Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming Fatal1ty Z97 Killer LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Easy overclocking in BIOS. Had mine for about a year and a half and still counting, never any problems with anything.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Would highly recommend. In fact, for my next upgrade purchase I'm going to be buying another ASRock Fatal1ty board since this has proved it value. Also bought ASRock boards for others I've built computers for and never a problem. Not sure how others are getting boards DOA if they are just not discharging their static before touching it or what. I don't build my pcs on the floor without a static pad and we have dog hair everywhere and have never had a single item, board or GPU, be DOA.
Reviewed By:Michael T.,1/18/2017 3:46:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Core functionality was good. Lacking in other parts.
Pros: - Didn't mind the BIOS interface as much as others, most things functioned as expected
Cons: - Microphone didn't work on any of the inputs using Windows 10 or Ubuntu
Other Thoughts: - Bought one, sent it back because of the faulty mic port, got another, and the second one had the same issue. If you don't use USB microphone, be wary.
Reviewed By:Jacob P.,1/18/2017 3:21:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M7 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It was all going so well
Pros: Nice when it worked
Cons: BE VERY CAREFUL WITH ALL THE LITTLE SLOT LOCKS (the little things that lock down the video card, ram) They are very easy to break. Also if you have a long video card it is next to impossible to unlock it, and I have little girl fingers (not like trumps) I am a girl.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this board it worked on first boot up then one day it didn't. Will be RMAing, after many, many hours of working on this, will update this when there is news.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Marlene,

We apologize for the issues that you are having with this product.

If you have not go through troubleshooting yet, then feel free to contact our tech support team for assistance at 626.271.1004 from M to F, 9am to 6pm Pacific Time.
If you have gone through troubleshooting and confirmed the symptom, then please kindly visit the URL below to set up a RMA for warranty service.
http://service.msicomputer.com/msi_user/rma_form_new.aspx

Required Information:
1. Full name (first, and last)
2. Telephone #
3. Physical address (No PO box)
4. Email address
5. Serial number (located on the box, or underneath the motherboard, eg 601-xxxx-xxxBxxxxxxxxxx)
6. Please write clear details about symptoms you are having onto the Special Remark section.

Once your information and warranty are verified by the system then you will get a RMA# immediately.
You will receive a RMA email which indicates the turn-around time as well as ship-to address.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the product or special requests, received the unit back from RMA but are still having issues, please do not hesitate to call us or email us directly and we will be more than happy to assist you, thank you.
Tech Support Line: 626-271-1004 (M to F, 9am to 6pm Pacific Time)
Tech Support Email: usreview@msi.com
Best Regards,
MSI Review Team |JT01182017001 usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:Marlene A.,1/18/2017 3:07:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170I PRO GAMING LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great motherboard for mITX builds
Pros: -Well laid out
-3 Fan headers (many of the others at time of purchase only had 2, so this was very nice)
-Excellent BIOS
-Pleasing look
-Great selection of I/O
Cons: -Audio LED is sort of annoying but can be disabled (which I've done)
Reviewed By:Tyler T.,1/18/2017 2:21:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI B85M-E45 LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Motherboard for the price!
Pros: - Easy to set up
- Well built and has enough ports
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this motherboard for people who are in a tight budget.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/18/2017 1:53:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Z170 Pro4S LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 inexpensive well made motherboard
Pros: -works as advertised
-nice simple BIOS menu, or Advanced if you want to tweak
Cons: - none
Reviewed By:Shawn N.,1/18/2017 11:57:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 5 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good board overall
Pros: Fits well into Corsair Carbide Series 540 ATX case. I personally enjoy the spacing of everything on this board, and for those who care about color schemes this is neither outlandish nor too muted. For the price it seems like a good board, but I have only built one gaming PC before this one.
Cons: None found yet, however I just got the system to POST today. May edit in the future. See other thoughts
Other Thoughts: It may just be my board but my system would not POST without memory that runs native 2133mhz. Keep that in mind if you are purchasing this board and building/upgrading. Can't take an egg off for my newbie mistakes but I just wanted to let others know.
Reviewed By:William V.,1/18/2017 11:31:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula LGA1151 DDR4 DP HDMI M.2 Z270 ATX Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula
Pros: - Build in EK Waterblock/Passive Cooling
- RGB Backlighting
- 2 RBG Headers
- I/O Shield (IDK Why I love it but makes it look at a lot cleaner.
- Backplate (Also a Con look at other)
Cons: - Price (Yes fresh release is always a markup but betweek the features of the other boards seems to be a little to much maybe 30-50 bucks Cheaper would be nice price range.)
- Backplate
- 2nd M.2 Slot
Other Thoughts: I had issues with the backplate since I am using a coldzero.eu motherboard tray. I had to trim it maybe 1/8 of an inch because of the contact with the backplate. Not real issue for most but for me it was a PITA. Also, the 2nd M.2 sticking out vertically I would have rather and a PCI Express card version instead of the M.2 sticking out on the bottom since I am running a Lightbox it really made the build look ugly so I am sticking with a regular SSD instead.

Current Setup
---------
Case: Corsair 900D
Motherboard: ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula
Processor: Intel Core i7-7700K
Memory: G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 4000
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti K|NGP|N ACX 2.0+
OS: Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
Storage: HGST Nas 6GB x2

Last Tested on Air
Awaiting on last of water cooling parts to start overclocking cpu, memory, and gpu.

Would like to see a direct comparison of IX Formula to the IX Extreme on water cooling systems. Maybe soon as its released we will start seeing some people like OC3D do some comparisons using same water cooling systems built in since the extreme is built by bitspower and the formula is by EK(Vrm Only) Most people will probably use EK Supremacy Evo for CPU water cooling. I knocked off 1 Egg only for the ugliness that the 2nd M.2 attachment really was an eye sore for me.
Reviewed By:Christopher T.,1/18/2017 10:34:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS X99-A II LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 You should pass on this and probably any X99 from Asus
Pros: Board features are great for the price and the bios is easy to use with lots of options
Cons: That's assuming it works. This board ran great for 5 months and then would not turn on. There was not error codes except displayed and a single red light went on by the CPU. I found few other people with this issue with no explanation of what the issue or cause was.

I RMAed it to ASUS and received a different board back. The new board had issues upon installation coming out of sleep. It would produce a qcode of 6F and have to be unplugged. After 2 days of struggling, testing all the other components and no suggestions from ASUS. Here again I found other people with different X99 motherboards from ASUS having this issue.

At this point I think there is some sort of power related flaw in ASUS's X99 implementation.

So I then RMA this replacement board to ASUS. ASUS receives it claims it's damaged and refuses services. They sent a picture saying there a dent in the motherboard. I have a picture of the same area from when I packaged it without visible damage. They tell me to take up with the shipper because they are not going to provide any warranty support.
Other Thoughts: Wow, dealing with ASUS was not great, So glad this is my 4th Motherboard from them, plus a monitor, 2 laptops and recommendations to family and friends. Yep, I'm done with this brand.
Reviewed By:Max G.,1/18/2017 9:53:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z170X-UD3 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 RAM Slot issues
Pros: Tons of cool features. Where else are you going to find 2 m.2 slots for < $120?
Cons: Like other users I too experienced system lockups when installing RAM in either of the two slots furthest away from the CPU. I had 2 8GB DIMMs. To make the system work at all I had to use either or both of the 2 RAM slots nearest the CPU - this forces the RAM into single-channel mode. I upgraded to the newest BIOS - did not help. I established a support account with Gigabyte but really did not receive any in-depth support there - just simple, canned answers that basically sounded like they didn't read the details of my messages. There was no mention of this being a "thing". So I established a (separate) RMA account with them got an RMA for the board and sent it in.

Now here is where my story gets weirdly lucky. After sending the board in, on the Gigabyte RMA site I got the status message, "No trouble found after tests with multiple configurations". Strange, I have been doing (and teaching) this stuff for over 20 years - I (at least thought I) was very thorough in my testing - testing while installed in the case and testing on the "bench". Clearing CMOS and retesting etc…

So they sent the board back to me. When I got the board reinstalled, I did some incremental testing. I started with 1 DIMM. It worked fine (but then again it always did). I then added the second DIMM in the 3rd RAM slot and all the RAM worked fine - and in dual-channel mode.

That's my story. Of course your mileage may vary.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/18/2017 8:58:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.