Skip to: |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Canada Premier
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Computer Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Define R4 Blackout with Window Silent ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice chassis, top quality, but..
Pros: Well built, sturdy, quiet, nice monolithic design, every part you can accommodate (read cons) will fit well and strong.
Cons: -1 egg - Front panel. The I/O ports are assembled in the front panel not the case, thus it can't be completely removed, and wires are short. Which makes the front fan holding frame system awkward. The plastic panel covering the filter feels cheap and flimsy. I could have done without it, or a simpler design with robust material. The filter itself can be removed easily though, no cons there.

-1 egg - It's supposedly designed for "Silent" builds, but it can't accommodate a decent fluid cooling system, not even a decent CPU fluid cooling kit using more than a 120mm rad. i.e. 240 or 280mm rads won't fit without sacrificing the HDD cage (limiting the number of hard drives to 3, IF you have enough room nearby the PSU's rear and cables). More room at the top for the next model please.
Other Thoughts: A better config would have the fan mounts on the chassis frame, not the removable front panel, with the top IO ports separated from the removable panel (either in a separate molded part, either on the chassis frame), so that no wire limits freedom of movements - a personal taste I can concede - : without scarifying anything from the design, usability is key here.

Unfortunately, I'm thinking about exchanging this case for another, as it won't be able to help me achieve my personal goals. However it's an excellent chassis if you go "Air", a must-have, and I would definitely keep it and cherish it if it wasn't for a fluid cooling and quiet system.

...Maybe I'll just move the fluid-cooling silent project build to a Lian Li PC-A7010 Tower chassis with a huge side panel window of my 5 year old rig, and keep Fractal for the Office which will be ready in a couple of month. I would've liked a new chasssis for this, but I made a mistake, my bad I should've checked better. Because it's a great chassis, just not made for decent water cooling solutions apart from minimalistic (and as noisyer than active cooling) 120mm kits.
Reviewed By:HawkFest,10/21/2014 4:56:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > In Win > IN WIN GT1 Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid case
Pros: Great feature set you usually see in much more expensive cases. Case feels mostly solid. Airflow is really good. Customer support was amazing.
Cons: As others have said, cable management can be a bit tricky. Need to run the PSU cables through before installing the motherboard or it won't be very clean. Bottom feels less sturdy than the rest of the case.
Other Thoughts: I had a bit of a problem and I contacted customer support. They responded extremely quickly and were very helpful. They resolved the issue and the experience was painless. Major respect for that.
Reviewed By:Zero,10/21/2014 3:08:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > Corsair > Corsair Obsidian 750D Black ATX Full Tower Computer Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Its ok
Pros: - Great spacing up top to install AIO Water coolers 240mm and above.
- The window on the side is very clear. So clear that at night you wouldn't think there was any!
- Comes pre-pegged for large atx boards.
- Lots of spaces to run cables keeping it clean looking inside.
- Filters easy to access + bonus of having power supply filter.
- Top of the case mesh is actually removable and held in by magnets.
- Dedicated SSD drive holders along the back plane is a nice touch.
Cons: Now the nit picking begins..

- Purchased case 10/9 for $159... few days later its $139 with a rebate to 119 !@)#(! Typical.. very typical.

- The front of the case actually restricts airflow that could be pulled into the case by the front fans. Taking the front out exposing the filter provides a cooler inside and helps with cooling down the cpu / AIO rads mounted up top.

- The hard drive bays are ok but a pain to run wires to if using the inner most 3 bays where they sit by default.

- The three 140mm case fans seem to be pretty slow and squeak by at a max of 1100 rpms. This is not great airflow when you have GTX 980 and two 240mm fans up top. I expected better. With the front cover on you will most likely need better CFM with aftermarket fans to pull in air through the tiny slits on the left and right sides.
Other Thoughts: It's an OK case and the only thing that peaked my interest to purchase was the flexibility of mounting AIO Water cooling / custom loops. It's obvious on the price drop as I wouldn't purchase another one of these for the 159.00 price tag. However it does peak my interest in other corsair products if they continue to refine and ensure a case designed for cooling has proper fans to begin with.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 2:27:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > Thermaltake > Thermaltake Urban S1 Black SECC MicroATX Mini Tower Computer Case (CA-1A8-00M1NN-00)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 big case
Pros: Very roomy and with lots of mounts for hard drives. It only took an hour or so to do my build, everything went in very easily. It came with all the necessary screws.
Contrary to some other reviews, the front USB ports worked fine.
Everything worked great on power up.
Cons: The case is bigger than I expected. It's almost as large as my old Dell Precision 380... Oddly, Thermaltake calls it a 'micro-case'.
Other Thoughts: I mounted a 120mm fan in the front (mounted so that it sucks air into the case toward the rear). Not sure if it made any difference but it works.
The RAM I use has big heat spreader fins and I was afraid they might bump into the hard drives but there was plenty of room. I mounted two SSDs and a 3.5" drive in the first 3.5" bay, leaving four more empty 3.5" slots plus the bottom mount for another SSD. (plus two empty 5.25" bays!) Plenty of room for an additional RAID array...

This was my first pc build and it was remarkably easy. The manual is a bit thin but you really don't need it. It's pretty obvious where everything goes.

My build:
Rosewill CAPSTONE-650-M power supply
ASRock Z97M Pro4 motherboard
Core i7-4790 with stock cooler
32gb G. Skill Ripjaw DDR3 2133 RAM
2 Samsung EVO 840 250gb SSDs in a 3.5" mount adapter
WD Black 2tb
waiting for a gtx970 to come back in stock...
Reviewed By:Grbz,10/21/2014 11:18:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > Lian-Li > LIAN LI PC-A71A Silver Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic case
Pros: Bought this case in 2008 and still works with todays hardware. Plenty of quiet fans, power supply can go on top or bottom. More than enough space for a raid array.
Cons: Some may consider the size an issue, it's big. Make sure your power supply cables are long enough.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 10:58:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > Corsair > Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Black ATX Mid Tower Gaming Computer Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: This case is big an easy to work in.
The case feels like it could probably resist a minor fall.
This case looks very nice.
Filters filters filters, filters everywhere.
Three included fans.
Case came with motherboard standoffs installed.
Came with a very useful thing that holds your motherboard in place, and it makes working in it a lot better.
Cons: The power button broke after about a month of regular use.
It was very difficult sticking a power supply that wasn't from Corsair in it. The power supply I have from Corsair fit in it perfectly, the one from XFX not so much, it's actually suspended from the case by the screws which is a bit strange.
The SSD tray behind the motherboard tray came off. I don't know how I did it but I removed it, after I put it back I was not able to remove it again.
The instruction manual is just a paper with drawings of screws that look about exactly the same.
Other Thoughts: I have only had the case for about a month and the power button broke today. I know that it was the power button that broke because I hooked up a power button from another case to my motherboard and turned it on that way and everything worked fine, but the power button is garbage. When I first got the case I had a bad feeling about the power button. I also had a bad feeling about the power supply not fitting properly, I had watched one of Carey Holzman's videos on YouTube and he had the exact same problems with a Corsair case that I have with this case. If you want everything to work perfectly and keep working perfectly then maybe buy another case because the power button on this one is flimsy. Also if you haven't yet bought a power supply, and you plan on buying this case then do yourself a favor and buy a Corsair branded power supply, because I'm pretty sure that the screw holes in them are a bit different than other brands.
Reviewed By:Yeesus,10/21/2014 10:33:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA X-Sniper X-SNIPER2-BL Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case w/ Side Window-Blue

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for the price
Pros: Nice ATX case. I like the aesthetic, plenty of room for the wire harnesses and I liked the fact it had a built in space for my SSD.
Cons: Front case fan was dead on arrival. Had to replace
Other Thoughts: I would have given this a 5 Egg if not for the DOA case fan. For the price, this is a good item.
Reviewed By:BP,10/21/2014 10:16:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > Antec > Antec NEW SOLUTION SERIES VSK-3000 Black SGCC steel MicroATX Mini Tower Computer Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Antec New Solution Series VSK-3000 MicroATX Case
Pros: Sleek, clean look, tight construction, nice for any MicroATX build.
Cons: My 2 issues are the junk 92mm fans and the hdd bays.

The fans whine like they are just pushing themselves to cool the two hdds that Get No Air!! Yes, the fans are JUNK and continuously whine, although they are supposed to be silent- or, at least quiet -esp. if I have 'Cool & Quiet' feature on in BIOS... ??? Also, to install or change a hdd, you have to remove any Quality Memory Modules from their DIMMs, and remove your cpu fan/heatsink assy. If you are water-cooling, you have to disassemble the motherboard and remove it because any cpu cooling block will have the mount screws too high or your barbs will be too high for the change of hdd's.

Also, the Blue Power On LED is like a Lazer... from anywhere within eye level or just below, that LED seams to create a blinding arc-flash, irritating enough that I soldered in a 1000ohm resistor just to dim it.
Other Thoughts: I would buy another VSK-3000, and I am... but I will be adding another 1000ohm resistor to the blue Case Power LED and spot-welding a second dual hdd bay just below the other one. Plus, I'll be drilling air holes for the cooling of all hard drives.

I do recomend this VSK-3000 case to anyone looking for the perfect MicroATX PC build, as it is a clean and sleek design with just enough room for everything necessary for the regular user, business system or HTPC. Just be aware of the Lazer Light at the front.

Antec NS Series VSK-3000 Black MicroATX Case
Foxconn NF4K8MC-ERS (NF4 chipset LC'd)
AMD Athlon 64 4000+ ADA4000DAA5BN @2.8 (LC'd)
Mushkin Enhanced Silverline- 2x1GB (3-3-3-8)
ASntec TruePower 500w
XFX nVidia GeForce 7800 GTX - PVT70FUNF7 (gpu LC'd, Mem. Passive)
JiteOn SATA 20x DVD/RW + DVD RAM BK RTL
LiteOn SATA 20X DVD/CD-RW +Lightscribe
G5/Delphi ddc-1vc 52412270 dc12v 10w E82642 IP32 w/Vol. Comp.
Bitspower 3/8" ID Barbs & Rotary Barbs
PrimoChill 3/8/5/8 Black tubing
AlphaCool 240 Rad. and 140ml Res.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 9:58:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > Antec > Antec GX500 ILLUSION Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Light Case
Pros: Light and quiet
3 blue led fans with fan control
2 USB3 header
Cons: The headset jack is not easy to plug in to. Takes some force. Maybe just my unit has this issue.
Two thumbscrew in the back were not easy to deal with. Had to use screw driver
The ssd bay is not intuitive and the holes for the screw did not line up with ssd
Other Thoughts: Nice box .
For the price I paid(30 after MIR) you cannot do better.
It is very quiet and i cant tell if the computer is on
Reviewed By:epapsiou,10/21/2014 9:36:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Computer Cases > Corsair > Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-03 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Gaming Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect budget case
Pros: The case is a perfect budget case for computer enthusiast. My build includes Asrock z97x, i4670k, h100i cpu cooler, corsair cx750m psu, and R9 280x. Solid case with cable management potential. I love the open windows to show off your build. There is a opening underneath the motherboard, Thus changing the CPU cooler is a breeze.
Cons: The starter fans that comes with the case are mediocre, If you wanted to get good ventilation, upgrading them would not be a bad idea. The case is only able to house one Saphire R9 280x Tri-x video card. I suppose I can fit another one after sacrificing the hard drives mounting bay and some modding. SLI and Crosfire can be done with smaller video cards though.
Other Thoughts: Maximum CPU cooler height is 157 mm This case is somewhat small to fit in CPU cooler such as CM 212 evo or plus. It is short by couple mm.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 9:05:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CA MasterPass PaypalVerify GoldenSealThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500

Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy

 © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  As used herein, “Newegg.ca” means Newegg Canada Inc. unless the context specifically refers to the www.newegg.ca web address.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau