Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Backup Media > Hewlett-Packard > HP C8011A 80/160GB DAT 160 Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not reliable, even by tape standards
Pros: Sometimes work.
Cons: Tapes (and drives) fail frequently. 3 of 5 tapes ordered last month are unusable even in new replacement drive.
My other drive, HP Storageworks Ultrium, along with its tapes work perfectly.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/2/2014 7:00:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > Sony > SONY LTX800G 800/1600GB LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome media
Pros: Simply the best media I have used so far.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Have tried almost all brands starting with LTO2 tapes, then moved on and upgraded to LTO3 tapes and been using LTO4 tapes for over a year.

Have used mostly TDK tapes for the longest time until they started going out. then decided to try Imation ,Maxwell and IBM media. They all had small issues and did not seem as reliable as Sony media.

Usually Sony is slightly more expensive, but you get what you pay for.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2014 9:05:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > Sony > SONY TAIT2-80C 80/208GB AIT2 Turbo Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Bought my Sony AIT2 Turbo drive from NewEgg around 2004. Unfortunately, Sony shut down their AIT tape business but are still (I think) manufacturing these tapes.

I'm using Retrospect backup and these tapes are used to offload backups from my RAID 10 server to permanent storage for safe keeping.
Cons: They've become really expensive since the demand has dropped off.
Reviewed By:RoadMaster9,2/19/2014 10:57:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > maxell > maxell 229323 1.5/3.0TB LTO Ultrium 5 Tape Cartridge 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work great
Pros: The tapes work well. i have used these tapes for a couple of years now and have had NO excessive wear on the heads. My Quantum drive has been just fine for, as I said, couple of years now.
Cons: I can't think of any problems
Reviewed By:Bubsing,1/14/2014 8:40:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > maxell > maxell 229323 1.5/3.0TB LTO Ultrium 5 Tape Cartridge 1 Pack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid these tapes
Pros: They are tapes?
Cons: We purchased these tapes with our Dell TL4000. They have been too abrasive with the IBM drives causing the heads to go bad between 6-8 months. The tape is too abrasive to the drives and causes this issue. We have replaced over 6 drives in two years that we have been using them. Save yourself the trouble and avoid these tapes.
Reviewed By:niko,11/23/2013 4:16:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > FUJIFILM > FUJIFILM 16008030 1.5/3.0TB LTO Ultrium 5 Data Cartridge 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Value Tape
Pros: I started using the Fujifilm tapes 3 years ago when we got our first LTO5 library. Since then I have probably gone through 400 of these tapes in all my backup systems.

While our drive manufacturers do have a preferred brand of tape, the Fujifilms have worked great with both our IBM 10 drive system and a Quantum 4 drive system.
Cons: Out of the 400 or so Fujifilm tapes I have used about 4 of them have had the memory chip fail. To this I cannot fault the tape or manufacturer most likely it was an issue with my drive or storage process.
Other Thoughts: Best tapes for the value, works well in all systems.
The price point on fujifilm is similar to HP tapes, but I like the color consistency with the fujifilms, since the HPs are the only blue LTO5 tape.
Reviewed By:KingOfAllTapes,11/21/2013 10:43:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > FUJIFILM > Fujifilm LTO Ultrium 6 Data Cartridge

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as intended
Pros: LTO6
2.5TB Data
Slightly faster then LTO5
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,11/5/2013 12:33:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > FUJIFILM > FUJIFILM 16008030 1.5/3.0TB LTO Ultrium 5 Data Cartridge 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable
Pros: Only HP and Fuji are recommended for my drive because they are less abrasive. Fuji is cheaper and I know them to be reliable from past use.
Cons: None, that I've found.
Reviewed By:Gary,11/5/2012 3:23:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > FUJIFILM > FUJIFILM 26230010 400/800GB LTO Ultrium 3 Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad FujiFilm LTO3 Tapes
Pros: none
Cons: Purchased 4 of thee tapes recently, and just tried to use 2 of them, and both jobs failed. Tapes caused drive to cancel job due to dirty drive head. Reran after cleaning, and jobs failed again with same error.
I reran jobs successfully using other brand of tapes, so I know drive is Okay. (Also used everyday without issue)
Reviewed By:N/A,9/7/2012 2:00:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Backup Media > Sony > SONY LTX800G 800/1600GB LTO Ultrium 4 Tape Media 1 Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Trustworthy
Pros: Trustworthy reliable media. I trust Sony media 100%
Cons: Price is not as cheap as other brands but you get what you pay for.
Other Thoughts: Never go for the cheapest price go with reliable media. Still half the cost of buying factory Dell tapes. I use this with our Dell 124T autoloader LTO4 tape backup drive and Symantec Backup Exec. We have 15 cartridges in the autoloader and never had an issue. Sony is a good alternative to buying premium Dell tapes that cost almost twice as much and the media has been reliable. I average 2 tapes per week in our backup cycle.
Reviewed By:UberMCSE,3/20/2012 8:48:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau