Skip to: | |

Newegg.ca - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.ca - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > Corsair > Corsair Graphite Series CC-9011063-WW Black ATX Full Tower 780T Full Tower PC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One little issue
Pros: Great case. Lot's of room. Well laid out. Works great with my Corsair H110i GTX. I was able to put the fans under the top pop off ventilated cover with the radiator inside the motherboard cavity...completely hidden. The cooling hoses come down from nowhere...and installation went flawlessly. This is my first hydro cooler, and although I've heard about stiff hoses, the ones on the H110i GTX were fairly soft, and I had no problem mounting the water block after installation up top in the 780T.

BTW...I paid $121.00 after rebate for this case...much less than it lists for now.

This case will last for many upgrade builds in the future. I will not be buying another case in the foreseeable future.
Cons: I cannot mount my EVGA 850 G2 PSU fan-side down. The screw holes will not line up. I just pulled it and tried again, thinking it was me...but unfortunately, it wasn't. It's a shame that I can't take advantage of the nice dust filters on the bottom of the case, just below my PSU, now mounted fan up. Not worth an egg, but definitely not a happy camper after splurging on this case.

One more small complaint. Okay factory guys, are you listening. Since I mounted my fans in the top of the case, technically outside of the motherboard cavity...how about putting a access hole so that you can drop the fan leads into the back, out of sight, without having to run them through the opening at the top of the case, into the motherboard cavity and then out an access to the back so they'll be sort of out of sight. Other less expensive cases, by other less reputable manufacturers already have this option. Time for you to catch up.
Other Thoughts: If you want to mount your PSU fan down, like I did, you might want to consider another brand of PSU. Too bad, because EVGA makes a great power supply. All in all, it won't be that big of a deal...the 850 G2 will pull air from the case for its cooling...and hopefully that won't make much of a difference. I will have adequate ventilation.

BTW. The reason that the EVGA won't mount upside down, is that the holes aren't located in the corners...the top ones are, but the bottom ones are located up from the bottom about twice or three times the distance of the top holes. So, when you flip it over, the holes will not line up...they are too low.

Anyways...closing this book. Hope this helps.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 4:29:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > In Win > IN WIN Signature Motorized Transformer H-Tower E-ATX Aluminum SECC Full Tower Computer Case Limited Edition

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 True PC master!!!
Pros: Is great with all the other stuff I bought like a gold HDMI cable and a gold audio jack this case came up when I was buying my washing machine I never new it cleaned clothing!!!
Cons: Water...Water everywhere
Other Thoughts: I went in debt from this case but I don't care but I ran out of money and could not buy the rest of my computer so now I live in it cause I lost my house
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2016 3:59:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 202 Small Form Factor Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Mini-ITX case
Pros: - Very well thought-out internal layout
- Small volume, yet fits full sized (mini-ITX) components
- Great cooling with additional fan slots for the GPU
- Silent if you build it with the proper fans
- Mostly dust proof
Cons: - Various screws were confusing
- Takes a long time to assemble, but that's expected for small cases
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best case on the market for a small and silent mini-ITX build
Reviewed By:Kewei L.,4/29/2016 3:07:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > COUGAR > COUGAR QBX Mini-ITX Computer Case Standard ATX PSU Compatibility Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I really love this case, but it has some issues. I will be spending most of my review time here noting those issues, but keep in mind that I highly recommend this case and am very happy with it.
Pros: I wrote this review before I saw that Newegg makes you cut your review into parts 5000-characters max, so just read it like it's one big block instead of Pros/Cons/etc,

First let's talk about my choices and why I bought this case instead of something else. I wanted small; I was tired of gigantic cases which were mostly empty space. I don't need a optical drive. I don't need any cards other than a good GPU.

If it wasn't for this case I would have bought the NCase M1. However, when you consider the cost of an SFF power supply, the NCase M1 is $160 more, which is a lot. It's like a free upgrade from an i5 to an i7K, so consider that. Otherwise I also looked at the Thermaltake Urban SD1 CA-1A9-00S1NN-00, Silverstone SG13B, and Dondan Dan A4-SFX (unfortunately not yet available).

I went with this case because it would accept a full-sized ATX power supply, had room for both a 3.25" and 2.5" disk drive, looked visually nice, was a very reasonable price, and was still pretty small.

Regarding power supplies: While a SFF sized power supply is your best bet to make sure everything fits, SFF power supplies are twice the cost of a regular ATX sized unit and max out at 600W. Thus, the fact that this tiny case can support a full sized ATX power supply is a significant feature. There are a tiny number of manufactures of SFF/SFX sized PSs right now: Silverstone, FSP, Athena and maybe one or two more.

They are not kidding on the 140mm length limitation. There is a shelf in the case which intersects the lower portion of the power supply at the 140mm mark. If, for some reason you wanted to put in a lower power supply, you would have to bend/cut that shelf out, and then you run the risk of intersecting with the GPU. I definitely think it would be possible, but not easy.

Oh look, there's a guy who did exactly this. Fairly pointless since he uses the built-in graphics though. He must have already had the power supply laying around and just wanted to save money:
https://id2cnc.com/2015/12/08/mini-itx-case-mod-cougar-qbx/

Here is a list of power supplies I looked at which I *think* will fit this chassis:

EVGA 100-B1-0700-K1 (140mm) (This is what I got. Not sure I'd make the same choice again. Read below.)
Sentey MBP750-HM (140mm) (This is the PS I would recommend for now. Note the plug orientation should prevent any conflict with the top fan or optical drive, also the ribboned-cables probably makes cable routing easier.)
Corsair CX600 (140mm) (Not compatible with an optical drive, but cable won't interfere with the top fans)
Thermaltake SP-650P (140mm) (Flat ribbon cables are nice, plug may conflict with top fan like the EVGA did.)

IMPORTANT: If you do buy a SFF/SFX sized supply, you must buy an adapter bracket.

As mentioned above, I ordered and installed the EVGA 100-B1-0700-K1. It's silent and and was cheap. It's non-modular, so I had to find a place to stuff all the spare cable, but there is plenty of room where the optical drive tray would be, since I took it out. I was afraid a modular supply's plugs would stick out too far and conflict with the GPU, but now that I have one in there I don't think that's so much of a concern -- Go with a modular if you want.

The problem I had with the EGVA power supply was with the power plug orientation. The bend-guard pointed towards the rear of the case, and because I had two 120mm fans installed in the top of the chassis, it was conflicting with the forward fan. My solution was to get out a razor knife and cut away the bend guard, which serves no purpose inside the case. With the bend-guard gone, I was able to make the turn needed to get away from the fan and route the power cable to the edges where it would not get in the way. Another way to get around this problem would to go with low-profile 120mm fans on top, omit installing a fan in the forward location, or get that Sently or Corsair power supply I recommended above.

This is one spot where Cougar could have done better. There is just no reason to have a bend-guard inside of the case, or for that power cable to be as thick and inflexible as it is. They created a problem for no good reason.
Cons: Now let's talk about fans. I bought five 120mm fans for the top, bottom, and side panel, and a single 80mm fan for the front. The case comes with a single 80mm fan for the back pre-installed.

WARNING: I immediately discovered that this case has a significant manufacturing defect. The top and front fan mounts were standard sized #6-32 tapped/threaded holes instead of non-threaded fan-screw sized holes. The bottom, rear, and side-panel fan were all drilled/cut correctly. I don't think this was done on purpose and it would require special screws to mount in this manner. My solution was to get out my drill bits and ream the holes out. I will be contacting Cougar about this issue, and hopefully this will be fixed in future manufacturing batches.

The two 80mm fans I installed are silent even at full power. The 120mm fans I bought were ARCTIC F12s, but they are too loud at full power. The fan controller I installed was a Thermaltake Commander FX (AC-007-AN1NAN-A1), which would be fine if the fans were not too loud, but they are. As a result, I plan on buying a new fan controller or otherwise doing something about this.

There is no room in this case for a standard front-panel or rear/card-panel controller, so it must be internal.

I have two options right now. I could buy some resistor cable adapters to step down to power to the fans, or I could get a software-controlled internal controller.

The only internal software-controller on the market which I am aware of is the NZXT GRID+ V2, which is probably what I am going to buy, and what I would recommend for now. It's cheap and looks perfect for what I want. Unless I come back and edit this review later, this is what worked out for me.

Alternatively, I could build/buy myself one of these: http://geoffg.net/fancontroller.html

For installing the fans, I used rubber rivet mounts to isolate vibration. Note that rubber rivets like this have an offset which increases the height of the fan. This isn't a problem for the front, rear, side, or top, but two bottom fans are actually touching my GPU right now, and I may have to replace them. For the side panel fan, you will need to cut the rubber ends off, but that's easy to do. Or just use fan-mount screws.

WARNING: I would strongly recommend buying low-profile 120mm fans for the bottoms. Look to the Silverstone FN123 and FW121, or Scythe SY1212SL12L, SY1212SL12H, or SY1212SL12M. You might get low-profiles for the top too, but I don't think you need to. The side-panel is fine with a full-height 120mm fan.

The motherboard I bought and installed was a Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI (NOTE: the GA-Z170N-WIFI is nearly identical). It fits very well and I do recommend it.

Connecting the front-panel USB3 and audio connectors was super easy. The power button and LED jumpers were well-marked, but the HDD connector polarity was not marked. For me, blue was positive/+ and green was negative/-.

Note that this case does not come with a speaker/buzzer. If you are going to depend on your motherboard's BIOS to warn on overheating or anything like that, you may need to get one.

This Gigabyte motherboard has six SATA connectors. Two are on front (ports 4 and 5), and four are on the side. This causes some problems if you want more than two drives.

The right-angle SATA connector which came with the motherboard fit on the rear-lower port (port 0) and passed through a small slot in the chassis. Note that you must install the cable before installing either the motherboard or the power supply -- you won't be able to plug it in later because there's no room. It barely fits, but it does fit. The rear-lower port can't be used (port 1). If you were able to procure 180-degree cable connectors, you could plug cables into ports 2 and 3 also, but you would need to find right-angle cables which fit and I don't know if these even exist. At the very least, you can get three SATA ports without much trouble, which was plenty for me.

Finally this motherboard has some annoying orange LEDs on the back side of it which I want to cover. I will use my black electrical liquid-tape (Gardner Bender LTB-400) and paint over it tomorrow.
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts:

The case did not come with ANY screws. You might need four for your motherboard and a few for your power supply. Plan accordingly.

Putting some sticky-backed cable tie-down points on the back of the power supply is a great idea for cable management.

If you don't plan on using it, remove the optical disk tray ASAP, as it will provide more spare room for cables.

You can install a screw on the top plastic panel to stop it from sliding back, but only if you are not installing/using the optical drive.

Spare room for cable bulk can be found in front of the case where the optical tray would be, down below the front fan, and also between the power supply and side panel mounting area.

There is a lot of plastic on this case. The side panels are actually plastic; be careful with them. The top and front are plastic too. However, it's all very good quality. The look and feel is very nice. The front and top colors are actually painted on for that blue brushed metallic look, but it looks very good.

Cut the bend guard from the power supply plug for extra flexibility if you have trouble with it, but be very careful that you don't cut yourself or the conductors in the cable.

The "Cougar" logo on the front is a sticker and it looks like it could be removed. However, the backing looked like it was going to come off when I tried and so I just gave up. If you are dedicated enough though, you can probably get it off without leaving residue.

The power button feels nice. Note that there is no reset button.

The power and HDD LEDs are white and WAY too bright. Very annoying. I covered them over with a snip of black masking tape and can still see them alight when needed.

Room for drives is fantastic. You can fit at least one 3.25" drive and four or maybe even six 2.5" drives.

It might be possible to fit a second 3.5" disk drive in the optical bracket, but I'm not sure. Drilling holes into the front panel would give you a place to mount one, and without the optical drive there is certainly enough room.



Overall, this is an awesome case, just heed my notes about the power supply, fans, and think about where cables are going to be routing to make sure everything will fit.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 2:37:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > Enermax > ENERMAX iVektor ECA3310A-B Black (Soft touch coating) ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 for the price range and its all blacked out
Pros: got it for $40 on sale, its nice for the price plenty of room plenty of spots for fans its got the stand off for the mobo installed perfect for my msi z97 G5 zip tie spots looks nice has a slight rubberized finish the window is tinted to calm down the light pouring out the feet are taller than most for good ventilation and airflow with a spot for a fan next to the psu pull the face off and 2 fans can be used to cool hdd and ssd then the lid or top has a nice pocket to put 2 fans in that keeps them up way from mobo. you can pull the ssd bay out for more space like a 3 fan gpu or more airflow 2 rubber grommets for hardcore cooling and still enough space for the closed loops like corsair h60
Cons: would like to see a solution included for 1 hdd and 1 ssd set up together in a small bay leaving lots of open space something other than buying an adapter bracket also the handles on the case doors are cool but cheap plastic is not cool other than that it has the price point all blacked out with a touch of style fans in all the right places a window to monitor equipment especially the h2o cooler tall feet no sharp edges
Other Thoughts: if u want a higher end mobo cpu gpu this is a great choice to cut cost on one of the less important items and not have it come back to bite you
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 2:28:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 304 FD-CA-NODE-304-BL Black Aluminum / Steel Mini-ITX Tower Computer Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great home server
Pros: Lots of room for drives
Devent ventilation
Front-side mounted USB useful depending on orientation
Cons: Front-side mounted USB un-useful depending on orientation
Nothing really
Other Thoughts: Using it as a home server with 1 SSD as the OS drive and 3 HDDs for data storage. Is on 24/7 and seems to stay cool.
Reviewed By:Tyler S.,4/29/2016 1:27:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > AZZA > AZZA Solano 1000R Black / Red Japanese SECC Steel/Metal mesh in front MicroATX/ATX/Full ATX Computer Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good open case with plenty of air movement
Pros: -stylish: I originally wanted blue but they were sold out. Now I'm pleased that I got the red case, I think it looks better.
-room to work, however I do have a clearance issue with my cooler master cpu heatsink
-plenty of fans to move air
Cons: -if you want to remove the hard-drive bay you need to take both sides of the case off
Other Thoughts: I'm a fan of the geometry of the case
Reviewed By:Robert T.,4/29/2016 11:54:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > Rosewill > Rosewill LINE-M - Micro ATX Mini Tower Computer Case - Dual USB 3.0 Ports, Dual Fans Included, Supports Up to Four (4) Fans and Up to 12.5" (31mm) VGA Cards

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's an excellent case at a great price
Pros: Sturdy
Space efficient, fits a lot in a tiny space
Looks nice without being flashy and gimmicky
Has 2x USB 2 and 2x USB 3 on the front panel, which is rare these days
Even supports watercooling
All this for only 40$!
Cons: It's fatal flaw is the lack of cable management, cables can't be hidden behind the motherboard's plate.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely recommend this, but not to new PC builders. The cable management would be very difficult for a new PC builder.
Reviewed By:STEPHEN K.,4/29/2016 11:40:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > Rosewill > Rosewill CHALLENGER - Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Three Included Fans - 1 x Front Blue LED 120mm Fan, 1 x Top 140mm Fan, 1 x Rear 120mm Fan - Two More Optional Side 120mm Fans Supported

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good and solid cheap case, good airflow, lots of feature
Pros: - 3 FANS / 3 ventilateur
- Airflow is very good / La circulation d'air est bonne
- Feels solid / Ca l'air solide
- Cable management is not bad / La gestion des cables est pas mauvaise
Cons: - Fans are meh... Front one is not even turning on startup, screw are prying the case and the fan hit the corner. Has to loosen the screw to avoid weird sound. Rear FAN is making noise on higher RPM... Well don't buy this case for the FANS lol. / Les fans sont bof.. Celle du devant ne tourne meme pas au démarrage, les visses font plier le plastique et les palmes accroche le bord. J'ai du les mettre plus lousse pour éviter un drôle de bruit. La FAN arrière fais un bruit quand elle tourne plus rapidement. N'acheter pas ce case pour les ventilateurs.

EDIT : ROSEWILL SEND MY 2 NEW FANS FOR FREE. THEY HAVE AN AMAZING SUPPORT AND IM UPGRADING MY REVIEW TO 5 STARS !
Other Thoughts: I'll buy 2 news fans, i already bougth 2 new for the side, so i just added 20$ to that price. Honestly it's not a bad case but rosewill should upgrade with better FANS

EDIT : Thanks rosewill for sending 2 new fans
Reviewed By:G. M.,4/29/2016 11:34:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Computer Cases > APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED) > APEX TX-381-C Black Steel Micro ATX Tower Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My favorite go-to case
Pros: -Carrying Handle
-Plenty of expansion room
-USB and Audio ports on the top
Cons: -Flemsy sides
-No 2.5" SSD mounts (requires an adapter)
-Iffy airflow from front fan (if you install one) because of sheet metal in the way
-No USB 3.0
Other Thoughts: I have used this case for a few builds now and love it. It is just big enough to not really have to worry with the dimensions of the video cards or PSU. Some aftermarket heatsinks work fine, but you will have to be careful with clearance issues for them. The 4 external bays allow you to install SD card readers, USB 3.0 add-ons, DVD/Blueray drives, etc with ease. It can hold multiple hard drives on the inside, but sadly does NOT naturally hold a 2.5" SSD. You will need an adapter tray (which some come with) for this to work.
Reviewed By:Thomas H.,4/29/2016 11:32:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.