Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Backup Media > Sony > SONY LTX800G 800/1600GB LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome media
Pros: Simply the best media I have used so far.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Have tried almost all brands starting with LTO2 tapes, then moved on and upgraded to LTO3 tapes and been using LTO4 tapes for over a year.

Have used mostly TDK tapes for the longest time until they started going out. then decided to try Imation ,Maxwell and IBM media. They all had small issues and did not seem as reliable as Sony media.

Usually Sony is slightly more expensive, but you get what you pay for.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2014 9:05:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > Sony > SONY TAIT2-80C 80/208GB AIT2 Turbo Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Bought my Sony AIT2 Turbo drive from NewEgg around 2004. Unfortunately, Sony shut down their AIT tape business but are still (I think) manufacturing these tapes.

I'm using Retrospect backup and these tapes are used to offload backups from my RAID 10 server to permanent storage for safe keeping.
Cons: They've become really expensive since the demand has dropped off.
Reviewed By:RoadMaster9,2/19/2014 10:57:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > FUJIFILM > FUJIFILM 26230010 400/800GB LTO Ultrium 3 Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad FujiFilm LTO3 Tapes
Pros: none
Cons: Purchased 4 of thee tapes recently, and just tried to use 2 of them, and both jobs failed. Tapes caused drive to cancel job due to dirty drive head. Reran after cleaning, and jobs failed again with same error.
I reran jobs successfully using other brand of tapes, so I know drive is Okay. (Also used everyday without issue)
Reviewed By:N/A,9/7/2012 2:00:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > Sony > SONY LTX800G 800/1600GB LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Trustworthy
Pros: Trustworthy reliable media. I trust Sony media 100%
Cons: Price is not as cheap as other brands but you get what you pay for.
Other Thoughts: Never go for the cheapest price go with reliable media. Still half the cost of buying factory Dell tapes. I use this with our Dell 124T autoloader LTO4 tape backup drive and Symantec Backup Exec. We have 15 cartridges in the autoloader and never had an issue. Sony is a good alternative to buying premium Dell tapes that cost almost twice as much and the media has been reliable. I average 2 tapes per week in our backup cycle.
Reviewed By:UberMCSE,3/20/2012 8:48:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > TDK > TDK 48989 800/1600GB LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Media

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Inexpensive and Reliable
Pros: Tapes are inexpensive, reliable, and outlast the industry recommended tape replacement of 1 year. I will continue to buy these tapes from NewEgg as long as they are carried.
Cons: Tapes only last about a year and a half before the error rates become unacceptable by my standards with the rotation we've set up, which roughly equates to 18 runs per media set. This isn't generally a con if you strictly follow industry standards and replace your media sets on a yearly basis.
Other Thoughts: To the other guy that claimed a bad batch of tapes and a bad set of replacements, the problem likely isn't your tapes.
Reviewed By:SSB,1/9/2012 8:29:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > TDK > TDK D2405-LTO2 200/400GB LTO Ultrium 2 Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Quality
Pros: None.
Cons: One out of eight work.
Other Thoughts: I purchased eight of these and only one of them works. The others jam the tape loader and disassembly is required to remove the tape. I spoke with New Egg customer support nine days are the 30 day return period and they were not willing to exchange them. Very disappointed.
Reviewed By:Unfortunate,5/9/2011 1:36:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > Hewlett-Packard > HP C8015A DAT 160 CLEANING Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works
Pros: got it for the dat160 drive at my work, shuts the cleaning light off when it starts flashing at me, what else can you ask for?
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2011 10:05:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > TDK > TDK 48989 800/1600GB LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Media

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No confidence in the tapes
Pros: Inexpensive, I guess.
Cons: Ordered 5 tapes. The first batch of tapes arrives with no factory seals, and loose in a box. The tapes were banged up and the cases for a couple were broken. RMA'd it and while the second order was better packed, there was still no factory seal, giving us little confidence in using the tapes for our corporate backups. After talking with a Newegg customer rep, they confirmed that the tapes did not ship sealed in any way.
Other Thoughts: If factory-seals don't matter, these tapes might be OK for you. However, since there is no guarantee that these are indeed new tapes, we have absolutely no confidence in using them for our company backups. We had to return the tapes, at our cost, and will be purchasing the tapes elsewhere. As a long-time customer, this is the first time I've been thoroughly disappointed in Newegg's service as well as the product offered.
Reviewed By:Jason L.,10/22/2010 10:29:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > TDK > TDK 48989 800/1600GB LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Media

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work fine for me.
Pros: We have had 24 of these loaded in a Dell TL2000 (IBM drive) with no problems for about a year.
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: I hate to see only one review give something like this such a bad rap without giving a success story. If you're uncertain, try ordering one and testing it before you order the bulk of them. I guess that's all I can suggest.
Reviewed By:BoeroBoy,9/14/2010 6:11:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > TDK > TDK 48989 800/1600GB LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Media

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid!
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I purchased 10 of these tapes. Backup jobs fail, fail, and fail again. The tapes were found to be "defect free" by the manufacturer but they replaced them anyway. The replacements are just as bad.
Other Thoughts: Used with a Quantum LTO4 drive. I have tried four other brands of tapes and they have ALL been trouble free.
Reviewed By:Mike B,9/9/2010 11:11:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass newegg PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau