USB 3.0 header.

Board is apparently not compatible with the LSI SAS9240-8i SAS HBA.
Other Thoughts: I have not reached out to ASUS about the RAID card compatibility issue, but LSI's answer was to blow me off and tell me to buy a different board on their HCL.
That's not really an option, so I'm stuck getting a new RAID card instead. Which is causing me a huge headache in how to manage my RAID volume and data, but that part isn't Asus's fault.
Reviewed By:Buck,9/16/2014 2:33:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z77A-GD65 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It was great...while it worked
Pros: Worked flawlessly and met all my expectations for the better part of a year and a half.
Cons: After that, it began to stop booting. Now it's dead. What a shame.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 2:21:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS X99-DELUXE LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worked well once it actually worked
Pros: It looks nice. Worked with the new Haswell-E processors. Is ASUS. Has plenty of PCIe lanes with the right processors. Comes standard with dual nics, bluetooth, and wireless on the chipset.
Cons: First of all, in my first review I noted the BIOS needs upgrading in order to work well with some USB keyboards... the good thing is this can be done with the usb flashing on the back of the board and works really slick but still shouldn't be necessary.

The second thing that my original review noted was that having the BIOS set to RAID mode, and creating your RAID volumes in the BIOS did NOT work. This seems to be a bug with ASUS BIOS firmware and not Intel RST... if you turn the BIOS to legacy mode for RAID it will boot into the Intel RST screen right after your first ASUS screen on boot and you can properly manage your RAID volumes there.

This seems to be a bug in ASUS's BIOS firmware and should probably be fixed.
Other Thoughts: After using it for a while and figuring out the problems that the ASUS BIOS caused I was able to get it working fine and it's been great since.
Reviewed By:Jake O,9/16/2014 1:00:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97N-Gaming 5 LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good
Pros: BIOS/UEFI easy to set up once you figure out a few idiosyncrosies (see other thoughts)

Dual band wifi, displayport on board, lots of USB ports
Cons: Location of RAM slots + Corsair 250d + H100i cooler meant I had to install the in the board before I put the board in the case, and if I want to swap the ram at some point I'll probably have to pull it out.

I wasn't able to get the onboard video ports to work, but didn't try very long because I had a GPU installed and suspect that is the reason why.
Other Thoughts: First full build after tinkering with minor upgrades for a long time.

I used overclocked ram and didn't understand the way to set it at first, electing to manually set it to 1600. When I later figured out how to use the profile, I set the profile to 2400 only to discover it wouldn't go over 1600. It turns out that in the two different BIOS screens (a new version and "classic"), not all settings are visible in classic. My manual setting of 1600 was overriding the automatic use in hte profile. Once I set it to automatic and left the profile, the ram was overclocked properly.
Reviewed By:wetduck,9/16/2014 10:58:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Stable and very fast so far
Pros: In a gaming system, this board coupled with a 4.0 GHz Core i7 Haswell CPU and an NVIDIA GTX 660 really zooms. Installation was as easy as a motherboard installation ever can be (you always have to deal with cable routing and such). Connectors are clearly documented in the manual and clearly labeled on the board. The circuit board itself seems to be of high quality, and ASUS used reliable connectors. I used to design circuit boards professionally, so these are things I notice and care about!

Upgrading the BIOS is dead easy. Just put the new BIOS file on a VFAT-formatted thumb drive, power the system off, insert the thumb drive into one specific USB port on the back, press and hold the button next to that USB port, and wait a minute or so until an LED stops blinking. Reboot. Done.

The BIOS is so configurable that even as a computer engineer I found that there were more options there than I really needed. If you want a board that you can deeply configure for overclocking, this is a good choice. I tweaked the things I wanted to tweak and kept the defaults otherwise, and the board is running stably and smoothly for me. If you're a beginner, the menu might be a little intimidating, but the defaults normally will work fine.

When researching this board online before purchase, I found one review that said you couldn't install Windows 7 on a solid state drive with this board. That's nonsense. I did just that and had no problems at all. Windows 7 boots off a SATA SSD for me in about 10 seconds.

The onboard gigabit Ethernet chipset performs nicely. I am doing game development and use this system to capture multi-gigabyte videos, which are transferred to another system for editing. The onboard Ethernet can fully stuff the GigE pipeline as fast as my network switch can go.

I give kudos to ASUS for providing a very detailed manual for the board, when a lot of companies don't seem to do that any more. This matters more than you might think, because unless you have another system nearby during installation, looking up configuration instructions online may not be very convenient, so the printed manual is a very useful item.
Cons: The Realtek audio driver has a known bug (documented online) that causes it to fail at boot time. Online, the consensus was to upgrade to the latest BIOS to fix this. I did so, but the problem persists. My video board is providing sound output, so I simply uninstalled and ignored the Realtek driver, but this may be a problem for others. I'm assuming ASUS or Realtek will fix it in a driver update, but for now this cost it one star in my review.

I found some of the marketing hype around the board's features (especially the bundled software) to be a bit excessive, but it can be ignored and doesn't diminish the quality of the board itself. Frankly, some of the software wasn't of any interest to me, so I didn't install all of it.
Other Thoughts: I bought this board with a 4.0 GHz Core i7 CPU as an upgrade for a gaming tower, replacing another ASUS board that has worked well but can't keep up with the newer games.

One installation caveat: Be sure to plug in not only the main ATX power connector, but also the PCI Express power connector located near the CPU socket. If you miss this step, the board will power up but won't boot. This is documented in the manual but easy to overlook, which I did the first time through! Get the cabling right, and you're off and running. My fault, not the board's, so I didn't take away a star for this.
Reviewed By:Syscrusher,9/16/2014 9:06:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: The install and setup was very clean and fast. Was able to overclock my 5930K to 4.4 GHz with no problems. I haven't had a chance to use all board's features yet.
Cons: MSI LiveUpdate ... the concept could be nice but the execution needs some improvements. First, the software shouldn't prevent Windows from shutting down by displaying a prompt asking the user if he/she wants to exit LiveUpdate. Given what others have said about LiveUpdate, I've simply uninstalled it
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 8:01:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD3H LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Gigabyte Intel 1150 GA-Z97X-UD3H
Pros: Good cooling/heatsinks for onboard components.
Supports high-speed dual-channel DDR3.
Decent price compared to other Intel 1150 boards.
UEFI dual BIOS.
BIOS offers fairly intuitive over/under-clocking options.
6 x SATA 6Gb/s with M.2 and SATA Express features.
7.1 channel onboard sound.
4x USB 3.0 rear slots, onboard USB 3.0 add-on option.
Offers M.2 for SSDs.
Still offers PS/2 ports.
Cons: Cannot access M.2 or SATA Expresss features and use all available SATA slots at the same time. I have 5 SATA 7200rpm HDs and 2 SSDs so this is a big con for me.
Only 1 16x PCIe, 2nd is 8x, 3rd is 4x.
Color scheme compared to most Intel boards I see these days is lacking. I still like the mostly black but the yellow\orange colors match none of the hardware I own.
Other Thoughts: I have an i7-4790K running @ 4.6GHz on this board with an aftermarket air cooler using 2x 120mm fans in a push/pull configuration blowing out the top of my case. Idling the CPU runs ~25-35°C, intense gaming runs ~55-60°C. I also have 2x 4GB DDR3 2400 running @ 2600 also with no temperature issues. Have had no problem with the GA-Z97X-UD3H's temperatures.
This is a good entry level 1150 motherboard but not a good option for someone interested in using top-of-the-line features and hardware.

I wouldn't choose this motherboard because:
1) the orange looks awful through my side window
2) I can't run my 2 PCIe GPUs @ 16x
3) I can't run my SATA HDs and use the M.2 feature for my SSDs at the same time
Reviewed By:GObonzo,9/16/2014 4:59:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Buyer be warned...
Pros: It does what's needed to be done....after struggling to get it to work right. More on this below.
Cons: Boy do I have things to talk about. First off if you're interested in getting this board you're better off getting an asus board or something that's not asrock because troubleshooting this board was starting to give me headaches. I booted for the first time and bam bsod right off the bat at the windows loading screen...I restarted several times and tried to isolate the issue since I had new memory and a new cpu installed as well. Finally gave up and decided to search the internet on my laptop and found that this mobo, by default, will have the sata mode set to AHCI instead of IDE, which was why I got those bsod and couldn't load windows. The second scare came as I finally finished installing the drivers loaded onto the cd that came with the mobo (after an hour) and when I restarted the computer and not only could i not load windows I was caught in a loop that brought me to this Nero Boot-Loader thing that was asking if I wanted to do something to my hard disk drive that would delete all the data on it. Thankfully the solution to this was simple: simply remove the cd from the cd drive and that endless nightmare went away.
Other Thoughts: Honestly if it weren't for those two things mentioned above I would've given this more eggs but at least newegg was fast to deliver.
Manufacturer Response:Dear ASRock Customer

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
For the SATA mode, most of current mainboards are set SATA mode as AHCI by default, due to IDE mode is not widely used on nowadays PC.
However, there's recommend to install fresh Windows (backup the data first), if the hardware configuration has changed (especially mainboard).
For the boot issue, please set boot option #1 to Windows drive.
Eject the mainboard’s driver CD (bootable CD disc) to avoid boot from the disc (if boot option has set to ODD).
If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 12:30:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau